Bonaire condo rental - Gorgeous view from the oceanfront balcony.
Gorgeous view from the oceanfront balcony.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bonaire Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

Welcome to OceanScape Bonaire, your beautiful Bonaire oceanfront condo! You won't believe your eyes when you experience your fabulous view. Your condo is located in the small, quiet, Port Bonaire Resort, located just across the street from the airport. It is so oceanfront, we like to say you can 'spit in the ocean' from the balcony (but due to trade winds, it is not recommended!). The bright, sunny one bedroom condo affords superb privacy, located all the way at the end of the beautiful Dutch-styled building with a panoramic view across the ocean to Kralendijk, Klein Bonaire and the northern mountains of Washington Slaagbai Park. But just turn your head and you have the added bonus of a view across Donkey Beach and those gorgeous Bonaire sunsets to the West. That's right, since you are on the corner, you have a 270 degree view that cannot be surpassed. There is nothing quite like relaxing on the balcony after a long day of diving or snorkeling, glass of wine in hand, to watch the sunset into the ocean. Although waking up, pouring a cup of coffee and meandering out on the balcony to see dolphins arching across the water while a cruise ship passes by to port in Kralendijk is not too bad either!

We have traveled all over the Caribbean for many years, always with the dream/goal of buying our own place on the water. We love to snorkel, hike, go boating, bicycle, and relax on the beach. When we finally ticked off Bonaire on our list of places to visit, we immediately knew we had found our second home. We searched during several visits for the perfect place, and finally found it at Port Bonaire.

What makes it so great? It had all of these things that we were looking for and even more:

* Snorkel and dive directly in front of the condo. There is an easy ladder entry for you to use just steps away from your door, and it is a very short swim to 18th Palm or Windsock dive sites. Some of the most spectacular snorkeling and diving on the island is right in front of you. Dockside rinse tank, freshwater shower, and hanging hooks.

* Walk to the beach. Donkey beach/Windsock is a few steps south of your condo through a secure access gate.

* Dive shop on site. Dive Friends runs a full operation on site and that includes rinse area and lockers.

* Close to the action. You are less than a 10 minute drive to the coveted south shore dive sites or windsurfing at Lac Bay, and 5 minutes to the center of Kralendijk.

* Easy access to the airport, rental cars, grocery, and a short walk to Plaza Resort, just next door, where you will find boat rental, water sports, tennis and restaurants. We don't even rent a car when we arrive. We roll our luggage across the street and get settled in, and then rent a car later when the crowds have died down at the car rental counters, or even the next day to save a few bucks. (And don't worry, the airport is not noisy here - - it is much noisier at places a little further south in Belnem due to the orientation of the single runway)

* Second floor and the additional sense of security it brings, not to mention the enhanced view.

* Sunny, tropical décor and plenty of windows to open, or Air-Conditioning is available throughout.

* Swimming pool right on the oceanfront. Plenty of lounge chairs and an outdoor shower.

* Beautiful tropical gardens full of butterflies and songbirds surround the small, peaceful complex of 26 units.

When you open the door from your private stairway, you will turn through the archway into an open great room that includes the kitchen and living room which opens through a floor to ceiling glass wall onto the balcony. The vaulted ceiling adds an open, airy feel. Tropical décor puts you in the mood for your restful vacation.

There is an electronic security alarm system on the condo for your peace of mind.

The living room area includes a sofa sleeper and 40' flat panel LCD TV, Blu-ray / DVD player, and stereo with IPod docking station. A secured DSL line to use with provided Ethernet cable or wireless with the access code we will provide to you.

The kitchen is fully equipped (really, I like to cook!) with fridge, cook top, microwave/convection/grill oven, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, blender and electric kettle. The granite countertops offer plenty of workspace if you feel like cooking and enjoying a meal on the privacy of your own balcony. You will also have a Smokey Joe grill if you want to BBQ.

The toilet and bath/shower are separated into two different rooms, each with its own vanity, as is common in European style. This is nice in case you are utilizing the sofa sleeper. The bathroom and toilet are separate from each other, and both are accessible without going into the bedroom.

The bedroom has a comfy queen-size bed, plenty of fluffy pillows, a nice sized closet and a 27' TV. French doors open onto a small balcony overlooking the garden. On this balcony are two hanging rods and 4 heavy duty dive equipment hangers for securely drying your gear.

A safe is available in the condo for your use.

And finally, off the large side balcony (yes, there are three!) there is a laundry room with a washing machine and a drying rack.

Two beach chairs and a cooler are provided.

Linens and towels are provided.

There is air conditioning throughout, but all doors and windows have mosquito screens so you can enjoy the beautiful trade winds if you wish.

Not suitable for children under 6 yrs.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you inquire, we will send you a link to many more pictures. This site will not permit us to post a link to our photo gallery.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I love the beautiful underwater world surrounding Bonaire.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2008

Private location at the end of the building, gorgeous oceanfront setting, superb diving and snorkeling right in front, beach a few steps away, lovely well cared for complex with beautiful tropical gardens and large pool. Fabulous, convenient location.

There are so many great things about our place. You will enjoy mid-island convenience to everything. With a Dive-Friends dive-shop at the end of our building, you can dive out front at two fabulous dive sites without ever leaving the property, or there are boat dives leaving from our dock each morning and afternoon. Gorgeous views. Exceptional convenience to the airport. You could even skip car rental for several days and save money. You can literally walk (a short walk at that) across the road to the airport. We do it all the time. And don't worry about airport noise. Due to the orientation of the single runway and the infrequent flight schedule, it truly is not a problem at our place at all.

28 Reviews of Property 259956 in Bonaire

Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Wake Forest, NC
5

Excellant Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The condo was immaculate. The view from the patio was even better than the pictures. The location was wonderful (across from the airport, close to the southern dive sites, not far from town, laundry or grocery store). The property is well taken care of and the manager is always available and willing to help with questions/information. The information provided by the owner prior to arrival is very useful and complete.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Philadelphia
5

Wonderful vacation condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at OceanScape for two weeks (as we had in 2012.) We enjoyed a lovely tastefully furnished (and most importantly comfortable!)1 bedroom condo in an excellent central location across from the airport.. The Port Bonaire property is very well kept and the gardens very attractive. There are plenty of lounge chairs, the pool is beautiful, I swam afternoon and evenings almost every day. We are avid snorkelers, and the central location made it nice to come "home" for lunch when changing snorkel sites (we visited 2 different sites each day.) Some of the best snorkeling is right in front of the condo across a small channel - 18 Palm; while Windsock (just around the corner) is good too. ( I saw a gorgeous spotted eagle ray there!) There are steps into the ocean providing an easy entry for snorkeling - something that is very hard to find in Bonaire! The condo looks better than the pictures (and they are goodacdcurate), the condo is clean and the bed is very confortable, there is AC in the living room as well as bedroom, though the breezes are great and there is a balcony off the bedroom for a truly flow-through breeze. There are great screens on all the windows and doors - a must have in Bonaire! Any time we weren't in the water snorkeling or at the pool swimming, or out & about, we spent on the porch! It was very interesting and peaceful to watch all the small boats, sailboats, even fish activity from this lovely location. The sunsets were beautiful too. The owners have really thought of everything to make the stay a great one from nice wine glasses, to cooking utensils and pans (I cooked a full meal every night), to the internet. We brought our computer and stayed in touch with our family as well as downloaded our picrures! We even made reservations for a snorkel sail on the Woodwind (highly recommended.) It was a wonderful vacation and we look forward to the next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
WI
5

Quality Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had such a wonderful time in Bonaire and this condo played a big part of it. OceanScape at Port Bonaire is a quality rental. The only time we heard someone was when we were out on the deck and even then it was very quiet. We never felt unsafe there, or in Bonaire in general. It was the most relaxed vacation we have ever had and we have traveled a lot. My husband said many times, " you did good", in reference to the island and OceanScape. We are low maintenance people but still like things nice and clean. Owner Connie and caretaker Mark have done a very nice job making sure that this place makes people feel comfortable. I certainly hope that we make it back to Bonaire and I would not hesitate renting from them again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
WI
5

Quality Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had such a wonderful time in Bonaire and this condo played a big part of it. OceanScape at Port Bonaire is a quality rental. The only time we heard someone was when we were out on the deck and even then it was very quiet. We never felt unsafe there, or in Bonaire in general. It was the most relaxed vacation we have ever had and we have traveled a lot. My husband said many times, " you did good", in reference to the island and OceanScape. We are low maintenance people but still like things nice and clean. Owner Connie and caretaker Mark have done a very nice job making sure that this place makes people feel comfortable. I certainly hope that we make it back to Bonaire and I would not hesitate renting from them again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Columbus, Ohio
5

Awesome Condo in Bonaire with Great Owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Hopi bon!
I can't say enough good things about this condo or its owners. Connie was amazing to work with and she literally thought of everything in the documents she sends to you prior to the trip. This was our 4th trip to Bonaire and this condo is by far our favorite.

The location is perfect and don't let the thought of the airport being across the street scare you. You really don't notice the air traffic noise. KLM is the largest that comes in and they are considerate to do so at 7:30 in the evening. The runway runs parallel to the condo so the engine noise is not directed at the condo.

Okay, now the best part of Bonaire... the diving right across the boat channel from the condo is terrific. Since it's a little private, not many divers destroy the reef right in front of the condo - lots of diverse marine life. The entry and exit is easy and the condo provides a really nice fresh water rinse shower and rinse tank with hooks to dry equipment. Having Dive Friends right on site was another big plus!

The condo is just the right size and with the great cross ventilation from the screened patio doors and window, you never need to run the air! We really liked how the shower was in one room and the toliet in another with each having their own sink. The furniture was comfortable, the TV huge (just to catch a little news) and the kitchen is really well outfitted. The view from the patio was great and it's fun to see which cruise ship is in port each morning.

While we dont speak Dutch and can't even pretend that we understand Dutch, the other owners and/or guests on site were really friendly and quickly switched to English to accomodate our lack of European training. To sum it up, this condo exceeded our expectations and we won't hesitate to rent it again in the future.

Thanks Connie for a wonderful week in Diver's Paradise!! Or as they say in Papiamento, Masha danki Connie (okay, no, our Papiamento is no better than our Dutch but we are trying!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
orange ca
5

Love it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
As usual everything we needed to have a great week! Awesome view and great location!!
Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Virginia
5

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I don't generally gush about lodgings, but am making an exception. This place was marvelous! It wasn't the height of luxury, but it was clean and comfortable and cozy, the kitchen was well-stocked (utensils, basic spices), I felt safe, it was quiet, the grounds were beautiful... I can go on!

The photos are exactly what you get... and walking in the door that first time, the view from the main balcony was breathtaking. Actually, I remained in awe all week! That balcony got a lot of sitting time, especially at dusk when some local pelicans would circle, coming within feet of the balcony, then plunge into the water for dinner.

The owner sent materials describing not only the property but also with a lot of helpful information about the island. I had a few very specific queries not addressed in the materials (that was not easy... they are comprehensive!), and the owner emailed me back within hours each time.

We did wind up renting a car (we weren't sure we would), because even though we are walkers, walking into town isn't a particularly good option considering the road between the property and the center of Kralendijk. It was a good choice because we also wound up traversing the island top to bottom to see what there was to see above water too.

We ate in for all breakfasts and a few lunches and dinners, but also ate at Paradise Moon, Appetite (upscale dining - wonderful food, and the chef's menu selections were exceptional, but odd wine temps), Maiky's Snacks ("local" food, down an unpaved road... but worth the effort), the Tuesday bbq buffet at the Plaza Resort (very well done, and only $17.95), pizza at Pasa Bon Pizza (quite a ways north, and the sausage was very spicy, but otherwise as good as it gets), and lunch at Chibi Chibi.

The diver in our duo went out with Dive Friends every day - they have a store on the premises, but the boat left from another branch north of the city - thus, the car was necessary. In any case, he had nothing but praise for the dives and the dive operation. I can barely swim, but a "float on top" snorkel on the beach next to the property left me amazed - according to "my" diver, some of the things we saw just offshore were critters even divers don't regularly see.

I highly, highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Stafford, VA
5

We Loved this Condominum Unit - Owners Thought of Everything!!! Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We traveled to Bonaire with high expectations about the island and this condominium based on all of the reviews we've read, and I'm happy to report that the reviews were spot on! A beautifully decorated, very clean condominium with everything anyone could need - maps and information, extensive kitchenware, an up to date media system, and grill!! Due to a flight delay, we arrived a little after midnight, so it was a relief to just push a luggage cart across the street to our condo - it really is that close, yet, the aircraft noise isn't noticeable! Our last dive of the vacation was a night dive straight across the lagoon area on the other side of the rocks - saw 2 huge green moray, lionfish, octopus, spotted eel, and a small school of 4 ft tarpons that accompanied us all the way out and back. We dove and snorkled on the other side of the rocks on the left, and saw another huge green moray, barracuda, a couple of the largest parrot fish I've ever seen, as well as lots of various types of tropical fish. Our favorite dive was Salt Pier - THICK with sealife - squid, various types of eels, porcupine fish, trigger fish, barracuda, etc, Love it that Dive Friends is right on sight - they stored our gear for us overnight and just kept a running tab - prices are very reasonable - especially with the 20% discount you get from staying at this condo. Did two boat dives with them at Klein Bonaire - saw turtles and a large ray. Highly recommend the Tuesday night barbecue buffet (grilled fish, chicken, pork, and beef) at the Coconut Crash Bar @ La Plaza Resort just across the lagoon - steel drum band, tiki torches on the beach, and great food for $17.95 per person. Also recommend diving at Buddy Dive resort (gorgeous reef formations, lots of sealife), then having a lunch afterward at their bar - good menu and reasonable prices. Jibe City is a great place to have lunch and watch the windsurfers - ample and tasty salads, especially the seafood salad. We shopped at the newest supermarket east of the Warehouse and was amazed at the extensive selection of wines. They also have various marinated meats and fish ready to throw on the grill. The beef kabobs were excellent accompanied with white asparagus and a salad. We like going to a different island every year, but we know we will definitely be back to Bonaire and this unit or the bigger one if we bring family. Actually, we may have to break tradition and go again next year - it is that nice!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our second stay at Oceanscape Bonaire and what a fantastic time we had - again!
The first time we visitited Bonaire we decided to do Discover Scuba Diving with Dive Friends and loved it so much that we came home and got certified in the balmy 44 degree waters of Georgian Bay, Ontario. Since then we have completed our Advanced and Nitrox certification so this trip was a diving trip for us.
When we arrived in Bonaire there was someone at the airport to meet us and take us to pick up our rental truck then we drove back to Port Bonaire. The next day we woke up early and stocked our fridge from the Warehouse grocery store - everything you need!
Having the Dive Friends shop on the property was great - and so easy! Just load up your tanks and go. Jamal and staff there were so friendly and always came to talk to us about what sites to visit and where we had been the previous day.
The condo itself truly feels like home away from home! It is SO comfortable with a great kitchen, comfortable bed and all the ameneties you could ever want/need.
Our favourite part of the day whas returning from a full day of diving and sitting on our private balcony overlooking the ocean. This is when we would indulge in shrimp, delicious local cheese and a cold glass of wine. The sunsets were unbelievable!
We love cooking so we only ate out twice.
We drove to the southern end of the island to go to Jibe City for our favourite seafood salad. If you are looking for serious chill time on the water, this is the spot. Friendly staff, laid back, cold beer and delicious food. We wondered in in our wetsuits and were almost overdressed!
Norca's Deli Cafe in town is one of our favourites and that is because of Norca herself. She is such a great lady and always has something daring for my husband to try - this time it was iguanna stew. He loved it!
We struggle with travelling somewhere different but we love Bonaire and Oceancape because it is so easy there - especially as divers! You can dive when you want, as much as you want.
The Port Bonaire complex is relatively small and quiet and the few people that you do run into are very friendly. There was always a chat by the water about what people had spotted that day. One of the best dives we did was right off the ladder in front of the condo.
Thank you Connie for being such a great hostess once again. You are so helpful and provide so much information.
Book us in for 2013!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanscape Bonaire - - Oceanfront Condo with Incredible View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259956vb
(317) 250-2482 (Indiana, USA)
Bonaire Caribbean
Philadelphia
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Not only was this vacation condo everything it was described as - it was lovely! The photos were accurate, the property was very clean and well-maintained. The owners provided detailed descriptions for the operation of the appliances, and condo rules as well as very helpful information on snorkeling sites, grocery stores, dining recommendations, and more. This was our 4th visit to Bonaire, but first stay at Oceanscape, and we learned new information! What could not be described in print or photo was the lovely deck - we spent much of our time at the condo on this deck with its lovely expansive view, constant trade breezes, and interesting small boat passings. The property is immaculate, has lovely gardens, and the pool was wonderful. The airport was not an issue as the runway is situated in a different direction. One of the best snorkeling spots on the island is directly across from the condo with a stair entry - doesn't get much better than that!! We stayed 2 heavenly weeks, snorkeled 2 different sites every day. I cooked in (like to cook and grocery shopping was fun here!) so we only ate out once - restaurant 'At Sea' which was just terrific if a little pricey. The property manager was always available and very helpful. The owners provide a cell phone and internet for use during your stay!! We used AB car rental and were very pleased with their service. We will definitely be back to this lovely condo in Port Bonaire.
Helpful votes: 2/2