St. Paul cottage rental - Pool to Bamboo Cottage
Pool to Bamboo Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

St. Paul Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom with a queen bed & a twin bed/sofa,1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

Lush Tropical Setting

Bamboo Cottage is for nature lovers, set in a lush garden within a five minute walk to the sea. The cottage is nestled amoung palms and clusters of tall bamboo. Adding to the tranquillity, as the sway and rustle of these trees make music in the Caribbean breeze.

The Cottage is on two levels, the large verandah entrance leads into the open plan kitchen and living area which is well stocked, an island wth a gas range, a convection oven and microwave for cooking. Also an additional shower is located on the verandah for

your return from the beach or the pool. A spiral staircase goes up to the bedroom with an 'open plan bathroom' . Also another verandah off the bedroom which looks thru the bamboo out to sea

and the yachts in Falmouth Harbour.

Falmouth Harbour is the centre of the yachting infustry in Antigua & Barbuda. This is on the southwestern side of the island and is the home of the internationally famous Classic Regatta followed by Antigua Sailing Week. Also a five minute drive to the beautiful Pidgeon Beach, Shirley Heights Lookout (Antigua's National Park) and Historic Nelson's Dockyard.

Bamboo House apartment #262413 is also available. Please see listing for details.

Bamboo Garden: The owner lives on the upper floor of Bamboo House, which is on the other side of the property from the cottage, However the property has been cleverly designed to give everyone their own access and privacy, while having the security of knowing there is someone around should you need any assistance.

The property has a very romantic and relaxed feeling and an ideal place to just sit back and enjoy, also a good base from which to do your exploring of the Island.

Keywords: Garden, lush, warm, cozy, romantic, comfortable, countryside, peaceful, tropical, home, quiet, tranquil, cottage.

More Details
Hide Details

Joanne, your host is a Canadian who has been living in Antigua for the past 24 years. She is an avid gardener and the property reflects this. Another of Joanne's passion is food, for over 12 years she ran a restaurant she started in the harbour. Having sold the restaurant she now turns her attention to the maintenance of her garden and the operation of a Farmer's Market. Want to feel at home, Joanne is your best host!

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2009

I had the cottage built in 2009 in my garden as I think it is a very beautiful place and wanted to share it with others.

The sound of the birds singing during the day and the tree frogs in the evening add to swimming tin the pool that is surrounded by bamboo and palm trees and is even more beautiful in the evening in the bath temperture water and the star clustered skies.

30 Reviews of Property 266897 in St. Paul, Antigua & Barbuda

The Tropical Dream
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 30 reviews
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
-
5

Shangri-La

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cottage, the setting, the beaches, the town and most of all Joanne were absolutely perfect! We have been to many tropical vacations but we both agreed this was the best vacation we have ever had! Thank you so much Joanne for sharing the Bamboo cottage with us!
Debbi and John
Owner's Response: Debbi & John, Thank you for your review and kind words. Hope to see you both again in the future. Take care Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
5

Tropical paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It is difficult not to repeat the sentiments of previous reviews. We had a wonderful 10 days at Bamboo cottage. As soon as you open the gates you are in your own secluded bit of paradise. This was our first time visiting the Caribbean and we felt fortunate to have stayed in this ideal location. Joanne is so helpful and a fantastic host. The information she share allowed us to fully appreciate the island in the time we had. As other people have mentioned, a car is a must and preferably a 4x4 to experience the whole island. Thank you Joanne for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nigel for your review, it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and Antigua. I hope we get to see you both again in the future. Take care Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
Semans, Sask. Canada
5

L & K Sask

L & K Sask
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Upon our arrival we were met at the airport by Titi, our car rental company, and they escorted us to the cottage. We were met at the cottage by Shinise, with Joanne arriving shortly after. They showed us around the cottage and the rest of the property. This was our first time to Antigua and Joanne was very helpful with driving routes for the best beaches and scenic places and made recommendations for some great restaurants. The cottage has a cooler, umbrella, towels and chairs to take with you on your day trips (most beaches have limited or no services). We especially enjoyed the veranda for relaxing and
watching the banana quicks, humming birds and geckos at the feeder. If you're renting a car, a gps is recommended, although all the locals were very friendly and quick to offer directions! Some our favourite places were Long Beach, Rendezvous Beach, and seeing the amazing power of the sea at Devils Bridge. Our top pick for supper was the BBQ at The Copper and Lumber Store in Nelson's Dockyard Friday night. Shirley Heights was also a great spot for supper, sunset watching and great local music. The historical sites were also definitely worth visiting, very interesting. There are so many more places to discover on this beautiful island, we can't wait to come back! Thank you Joanne for your warm hospitality, you helped make our vacation a memorable one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences on the island. I look forward to your return visit to Bamboo Cottage in the future. All the best. Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
Nottingham, UK
5

Perfect place, perfect location...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Bamboo Cottage is the perfect place to stay on a trip to Antigua. The description is accurate but, of course, cannot really convey the stylish laid-back feel of the place. The Cottage is very well appointed and equipped and the pool is terrific; all beautifully set amidst tropical foliage. Everything is well-maintained and clean. Really excellent, comfortable accommodation with generous verandah for eating, relaxing and bird watching (don't forget to top the humming bird feeders!).

Joanne is a terrific host, attentive but not at all intrusive; she knows the island really well so is a great source of information.

The location of the Cottage is perfect for local amenities (well-stocked supermarket, terrific bakery) and is a short drive from historic English Harbour and a great range of bars and restauants. We particularly enjoyed the two restaurants at the Antigua Slipway and nearby Catherine's Cafe for 'treats' and any number of lively local places for the buzzing island vibe.

Antigua is small but very rewarding, definitely worth some research to pick out places of historical interest some great views, as well as quiet spectacular beaches. Our greatest pleasure, however, was just to get out and about around the island and see how people live and to enjoy being amongst the friendliest folk you are likely to come across. We rented a 4WD and were glad we did as some of the village roads can be a bit rough. Sign posting is abysmal but don't worry, there is always someone who will put you on the right track. Drivers will even pull up and get out of their cars to help you if they think you need it!

We also enjoyed a helicopter flight over Monserrat, spectacular flight and fascinating to see the island slowly recovering from the devastating volcanic eruption.

We certainly recommend Bamboo Cottage as a great place to stay on the island - we couldn't fault it.
Owner's Response: Thank you both so much for the lovely review, it was so nice to meet you both and it sounds like you had a wonderful time on your Caribbean adventure. Hopefully we will meet again. Take care Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
5

Honeymoon in the real Antigua!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Bamboo cottage was exactly what we were hoping for on our honeymoon. We were actually in Antigua from Sept 26-Oct 8th with 11 of those 14 days staying in the cottage, the last 3 nights we stayed at an all inclusive resort and we can not express how disappointed we were we did not stay longer in the cottage. Honestly, can't express how much more we enjoyed the cottage! It was hard to leave. It provided the perfect balance of romantic seclusion and local flare for us. We loved every aspect, really felt right at home. There is not much more I can say that hasn't already been said in other comments; beaches AMAZING, cottage AWESOME, restaurants DELICIOUS, bars so much FUN, and Joanne, well she really is INCREDIBLE, most hospitable hostess and all around wonderful human being. We feel blessed to have met her. Thanks for sharing your little slice of heaven, hope to return soon! Cheers, J&C
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi there, thank you for the gracious review. You must have got my email, I will keep you updated on the good news. All the best to you both for the New Year and I look forward to when I see you again. Take Care
Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
5

Incredible vacation enhanced by the most accommodating owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage is so beautiful and peaceful. I loved our recent trip. My only problem was with the mosquitos! Joanne was such a gracious host and goes out of her way to help you out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, it was a pleasure sharing this space with you, I am so glad you enjoyed it regardless of the mosy's which unfortuneatly are part of the rainy season. I do hope there will be a return hopefully with the little one. Take care. Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
Massachusetts
5

Words cannot describe our stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The best thing we did was choose the Bamboo Cottage for our honeymoon location. We spent 9 wonderful days on this island and needless to say we were sad to have to leave. Upon arriving, to avoid us having to drive out to a grocery for fresh meats, Joanne was kind enough to supply us with our first meal of the trip, some fresh pasta with a delicious, caught on the island, mahi mahi. The cottage was everything we expected. The website describes it perfectly. Joanne was the perfect host. She was there to guide us with ideas, places to go (or places not to go), recipes, and directions!!! But she never intruded on our privacy. We started each day on the deck with our coffee enjoying the birds. Fill the feeders if you want to enjoy the show, it is amazing! We could take a swim anytime! Some mornings we were in the pool as early as 8 am!
Driving was an adventure. Not what we are used to. Drive on the left side, steering on the right. Most roads are narrow and not in the best condition. Not even mentioning an occasional speed bump that just pops up on many of the main roads! We had many laughs when we headed out for the day just over the driving! Do not find it odd to have to stop for the passing roosters, chickens, dogs, goats and donkey!!!
A popular drink on the island is rum punch. Joanne was kind enough to share her recipe with us!
We went to many beaches, one we say is a must see--Rendezvous beach! You will need a 4x4 to get there but you should make the trip. It opens up into this secluded paradise. We had the beach to ourselves for many hours. Great place to snorkel too! The island is so casual and just so laid back.
We loved the Roadhouse on a Sunday night with a great Reggae Band. Other fun places we liked was, Life on the Corner, The Lime and Shirley Heights. The shopping was found in Saint John's, about a 30 minute drive from the cottage. A beautiful drive if you drive the coastal route. There is so much to comment on we will run out of space!!! We would highly recommend the Bamboo Cottage! We have already found ourselves saying we have to go back again. We found a friend in Joanne and cannot imagine not going there to see her again!
We had the best honeymoon ever and we owe a lot of credit to the care and attention Joanne puts into her property, the cottage and her guests. She is the best!!! Thank you Joanne!
Guy & Sherrie Bellefleur
Palmer, Massachusetts USA
Owner's Response: Hi there, thank you so much for the review, it was such a pleasure to meet you both and I do look so forward to your return as your adventure in Antigua is not over, I am in Canada at the moment just picking up the kayak, will research the best locations on my return. take care. Jo
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
Devon England
5

A secluded paradise but close to beaches and amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had anticipated our visit for over a year as for our last 2012 Antigua holiday, Bamboo Cottage was already booked. We were not disappointed for our Spring 2013 return to the Island. The Cottage was just as advertised, fully equipped and a delight to live in, the only small negative being the less than fully private upstairs toilet which was OK for us but may not suit all. Joanne is a superb host and ever attentive without being intrusive. The cleaning (and gardening) services were without fault. As a long term resident of Antigua, Joanne knows all that needs to be known to assist her visitors in a pleasant and relaxing stay. She helped us with our prospective house hunting too!
The environs of the Cottage garden borders provide almost total privacy giving a stay in the Cottage a real feel of a secluded paradise - with humming bird accompaniment. The upstairs bedroom balcony has views over the harbour too! The enticing pool ensures a relaxing and cooling moment at any time of the day!
Of course, the Cottage is in reality very close to all the delights of Falmouth and English harbours, and easily reached from the main Falmouth approach road. It provided an ideal base for full Antigua exploration, using the nearby restaurants and bars, or simply finding the nearest secluded and often empty beaches for which Antigua is so well known. It was Antigua Sailing week while we were there, so some may not have appreciated the late night music echoing across the Bay...but hey....we knew and expected that. It was part of our great holiday.
Thanks Joanne for a great start to our holiday...we thoroughly recommend this place, and bigger groups should consider renting her 2 bedroom apartment in her house ground floor too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the reveiw, it was a pleasure meeting you both and I look forward to seeing you again and sharing a glass of wine.
Take care
Joanne
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Truly a "Tropical Dream"

Truly a "Tropical Dream"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was the first time my husband and I did not go to an all inclusive resort and it was by far the best vacation we have ever had. What a beautiful treasure we stumbled upon....thank you so much Joanne for choosing to share this amazing property with others and for all your support during our stay. You are an awesome host and a lovely person. For those of you who are contemplating a vacation here, don't hesitate, the cottage is very cozy and the garden is stunning. It was so nice to swim every morning before having our coffee on the veranda while watching all the birds and lizards. Then off to the most pristine secluded beaches we have ever seen. Joanne was extremely helpful as far as suggesting things to see and do on the island so you can do lots or you can just chill out. A vehicle is a must, preferably a 4X4 if you want to tour this amazing island. This was such an awesome experience we are already planning our return next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kevin & Sue
It was a pleasure meeting & sharing with you, thank you so much. I do look forward to seeing you both again next year.
See you soon!!
All the best, take care. Jo
business
The Tropical Dream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266897vbi
(268) 764-3630 (Antigua/Barbuda)
St. Paul Antigua
4

Charming cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Lovely cottage living up to it's description. Very clean, comfortably outfitted, delightful garden and porch. Nothing better than breakfast on the front porch in the company of the hummingbirds and bananaquiks. Joanne our host was very helpful. Offered to get supplies in for our first breakfast because we would be arriving on a Sunday (stores closed). She got wonderful items and bonus treats, especially produce and fruit. Throughout the week she offered great tips on places to go. Swimming pool is great too, very quiet and relaxing.
As light sleepers, we had to find a solution to the tree frogs and neighbourhood barking dogs, but we did and then slept well.
A very nice and relaxing week.
Thanks so much Joanne.
Nancy & Peter
Toronto, Canada
Owner's Response: Nancy and Peter, thank you, I enjoyed meeting you both and am glad that you enjoyed the cottage. Take care Joanne
Helpful votes: 1/1