Hunter Mountain house rental - Front View
Front View
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hunter Mountain House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Home is nestled in the Catskill mountain range, and sits within the historic Sunset Park community. The home is a Victorian styled mountain home that is surrounded by trees and natural rock formations. The home has natural wood floors throughout, wood burning fireplace, and contains all modern amenities including, but not limited to, fully equipped kitchen, flat panel television, wireless Internet access, and washer and dryer. There is a wrap-around front porch and two of the bedrooms have out-door balconies overlooking the mountainside.

This property is a quiet and peaceful retreat. In the summer, guests can enjoy swimming in the natural creeks and waterfalls, as well as hiking, boating, fishing, golfing and biking, among many other outdoor activities. In the winter, the property is a mere 6 miles from Hunter Mountain ski resort and is also within close proximity to Windham Mountain ski resort. There are many restaurants, shops, and other entertainment within close proximity.

Postcard Like Winter & Fall Settings: Mild Summer Temperatures & Star Filled Skies:

More Details
Hide Details

I built this home next to a family home. I restored the original family home. I love the peace and serenity of my properties and enjoy seeing others do the same.

Christine Arleo purchased this house in 2007

I have loved the area since my childhood. I worked here during summers while in college and have many great memories here.

15 Reviews of Property 912098 on Hunter Mountain, New York

Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A group of my friends stayed at this property over the weekend. We all had a great time and loved the house. It was minutes away from the shops/restaurants and the mountain. House was clean and very spacious. No complaints!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Spacious, affordable, clean rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Had a fantastic trip for a group of 6 of us and we were very happy with the property and how well kept it was. The pictures really didn't do it justice - it was cozy, extremely clean and had everything we could possibly need for a great weekend getaway. The owner was very responsive and helpful throughout the rental process and stay. We had no issues and hope to visit again this season. I highly recommend this rental for anyone who is planning a ski trip to Hunter or even Windham - it is in a great location to both resorts and you won't be disappointed.
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Haines Falls House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our experience was very positive. The rental process was smooth and professional from contract to security deposit. The house was clean and comfortable. We had a relaxing and enjoyable weekend and would stay again!
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Great property to relax with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at this home with a group of friends in August 2013 . The home was exceptionally clean with all of the conveniences and amenities listed in the property description. We particularly enjoyed the wrap around porch for relaxing and sharing stories. The owners were very gracious and accommodating.They were a great resource for information regarding places of interest such as Haines Falls, golf courses and restaurants in the area.It was the consensus of the group that this beautiful home is a redo for next year.
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
1

Not worth the aggravation

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
As a renter a few things that you would expect during the rental process are an owner that takes pride in his/her property and in your experience at their property. If there was an issue, you would expect a quick and apologetic response to issues and a timely return of any deposits. In this case renter beware!

This owner had no problem yelling at my wife and lead a conversation on the below with "are you going to give me a hard time on this" and "this is not a breach of contract".

We rented this house (my family and in laws) for a long weekend at Hunter Mountain. We arrived at the property after the check in time to a pig stye. The driveway was covered in snow, there was garbage and beer bottles stacked in the kitchen, the floors needed a sweeping and dirty sheets and towels were still on the bed and in the bathrooms. My wife called the owner and sure we got a quick call back, but the irate voice on the other end was quite the opposite of what we expected. Was any apology offered? No. Was a how can I make this right? Can I refund the $75 cleaning charge? No. It was either we packed up our stuff, and found somewhere to spend 2 hours (after our check in time) to allow a cleaning service to come in or were on our own to find somewhere else to spend our weekend.

After our weekend stay, we waited for the 14 days to get our security deposit back. On the 15th day we followed up again with the owner and were told to send him an address where he could mail out a check as he was vacationing and couldn't utilize paypal to send back our deposit. Again another example of the owners entitlement, having the renter jump through hoops and making it as difficult as possible to get what is rightfully ours.

I would strongly recommend that you find elsewhere to stay. We did not get the feeling that we were welcome at this property. The owner comes across as entitled and makes you feel like you are the inconvenience for him, rather than making this a stress free process. Find somewhere in the area, where you can find an owner that takes pride in his property, is good on his word and whose first response is to scream at a woman and blame the renter when he has messed up.
Owner's Response: “We take full responsibility for the failure of our cleaning people to prepare our home. From the second we were advised that the home had not been turned over from our last guests we acted with the care and concern appropriate for the situation. We immediately telephoned our cleaning person and advised her that our home had not been cleaned. We spoke to our cleaning person within 5 minutes of the call from our guest. She assured us that she would immediately go to clean the home. However, our guest impatiently made it clear to us that anything short of an instantaneous resolution would be unacceptable. She advised us that the condition of the home constituted a “breach of contract” and further asked “Is this how you conduct a business?” In response, we advised her that we did not breach the contract so long as we cleaned the house within the next few hours. Our cleaning woman arrived at our home shortly thereafter. We checked with our guest 30 minutes after receiving the initial call, to confirm that the cleaning woman was there. We further advised our guest that she and her group could either stay at the house while it was being cleaned or they could go leave for a few hours and return after house was clean. These options were unacceptable to our guest . It was at that point, without any other option under the circumstance, we advised our guest that she and her group could find other accommodations and that we would, or course, refund all of the monies. She then agreed to leave for a few hours. We checked back with our cleaner when she were done (1 hour and 30 minutes later). The house was cleaned and our guest subsequently advised us that everything was good. They stayed the entire three nights. After the house was cleaned we spoke to our guest. She advised she was happy and said the home was beautiful. In regard to return of the security deposit, our rental contract states that the deposit will be returned via regular mail by check. We ask any person(s) interested in renting our home to read all of the other reviews from our other guests. Again, we deeply regret the problem this renter had at check in time but we quickly resolved the problem and were subsequently advised by our guest that she was happy. This review was written by her husband- with whom we have had no contact at any point .
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
Port Washington, NY
5

Great ski weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The house was super clean and the hosts were so helpful. We called with questions, and they responded immediately! The kitchen had everything we ever needed. We were there with 3 adults and 6 kids. It was great! The sleeping arrangements were tricky because not all the kids wanted to share a queen bed with each other, but we worked it out and we all had a great weekend. I wouldn't recommend the home to families with young children because the home is so nice and I remember when my kids were little! Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful home. We hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Such a nice house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I went with a group of eight people for the New Years weekend and we had such a great time. It was even better since the owner let us check in early and we beat the snowstorm! The house has four wonderful bedrooms that were all a great size with beds made and some even had ensuite bathrooms. There was a fireplace, a grill, a nice porch, and plenty of room for everyone to relax. It was even better than in the pictures and the house was very clean. Hunter Mountain is a pretty close drive for all the skiiers and the town of Tannersville has a convenient main street with a supermarket, restaurants and bars to check out. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
oakville.ontario
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This place felt just like home to all four of us. My friends and I had a great stay for the 3 days we were there. We each had our own room. It was clean and had everything we needed,with all necessary linens. It had lots of room to move around with all the equipment we had as bike riders. The owners were very accommodating and easy to communicate with. We had some good laughs with Robert, he's a great guy. It's just a short drive to Hunter Mountain where we attended Mountain Jam. We will definitely be back in the future sometime. This house was exactly as per description and more. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch. The house is in great shape and has everything you could need with lots of parking. I would definitely recommend the place to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
NJ
5

Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This place felt just like home. My friends and I had a wonderful stay here. It was clean and had everything we could want and more. The owners were very accommodating and easy to communicate with. It's just a short drive to Hunter Mountain and there's nothing like sitting by the fireplace in the living room after a long day on the slopes. We will definitely be back in the future. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
House was exactly as per description. Clean, with all necessary linens and even board games.
Homeowner very responsive. It snowed and driveway was promptly plowed. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/2