Terrible experience - Dirty, ill-kept, noisy
Please be aware I took pictures of this place to prove my points which were submitted to the owner and to HomeAway.
The worst thing about the place was something I couldn't take a picture of:the freeway noise. I had been told that I would hear freeway noise if I was outside on the deck, but inside was pretty quiet. Inside was not quiet. Even with ear plugs, which I wore continually, I couldn't get away from the roar of the freeway anywhere inside. I tried closing all the windows. It did very little to cut down on the noise, but it did turn the place into a hotbox, even though the outside temp was less than 80. Due to the noise, I did not sleep that night.
Although free wifi was advertised, the sheet of paper they left that explained the wifi left a blank space where the security key was supposed to be. The bed had no frame. The carpet around the bed was disgustingly stained. I looked for a cup to make coffee in; they were all dirty. The coffee pot was encrusted; it looked like it hadn't been washed for weeks. The cupboards were sticky with grease. The cupboards were falling apart. The dish towels were dirty and stained. The toilet seat had been broken and repaired with duct tape. The towel rod was broken.
I can't imagine expecting anyone to stay in a place in such bad general condition, let alone leaving it so dirty. I travel quite a bit, and this was among the worst three places I've ever stayed in. I can't say "slept in,"because I didn't. I could hardly wait to leave, which, although I contracted for 2 weeks, I did the very next day.
The owner has been notified and I am now fighting to get my money back.
I had been very much looking forward to having a refuge to return to at the end of my very long days of work; I'm so disappointed. My one-night stay was a truly depressing experience.
Owner's Response: How does one respond to a negative review without sounding defensive? Let us start by stating that we are a family-run business, and we're not really a "business" at all -- we offer three rustic, furnished cottages in downtown Los Gatos. We take great pride in keeping them stocked, clean, and in good order. They are furnished very nicely. The other reviews substantiate this claim.
On the other hand, this upset tenant does make some good points. A long-term renter had just left the cottage, and so we may have missed some things (broken toilet seat, dirty coffee pot, etc.). However, the cottage had been cleaned not once, but twice. It was not dirty. Yes, the bedroom carpet was stained, but had we been contacted, we would have it replaced or steam cleaned within 24 hours, with a discount for the inconvenience. Yes, the mattress/box spring does not have a frame, but we have found that this reduces dust and lost items. So far, no one else has complained.
It's important to note that we live within feet of this cottage, and were willing to come in to take care of any complaints or problems within minutes. We would have cleaned the coffee pot, washed any smudged dishes, etc. This tenant did not give us the chance.
Lastly, as the advertisement states, the cottage is located close to Highway 17 and there is noise. It is the price one pays for a lprime locale in downtown Los Gatos. Most tenants are able to adjust quickly. We clearly state in the listing and then reiterate in the contract that there is significant noise. And "significant" means, well, significant.
If you're looking for a four-star hotel, this cottage is not for you. Los Gatos offers two very nice, top-tier hotels in the area for about three times the price. But as the other reviews state, our cottage is cozy, well-appointed, and in a great location. Oh, and we replaced the carpet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?