Unreasonable practices and policies during TS KAREN!!!!!!
We booked and made full payment on this house at the beginning of Sept 2013 for a stay from Oct 4th to Oct 7th of the same year. On Oct 2nd a tropical storm formed in the Gulf of Mexico with predictions of landfall by the 6th. The contract stated that a mandatory evacuation had to be issued before any refunds would be given. So we certainly didn't want to just give up the money we had paid and we decided to go. The morning of the 4th, iTrip( property managers) called me to inform us that all of the patio furniture was being picked up and put in storage because of the approaching storm. We were slightly disappointed but just packed more chairs and left. Upon arrival, we found the front porch patio furniture inside the house and the back furniture turned over on the porch. All but one set of my guests towels were on the floor in front of both sets of French doors as well as the rug in one guest room rolled up but still in the middle of the floor. The promised BBQ grill was no where to be found. Now remember, a tropical storm was headed our way and this house has an electric stove so if we lost power we'd have nothing to cook on at all. The next morning I called iTrip to see if they could get the grill but they said it was locked up under the house and it was by request of the owners. I had to insist that they contact the owners and explain how unreasonable it was to leave us without any way to cook. They got back saying the owners would only come unlock it if the storm dissipated. Hey guess what, three hours later the storm was downgraded to a tropical depression but no one came or called. The house is great but the up keep leaves a LOT to be desired. Lots of little things in need of repair or replacement i.e. dangling spindles on back porch railing, satellite dish almost rusted off the hous, or burnt out light bulbs. In general, the rules and policies are just not accommodating when there "might" be a tropical storm coming. Why on earth would you treat your guests this way when a refund is not possible?? It seemed to us that they were counting on us not showing up with the way things went down. Either the owners or the managers really need to reevaluate how they handle things because it really put a damper on our stay. We will NOT be returning! Oh and be sure to read the cleaning requirements as they want you to leave it the way you found it yet charge a large cleaning fee. Why is this property even listed on VRBO if not run by owner??
Owner's Response: We appreciate the feedback! As stated in our rental agreement, in the event of a hurricane, a refund is only given if there is a mandatory evacuation. The tenant agreed to that rental agreement. When she called in concerning the storm, we informed her that she could reschedule for another time before the end of the year also. They made the decision to come. As with all properties in our area, we do remove the balcony furniture in the event of a storm so it will not blow around. We did leave all pool furniture except for the lounge chairs. We did turn it upside down so that the guest would not feel that they had to do this. We removed the wicker furniture from the balcony but also left the large table and eight chairs. They were turned over also. The guest could have used this furniture at any time provided that the winds were not high. When the guest called concerning the grill, she said that they may need it if the power went out and she was told that if the power went out, we would come down immediately. She never lost power. As a matter of fact, it did not even rain until Sunday. Friday and Saturday were beautiful.
VRBO.com is an advertising site that we have all of our units listed with. We have a great working relationship with them. If there is a problem with their policies, we suggest that you contact them.
Helpful votes: 6/7
Did you find this review helpful?