Mal Pais villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Mal Pais Villa Rental Photos and Description
special and comfortable vacation home, sleeps up to 7

All you can think of in order to have the best vacation ever. located in the most perfect place, in the heart of the action all around, close to the beach and restaurants, but still away of cars, dust, with tons of privacy. special designed house with artistic effects, an outside patio overlooking an amazing waterfall swimming pool, in the center of a secluded shady jungle garden. the house sleeps up to 7 adults, two full bathrooms with steaming hot water, a Jacuzzi, 2 A/C bedrooms, a 42' flat screen, and a high end kitchen. very luxuriantly accommodating a crazy pool party or a sweet romantic get away. fully secured plus an off street car parking.

the area is beautiful, surfing, diving, white sandy beach, best restaurants, but.... you will be so happy to come back relax beside the pool, have a friends party or just open a wine bottle and order in.

We are a young family, two lovely kids and a dog. 9 years ago my husband and i traveled through Central America. Traveling through Costa Rica, we came across the southern tip of the Nicoya peninsula and fell in love with the place and the people here. Two years later we came back to visit and realize we really don't want to leave. we went back home packed everything with our dog and came to live here.

Since then all we want is to share this wonderfully peace of heaven with others. My husband being an artist and an engineer, built this vacation house we offer by himself. I take care with a lot of love for our vacation rental house. we are both near by 24 hours a day, so it is easy for us to take care personally for any problem, request or just questions you might have during your vacation here.

please feel free to ask us anything you have in mind

Noa Segev purchased this villa in 2010

11 Reviews of Property 911575 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
average rating of 4.9 based on 11 reviews
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

It doesn't get any better then this.

It doesn't get any better then this.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We could not stop saying, "It really doesn't get any better then this". A ten day trip for my husband and I. This house is beautiful, private, tranquil and very romantic, perfect in every way. The pool is for lounging. A quick walk to the beach and you will discover your own natural tide pool. Ours was a natural infinity pool. Restaurants are a short drive away. Mary's is across the street, with wonderful food. We enjoyed two evenings at Moana Lodge, a short walk away, for tapas, fabulous drinks and a sunset that will take your breath away. Noa took care of everything, Miguel picked us up at Liberia airport after a direct flight from Minnesota. Noa arranged for a massage with Loude, so wonderful I scheduled another. I highly recommend a stay at Marakay for couples or families. I only wish I could keep it just for myself.
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
4

THE HOUSE WITH THE "WEIRD CHIMNEY"

THE HOUSE WITH THE "WEIRD CHIMNEY"
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Of course there's no need for a fireplace in Mal Pais but the chimney reference is what the locals called the 2-story high mosaic-like structure that is actually the wall for the 1st & 2nd floor showers. The mosaic glass allows you to look out at nature while you stand under the rain shower head. Coming from New England, we had a good laugh at the chimney reference! This was our 3rd trip to Mal Pais & we found this house to be well-designed, highly functional & reasonably priced. We slept five adults very comfortably. The pool is definitely not a lap pool but was so relaxing to lounge in & cool off throughout the day! Just outside the property, a small troop of Howler monkeys visited as well as some free range cattle (more likely escapees from one of the nearby fincas!) Lots of birds to see & hear in the nice shady trees. There's a beach in walking distance (about 3 minutes) that's lovely to stroll & admire the beautiful Pacific sunsets. We didn't try swimming there on account of all the rock formations & waves; preferred swimming & snorkeling at nearby Secret Beach. Lots of consistent surfing at nearby Playa Carmen. Recommend fishing trip, horseback riding & Mal Pais Canopy zipline (Look for Ollies Adventures in Santa Teresa & ask for Adrian Nunez, he can set you up for just about anything & everything!) Don't forget smoothies at Maracuya & breakfast at The Bakery in Santa Teresa...Yum! House in walking distance to Mary's Restaurant, great food & three nights with live music. Spanish Karaoke & Salsa dancing at nearby Rancho Mal Pais. Noa & her husband were very friendly, attentive & accommodating. The house was very clean & well-maintained. An active wasp nest was taken care of immediately. I may be a bit spolied, but the only suggestions I have are that the grill be gas vs charcoal & I prefer a dryer vs hanging clothes on the line. We would definitely rent again & highly recommend this house.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Traumhaus in traumhafter Umgebung!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wir waren im November für 2 Wochen zu Gast in Mal Pais und hatten eine wunderbare Zeit! Nach 2 Wochen Rundreise waren wir froh, in ein gut ausgestattetes, gepflegtes, ruhiges "Heim" zu ziehen. Das Haus liegt abseits vom Trubel und nur wenige Gehminuten vom Strand entfernt. Unser 3-jähriger Sohn hatte einen Riesenspaß im Pool und beim Reiten, Fischen, Beachen und die Gegend erkunden verging für uns alle die Zeit viel zu schnell!
Noa war jederzeit zu erreichen und immer bemüht, uns unseren Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten.
Wir kommen wieder!
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Gorgeous unique house, Malpais

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Drove from San Jose with my family for a stay here at the Marakay house--after seeing the listing, I turned to my brother and asked "Do we really need to look anywhere else?" The answer was no.

If anything the listing description under-sells the house. A great amount of creativity and skill went into it, which helps make the stay much more than a place to rest your head. Noa was great as a hostess, both extremely responsive and--uniquely--was actually interested in making sure we had a great time there. Quite the opposite of the 'absentee owner' experience I've been used to.

The house is very private and quiet, and extremely relaxing--the ocean is within a couple hundred meters and can be heard from the house. Having a vehicle would definitely be a plus, as the town center is a few kilometers away, but well within biking/ATV distance.

Overall, we had a great experience and would definitely recommend to anyone, as well as perhaps stay again there ourselves.
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful House, Beautiful Vacation

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is far from a normal "rent me for a week villa". Every sink and faucet have been hand crafted by an artist. Showers and jaccuzi are one of a kind. Same goes for the pool with its waterfalls and jetstreams.
Typical daily routine:
Took the coffee to the beach before the kids woke up. Short jump to town and we're back with hot pastries from an excelent bakery. Discovering nearby beaches with the kids. 5 minute walk from the house and we're selecting from the latest catch of the local fishermen. The first is grilled, second is fried and the third was BBQ'ed. The house has it all, fully equipped with new and stylish appliances and furniture.
Some pool time, some jacuzzi time and back to the private beach for the sunset. To finish the day we crossed the road for some pizza at Marys Resturant.
For us this was the best vacation we could ask for:
Complete privacy and silence (apart from the local cows and monkeys)
Beautiful beach a minute walk from the house (actually heard the waves in the living room)
Unique styling and design which made staying at home an attraction by itself.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Great house, great location, great owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was just what we needed. My wife and I brought our son along and the house itself was entertaining enough. Not giant or overdone, just perfect and quirky in a great way. The pool and the grotto jacuzzi was entertainment enough but the quiet area south of town made it a perfect get away. Easy access to the best beaches and sightseeing without feeling like we were in Disneyland. Really a great place and Noa and Jacob are great in every way. Obviously, can's say enough good things about our stay!!
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Unique House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
After quite a bit of research, my boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Marakay House in Mal Pais for 4 days during our vacation to Costa Rica. The drive to Mal Pais gets a bit rough in places but very beautiful. This house is very unique and all the stonework is really cool. Some great things about staying here: your own pool, short walk to the beach (although keep in mind it is rocky), across the street from Mary's (amazing restaurant!), close to great beaches and Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve and bars for a fun night out. I would definitely recommend taking a surf lesson with Guillermo - he was fantastic! Oh, and take a hike through Cabo Blanco to the secluded beach. My boyfriend decided to propose here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Burlington, Vermont
5

The Best House in Costa Rica!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This beautiful house is the perfect place for your stay! Located only two minutes' walk to the ocean, this home is still within a few minutes' drive of Santa Teresa, where you have access to dozens of wonderful restaurants, pharmacy, ATM, incredible surfing and friendly locals. The house itself is luxurious and very clean, with everything you could think of: AC, washing machine, phone, wireless internet, cable, big-screen TV, full kitchen, wonderful jacuzzi, incredible back porch and swimming pool, etc. Noa is so very friendly, and she gave us terrific driving directions and recommended the best restaurants and activities. We could not have had a more wonderful time here!

Please do yourselves a favor and rent this incredible house in paradise!!!
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Awesome place - recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Me and a group of friends (all in our late 20s/early 30s) got this place for a week over the 2012/2013 New Year. absolutely loved it. The pictures don't do justice to it, there's loads of cool and quirky little bits that make it a really cool spot.

The kitchen has everything you need to host small dinners to a huge BBQ - we had a big one for NYE and wasn't wanting for anything in terms of kitchen stuff.

the pool is lovely on a hot day too.

One thing that is worth bearing in mind is that it is too far to walk from Playa Carmen - where most of the good surf and restaurants are. Taxis are quick and easy to order from the in villa phone and are only $6 each way though (make sure you don't get ripped off for more!) so it's not too much of a problem, though we also rented a car from Playa Carmen to whack our surf boards on top.

Other than this minor thing though, the place is brilliant and Noa was always on hand to help out with anything we needed.
business
Something Unique - Beach, Waterfall Pool, Jacuzzi - Gaudi style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p911575
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Great holiday house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We enjoyed our stay in the beach house in Malpais immensely!!!!the house is a gem. All the modern comforts set in an artistically beautiful house.we found ourselves reluctant to leave in the mornings and hurrying back in the afternoons to enjoy the house and all it's comforts.and the pool!!!!and the beach!!!!a short walk(3 minutes)the house is off the beaten path but a short drive away from really good restaurants and shops in Santa Teresa.thank you noa and reem for our unforgettable stay in your amazing house. Ruth and Dan
Helpful votes: 2/2