St George Island house rental - Huge kitchen for lots of chefs.
Huge kitchen for lots of chefs.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps18
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

St George Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 16-18)

This lovely home recently got a makeover to create the vacation home you will call your own. 5 spacious bedrooms, all with new ''heavenly beds'', is perfect for large family gatherings or a fun ''friends'' trip.On a private cul-de sac in the exclusive Casa del Mar neighborhood in the prestigious gated Plantation Community, you'll think its the Florida of old.....you wont know what to do first...run to the beach...swim in the surf....walk a bit & fish at Bob Sikes Cut (you can see it from the house), or just kick back on the awesome decks and relax....the multiple decks have lots of outdoor funiture.

The open living area features all new furnishings, a wood fireplace, media center,large dining area....a really cool bar, a second seating area and a fully equipped kitchen for entertaining....the main floor glass doors open up all the way across for easy access to the deck. Its a big enough house that you never feel crowded. Very kid-friendly......too. The Lighthouse room is the best...

The open living area features all new furnishings, a wood fireplace, media center,large dining area....a really cool bar, a second seating area and a fully equipped kitchen for entertaining....the main floor glass doors open up all the way across for easy access to the deck. Its a big enough house that you never feel crowded. Very kid-friendly......too. The Lighthouse room is the best.....New DVD/TV's for them in several bedrooms, playpen provided, beach toys, and LOTS of Sand!

The sunrises and sunsets will take your breath........I had a blast redoing the home ....I can't imagine how much fun it would be staying there.......from the 3rd & 4th floor balconeys ...the water is so clear & your so close that you can see the fish in the water! You will love this place.......private boardwalk with sitting area at the end to your 'Willow Beach:..... an outdoor hot / cold shower.......fish cleaning area........elevator to all floors.....

Opening up the house to let the sea breeze in......now thats a vacation......call me & lets put it together.... 'Welcome to our beach house.......Willow Beach'.

More Details
Hide Details

27 Reviews of Property 913897 in St George Island, Florida

Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 27 reviews
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Awesome week in SGI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just spent the most relaxing week in Florida with my in-laws. Usually we vacation with the kids, but decided to do just adults this time. We had a great time and Willow Beach was the perfect house! We all had our own bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was large and well stocked, with lots of bar stools to enjoy during "happy hour". We had so much fun cooking and grilling out, that we never made it into town to eat out as planned. This house surely feels like "home away from home". I would highly recommend for girls weekend, family reunions, or an "adult only" vacation such as ours. We arrived in late March when the weather can be "iffy" but lucked out and had a whole week of sunshine. I think it would be awesome to come back and visit during the summer sometime. Thanks Cathy for sharing your home with us so that we could make some wonderful memories.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice comments.... You all were very smart to book Willow Beach as early as you did. I've never booked my house so fast before . I think between so many of my guests coming back every year and Mother Nature's horrible winter, everyone was dreaming of the warm beach. You're right the house is laid out so well for several families. No one ever feels crowded.Hank & I are so glad you all had such a great time & the weather was so good. Please plan for next year....we would love to have you back!
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Yes, You CAn!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
If you love the beach, relaxation and memorable sunsets then you will have to say YES, to this family friendly paradise!
The whole process was easy and pleasant, The owners could not have been more accommodating...even "Handy Man Jim" was a delight. The lay out of the home accommodates for all family types, plenty of living space and the third floor gives breath taking views. The board walk to the beach is amazing. We were concerned at first about all the stirs especially for my dear husband, however taking good advice from the owner we had the grand kids and children unload. The kitchen was perfect as we are all foodies and love to prepare our own meals...it is truly equipped with all you need to prepare delicious meals! The deck off of the main floor is perfect for meal times and family game time. We have limited experience with vacation rentals, though this experience has definitely encouraged us to return and continue saying Yes, we can!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for the kind words...I hope you will be back this year....Jim is awesome, I could not have Willow Beach as perfect as it is without my "sandals" on the ground! Hank calls Willow Beach ,"Cathy's really big doll house"!. The house has never rented up as fast as this year, mostly due to my repeat guests such as yourself. People love to vacay in a place they are familiar with. Their vacation time gets better every year. Every year there is more to discover & explore on St. George and in Apalachicola. Please come back to the island, Wendy, your week is waiting for you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Cleveland
5

Una Maravilla en el Golfo ( A marvel in the Gulf)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I have been in great beaches. I have traveled to several rental homes in the last years, some in the beach. I can tell you this has been the best beach house by far. The house is pristine, impressively stocked, and as comfortable as it gets. We have 3 kids, and they are energetic. Well they, had space to do all the things they wanted to do, and I felt safe because the place is safe. The beach was shallow for at least 30 yards, the water was warm and the sand clean. You can sit in the beach and keep an eye on your kids, and feel safe. There are other families, but the beach is large and you do not feel them.

We saw dolphins, stingrays, crabs of all sizes, turtle nests and a little beautiful turtle that had lost her way. the decks are perfect, you sit and can see the horizon and the beach, you walk 8 feet and you are in the kitchen. this means that your meals are easy to serve and clean after.

This place is perfect to bring 2 or 3 families, settle down, and let the days run. But if you are an explorer, there are plenty of other activities around the place.

I highly recommend it. The owners are completely involved in its care, and you will notice it.
thank you for a great vacation...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: My goodness, what an amazing review! Thank you all so much. Yes we are very much involved......a bit nutty at times....but our guests come back year after year. So glad you all had a fabulous vacation!
Hank & I thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Hope to see you in 2014!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Little Rock, AR, USA
5

Absolutely wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We could not have had a better time at Willow Beach! Everything about our stay was wonderful! The beach was beautiful, and we had the privilege to witness amazing wildlife at the beach. We saw dolphins nearly everyday, and sting rays one day. The highlight was the privilege to be there when sea turtle eggs hatched.

The house was perfect for us. We had plenty of room. The house is well designed, and allows you to cook in the well-stocked kitchen, and at the same time have a view of the beach. It was easy to allow kids to play at the beach while adults relaxed on the deck.

We enjoyed a nearby snorkeling trip, great restaurants, and the pristine beach. The location and the house itself really made our vacation special! I highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Im so happy you all had such a great time. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you next year. Meeting your family and friends was such a treat.....your two boys are awesome! And the baby turtle deal was over the top! So glad you could see that very amazing bit of nature up close.Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Marietta, GA
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have stayed at several homes on SG, but this one is far and way the best one. The home is clean the location is great, the views are spectaculars what can I say. The weather was horrible and with 4 grand kids I was worried. But the home is so large that the kids had plenty of room to play and the minute the weather broke we we on the beach in less than 3 minutes, that's how close it is. The kitchen is very well stocked you felt you were at home. Great porch to eat lunch on and watch the Dolphin play in the water. If your looking for a place that will not give you any surprises when you open the door look no further, book it now!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Robert....I felt terrible that you had the worst of the summer weather. I hope you will come again.......lets try to make that work. Your comments about the size of the house & the way it is laid out, I hear over & over. No one feels jammed up...there is always a place to go hide.
Hank & I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you in 2014! Cathy
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Indianapolis
5

Dream Vacation Home for R & R

Dream Vacation Home for R & R
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We absolutely loved Willow Beach. The description and photos on VRBO are very accurate. It was amazing, beautiful, clean, well maintained, and well equipped with everything you would need for your trip. Cathy thought of everything! The main floor was designed for entertaining and the kitchen was a cooks dream come true. Anything and everything you would ever need to make a meal of your choice. Equipped with every utensil and piece of cookware imaginable. Cookbooks, dishes, cocktail glasses....I could go on and on. The suite on the top floor is marvelous for In-Laws...very quiet, or roomy enough for an entire family. The entire house was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The elevator was well worth the extra money. The beach is pristine, quiet and not crowded. I don't know what was more fun, watching the dolphins swim and play, or the dogs playing on the beach and in the water.
Two must tries, The Steamed Shrimp at The Market Place (Blue Store and Gas Station) and the massages by Paula, as recommended by Cathy. Three members of our family had massages and loved the experience. Paula was very friendly and everyone enjoyed their massage.
The first night we were at WB, we stepped out on our balcony, & the sky was so clear we could see the Milky Way, and crystal clear stars. We were fortunate enough to experience a full (Pink) moon while we were there too.
Cathy was so helpful to make sure we had everything we needed to make our vacation pleasurable. You can tell she really cares about her guests, and goes above and beyond her responsibilities as an owner.
I would highly recommend Willow Beach to all of my friends and family.
.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow guys! What a wonderful review! Thank you all so much! I have a lot of help making sure all our guests have a great time. Having Jim, my all round handy dandy property manager that lives on the island, knows everyone & can fix anything is a huge plus. As is my friend Paula, who is not only a great lady but a killer masseuse. And to Dawn and her staff of house keepers who are as particular as I am.To have a successful rental takes a team of dedicated folks. I am very lucky I have all of them. And oh yes, my husband, who chuckles every time I am going to the beach house to check on this and that. His comment is always didn't you already do that? Guess I'm a little OCD, but I want folks time at Willow Beach as great and fun as it can be. Thanks again, Cooky & Company.....love what you wrote in my guest book!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Tennessee
4

Family vacation starts here!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Great house to stay while making memories at the beach. Loved the Main floor layout. Very spacious and the kitchen is fully stocked (pantry too)! Everything you need to accommodate the kitchen chef! Had a few issues with the hot water heater but it was resolved quickly. Thanks Jim! The elevator was a plus while hauling in luggage, groceries, baby items, loading and unloading since the house has 4 floors. Much needed! The grandchildren loved the beach house a lot. Plenty of room to play. The only "bad" thing was the wooden deck and boarkwalk leading out to the beach area...on the back elevation had plenty of splinters and several nail heads and screws popping up on several boards. We pulled many splinters out of little hands and feet during our stay. Other than that....perfect place to vacation with family! We had a professional photographer come out the last day of our stay to take our family pictures on the beach. Thanks Hank & Cathy for offering your beautiful home to guests. Enjoyed staying very much. Hope to come back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review & thanks for booking for next year! Folks are looking ahead and booking their favorite places alot earlier than ever. Im pleased your joining my returning guests club.
I appreciate the comments you made regarding the boardwalk....with the wind, sun, rain at the beach, its a neverending problem to keep the boards smooth. However, my team has that on their list to check between guests from now on. I try to think of everything as I think of Willow Beach as my big girls doll house and I want everything to be perfect for my guests. I love it that you had one of our professionals take your "official" picture. I'd love to have a copy to put in the house. "I heard the massages were really good too!" I try to have what you all want!! See you next year!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Naples, FL
2

Ladies Retreat

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Yes, we did manage to have a very good time despite the cold weather which lingered most of the week.
While the house was very large, beautiful beach setting and decorated nicely to accommodate our group, we felt very strongly about some details lacking.
On at least a couple of occasions, I was told "everything is there", "just bring your clothes and food". I took that literally, and passed that on to the group.
In fact, upon arriving and beginning an inspection of the home, we found that there was not toilet paper, soap (in any bathroom), dish soap, 2 dishwashing cycles left on the counter, 1 paper towel on the stand. In most of the bathrooms, there was not even enough toilet paper to get through a day. In our past experiences, with rentals of or above Willow Beach's caliber, it has all been provided or at least a list given to us prior to arrival of things like this, we would need.
Secondly, the amount of mildew throughout the bathroom areas, was unacceptable. Being a Floridian, I understand the need for mildew control, due to our humid climate. You could smell it strongly in the 4th floor master shower upon walking into the bathroom, the jets on the 3rd floor tub are so black, no one would even consider a tub bath there.
Thirdly, the 4th floor (master shower) has absolutely no water pressure and on two occasions, we had serious hot water issues. The trundle bed had no top sheet, blanket and only a pillow (no cases to cover).
Two more pillows on 3rd floor had no pillow cases either. We found a total of 3 blankets in the entire house and none on the bedding in any room. One bathroom on the 3rd floor had no wash clothes and again, limited towels.
Little/Big details; like 1 oven mitten, two dish towels, no hand towels at all in the half bath in the family room, which is occupied/used the most. Master closet door off and in the closet on shelf. TV's that do not work, outdated electronics, poor cell phone service (a booster on your home would probably fix that- a $200 investment),
lacking linens and appropriate bathroom towels, etc. Rusted refrigerator and no water and ice service?
When a group of 10 or 12 women are renting your home for a week, I suggest you cover that with your cleaning help or property manager so the home is stocked appropriately with linens, towels, etc. The cleanliness of the home should go beyond surface swiping.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This is the first time in 3 years that's there has been a problem or complaint regarding the toiletries or towels or sheets, or blankets. I don't doubt that my cleaner may have screwed up,
but all it would have took is a call to my property manager or me that could have fixed this within 30 minutes. I found all the blankets in various dressers etc. that just had not been put back correctly.
I have instructed my cleaner to leave 2 full rolls of toilet paper in every bath and the towel & washcloths have also been increased. And at your suggestion, I will include what I provide and a list of suggested items that my guests might stop and pick up before they get to the house.
The mildew in Florida is bad, the jets in all the tubs have been sanitized. I believe the problem there was that you arrived a few days after my 2 month guests had left and it doesn't take long for mildew to appear in a beach house. The water pressure on the 4th floor is good. However, with 14 ladies and a lot of hot water usage, it can be not the best. I often have up to 18 folks at the house and I have not heard that comment before.
The lack of bedding issues have been addressed and my cleaners totally understand that this cant happen. My cleaners are probably the best on the island. They are wonderful gals that really do a very good job.
I bought more oven mitts as those disappear from time to time & we have increased the kitchen towels that we leave for our guests.
The broken master bedroom closet door was broken with my last guests and not reported,. We did not have time to fix that before you all arrived.
The TV service on the island is not too great. The TVs do work, but once again a call to my property manager or to me would have had these on and working immediately.
The cell service is really beyond my control. I have a booster in the house and you can see how effective it is.
Yes, there is a bit of rust on the outside of the refrigerator, and the in - the- door ice device broke a couple weeks before you arrived & I was waiting on a part.
All of this Dee, could have been resolved with a call to me or Jim, our manager. Jim lives on the island, answers his phone day & night 24/7 and is a terrific guy. His number is on the desk, in your contract and you have my number.
I have changed some procedures since this email & review and Willow Beach will be the better for it.
I am heartbroken with a 2 out of 5 review when I could have fixed 90% of this with a phone call.
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Tennessee
5

Could not have asked for more!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This last trip to St. George Island was our first time at Willow Beach. I’ve never known a homeowner to try so hard to meet individual needs. Cathy Browne takes each rental seriously, as a business woman and as someone who derives pleasure in knowing that her lovely home can bless others.

This pristine, private section of the Forgotten Coast is protected by locals. We could relax on the sand lost in thought without a single banner crossing the sky telling us where to eat dinner. One encounter with the largest great blue heron I’ve ever seen took my breath away. Just the two of us alone on the sand. Sheer awe; lessons in stillness and patience. The nature is glorious: dolphins, pelicans, seagulls, shorebirds, and seashells abound! Willow Beach is a delightful twenty minute walk to the Cut … a destination point for me because of its intense wildlife activity.

Cathy clearly designed her home to focus on the stunning views just outside the windows. This is a woman who knows how to maximize the term “beachfront.” I could read a book on the comfy sofa and look up from my page to see dolphins diving, pelicans flying in formation, and waves rolling toward me. Sunsets and sunrises spill into all rooms of the house! As for the home, the deck is huge, as is the kitchen, and the furniture (loads of pieces) is plop-into-it-happily COMFORTABLE! The wall-to-wall carpeting is soft on the feet and enhances the quiet. Even the washing machine was great, and we all know how gross it is to find an old, ratty machine. The many, lovely beach-themed appointments caringly placed throughout the home served as a reminder of Cathy’s warmth and attention to detail.

I must add that Cathy was more responsive from out of state than any management company, a stone’s throw from the rental homes. She relies on a wonderful man, Jim, who lives on the island and is available for any needs that might arise. Jim goes above and beyond the call. Find some little excuse to meet him, for he’s a treasure trove of island info and a good man.

Looking forward to visiting St. George Island and Willow Beach again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My goodness Susan, what a fabulous New Years present! I am so flattered with your comments. I do love my house & I love what the "karma" of the house does for my guests. You are right, Jim is a wonderful fellow & I could not do this without him. He cares for our properties as much as we do. We try our very best to give all our guests the "Best of the Best" experience ever. You would think I had trained dolphins out in the gulf by the way everyone enjoys them so much. I sure hope to see you & Matthew again. Cathy
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Willow Beach, New, Fabulous, 5 Bedrooms, Stunning Sand, Sun & Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p913897
+1 501 258-4868
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Lovettsville, VA
5

Relaxing and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Wonderful home. Beach is quiet and relaxing. Exactly what we look for and need when we vacation. Owner is great to work with. Any issues or questions were answered promptly. The house is very comfortable and feels like home. The area is very private; we essentially had the beach to ourselves. Dolphins were fun to watch! Water was warm! It was quite a long drive for us, but well worth it (though we would fly next time). Celebrated our 4th child's 1st bday while we were there; highly recommend the little bakery in Apalachicola.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for expressing your opinion of Willow Beach. Somehow the house seems magic. All my guests have felt so at home and really relax on their vacation time with us. Certainly part of the reason everything goes so smoothly is our fabulous property manager Jim. He is there on the isle, ready to help with anything that may come up. I'm so glad it worked out that you were able to come, and so glad you booked way ahead of time to get a really good week to be on the island.
Hank & I would love to have you back next year!
Helpful votes: 4/4