Becket house rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Becket House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 7-9)

Use our airy, beautiful, new house as your base to visit the Berkshires' wonderful variety of performance venues, restaurants, museums and spiritual retreats. Breakfast on the dining deck in the cool morning breeze; watch the sun go down through the trees from the upper balcony.

Relax in the deep soaker bathtub in the master bathroom after an inspiring day exploring art museums, or walking a portion of the nearby Appalachian Trail, or shopping at the Lee Prime Outlets.

Walk the dirt road the distance of two or three city streets to the closest private lake. On the way, look for the native wildflowers, hear the streams that flow to the lakes, and listen to the variety of birds among the trees in the forest. Enjoy a swim in the clean, natural lake. Breathe the clean breeze that usually blows across our site.

When you come back from the lake, enjoy the double walk-in shower in the master bathroom to get ready for the evening.

Further Details: Shop at the local farmers' markets and prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Cookware and dishes for up to 8 are in the cabinets.

When you return from the evening's performance the windows open as needed for the weather, and cross ventilation lets you enjoy natural cooling. You'll fall asleep listening to the night sounds of crickets and frogs. You'll awaken to the sounds of woodpeckers and songbirds searching for breakfast .

Other members of your party will be upstairs. A double bed is in one bedroom and a twin bed- above a double-bed futon bunk bed is in the other bedroom. A full tub-and-shower bathroom is available to both bedrooms and the loft. The oak frame sofa in the loft is a very comfortable futon double bed.

Besides the choices among the fine arts, you will have the opportunity, if you like, to visit Ku-shi Institute of macrobiotic instruction and programs, 15 minutes' drive north; and Kripalu, Zen retreat house, a half-hour drive west.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 912640 in Becket, Massachusetts

3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The house was open, bright, and very comfortable.
Julia and Robb were very easy to contact and responsive to all of my questions leading up to the weekend. I actually appreciated paying a cleaning fee, because I had peace of mind that the place would be nice and clean on arrival, and it was!

The pictures of the house were spot on, although I was still surprised by how big the master bedroom was. I loved the recliners in the master bedroom and also the big double shower. The house comfortably slept 3 couples and 1 infant.

We did all of our own cooking for the weekend, so we found that the kitchen was well-equipped with the basics for cooking. I really appreciated not having to bring things like paper towels and dish soap.

I would definitely recommend this property in the future.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the appreciation! It's so gratifying that our efforts to provide a satisfying vacation home away from home " hit the spot " for our guests.
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
west islip, long island new york
5

Could not have asked for better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What an enjoyable, stress free, fun filled vacation! Julia and Rob are truly gracious hosts, very accommodating, very helpful..interesting people. The house was clean, cozy comfortable and well equipped for the 2 family getaway. The beds were great and the setup of the home allowed for privacy yet togetherness. This Becket location is close to skiing, outlet shopping and small town Mass (Lee, Lenox, great Barrington....) . There really was something for everyone in our party. The wintry weather mix was exciting...never a dull moment in Mass!
Julia was helpful and available at a moments notice..(when all the keys were left on the kitchen island and we locked ourselves out within the first hour of our arrival, when we couldnt figure out the TV to watch the Olympic games at Sochi). problems were taken care of with swift efficacy ! Thanks Julia!
The food options in the area are broad, ranging from deli type places to nice restaurants . After a hard day skiing...we sent the kids out to pick up our takeout order from Arizona Pizza ($75.00 fed 9 of us with leftovers). The pizza was not your typical NY "fold your slice in half" but it was tasty, the hot wings were good as well as some of the other combination pies and calzones.
The food stores are not far either...we made a filet mignon on the gas grill on the back deck (after my husband shoveled a path through 3 feet snow! heehee) made baked potatoes, broccoli and cheddar cheese. Delish! We never made it to the Sherwood deli for breakfast which we regret . We heard from others the omelettes/breakfast food is something that should not be passed up.
We did however go to the Alpamayo in Lee, a Peruvian restaurant that i highly recommend . Small place, quaint...and the food was awesome. I had the Ceviche Mixto as an app (shrimp, calamari, octopus, shellfish, lime juice) OMG it was mouth watering. For dinner i had Pescado a lo Macho...equally fabulous. For drinks we tried the national Peruvian booze which was kind of described to us as tequilla like. They made it frozen..looked like a Pina Colada but was much more refreshing. Cant wait for next yr to try another interesting dish! The staff were very sweet, and the chef came out to meet us. Julia and Rob also supply the house with plenty of sheets, towels, extra pillows and blankets. The radiant floor heating was surprisingly effective, it was my first experience .
Lovely house, lovely people. thanks again!!! Sincerely Deb and John and fanily
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Perfect Long Weekend with Friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
A perfect snowy weekend in the Berkshires, thanks to Rob and Julia! They were extremely helpful hosts, and the house is very cozy and well stocked with kitchen supplies, linens etc. We were 6 adults and 4 young children ages 1-6, and spent a lot of time in the "great room" off the kitchen just talking, playing, and looking out the beautiful windows. We had a nice lunch outing in Lenox, and a perfect cross-country ski/skating/snowshoeing adventure at nearby Canterbury Farm - about a 10-minute drive from the house. This was a great meeting place for friends from both NYC and Boston. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Family Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
House is very clean and spacious, with lots of natural light. The five of us had plenty of room to spread out. Julia made many suggestions for dining, etc, along with a full tour of the house upon our arrival. In spite of the rainy weather, we were unable to hike, but visited the Lee outlets, Sherwood Shoppe, Arizona Pizza Company, SoCo Creamery, and did some sight seeing of the area. House had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Thank you!
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
New York, NY
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Just returned from a weekend here with friends and it was great! The house is so open and airy; very clean and bright. We ended up just relaxing and grilling/cooking there for most of the weekend instead of going out and we all felt very at home and comfortable. We were a group of 9 and there was plenty of room! The rental was actually attached to the owner's main house by a long garage, but it was nonetheless very private and quiet. Julia was so kind and gave a detailed tour of the house upon arrival, and offered to be available should we need anything at all. We hope to return sometime in the future!
Owner's Response: And our thanks to you guys for leaving the place in such good order ! You'll be welcome whenever you want to return and we have availability.
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Julia and Robb are wonderful people!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I can write this on behalf of our entire group:

Dear Julia,

We’ve thoroughly enjoyed the place!

Your property had everything we required from the essentials, comfortable stay and scenic view perspective.

Hope, to see you again soon!

Thanks
Gaurav
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
Greater Boston
5

Friendly & restful

Friendly & restful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Great base for activities in Lee, Great Barrington, Stockbridge et al. So nice to have paper products and some basics provided. Beds were made so that a coin would bounce! Very comfortable. Locally we enjoyed the DreamAway lounge, the Sherwood Shoppe and Berkshire Berries. Ice fishing and hiking the Appalachian trail balanced the opportunity to just be lazy and enjoy the Berkshires. Easy stress free rental.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks, so much, for appreciating - as much by leaving our place as neat and tidy as you did, as by your kind words. You'll always be welcome when the place is available.
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Julia and Rob were simply delightful. They gave a thorough tour of the home upon our arrival and made themselves available throughout our visit. Julia also created a local map of the area and walked us through dining options nearby. The house was immaculate, spacious, and had a great kitchen for cooking (our purpose for the getaway). The living room has some very comfortable lounging options, and the wall of floor-to-ceiling windows provided more than sufficient reading light by day. Unfortunately we weren't able to use the outdoor seating areas or take advantage of the hiking trails due to the weather. However, we took full advantage of their great kitchen and jacuzzi tub in the master suite; in one word: luxury! One note, for any aspiring chefs out there (like ourselves): the kitchen is stocked with all the basic cookingware, but if you have particular utensils you're fond of, be sure to pack them.
Owner's Response: So happy you and your party had a good time and that our place met your expectations. And, you're quite right that we've tried to equip the kitchen for real cooking (not just warming the doggie bags from last night's restaurant meals in the microwave) but haven't provided special cookware like omelet pans, or springform baking pans. We have supplied bread pans, a brownie pan and a lasagna pan; and we have roasting pans available. There are utensils specifically for the propane grill on the deck but it doesn't have a rotisserie capability.
Thanks for the kind words. You were so responsible for taking care of our place that you'll be welcome to return any time it's available !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
Bristol, CT
5

Family Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
For Christmas every year, our gift to the family is a weekend away to ski and snow board. This was the first time we stayed at Julia & Rob's home and hope to return next year. The house accomodated us perfectly. We had 6 adults (3 couples) and 3 teenagers. There was plenty of room for all of us to have our own space. The house is only 30 minutes to butternut which was convenient and also has plenty around to do for the ones that don’t ski.
Julia & Rob were very accommodating, flexible with our arrival & departure time and were there to answer questions.
Thanks again!
Mckenzie & Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
3 mi. to Jacob's Pillow, 25 min. to Tanglewood in cool forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912640
+1 413 374-1772
Becket Berkshires
5

Gracious, welcoming, and helpful hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This lovely home is pristine and well-appointed. The comfortable great room, filled with natural light that spills in through several windows and skylights, is a delightful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Gracious and helpful hosts Julia and Robb welcomed us AND our extended family's three dogs. We enjoyed long walks in the nearly traffic-free neighborhood. Don't miss the fabulous breakfasts at the nearby Sherwood Shoppe.
Susan and Eric
Helpful votes: 1/1