Lakeside house rental - morning coffee and play at carpeted boathouse
morning coffee and play at carpeted boathouse
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Lakeside House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Vacation at Heron Cove

Heron Cove is a modern two-bedroom main house with full bath and separate new guest house with own full bath, located on Ten Mile Lakes in Lakeside, Oregon. Take in the breathtaking views from every room, barbecue on the decks, relax down at the newly-constructed carpeted Cedar Boathouse, kayak around the lake, rent a boat at nearby marina, or simply enjoy the natural beauty of Oregon and let bald eagles, osprey, otters, trout and newts entertain you. The house features a splendid master suite with vaulted ceilings and 8-foot high windows that occupies the entire second floor, as well as separate kids' bedroom, kitchen with full appliances, separate laundry room. Newly-built cabin is right next door.

Ten Mile Lakes

Ten Mile Lakes is one of Oregon's largest and most popular recreation lakes. Fishing is superb year round. Come catch large mouth bass, trout, crappie, bluegill, and catfish. Ten Mile Creek, which feeds into the ocean, provides great steelhead fishing in the spring and fall. With all the fish that abound, you’re also sure to see lots of birds, maybe even an eagle if you are lucky. If fishing isn't your thing there are large open areas on the lake that are perfect for all types of watercraft sports including: boating, jet skiing, canoeing, and kayaking.

Lakeside, Oregon

Lakeside is located on the Oregon coast about midway between North Bend and Reedspord, three miles inland from the Pacific Ocean, sheltered from onshore winds by the Oregon National Dunes. Average temperatures in the 60s to 70s in the summer and 50s in the winter. The drive from Eugene is just under two hours. Visitors primarily come to Lakeside for outdoor activities associated with Ten Mile Lakes and the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, which include waterskiing, jet skiing, beachcombing, camping, fishing, hunting, boating, hiking, scuba diving, dune riding, wind surfing, horseback riding, swimming, picnicking, and sightseeing.

House Details

In addition to the master suite, the main house offers a second bedroom with a twin/full bunkbed, perfect for the kids. A third bedroom, with a full-sized bed and private bathroom is located adjacent the main house in a newly built separate cabin. The main house living room has a full sized futon couch, dining table, fully furnished kitchen, washer/dryer, VCR, house and beach towels. The new cedar boathouse is carpeted with tables, chairs, and propane stove.

Note: As stated below, Heron Cove requires a minimum THREE-NIGHT STAY and--to ensure to quietude of neighbors and protect septic system--there is an ABSOLUTE LIMIT OF SIX GUESTS AT ALL TIMES, which can be monitored.

Note2: Heron Cove is located six miles from Lakeside, the last two along well-maintained gravel road. There is little turnaround at the house, so trailers of all kinds should be left at Sunlake Marina (1/4 mile away). During winter months, the fairly steep driveway makes all-wheel-drive a plus, though you can also park along road. Please be advised that the walkway from house down to the boat house might be rigorous for retirees (ramp and twenty steps).

Keywords: cabin, bungalow, house, waterfront, lakefront

More Details
Hide Details

We are an active family from Eugene, Oregon. Mia is a faculty member at the University of Oregon and Michael is a writer. Our two girls are in elementary school.

michael welch purchased this house in 2010

We wanted a place where we could relax, bring friends, be astounded by the natural beauty of Oregon, and watch our kids grow. Two recent favorite memories: watching an eagle fly by while we were down at the boathouse sipping our morning coffee, and watching the kids march back down to the lake to go swimming for the gazillionth time that day. Pure bliss.

Watching eagle, osprey, and heron in their natural habitat, playing with newts and other water critters. Going for a kayak. The house is very peaceful and a wonderful place to unwind.

13 Reviews of Property 318779 in Lakeside, Oregon

Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Chico CA
5

Awesome place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time at Michael and Mia's place! We went the week July 22 - 26th 2013, and the weather was fantastic. We came from Chico CA where it was over 100 every day, so the 70's was a breath of fresh air!! We thought it would be too cold to swim, but NO WAY! The water was way warm and diving off the diving board was great. It felt much warmer than in the 70's that's for sure. Also the kayak's were a blast and so was the canoe. Our lab climbed into one of the kayaks (well on to me!) and went cruising with me. This place was great. SUPER SUPER quiet, which was nice. We caught a ZILLION perch off the dock, and also a couple of bass and a surprising Coho salmon. That one shocked us. We had fishing contests, which was fun. Also, the dunes are really close, so we went riding on quads one day. That was A LOT of fun...and you know, people in Oregon are REALLY REALLY nice. We talked about moving! :-)
Thanks so much Michael, and I tell you what, you were REALLY nice and easy to work with. You made this a great trip for us. You answered all questions, and made this very easy .Thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back!

Chris, Terri, Emily, and Justin (and Sandy and Penny) :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Wyoming
5

Nature Lover's Paradise!

Nature Lover's Paradise!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our stay at this lakehouse was exactly what I had hoped for when we planned our trip to the Oregon Coast! With the wonderful boathouse, I knew it would not matter if it rained our entire stay (which it did!) What could be better than the sound of raindrops on a tin roof, holding a hot cup of chai tea in one hand and a fishing pole in the other, while being in out of the rain but no compromise on the view?!?! This experience was fantastic! While down at the boathouse, it feels like you are right on the water! We saw a great number of herons, many many different species of ducks, deer, and my husband and teenage son caught 4 really nice trout and a perch! We will never forget Rufy, our dog, falling in the water and my husband having to rescue him! Although smart, he just isn't a swimmer apparently! From then on, we laughed at how he would walk down the walkway as far away from the water as he could possibly get! The house was wonderful as well, and we utilized the new guesthouse too! It was all equipped with everything we could possibly need, and was clean and cozy. We cooked meals, played games, and were mesmerized by the view out the upstairs windows! We filled the hummingbird feeder and thoroughly enjoyed watching our hummingbird friends visit frequently the rest of our stay! Michael, the owner, was wonderful and was so accomodating when part of our vacation plans had to be revised. The entire lakehouse has some very artistic touches from one end to the other!

We had an entire week to spend on the Oregon Coast and I could not wait to show my kids the Oregon Coast that I loved so dearly! I was ecstatic to find this lakehouse when planning our trip, as it was a perfect place for letting my kids experience one of the parts of Oregon I love so much - the fishing!!!! We stayed a few days on the Northern Coast, a few on the Southern Coast, but the lakehouse was everything I had hoped it would be for the middle of our trip!!! How wonderful that it is located so near the Dune area! We had planned to go sandboarding and rent ATV's to go experience the dunes, but the weather did not cooperate this time. None of us minded, as we had a fabulous time being together at the Lakehouse, catching fish, and making memories to last a lifetime. My two college-aged daughters and teenage son even got in some night fishing, listening to music. They loved it!! Thank you for sharing your wonderful spot with us, Michael! We hope to come back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Fairfax, CA
5

Many thanks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Hi Michael and Mia,
Just arrived home and wanted to send our thanks for sharing your lakeside home with us. We all had a fantastic time with the weather perfect - we all found ourselves jumping in.
We lucked out with the crawdad festival in town and spent Saturday afternoon roaming around and sampling crawdads (hard to fill up on those little things) Mostly, we just enjoyed hanging out at the house, barbecuing, napping,reading, sunning, kayaking and canoeing. Sam is a big time fisherman - both fly and regular. No luck on that front but not for a lack of trying.
After a tough couple of weeks for me, it was just pure joy.
Thanks. You can see that Wrigley loved your place as well!
Would love to return some day!
Best,
Mimi
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Culver City CA
5

Wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from an amazing week at this house. This is the perfect vacation for a family who is hoping to get off the grid and completely unwind, from morning coffee on the dock, hours of fishing, kayak adventures and just taking it all in was the perfect way to escape the hustle of city living.

Ideally located near the Oregon coast with wonderful beaches and hikes nearby. If you are looking for more gourmet grocery options I would recommend shopping at the Safeway in Coos Bay as the local market is limited. Great farmers market in Coos Bay on a Wednesday!

This house was well equipped and very comfortable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Albany, OR
5

Awesome customer service!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Unfortunately our plans changed and we ended up cancelling our summer plans to stay at this house. However, wanted to let other prospective renters know that Michael was incredibly easy to work with. His communication was fast and responsive and he made this whole process very easy. Thank you Michael, we're hoping to book a reservation for the future.
Cydney
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Gardnerville, Nevada
4

Great Place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This is a great house to rent with beautiful views of Ten Mile Lake. The listing photos and information were very accurate, and the owner was very helpful with any questions we had regarding our stay. I would definitely recommend this house, and possibly stay here again. The boat house is a great place to hang out, swim, and listen to music. We truly enjoyed eating breakfast on the deck, it was very quiet and peaceful. The house is very clean and well kept. The property is fairly secluded and pet friendly. The house was a bit further from sand dune areas than I expected, and the tap water from the faucets is chlorinated and had a strong smell at times. Overall this is a wonderful place to stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Kimberly. And sorry about the chlorination--we just had the handyman flush the filter system a week before you came.

sincerely, michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Grants Pass, Oregon
5

A perfect Labor Day at Lakeside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My family spent a perfect Labor Day weekend at this vacation rental! The morning view of the lake from the deck was amazing, and the afternoons spent in the water kayaks were perfect recreation for my adult children and grandson. My Grandson learned to say "boat" on this trip! The remote location of the house gave a sense of getting away, but the marina is a short paddle away. I got there early and was able to talk with the housekeeper, Lee. She is very friendly and later she called checking to see if my kids found the house. Great hospitality, here....a real sense of community. A favorite memory will be sitting in the big chair, reading and listening to Neil Young on the stereo provided. Thank you Michael and Mia ~ we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Marie. This is the kind of review we love: kids, parents, grandparents, having memorable experiences. And I agree--Lee and the community there at the marina are great.

yours, michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Portland, OR
5

Made lots of wonderful memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The rental property is described very accurately in this listing. I spent a very relaxing week here with my family. The house is simple, yet warm, clean, and bright. It suited all of our needs. The marina is nearby, and we didn't have to drive more than 30 minutes to access the beach, sand dunes, or a place to grab some fresh seafood. There are so many things to do in the area, we weren't able to fit in all of the activities within the duration of our stay. We hit the beach, took a sand dune tour, and rented sand boards. I would have also liked to have gone crabbing and rented a dune buggy, but we spent so much time relaxing at the boathouse, which is the star of the show in my opinion. The first day and a half we spent lakeside, where the kayaking, swimming, and lounging were sublime. The boathouse seems like it was made for watching the morning mist burn off the lake while enjoying a cup of coffee. The lake is warm enough to swim in, which is encouraged by the presence of a diving board and a water trampoline. And the only day we didn't kayak was the day we spent on the dunes. Oh, and then there was the fishing. Tenmile lake is apparently known as a great place to catch bass. On top of it all, the owner was very welcoming and friendly in every email interaction. I get the sense that he wants others to enjoy the house as much has he and his family do.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, Tom, you're a poet. Your review really touched and intrigued me--we've never been sandboarding ourselves, so that's now tops on our to-do list! Next visit, you get a discount.

thanks so much, mw
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Willamette Valley
5

4th of July fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thank you Micheal and Mia for a truely memorable stay at your wonderful home. We stayed over the 4th of July holiday and had spectacular weather! The lake was busy with plenty of boats, jetskis and fisherman, but still offered up the calm and peaceful experiences as well. The boat house was a favorite for the kids who LOVED the diving board and water trampolene. We also had good luck with some cat fishing! The house itself was clean, and well stocked with all the bells and whistles. The detailed directions that were sent were greatly appreciated as well. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Bill,

You picked the prime weekend of the year for your stay. I didn't even ask if they did the fireworks show at the marina. Last year we watched it right from the boat house. Anyway, we're glad you had such a great time; my girls love the trampoline too, but have never caught a catfish!

sincerely, michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Home with Guest House and Cedar Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318779vb
(541) 206-1376 (Oregon, USA)
Lakeside Coastal Oregon
Simi Valley, CA
5

Gorgeous, quiet location, beautiful cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent a week here in early June. The cabin is located on a remote section of the lake, but the road is readily drivable, even in the occasional rain. Te cabin is beautiful - clearly recently remodeled upstairs, and in great condition throughout. The boathouse was delightful - a great place to sit in the early morning and watch the lake wildlife. Also enjoyed having kayaks right at hand to go out and explore the lake - an hour or so of paddling took us to the far corner of the lake, near an old railroad trestle - very cool!

Downstairs kitchen has huge refrigerator, stove, oven, and pantry. Views from both upstairs and downstairs were spectacular. Occasional wildlife encounters on the lake and on land, and a big brown Labrador next door make for a nice place to stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Paul, you all were truly great guests, and the photos you sent of morning mist lifting off the lake should be in a magazine. Come again, michael
Helpful votes: 1/1