Austin house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Private Guest House, 2 Bedrooms, Office Area, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4-6

Charming 1930's single family bungalow guest house with original hardwood floors, original knobs and other fixtures, large backyard, and plenty of parking. We completely remodeled the home in 2011, but maintained its original character and charm. There's a full 2 bedrooms with queen size beds and a foldout sofa couch to sleep a total of 6 people. Complimentary laundry facility is included. The guest home has everything that you would need from dishes, pots and pans, a toaster, stove, refrigerator, table and chairs, towels, and fresh sheets.

It's located in the heart of Hyde Park in central Austin within walking distance to restaurants, a bakery, and other local businesses. ASTI, Quack's Mother's Cafe, Julio's, and several other restaurants are within walking distance. There is a public bus stop one block away that will take you anywhere in the city including downtown. We hope that you select our wonderful guest house for your stay!

City of Austin Short Term Rental License: OL 2014 001268

*Austin requires a license number to be shown in all online listings for legally operating rentals. Beware of ads that do not have a license number displayed.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 909757 in Austin, Texas

The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Great Stay in austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My daughter, uncle and I stayed at this vacation rental in Hyde Park. We loved it! The place was immaculate and the owner is very accommodating. We felt right at home. My daughter was checking out UT austin, and she fell in love with the school and the neighborhood. The home is located within walking distance of several restaurants, a coffee shop and a neighborhood grocery store. We were in the heart of austin, yet it was so quiet that we could hear the birds chirping in the morning! The neighbors are very friendly and Pete lives right down the street so he is always available if needed. We didn't have any problems, though! Everything was perfect.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Best little carriage house in Texas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Was in town for an extended business trip so I checked out HomeAway to find something more like home away from home. This historic place in Hyde Park was a great find. Owner Pete was prompt and flexible, working around my uncertain departure dates and even giving me a credit when my stay was extended to qualify for his ""weekly rate.""

The place itself is charming, clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here or at any other of Pete's properties on my next trip.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Fabulous stay in central Austin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My sisters and I rented this adorable guest house for the weekend, and couldn't have been happier. It is in a very cool/pretty/historic part of Austin, Hyde Park, and minutes from everything (10 minutes to downtown, UT campus, shopping, food, etc.).

The house itself is very clean and comfortable- they've done a great job restoring it while keeping the charm of an older home. There's even a claw foot bathtub. Both bedrooms are very spacious, and the beds are comfortable. We also used the pull-out couch which was very comfortable as well. The kitchen is well equipped with a full size fridge, stove, plates, cups etc. It's not huge, but big enough for breakfast and besides, you're in Austin- go out and try the amazing food! As an added bonus, there is one parking space included (rare in Austin), and plenty of street parking, which made things very easy.

I have absolutely no complaints about the property or working with the owner. He was very helpful and informative, and made our stay very easy.

I highly recommend staying here!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
Madison WI USA
5

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were very comfortable and had a wonderful long weekend when we stayed in Pete's Avenue F apartment in May 2013. Hyde Park is the greatest neighborhood and we had plenty of space in the apartment to enjoy socializing with our family members and eating breakfast. The apartment was immaculate and we had an easy time reserving the space, checking in and checking out when regrettably we had to leave. We will definitely contact Pete the next time we visit Austin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Great, quiet neighborhood, central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent two weeks our first time here, then 6 days a few weeks later. Apartment is on top of a garage, washer and dryer is located in the garage below. Steps to apartment are shallow but easy to navigate. This is a cute little apartment! The two bedrooms are very large and each has a closet. We loved the clawfoot tub in the bathroom and the contemporary decor throughout the apartment. Pete is so easy to work with and even suggested chinese takeout for us when we were too tired to venture out one evening. Hyde Park area is centrally located, you can get downtown in 5-10 minutes via Guadalupe and we found that it was much easier to navigate through the city by avoiding I-35 which runs north-south through the center of the city. Stick to Barnett, Airport Blvd, Guadalupe, and Lamar and you get can anywhere you want with minimal traffic. Will definitely keep this little abode in mind the next time we visit Austin!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
Baltimore
5

Quaint, Convenient, Clean, Cool Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This vacation rental was the ideal launch pad for a week of excursions in Austin, including UT which is minutes nearby. We found the place squeaky clean and thoughtfully stocked with everything needed for light cooking. The beds were supremely comfortable, the rooms spacious. Hyde Park is upscale and quiet (without being stuffy), and a highlight of our trip was sitting out on the balcony at dusk listening to the birds. We also took plenty of walks (restaurants etc are blocks close), always feeling totally safe. This property has charming touches that are not apparent in the mere pictures, and jogging can be done right out the door. Communication with the owner was clear and uncomplicated. Having visited many vacation rentals around the country, we highly recommend this one. Thanks Pete! Hoping our paths cross again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Greatest Treehouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family gathered in Austin for the Christmas Holidays this year. There were thirteen of us so we rented several apartments around Hyde Park. This two bedroom, Living Room, Kitchen/Dining and nice sized bathroom was really lovely.
VERY CLEAN, tidy, well-appointed and convenient. Hyde Park is just the best neighborhood with everything in walking distance. We called this unit the TreeHouse because it is upstairs. Fun to be up in the trees, looking out to see around the neighborhood. I can't recommend this unit enough. The owner was really accommodating of our varioius arrival times
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Brings back memories of Grandma's house!

Brings back memories of Grandma's house!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This darling home covers all the c's; cozy, comfortable, convenient, character, and charm. From the minute you drive up to the house until you climb the stairs to the main floor it oozes charm. There are two very good sized bedrooms, one with a balcony, a bathroom with plenty of storage and elbow room and a small, but fully equipped kitchen which has everything within reach needed for a small snack or a feast. And the living room is comfortable and big enough for an entire family to spread out and converse.
I walked to Central Market to buy groceries and made it there and back, counting the time it took to buy my groceries, in one hour and 10 minutes. A very easy walk. Also, we walked 2 blocks to the bus stop and waited 5 minutes for our bus. Two other buses also came by but were not the ones we needed. So no problem when using public transportation. And the bus costs $1.00 or $2.00 for an all day pass. The bus drivers are very friendly and helpful.
If you want a great place to eat within walking distance Hyde Park Grill is only 15 minutes away by foot.
The main floor of the house sits above the garages so one feels as if they are in a tree house. It is very quiet and peaceful and has everything a person would need for a relaxing vacation. The neighborhood is quiet with friendly people walking their dogs often.
I cannot wait to visit Austin again so I can book a stay here. Of the many home away homes I have rented this is my favorite so far. We have 2 daughters at UT and were within walking distance, or on bus lines to both girls' houses. Easy. They loved hanging out here also and felt as though they were on vacation at Grandma's house! I feel lucky to have found such a perfect place and have already passed the info on to friends who also have family in Austin. Thanks for the great stay!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Great neighborhood and clean property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The guest house was leased for 2 out of town corporate employees. The property was well located, allowing good access to major roads, shopping and restaurants.
The pictures of the property are accurate.
Curtis
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Treehouse - 1930's Hyde Park Home by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909757
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
1

A bad place and a horrible host

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
If you plan to stay in this place, you have to be careful. Because the host will find a reason to keep your deposit. Here is our story.
After we checking out, I got email from the host. He said there was a water damage on the vanity in the bathroom, and the door can't shut. He said "the vanity itself costs approximately $200 and the time and work that it will take to now replace it will make the cost much more than that." So he took our deposit. When I ask how a three days staying could cause this kind of damage, he just kept telling me how we splashed water over the vanity and cause the damage. When I asked more explanation and evidence, he just did not respond my email. Could anyone tell me how a vanity in the bathroom could be "water damaged" so easily, especially we only stay there for three days and most of the time we were not even in the house?
There are more reasons that I will never recommend to anyone else.
First, when we walked in the house, the first thing we noticed was the strong smell of the paint. However, it's midnight, so we tried to adjust the smell and tried to open the windows. All of the windows were old and hard to open. When we finally opened some of them, it's impossible to keep them opening. Because we were too tired to complain, we just took turn to take shower.
Then, here came the second reason. This is the smallest bath tub I have ever seen. The bath tub is even smaller than UT apartment. It's impossible to take a shower without touching the shower curtian. I thought every thing is bigger in Texas??!!
Moreover, it is very inconvenient to do laundry. You have to walk down the stairs to the first floor, walk outside, open a big garage door with codes, and then walk into a very old, dirty garage to do the laundry. At all of the time we stayed, the dryer was broken. Moreover, the host asked people to do laundry in the certain period. You could not do laundry at night and in the whole morning. If you are here for a vacation, it means you have to stay in the place to do laundry and skip some visits.
Lastly, but not the last thing, the place is totally non-soundproof. You can hear everything from outside. We know there were some people came to do laundry in the very early morning and in the midnight. We know when the garbage car came to take the garbage.
I have lived at Austin for seven years. I love Austin and this is the most horrible experience for me. So please, choose other places.
Owner's Response: Prior to this incident I've never had to use someone's deposit to make repairs. As an owner I would much rather refund a deposit than have to make repairs to the home. Shan-Shan and her family stayed only a short time, but during that time they caused water to overflow over the bathroom vanity resulting in damage to the home. The water caused minor damage to the floor and significant damage to the wooden vanity. When I arrived one hour after they checked out, there was standing water on the floor and on the vanity. The damage from the standing water was most likely caused over several days. I sent Shan-Shan pictures of the damage and an explanation of the damages the same day she checked out. We sent several emails back and forth and I did respond to her emails. She acknowledged that there was no damage when she checked-in a few days before. She said they did cause water to overflow onto the floor and onto the vanity, but she did not want to pay for the damage and instead said that I should buy "better quality" products that water won't damage. The cost of the vanity, the damage to the floor, and the labor to make the repairs was more than the deposit. The water damage was significant enough to warrant using the deposit for repairs.

Regarding her other complaints, I've never had similar complaints from any other guests that have stayed before. If any guest has any questions or concerns, I live next to the house and I’m available 24 hours a day. She did not mention any problems during or after her stay. Part of the charm of the place is that everything is original and fully restored. It has the original clawfoot tub (shown in the listing), windows, wood floors, door knobs, doors, etc. The laundry facility is located in the garage, which is typical for homes built during the time period. The dryer is fully functional. If she had any questions on how to use the dryer, then I would have gladly walked her through it. If anyone has any questions about this guest review, please let me know how I can help.
Helpful votes: 5/5