Lead cabin rental - Spiral staircase to upper loft bedroom and view of fireplace/hearth.
Spiral staircase to upper loft bedroom and view of fireplace/hearth.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Lead Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

'Sun N Snow Lodge' is located on Terry Peak, just outside of Lead, 8 miles to Deadwood and 17 miles to Sturgis or Spearfish. This cabin is cozy yet the openness of the living/dining room and kitchen provide plenty of space for your family gatherings.

If your plans are for skiing at Terry Peak you will love the location - being within walking distance of the lodge and only 10 minutes to Deer Mountain. There are three bedrooms which includes one loft bedroom, the loft and main floor have queen size beds, the lower level has two sets of sturdy bunk beds offering four extra long twin beds. For additional sleeping there are two sofa sleepers providing room for 12.

The family room downstairs is an additional space for the kids to hang out, watch some tv or play a little XBox. Sit out on the deck and enjoy the wildlife and the evening stars. The hot tub is off the lower level on a patio to provide plenty of privacy. Great family vacation lodge for the entire year. With 3 driveways, there is plenty of parking for your motorcycle, snowmobile, and ATV.

We are the perfect destination for those seeking easy access to the Terry Peak ski lodge. Our renters can move their skiers and equipment by car from our cabin to the ski resort in less than 90 seconds.

We do recommend our renter plan to use four wheel drive vehicles when visiting our cabin in the winter. The extra traction can be helpful in the northern Hills in the winter.

Geocachers can find us at N44 19.962/W103 50.731 - Elevation 6,444 ft ASL.

There are six golf courses within an hours drive. You can make this cabin your golf getaway headquarters.

Find more photos and information on the area by visting our Facebook page. Search for 'Sun N Snow Lodge' in your Facebook tool bar. Visit our links and photos.

Book for these weekends.

ISOC Snocross Championships February 1-2, 2013

Mardi Gras, February 8-9, 2013

St. Patricks Day, March 15-17, 2013

Black Hills Wine Festival, usually, early June, still researching dates

Wild Bill Days June 14-15, 2013

Black Hills Corvette Classic, July 16 to July 20, 2013

Days of 76 Rodeo and Festival, July 23 to July 27, 2013

Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, August 3 to August 11, 2013

Legends Motorcycle Ride, August 6, 2013

Kool Deadwood Nights, August 22 to August 25, 2013

Dakota Five-O Race/Ride/Tour, Labor Day weekend

Deadwood Jam, September 14-16, 2013

Oktoberfest, October 4-5, 2013

Deadwierd, October 26-27, 2013

Keywords: Cabin, 3BR, 2BA, Terry Peak - Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun

More Details
Hide Details

We have four sons who love the outdoors. We enjoy the Black Hills and think you will as well.

One of our favorite things to is rock climbing. Try Sylvan Rocks, they have great guides and provide great service.

Mark and Peggy Shlanta purchased this cabin in 2009

We love to ski, hike and sight see in the Northern Black Hills. We think you will too. Come stay at our home and start your family memories.

Skiiers our cabin is less than 60 seconds by car to the Terry Peak ski area parking lot. Provides for easy drop off and pick up of skiers and for those who choose to walk to/from the ski area it is close and simple.

Summer renters will enjoy the being far enough from the city to have a lot of quiet and personal space, but close enough to other cabins that you can meet and visit with other families while you are out for a walk. We enjoy using the various decks in the summer; a solitary cup of coffee first thing in the morning, cocktails before dinner or a night cap before retiring for the day. You will see wildlife that includes turkeys, deer, and the occasional fox.

17 Reviews of Property 255109 in Lead, South Dakota

Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
Sioux Falls, SD
5

Ski cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
House was beautiful, clean, functional and easily accessible. Our kids loved that it was so close to the slopes so they could ski back to the cabin for breaks and snacks. Would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
Quartz Hill, CA
5

Beautiful and functional

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Spent the Fourth of July week with my wife, parents, and five kids. The cabin has good (not great) access to Lead/Deadwood and is located in a most beautiful area. We used the hot tub every night. Kids loved the downstairs "privacy" (so did we) and the upstairs met our dining and card-playing needs. Beds were very comfy and all the kitchen stuff was sufficient. Owner was easy to work with and key access was simple and appreciated. We love to visit the Black Hills in the summer and have stayed at several nice cabins over the years. This one is worthy of a repeat visit!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
5

Great Vacation Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our group of two couples enjoyed this home. It had everything that we could ask for. Our only negative comment would be the gas grill and its failure to light. We ended up cooking our steaks on the stove inside. It was great to have the option of making some meals at home. That certainly kept exspenses down. I would definately recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We have removed the old grill and replaced it with a brand new grill as of mid-October 2013.
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
5

The H, L and B family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were very happy with our entire experience! The cabin had everything we needed (well, except no heat in the master bedroom), to make our stay more than comfortable! The owners of the cabin were so friendly and helpful! We got a whole list of local attractions with phone numbers. And we were able to call them at any time with questions. They were very gracious. Thank you! We will definitely use VRBO again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
5

Great for Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had just spent several days in Yellowstone and the Tetons before arriving at Terry Peak. There was much anticipation after the nearly 500 mile drive from Yellowstone when we arrive at the "Sun and Snow Lodge" and we were not disappointed. The cabin was spacious and lots of room for kids to spred out and relax. We all enjoy the patio's, deck, hot-tub and room darking curtins (nice if you want to sleep in a little late one morning). We visited Mt Rushmore, Crazyhorse, Wild Bill's gravesite and "Hill City" while we were there. Steaks on the grill, cold drinks and a fire place and a dip in the hot top was just the right for our family. I would gladly recommend to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
5

Great location and amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you are a skier this cabin obviously is in a great location -- we equally found it to be a great summer location, with an easy hike down the mountain along Lost Camp Gulch / Annie Creek to Spearfish Canyon for some fly fishing. Back in the cabin we enjoyed an occasional hot tub dunk, and the washer and dryer was handy to stay on top of that task for a clean trip home. This cabin is perfect for two families with 4 kids -- the kids enjoyed the shared bunk room and the huge dining room table provided plenty of space for a home cooked breakfast in this home away from home.
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
Wheaton, IL
5

This rental cabin is awsome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were blown away on arrival. The cabin had everything needed for a great vacation. Pristine clean. Pictures reflected the property to a tee. Plenty of room. Great views. Very private setting. Close to everything. Deadwood. Spearfish Canyon, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Devil's Tower. Temendous selection of restaurants and things to do for the kids (three boys five, six and seven. I will stay here again. Owners very responsive. Rental process easy. I still can't believe we lucked out and rented such a GREAT PLACE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
Vine Grove KY
5

Sun and Snow Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house in Lead is very nice. Our family traveled from KY to see Mount Rushmore... The house is a neat get away from big touristy hotels and was very well stocked to include laundry detergent, dish washer liquid...
We enjoyed the hot tub and after we were able to get some wood to dry, we enjoyed a cozy fire in the fireplace.
Our only complaints were a dirty freezer, the wet fire wood, and towels that had been left in the drier. Other than that, we would recommend the Sun and Snow Lodge and the price was great for our three night stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am confident Kim's review is accurate. Our primary housekeeper took a two month trip to the southwest to visit family and friends in Arizona and during her absence she arranged for another housekeeper which apparently let a few items slip. I have gone to the cabin to make sure items are clean and ready for summer. Our regular housekeeper returns on June 6. Enjoy your summer stay at Sun N Snow Lodge.

Mark Shlanta
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
MPLS, MN
5

Great value for big families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have 6 kids and having an entire room filled with bunk beds meant that we actually had a bed for each kid without having to make up a sofa bed or futon. And having a bed room that was out of the main area was also nice. My wife and I actually were able to sleep in a couple of the mornings that we were there!

Our kids loved having our own hot tub right outside the back door because we could turn it down a little so it wasn't so hot.

The cabin was also well stocked. We have stayed at many vacation rentals and we actually carry a storage tub full of all the things that most cabins are missing or items that are provided, but don't work very well. I'm happy to report that we hardly ever opened it up. Whether it was kitchen supplies, spices, or bathroom necessities, we always seemed to find them instead of having to go to our "stash":)

The location is awesome. We loved our stay. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Terry Peak-3 BR, 2 BA-Skiing, Gaming, Hiking, Golf, Family Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255109vb
(605) 338-1488
Lead Black Hills
cambridge, ma
5

Wonderful Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My large family of 6 kids and 6 adults very much enjoyed our stay here. It is a beautiful cabin. The size was perfect for us and we appreciated that the place was spacious yet cozy, clean, and equipped with great amenities. The cabin was well stocked with more than enough of everything-- kitchenware, paper goods, linens, etc. Communication with Mark and Peggy was pleasant and easy. They were thoughtful, clear, and organized. Thanks for a great stay at your cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1