Captiva Island house rental - A Shore Thing is located in sought after Captiva Village.
A Shore Thing is located in sought after Captiva Village.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 8

'A Shore Thing' is located on beautiful Captiva Island. Our home is only one property away (300ft) from the gorgeous Island beach. 'A Shore Thing' is in Captiva Village therefore within walking distance to all restaurants, shops, McCarthy's Marina, the Captiva Library, and Starbucks. It is also close to the famous and quaint Chapel By The Sea, Captiva's only Chapel which is non-denominational.

We purchased our home in May 2011 and have been making improvements ever since. It is a ground level, newly renovated home with all new mattresses, bedroom furniture, bedding, towels, outdoor furniture, cushions, umbrellas, grill & more. We also offer three flat-screen TV's, DVD players and wireless internet service. The home boasts a private heated pool nestled among tropical plantings and lush grass. You may also rent a golf cart which is always fun! Come to Captiva Island and fall in love with the beaches, the weather and the people. This is a wonderful place for you and your family to make memories.

We live in Massachusetts and try as often as possible to get to our beach house on sunny Captiva Island. We are very happy to share this piece of paradise with friends, family and guests.

Laura Nyman purchased this house in 2011

When we visited Captiva Island for the first time we knew we wanted to be a part of this wonderful and close knit commumity. Captiva is a small island (just 300 homes), has a spectacular beach, and is surrounded by the ocean. The vibe is so relaxed and friendly. We all begin to unwind as soon as we cross the causeway onto our tropical Island. The beach is rarely crowded and is a wonderful place to relax while watching the birds and passing dolphins. We have enjoyed having friends and family join us at A Shore Thing. The memories we are making on Captiva will be with us forever.

We looked at many properties on the Island and fell in love with A Shore Thing. The proximity to the beach was my husbands favorite part, while I preferred the private HEATED pool surrounded by lush plantings. I love the privacy of the backyard. I love sitting on a lounge chair looking up at the bright blue sky and hearing the waves on the beach. We had our heart set on being in the 'Village' as well. This enables us to walk everywhere! Our daily walk to Starbucks is guaranteed exercise :) Our girls love the location because of how close we are to the Captiva Library. They love books, movies and the children's activities offered. Overall, the location can't be beat so we jumped to purchase this home!

14 Reviews of Property 912553 in Captiva Island, Florida

Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 14 reviews
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

beautiful back yard with pool

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I dont throw around superlatives but this house was PERFECT for five adults and one baby. I cant think of one negative.(A large pot for boiling pasta and corn would be a help) Dont miss the Sannibel farmers market on Sunday morning and the nature preserve. Would definitely rent this property in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fabulous time in your beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Dear Laura,  We had a fabulous time in your beautiful home.  The layout gave us grandparents the quiet at the end of the day that was lovely.  Your pictures don't do justice to how beautiful the pool and patio are.  Our 6 year old granddaughter was in the pool constantly. Our daughter who lives in Jamaica Plain, MA loved how big the house was and of course the weather to them was miraculous.  Thank you so much for allowing us to share your home.  The landscaping and comforts in the home were just beautiful.  We had a lovely time.  Our best wishes for you and your family for the new year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Week

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Hi Laura,

We had a great week in "A Shore Thing"  and enjoyed the house and Captiva
very much. Thank you very much for everything!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Made it Hard to Return to Reality

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first visit to Captiva, but definitely won't be our last. A Shore Thing was a perfect getaway for us, our two adult children, and our son's fiancee. The home was very clean, kitchen well-stocked, and there are lots of extra linens and beach towels (a nice touch for those flying in and who are unable to bring along those extras needed at the beach). The house is right across the street from a short path which leads rights to the beach. This allowed us to spend most of the day on the beach and then easily return to spend the late afternoons by the pool. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Some favorites included The Green Flash, Key LIme Bistro, and The Mucky Duck. Shelling on the beach was incredible. The beach was pristine, the water a teal blue allowing us see to the ocean floor, and the beautiful palms and flowers gave the feeling that we were on a tropical vacation. It was very hard to say good-bye.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Perfect location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was our second stay at this property now called A Shore Thing. It was as delightful as we remembered. The decor is charming and home very cozy. It has everything you will need from comfy beds in spacious rooms to good showers with lots of towels, which was a necessity for the four of us. Going from beach to heated pool with two young kids was a daily requirement. The best part is the location! Easy, short walk to beach and to town for good eats and activities. The only very minor short comings relate to attention to details. For instance, there was no colander, welcome coffee packet with filters, guest book and ability to open the big gate to park the rented bikes. The realty company misinformed us about the pool jets and fountain we enjoyed during our last visit and sadly didnt get to reexperience this time. They do work! Again, all very minor and no reason not to stay at this wonderful home. It truly comes highly recommended from us and we will be Shore to come back. Thanks Laura!
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

As great as we had hoped!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This home was exactly as was advertised and even better! The location is truly ideal, a very short walk from the beach and town. It is just across from the library, where they have a great selection of dvds and books, and from the bay which has a fabulous restaurant to have drinks on the bay or take a sunset cruise. The homeowner, Laura, was very attentive and the staff at the realty company were most helpful. Everything is as it appears in the photos, but is even better when you experience it...the great mattresses, plush towels, top of the line pool lounges and the pool heated to a very comfortable temperature. The sliding pocket doors that separate the master bedroom from the rest of the house was a great bonus. Captiva is fabulous and this house is a find. Go and enjoy!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have been to Captiva before, but this was our best visit to date! We parked our car in the driveway on the day of our arrival and never used it again. It was a quick walk to the beach, which made it easy to come back and forth to the house for lunch or whatever our children needed. Just two very short blocks away were all of the delicious restaurants, live music, ice cream/coffee shop, and the corner store which you can walk to along the road or via the beach (where we would catch the sunset after dinner on our way home)!
The home was clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything including a pool, games for the entire family, dvd players, and my favorite, a washer and dryer.
We had a blast and will definitely stay at this beautiful home on our next trip to Captiva Island!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Stay on Captiva Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our stay at A Shore Thing was wonderful. The property is very nicely updated, and the layout of the home is perfect with the master on the opposite side of the central living area from the two guest bedrooms. Plenty of bathrooms for our group of 7 as well. The backyard space is very nice and the fact that it's only 1 level, it's convenient to the pool especially when you have little ones (no stairs up and down). It's the best location on the island, less than a block from the beach and only 3 blocks to dining. We've had several stays on Captiva and for the price this home can't be beat.Hope to plan another trip there next Spring.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

So Close to the Beach!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
A Shore Thing was a great vacation home. Clean, comfortable....everything we needed for our family of 5. We loved the private backyard/pool area with lush foliage and birds singing every morning. The house is just a short walk down a SHADED path to the beach. The beaches were never crowded and the weather was perfect. The house is also close to the village so we could walk to shops and restaurants on the island. We cannot wait to return to Captiva and A Shore Thing!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Village home w/private heated pool and STEPS to beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912553
+1 508 431-6889
Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

"A little piece of heaven"

"A little piece of heaven"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A Shore Thing was everything you could ask for and more in a vacation home. The neighborhood is quiet, the home is spacious and well equipped, with a private yard, beautiful patio & pool area, feet from the beach and walking distance to the marina, restaurants and shops. It really was a "little piece of heaven"

Gale M.
Woburn, Ma.
Helpful votes: 7/7