Kailua Kona condo rental - Beautiful ocean view from the lanai.
Beautiful ocean view from the lanai.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6 but can accommodate up to 8)

This beautiful oceanfront condo complex is located on the Big Island of Hawaii, just 1 mile south of Kailua-Kona village. Kailua-Kona is the home of the famous Ironman competion in October. Enjoy spectacular ocean and sunset views as the parasail boats, whales and pods of dolphins go by as you dine and relax on the large wrap around lanai!

This top floor unit has one of the largest lanai and condo square footage with great ocean and sunset views with excellent cross breezes. Short 60 yards from the ocean with immaculately maintained landscaped grounds with Hawaiian native plants.

It is a 2 BR (king & queen beds) + loft (2 twin beds), 2 full baths and sleeps 6 up to 8. The kitchen is fully equipped and the living room is furnished with big bamboo furniture which reclines to a double. The lanai has an comfortable wicker love seat and a chair overlooking the ocean. Why dine inside when you can dine outdoors watching the beautiful sunset...you might even see a ''green flash

The Kona Makai complex does not have an elevator so the second and third floor units are walk-up.

It is a non-smoking, no pet complex.

More Details
Hide Details

We have been coming to the Big Island since 1988 and we absolutely love this Island.

We love the view and being on the water and watching the dolphins and whales and sunsets. The building and all its amenities are immaculately maintained and since it is a concrete construction, it is very quiet.

34 Reviews of Property 910763 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
average rating of 4.7352943 based on 34 reviews
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Urbandale, IA
5

Location, location, location! This is perfect! Amazing views of dolphins and sunsets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Arrived in the afternoon with 3 adults and kids age 16, 12, 10 and 7. The 3rd floor unit was just like the photos. Kona Makai was our fabulous home for 9 days. First things first, kids chose their beds in the loft. The adults chose the bedrooms. No need for air conditioning with all the fans and ocean breezes! The only reason a tv was turned on at an point during our trip was to watch the Olympics- when we were home we all hung out on the wraparound lanai. The view was simply breathtaking! In the mornings we had coffee watching the spinner dolphins flipping out of the water. At night, we watched the sunset from the lanai or from the oceanfront lounge chairs. The property surrounding the pool and parking lot is very well maintained with some gorgeous brilliant foliage. The swaying palms are a reminder of paradise- also kept groomed. Having spent time in Kona previously, this location is perfect. Nice walks in either direction bring you to beaches and surfing or into town. We packed lunches for our day trips all over the island and the stores like Safeway, are close driving distance. We spent a couple days just hanging out by the pool and relaxing and there were more than enough lounge chairs available in the pool area. The pool and hot tub temperatures were just right. Hot hot tub, not too cold pool! The condo had all the necessary kitchen items for cooking dinner every night. The washer and dryer work great and there were more than enough towels for our family. The photos on vrbo are right on. The owner is so nice. Green sand and south point are a must see. Waipio valley and the brewing company in Waimea are also must do's. Adventurous and relaxing trip with a very comfortable condo in a perfect location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Great view from the lanai!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The description, amenities and location were accurate. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans,dishes, bowls, etc. We really enjoyed the large lanai that wrapped around 2 sides of the condo. It was nice to have A/C in the bedrooms which we used only at night. It was very convenient to have a washer and dryer in the condo.
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
New York
5

Very pleasant, quiet location & superb facilities.

Very pleasant, quiet location & superb facilities.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We love this condo and the overall complex. It is a quiet location and building. The pool and spa are great as are the BBQ cooking facilities. The lanai overlooks the ocean and is beautiful day or evening.
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Love the view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I've visited Kona many times over the last 20+ years, and the Kona Makai has always been my favorite place to stay. It was really a treat to stay in this unit, being on the top floor and facing the ocean with this stunning view. What a great place to watch sunset! The unit was very clean and also nice and quiet, except for the sound of the surf, very relaxing.We saw quite a few whales passing by. The kitchen was well equipped, and the BBQ area by the pool was great, we ate most of our meals there on the lanai, over looking the ocean. We did dine out at Huggo's a couple times, one of my favorites. Being an avid cyclist, I rented a bicycle in Kona for the whole time we were there. There is a secure bike locker there too. A few times, the gardeners were a bit noisy with leaf blowers in the morning. Overall, we had an awesome stay, and I would recommend this unit highly. Can't wait to return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Fantastic Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our first time on the Big Island & we loved every minute of it! Great complex, unit, view, lanai, & owner! We did see spinner dolphins rom the lanai. The complex, grounds, pool, etc and clean, inviting, & peaceful. The location is convenient. Appreciated the snorkel gear & beach chairs in the unit.
We did the "Sunlight on the Water" Dolphin swim & Night Manta Ray Experience & loved it (and would do it again)! Great beaches & restaurants - so much variety. We hope to return and we will see out this particular unit (one of the best locations in the complex).
Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful place!
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Comfortable Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Four people stayed at this property for one week and we enjoyed it. The condo was clean and spacious with a large wrap around Lanai and a beautiful view of he pool and ocean. It was fully supplied with dishes and cooking utensils and had a washer and dryer. Outside barbecues by the pool worked well and were clean and in good condition. We had better meals at home then at the local restaurants which could be pricey. It had an excellent location close to town. There was air conditioners in several rooms if you needed them. We didn't bother with the AC as the air circulation was good despite humid weather. There was plenty of parking and the property was very quiet. Overall a recommended place to stay.
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Brought my family of 6 to this lovely ocean view condo. Even with 4 teenage boys, this condo had plenty of space and beds for all. We spent every morning drinking coffee on the gorgeous lanai, watching the ocean. The condo is exactly as represented in the photos. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of towels and even beach accessories to borrow for snorkling, boogie boarding and picnics. There were AC units in each of the bedrooms and ceiling and/or floor fans when AC was not needed. The only complaint we had, was the family room was not air conditioned and the week we came was hot and muggy and the ocean breezes during the day were not enough to cool down that room. The condo complex itself was very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful grounds. 3 built in gas grills by the ocean with plenty of tables and chairs for family dinners by the ocean at sunset. The boys had a great time with the ping pong table and the pool. Location was perfect - right down the street from many great Kona restaurants and beaches. The owner was very helpful providing activity and restaurant recommendations and was always very quick to respond to my emails/questions. There is so much to do on the Big Island - we were only there 4 days and wish we had a few more!
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear about vacation experiences on the Big Island. The weather in the summer can get humid during the day without the trade wind. Its been our experience that when both large sliding doors to the lanai are opened in the living room, the cross breezes along with the ceiling fan cooled the room in the evening. Hope to have your family return for longer stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Perfect Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We absolutely loved this condo! It is the perfect location for a Big Island vacation. It was clean, comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. The complex, itself, is beautifully maintained and the owner is kind and helpful. It was an easy drive to beautiful beaches, and snorkeling. Our first night, we walked to town and had a great happy hour at "On the Rocks." Amazing Pina Coladas! We spent every morning on the lanai with our coffee enjoying the spinner dolphins swimming by and every evening a beautiful sunset awaited us. We would go back there in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Eastern Sierra, California
5

Island Retreat - Couldn't Ask for a Better Property or Location

Island Retreat - Couldn't Ask for a Better Property or Location
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the size and space, and especially the large and comfortable lanai (where we spent most of our time), with a welcoming view of the grounds, pool and ocean. The condo has everything we could ask for and more. We felt very much at home there, and we were sad to leave. It was much more relaxing and personal than staying in a hotel. The owner was available if we needed anything, but that wasn't necessary. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for, and the pool area and seating on the shore edge of the patio area were also favorites of ours. The kitchen is well-appointed and we prepared several meals there, but town and many good restaurants are nearby which we also frequented. We would recommend this property to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Complex with Great Ocean/Sunset Views, Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p910763
+1 206 399-9944
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
1

TERRIBLE SMELL!!!! We moved to a hotel!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We arrived to the condo late at night. When we walked in, it was like walking into a sauna. No air conditioner or fan was turned on. We immediately turned on the fans and AC but it was very difficult to sleep in the heat especially the loft was unbearable. The description does state that there are AC units. Also, stated that there are good cross winds but we did not experience that when we tried to cool off with the doors and windows open.
But the worst of it was the second bedroom. It had a terrible smell. It smelled very musty, mildew and moldy. It was nauseating. I would not allow my children to sleep in the room . We did not call housekeeping about the issue because we decided that the smell would not go away with a little cleaning. This was a bigger problem, we felt.
Also, when we arrived the dryer was full of towels ready for us to fold and put away. The owner stated that the housekeeper said all the towels had been put up but they were wrong!
The picture of the view made me think that when we arrived we would be more oceanfront. Still a decent view but the building is in between two other condo buildings so just not as open as I was expecting. Also, the condo pool was a lot smaller than I expected by the pictures.
My family and I decided that we had not traveled that far to Hawaii and spent that kind of money to be unhappy and miserable staying in this condo. So we decided to leave the condo and move to the Marriott in Waikoloa which was very nice. We decided that it was worth it to us to lose the money we had already paid so we do not have to stay in this condo!
Owner's Response: Immediate call to the guest was made subsequent to receipt of email and the guest was very appreciative of my quick responsiveness but that they had already vacated the premises.

The follow-up letter with full refund deposit was mailed with detailed follow-up response to the email immediately after their departure date.

The condo is always locked and lanai doors closed on late check in time.
AC is not turned on unless requested.

The second bedroom odor is a complete mystery. The housekeeper visited the condo immediately after the guests departure but was unable to detect any odor. The condo is tiled throughout the main floor including the lanais so we cannot understand the origin of any musty odor.

The guests who departed half a day earlier and the guests who arrived the day after had a wonderful time and no odors detected. We have never had an odor issue in the past six years with hundreds of guests.

Any housekeeping issue is easily resolved with a phone call to me and or to the housekeeper with 12+ years of experience.

The view and pool is depicted on the web site as well as the proximity of the condo unit to the ocean.

All my correspondences will state that if there are any questions to please call immediately to alleviate any concerns, problems or misunderstandings.

Odor and the housekeeping issues were already discussed with the housekeeper.

We take all inputs seriously and we apologize if it does not meet someone's perception or their full expectations due to lack of information. We appreciate all inputs.
Helpful votes: 4/4