Downtown - Washington DC townhome rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Downtown - Washington DC Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9-12)

This house is newly remodeled, it comes with kitchen, common living room, free cable and internet access. Will accommodate 8-10 people.

The master bedroom has a king size bed, while the remaining bedrooms have queen size bed each.

The entire house have hosted up to 12 people, the basement is finished.There is free parking at the back of the house.

Keywords: This is a newly remodeled home that comes with 2 kitchens, 2 common living rooms, 4 bedrooms and a den. The master bedroom has one king size bed while the other 3 rooms have one queen size bed each.The fifth room takes a queen size air mattress whenever is needed. Free parking for 2 cars.

There is free cable TV and Internet.The basement is finished with an extra room. The whole house can accommodate up to 12 people.There is additional charge of $25/night per person for population more than 8 people.

I am an Architect and also a Registered Nurse

Tunde Komolafe purchased this townhome in 2006

I study Urban Planning and development in school. DC is the capital of USA and USA is the center of the world. It is like having a vacation rental in the Capital of the World

22 Reviews of Property 914832 in Downtown - Washington DC, Washington DC

4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
average rating of 4.318182 based on 22 reviews
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
4

What we were looking for

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The rental was perfect for our group. Plenty of good-sized bedrooms and comfortable beds. The kitchen is very well stocked with pots and pans, dishes, etc. Very short drive to a grocery store and metro station.
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
4

Accurate description of clean home with good beds

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This home was comfortable and the description and pictures are accurate. We enjoyed our stay. We had 10 people and there was plenty of hot water in the showers! The owner is very helpful and checked on us to see that we were all doing well. The home was clean, the beds were comfortable, and all the appliances worked well. I would recommend this property. We would stay here again.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
United States
5

Very good impression, I really enjoy my stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wonderful
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
United States
5

Delta Convention 100th Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Ten sorority sisters stayed during the convention. The house was clean upon arrival. Tunde responded each time I called. I received some negative reviews regarding the neighborhood. The neighbors were very nice and showed us where to catch the bus. The grocery store is a short 10 minute ride in taxi. I will rent from Tunde when I return to DC. Excellent house for an excellent price.
Owner's Response: Thanks, it is always my pleasure to make my guests happy. Thanks
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
2

cool and creaky

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
To be clear, this is not the best neighborhood. While we never felt in danger, it felt like it could have gone that way at any time. Lots of police in the area. Having said that, A fascinating experience was had by all. From the "speedy" walks from the bus stop to the neighborhood fireworks there wasn't a dull moment. Thank goodness my 80 year old dad didn't come as planned. The main bathroom was up steep narrow stairs and let me just say no one was very comfortable with the basement bathroom. The air conditioning worked great in the two main bedrooms and the 4 beds were comfortable. To say this rowhouse sleeps more than10 is a stretch (and that was with 2 on an air mattress). this place would not be appropriate for seniors or very young children. For overall maintenance I'd give it a 4/10. For overall cleanliness I'd give it a 5/10. We've rented other VRBOs in the Northwest and we were a bit surprised by the lack of consistency compared to our other stays. I know it was a great price but In this case you get what you pay for.

On the plus side everyone was friendly and helpful. The bus stop is close, there are grocery stores near by and the owner was readily available by phone.
Owner's Response: Thanks for giving me the opportunity to host you while you were in Washington. The houses in our neighborhood (capitol hill area) were costructed almost the same time the U.S Capitol building was built, the architecture of those days are quite different from modern architecture. Houses in capitol hill area are row houses with thight spaces to accommodate the needs, just like the road network in DC.
Modernisation had taken over, it is quite different now.

It is a cultural and social shock to many people visiting the old city, with time they get accustom to the change. Visiting downtown New York city,Los Angeles and Philadelphia and Washington DC from the country side,you 'll write a book. It is a matter of cultural awareness.

Police are every where around the capitol hill neighborhood for the security of the nation and not for my house.I do not have any control over the number of police officers the U.S the government will put on the street to protect the capitol hill.

Washington DC is multicultural with mixed races.No crime reported in our neighborhood, it is peaceful. We host a lot of people yearly, students and adults and they fall in love in staying in my place. Thanks
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Echoing some of the previous reviews, the location is extremely close to the heart of D.C.! It only took 11 minutes in the earlier morning hours to get from the house to the White House. Most of the locations people come to view are pretty close to that area, so it shouldn't take any longer than 15 minutes to arrive to anything from the Lincoln Memorial to the Vietnam Memorial. When traffic kicks in, travel time is obviously slowed.

The area is like most inner city areas. It's not the best, but not the worst. The neighbor we met was extremely pleasant and very easy to talk to. He helped locate a local grocery store so we could utilize the kitchen. Riding motorcycles, as simple as this sounds, the one thing we really enjoyed was the fact that there was private off-street parking in the rear of the house. This kept our bikes out of street view and helped minimize potential theft. There were a few homeless people that walked down the alley, but nobody appeared to cause any problems.

There are 3 bedrooms upstairs, a computer room, and a full bathroom. The main floor has a living room, dining room, kitchen and a utility room near the back that was perfect for storing our gear. The basement has a 4th bedroom, another living room, 2nd full bathroom, laundry and a kitchenette. If you are familiar with an in-law suite, that is what you would think of.

We unfortunately didn't get to meet Tunde until we were leaving from our stay, but he seemed extremely friendly and upbeat. We also didn't experience any problems, so we had no need to bother him during our stay. I honestly can't think of a single thing to complain about. Trying to force myself to come up with at least one thing..... I don't know, maybe the toilet paper. That stuff was more rough than sandpaper. I guess it also depends on what you are in D.C. to do. There are 3 televisions in the house. One in the basement living room, one in the main living room, and one in the master bedroom. The one in the basement is a box tv instead of flat screen. We didn't have any need for it though, so none of that mattered to us.

We try to come to D.C. at least once a year. We will definitely check into renting the property again!!

Thank you Tunde!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Newark
5

An EXCELLENT Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This home is in an excellent location if you are in town for a convention or conference at the Convention Center. Easy to get there by Metro transit system or car....and across the street from Galludett University. The property was clean and nicely furnished, and with nine adults, we were very comfortable! Mr. Tunde, the owner, is VERY accomdating and kind. I'm from NJ and am not accustomed to the row houses that you see throughout DC- I say this so that you'll know not to judge a book by its cover. The street/block may look a little intimidating, but it was very quiet and we felt safe with early mornings out and late nite returns to the home. My party would definitely stay here again without a moment's hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Valerie. It is an opportunity to have you in my place. I enjoyed every second of the short visit to the house before you check out.
Thank you for your understanding, greetings to the rest of your group.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Upstate New York
4

Good for large group in D.C.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had 13 people, adults and children. I would have needed 3 motel rooms, but was able to accomplish the same thing with this place. The owner was helpful in answering questions ahead of time, so that we knew what to expect upon arrival. Place was clean and neat. All were able to have beds.

We were able to drive into the museum area easily - in about 15 min. We don't vacation much. This was a good place to stay for our D.C. vacation.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for everything. Hope to see you in DC again and you will receive a better treatment. Thanks
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Cincinnati, OH
4

not that bad.....

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We arrived at night and I'm not going to lie, we are a group of white ppl that are for the most part not 'city slickers'. So it appeared a bit sketchy when we first got there however as the wknd progressed we became much more at ease. We did quite a bit of walking and NEVER had any problems in the neighborhood. The house was as described but I will say that while it adequately slept the 6 of us, lounging in the living room was a challenge with only one couch and one additional chair. We made do by utilizing the dining room chairs but it wasn't super comfortable however we had a place to sit so I'm not bitching too loudly. The home owner was most responsive if we had any questions and was eager to make sure we had what we needed. I would recommend this house and would probably stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and I also thank you for giving me the opportunity to host you when you were in DC. Hope to see you in the future.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
4.5 Bedrooms,Capitol Hill Phase II. Cheaper Than Any Hotel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914832
+1 202 415-0430
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

vacation for history

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay was very enjoyable and convenient for our purposes. The house provided the necessary space needed for our stay and was well stocked with necessary items such as linens, silverware, glasses, cups , etc. We will more than likely contact you again when needed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jeanette,
Thanks for your wonderful comment. I promise to render more assistance as much as needed when next you vist Washington.Thanks
Helpful votes: 0/1