Berkeley house rental - Living room has comfortable seating, Wii game system and tv for relaxing
Living room has comfortable seating, Wii game system and tv for relaxing
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Berkeley House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4-6 comfortably - room for more!

Located for quick access to everything in the Bay Area: near North Berkeley BART (quick ride to San Francisco), near UC Berkeley, Monterey Market (best fresh produce in the bay, where the chefs shop), many gourmet restaurants, and other hot spots. Easy access to all major forms of transport but just in case you change your mind, an Enterprise rental is a block away for convenience.

Best value for your dollar in the Bay area.

Free wifi, phone, Wii game system, 42' TV, various supplies for your work and play including several bikes and helmets.

Hardwood floors throughout, tourist travel guides supplied, washer, dryer, ironing board and iron.

Home is ideal for meals. Dining room with executive size 8 seater large table or a very comfortable table for smaller group at the end of a long day. All modern supplies needed for cooking healthy meals. A breakfast table in the kitchen allows for comfortable morning meals.

Master King bed private oasis in back , second bedroom with a Full bed for couples or single, third bedroom with two bunkbeds (can sleep 4 with 2 in upper bunks and 2 on twin beds below). There are also two air mattresses available to use.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi, I'm Cathy. My family and I have lived all over: several states on the west coast, New Zealand, several European countries and we've visited 30+ more great hot spots on the map, mostly for work. Plus, we love traveling. As of 2009, my husband and I now both work remotely. We can live anywhere but wanted to keep our CA party pad so thank goodness for HomeAway and VRBO! We love the location and have many good friends in Berkeley and throughout the Bay Area. We're fun-loving, nomadic explorers and we're grateful for all the people who have come to Berkeley to enjoy the area like we have. So much to explore!

April Brewster purchased this house in 2006

My husband and I purchased this Berkeley home in 2005-2006 when we needed convenient access to *everything*. We had 4 kids going to 4 different schools and both of us commuting: me all over the Bay area (SF, San Mateo, Palo Alto in particular) and my husband with a daily commute to Emeryville. None of us like commuting. We want to get where we're going then play! There is so much to explore in the Bay Area and we loved the convenience. The houses in the Berkeley hills have pretty views, but it takes longer to get to them and convenience took a higher priority.

We wanted a place that was big enough for all of us, with space for sleepovers for the kids and a massive kitchen since homecooked food can be so healthy and good. One of this house's best features is its large kitchen and central, large dining room, great for family meals. The house was everything we needed plus more.

The large kitchen is what attracts most people to this house. Being able to cook your own food is excellent for this particular area because:

1. If your budget is tight, cooking a few meals in-house can slice significant money off your budget!

2. There are several superb, unique grocery stores nearby, including a fresh produce market, Monterey Market, that has some of the best produce in the world. Having a great kitchen helps you take full advantage of it.

Also, compared to other rentals in the area, this home is perfectly located -- it's close to the freeway, but several blocks away so it's in a family neighborhood. It's less than 10 blocks from the main freeway whereas many rental houses are 25 to 35 blocks (or more) across town. When you're vacationing, the last thing you want to do is commute. It's why we bought it -- we wanted to spend our days relaxing and playing with the kids (not driving). The public transit and easy walking around town made this home ideal.

12 Reviews of Property 914439 in Berkeley, California

Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 12 reviews
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
sacramento CA/pittsburgh PA
5

Nice home and nice location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house was very clean and had everything needed to feel like its your house. Working with April is very pleasant and easy. She was very sincere in ensuring we had a great stay. The service of getting your food order before you arrive really helped and saved time. My uncle forgot his medicine unfortunately and April took the time to fed ex the medicine over night. The proximity to BART was nice and there are so many tasty places to eat near by and all around the area. The little cafe down the street has quality organic food choices and unique tea choices. There was even a cool old school jazz trio to enjoy as we ate our food. The area is quiet but yet close to the freeway when arriving or departing. Overall I would definitely come back to this house when I make my way back to the great town of Berkeley.
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
4

Perfect location, Very Accommodating Owners

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Other than the toilet chain coming off quite frequently, everything else was perfect. Can't beat the price, and we were pleasantly surprised at how close our friend's house was. April was very accommodating to our requests. The house and lawn could use a little sprucing up, especially the bathroom, but that is why the price is so right. We were very comfortable, and the kitchen is gorgeous. Driveway parking is easy, and we didn't notice the downstairs tenant at all. Leila's is a great place to eat, and you can walk to REI and 4th Street shopping easily.
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

Little Gem in Berkley!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Met our family here for a few day stay in Berkley. The house was clean and inviting. It was wonderful to cook meals to share instead of going out, but the area does have some great restaurants. The dining room was a great game room at night. There is someone in the basement, but you didn't hear them much.
House is super close to the Bart to allow easy access into the city.
The backyard could use some work as it was a mess and 2 out of the 4 chairs were broken making it hard to spend time outside.
The whole family would stay here again!
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
Windsor, Ontario
5

Spacious and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I stayed in this house for eight days and became well acquainted with the many comforts and conveniences in this lovely home. Considering what hotels cost, even with only two people staying (and there's plenty of room for more!) this is very good value for the money. Because I love to cook, I really appreciated the roomy kitchen and good chef's knife (a rarity in rental homes). The shopping service was totally worth the money. It was also great to find several non-perishable items in the home that I didn't have to buy myself. I have already recommended this spot to other members of my family. The neighbourhood is typical of Berkeley--lots of bungalows, some renovated and some not--and great for walking. Near the BART, near 4th Street shopping. We're going back in October and looking forward to it.
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
4

Séjour agréable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Nous avons passé un séjour agréable dans cette maison fonctionnelle et placée dans un quartier calme ,non loin des transports en commun
Une seule pièce d'eau pour 8 occupants est un peu juste
Cuisine spacieuse et. Bien équipée , chambres agréables
Un place de parking bienvenue car très difficile de se garer à Berkeley
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
4

a good base

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
A very decent place to stay. Close to the North BART and a nice kitchen. Living area a little small but comfortable. I did a lot of research and this home has good value for 3 bedrooms. There are people living downstairs but I hardly heard them.
Could havebeen a bit cleaner (mold in the coffee pot) but over all no serious complaints. I would stay again for sure.
It is very well stocked.
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know about the coffee pot! A new coffee machine was purchased and the cleaning people (who don't drink coffee) now know to take extra good care of this since many people rely on coffee for a good wake-up to the day! Thanks for letting us know.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
4

Nearly Perfect!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The pictures of the vacation rental really don't do it justice. This house is beautiful inside and out. It is well-cared for and stocked with many "extras"-- plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom, the kitchen has a good coffee maker, spices, all dishes and appliances. There's extra blankets, sheets and pillows and best of all (for us) - we found three skate boards and a bunch of games. The washer and dryer came in really handy for our week stay with laundry detergent stocked as well. There is plenty of closet space and extra nooks for putting things to grab and go.

One block away is a street with a cafe for breakfast (Cafe Leila's- excellent!), convenience stores, a couple cool bars, a pizza place and unique shopping. It's a lovely, safe neighborhood. The BART station is about a half mile walk, slightly uphill to it but an easy trek back after a long day.

The owner was very friendly and worked with us on check-in and check-out. We were all flying in from different places at different times so this was a concern. The main drawback that I wasn't aware of until we arrived is that there is a permanent resident living in a basement apartment at this house. Even though we don't play loud music or have "parties"-- we are a bunch of writers that rarely get to see each other in person. Eight people talking, laughing, walking around... we felt like we were always disturbing them. The rental agreement says no extra guests after 10pm -- this was fine for us but during check-in it was mentioned that after 10pm is "quiet time". This was a problem and constant concern but really our only problem with this rental. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

A great place to stay for a bay-area vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was a wonderful base for our time in in the bay area. It is an easy walk to the BART stop, and very easy to go to and from SFO. It's only about 25 min. to Market Street on the Red Line train. While San Francisco was our primary destination, Berkeley itself is quite a treasure--it's worth your time to check out.

The house was very clean, and very comfortable. It is stocked with every appliance and convenience you could imagine and then some. The storage space available is great. Having a washer and dryer and dishwasher were especially great following our last HomeAway pick that did not have one. It was truly our home away from home.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
Venezuela
4

Cozy homestay option for Bay Area exploring

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My husband and I visited the Bay Area for a long weekend with our three young sons. This rental was absolutely the best option in terms of comfort and value for our party. The home is far more cozy and welcoming than any hotel would've been for the 5 of us. I very much appreciated the large kitchen and spacious bedrooms. Additionally, the mini-van that came with the rental was perfect for exploring nearby Marin County. The homeowners were very accomodating to our needs and we appreciated being close to our favorite haunts in Oakland/Berkeley. If planning to travel to the Bay Area with small children, i very highly recommend doing the math and seeing if a homestay option such as this offers better value versus a typical hotel stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Centrally located ideal home with large kitchen in vibrant Berkeley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p914439
+1 310 699-4073
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

A great house and excellent owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I will begin with the few cons. At first I feared that having just one bathroom could be a problem for a party of 8, but it turned out fine, and the mattresses in the room with bunkbeds were not very comfy.

Other than that, our stay was wonderful.
Cathy was always helpful, kind and very thoughtful, both during the booking process and during our stay.
Upon arrival, the house was clean, organized and everything was taken care of, down to the smallest detail such as wrapping paper, DVDs and coffee.
The kitchen is large, well equipped and great if you are planning to cook large meals. We spent a lot of time there. The dinning room can seat up to 10 people.
The location couldn’t be better: the street is quiet and near important avenues such as San Pablo or University. A five minute drive will take you to Target or El Cerrito Mall, while a five minute walk will take you to restaurants, convenience stores, bars and the BART station (which takes you to SF, Oakland and the airport).
The house is well equipped: WIFI, cable TV, Wii complete with games and accessories (great for the kids) and travel guides.
I would definitely recommend renting the minivan too. It was very useful.

Bottom-line: our experience with Cathy and her house was wonderful from the beginning to the end and we would recommend staying there to anyone visiting Berkeley. Better in every way than staying at a hotel.
Helpful votes: 3/3