Newport house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Newport House Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 8 comfortably. 4 bedrooms, 1 bath + outdoor shower

Looking to enjoy Newport at its best? The Fifth ward is the place to be! Walk to town, play with the kids or the dog at Morton park, run to the beaches, bike to Bellevue and tour the mansion and stroll to the harbor for the sunsets! Just steps away from Thames Street and downtown, whether you are window shopping on Thames, shopping for the best cheeses and gourmet foods at Bluerocks, picking up wine at the local package store around the corner, or looking for great dining at the new Thames Street Kitchen, it is all within walking distance. YES we love this neighborhood!! This spacious 4 bedroom house with a new open air front porch is now available in the summer and the winter season! Smoking is not allowed inside the property.

The front porch provides a place to unwind and enjoy the open air. The back deck with grill and the yard are great for families to relax and play.

Fall, Winter Spring Available. Must book entire season. Ask about rates.

My wife, two kids & I hail from New York City

Gerry purchased this house in 2011

We fell in love with Newport many years ago and a few years back decided to take the plunge and buy a vacation home. We rent to Salve students during the school year and occasional summer rentals, all to offset the cost of owning a second home. We've made many improvements since buying. We opened up the porch (it was enclosed), paved the side of the house (it was crushed sea-shells), painted the exterior, and re-sod the back yard. If you do stay at our place, we hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Great location, quiet street close to Gooseberry beach and a 10 minute walk to downtown. All the convenience of home; cable, internet, ACs in every bedroom, fully stocked kitchen and a Weber BBQ

6 Reviews of Property 914444 in Newport, Rhode Island

Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Newport Rhode Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My correspondence with the owner via the Home Away website, and then through email was OUTSTANDING. This was my first Home Away experience, and without a doubt, The owner was just absolutely FABULOUS in response time and clarity of details. His guidance was ongoing from the moment of rental to the actual date. He even went as far as a follow-up, to ask if we enjoyed our stay!

Thank you to the owner he provided AMAZING customer service and I have been raving about our experience and I am recommending Home Away to everyone I know!
thanks!
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Summit, NJ
5

Great Newport home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family of 4, myself, husband and 2 children (aged 11 and 14) spent 3 nights at this property during the week between Christmas and New Year's. Also with us, was our golden retriever! The house is very warm, inviting and cozy. Tastefully furnished and very well-equipped, you really feel as if you're right at home. The old world charm is well-complemented by the modern updates. The living room is spacious and relaxing, and is open to the well-equipped kitchen. The dining room offers a nice spot for a family breakfast or dinner. The location is great with a liquor store and convenience store within a few minutes' walking distance. There is also a great Italian restaurant right around the corner. Because we were there in the cold off season, we weren't able to appreciate the ability to stroll up and down Thames St., but can see how great that would be in warm weather. We would highly recommend this property as a great find in Newport! Lastly, and, of great importance, is the owner's responsiveness. When we arrived, there was a small problem. The owner was extremely attentive and stayed in constant contact with us via text and phone to ensure that the problem was resolved swiftly, and, it was. Were I to visit Newport again, I would look into this property immediately.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

A great week in Newport!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We liked everything about this charming downtown Newport home! The owner was flexible enough to allow us to rent Friday to Friday so as to be on site for the Newport Folk Festival. The proximity to everything of note in Newport was a special bonus. We could walk or ride bikes to just about everything including dinner, sailing, groceries and even Gooseberry Beach, a short easy walk south.
The house was very tastefully decorated and tidy. It had all of the charm you would expect from an older home along with every single amenity. It is great to rent a home with beach chairs, beach toys, books and toys for the children, a Bose speaker for your iPod AND champagne glasses! We used the reliable Weber grill on several occasions and were able to cook everything we brought without having to struggle to find the proper kitchenware. This place has everything!
We used both the front and back porches most mornings for coffee and evenings for cocktails. The bedrooms are all air conditioned, thankfully, and there are many fans as well. We were always comfortable. The outside shower was roomy, had great water pressure and was a great option, especially for sandy kids!
The owner was responsive and accommodating to all requests and questions which was very reassuring. I would rent this property again and would highly recommend it to anyone! I'm already plotting my return:)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Great weekend getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My girlfriends and I were looking to getaway to Newport for a weekend away/reunion and we stumbled upon 14 Lucas and fell in love! The place completely suited our needs with even extra space to spare. The house was not only conveniently located and within walking distance to many great shops and restaurants, but kept extremely clean. One of the great assets of this house is that it is located in a nice quiet neighborhood, which is great for folks who really want to head to Newport and relax. The ease of renting this house made the trip even more worthwhile as the owner of the house was extremely responsive/cooperative.

We had such a great time we are already thinking about when we can go back!!

I would highly recommend you consider this rental in Newport as I promise you will not be disappointed.
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

A quiet, comfortable stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed here for a golf weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed the location and comfort of the home. There is both a convenient store and a liquor store just down the street, and the restaurants and bars along Thames street are just a short walk away.

Inside the house, there is plenty of natural light on the ground floor and the street is quiet and relaxing during the day. We used the outdoor grill for a few meals, and there's a comfortable table for outdoor eating and the kitchen is fully stocked with utensils needed for the grill.

The beds were very comfortable, and linens were freshly prepared for our arrival. Towels were also available, and there were more than enough for our entire group. The owner notes it in the profile, but there's only one bathroom and shower so that may be an issue for larger families.

The owner was incredibly prepared for our 3-day stay, and was always available via phone and email to answer any questions we had. The next time we head for Newport, we'll be renting this property again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious 4bdrm on a quiet street, near beach and downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914444
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
4

Relaxing in-town spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We stayed in early August and had a great stay... the house is very charming and has a lot of space for a downtown house (large bedrooms and a full dining room). Just one bathroom can be a challenge for larger families, but good to know the outdoor shower is there. The open kitchen and living room is a comfortable and convenient layout. We liked sitting on the front porch in the morning/evening, with just enough room for 3 or 4 to read or chat.

1900-10s house - Older folks should note that the stairs are steep. Original wide-plank pine floors in the living room and throughout the second floor were clean but had those deep/wide gaps... people who expect brand-new and spotless should be aware. On the other hand, little touches like comfortable bed linens really added to a B&B feel.

As with most downtown rentals, parking is a little tough (one guest pass) and loading up our baby was not always that convenient... but we were almost always able to find a spot somewhere on the block. It's a pretty quiet side street, so while you can walk to several restaurants, you don't get the street noise late at night that you would further up Thames Street. Seemed like most neighbors were residents rather than renters.

With a convenience store and Bluerocks Market two blocks away (yes it IS really great food, maybe pricey), and the liquor store on the corner, you've got what you need if you want to stay close to home. We also took a walk a couple blocks west of town where there's a big, flat park for the kids, and another harbor-side park a little further. Would definitely go back for an in-town vacation.
Helpful votes: 4/4