A bad place and a horrible host
If you plan to stay in this place, you have to be careful. Because the host will find a reason to keep your deposit. Here is our story.
After we checking out, I got email from the host. He said there was a water damage on the vanity in the bathroom, and the door can't shut. He said "the vanity itself costs approximately $200 and the time and work that it will take to now replace it will make the cost much more than that." So he took our deposit. When I ask how a three days staying could cause this kind of damage, he just kept telling me how we splashed water over the vanity and cause the damage. When I asked more explanation and evidence, he just did not respond my email. Could anyone tell me how a vanity in the bathroom could be "water damaged" so easily, especially we only stay there for three days and most of the time we were not even in the house?
There are more reasons that I will never recommend to anyone else.
First, when we walked in the house, the first thing we noticed was the strong smell of the paint. However, it's midnight, so we tried to adjust the smell and tried to open the windows. All of the windows were old and hard to open. When we finally opened some of them, it's impossible to keep them opening. Because we were too tired to complain, we just took turn to take shower.
Then, here came the second reason. This is the smallest bath tub I have ever seen. The bath tub is even smaller than UT apartment. It's impossible to take a shower without touching the shower curtian. I thought every thing is bigger in Texas??!!
Moreover, it is very inconvenient to do laundry. You have to walk down the stairs to the first floor, walk outside, open a big garage door with codes, and then walk into a very old, dirty garage to do the laundry. At all of the time we stayed, the dryer was broken. Moreover, the host asked people to do laundry in the certain period. You could not do laundry at night and in the whole morning. If you are here for a vacation, it means you have to stay in the place to do laundry and skip some visits.
Lastly, but not the last thing, the place is totally non-soundproof. You can hear everything from outside. We know there were some people came to do laundry in the very early morning and in the midnight. We know when the garbage car came to take the garbage.
I have lived at Austin for seven years. I love Austin and this is the most horrible experience for me. So please, choose other places.
Owner's Response: Prior to this incident I've never had to use someone's deposit to make repairs. As an owner I would much rather refund a deposit than have to make repairs to the home. Shan-Shan and her family stayed only a short time, but during that time they caused water to overflow over the bathroom vanity resulting in damage to the home. The water caused minor damage to the floor and significant damage to the wooden vanity. When I arrived one hour after they checked out, there was standing water on the floor and on the vanity. The damage from the standing water was most likely caused over several days. I sent Shan-Shan pictures of the damage and an explanation of the damages the same day she checked out. We sent several emails back and forth and I did respond to her emails. She acknowledged that there was no damage when she checked-in a few days before. She said they did cause water to overflow onto the floor and onto the vanity, but she did not want to pay for the damage and instead said that I should buy "better quality" products that water won't damage. The cost of the vanity, the damage to the floor, and the labor to make the repairs was more than the deposit. The water damage was significant enough to warrant using the deposit for repairs.
Regarding her other complaints, I've never had similar complaints from any other guests that have stayed before. If any guest has any questions or concerns, I live next to the house and I’m available 24 hours a day. She did not mention any problems during or after her stay. Part of the charm of the place is that everything is original and fully restored. It has the original clawfoot tub (shown in the listing), windows, wood floors, door knobs, doors, etc. The laundry facility is located in the garage, which is typical for homes built during the time period. The dryer is fully functional. If she had any questions on how to use the dryer, then I would have gladly walked her through it. If anyone has any questions about this guest review, please let me know how I can help.
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?