Captain Cook studio rental - Great sunset from the deck
Great sunset from the deck
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-3)

Sophistication in a rustic setting!

This is a perfect hideaway for two but it can accommodate a child also if a couch or lounger is ok. With 600 sq feet inside and an additional 300 sq feet of lanai, this second floor studio has plenty to offer. Set at an elevation of 1200 feet you get incredible ocean views, shoreline vistas and comfortable temperatures.

Privacy abounds! There are no neighbors within sight. (Even the owners home is hidden by trees.) A fully equipped kitchen lets you prepare a quick lunch or an intimate gourmet dinner. The custom, six foot tub encourages a relaxing soak while you take in the view provided by a 4'x6' window. Drinks on the lanai while you watch the sun set over the ocean can be the perfect end to a relaxing day.

Once you are rested, there is plenty to do. This central location is perfect for day trips. Head north to Captain Cook Bay where snorkeling allows you to get up close and personal with a vast array of beautiful fish.

Another 10 miles up the road and you are in Kailua Kona. With it's white sand beach, large assortment of restaurants and shopping opportunities, you'll find lots to keep you busy. Is anyone up for a submarine ride?

Going south provides more wonders to enjoy. Black Sand Beach lets you encounter large sea turtles. The cliffs at South Point are awe inspiring with their powerful waves. Volcanoes National Park can provide a whole day of activities from lectures to hikes, depending on your interests.

Come and enjoy all this special retreat has to offer!

I am located just off of Hwy 11, south of Kailua Kona, Near the junction to Milolii village

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 909243 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Private, Quite and Luxurious
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
1

FIRST BAD EXPERIENCE WITH VRBO

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My review is affected by a claim of floor damage from moving furniture and suitcase holder (unsubstantiated) and the withholding of security deposit.No instructions given about moving furniture or the care of the floor.
Location:poorly maintained 1 mile rough driveway,difficult at night with no light to mark the location
Photograph:glossed over cracked old furniture.
Cleanliness: unclean compforter,stained pillows
Nearby activities: Manuka state park,Millolii
Owner:not available by phone onarrival .Email prior to departure presumed damage to crockery and floor.
Listing description does not fully describe or acuratley describe this location
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Shaun
Thank you so much for a wonderful place to stay on the Big Island. It was exactly what we were looking for. We loved being able to be off of the beaten path and really reconnect with one another. It was very private. From here we drove all over the island. Thanks again Shaun. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Auburn, WA
5

15 great days at Shaun's place

15 great days at Shaun's place
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I spent 15 super days at Shaun's rental, which is about a mile down the hill from the main highway 20 minutes south of Captain Cook. It was the perfect spot for what we wanted, peace and quiet plus a place from which to explore the Big Island, an island we had never visited.

The place is spotlessly clean and the kitchen, though small, has everything one would want for a secluded getaway. From this place we visited the Volcanoes National Park three times (as if someone from Washington state can't get enough volcanoes!) and actually spent 2 nights in Hilo.

Shaun gave us very specific instructions on how to find his place and several great hints about pre-shopping as the studio is 10 miles from the nearest store. Our goal for this vacation was well met and that was to not do too much, and we read lots and just recharged our batteries, but were not so isolated that we couldn't head up to Kona and find a great pub for all the Super Bowl festivities. Two enthusiastic thumbs up.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
washington st
5

a piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I have returned to this piece of paradise for our 2nd year. We can't say enough good things about this rental, the price was right! and privacy was key espicially with the open tub to the outdoors. The bed was the most comfortable Ive ever slept on, i wished I could fit it into my suitcase and take it home. Shaun the owner is a funny guy and is extremely in the know about what to do and drive times, Thanks Shaun! The rental was well equiped with beach bag, towels, soap and all the kitchen amenities, and the best beach on the island is within minutes, Honomolina beach
Thanks Shaun we had a good time
Kim and Tom
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
San Diego, CA, USA
4

Tranquil and well-appointed getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed at this little retreat for just a few days but found it extremely well appointed on the inside and a truly out-of-the-way spot that let us get away from people and city life for a short while.

The furnishings and fixtures inside the place were very attractive, and the open-air shower was an interesting experience (you really are tucked away with no one in sight for miles). Finding the place was a bit of a chore but not too bad. You do need to plan ahead a bit; it's an hour south of Kona and there are no stores or food places close by, so keep that in mind before you head back there for the night.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and I'd recommend this spot to anyone that wants a super nice place to stay that is out away from the city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
San Diego, CA
5

Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We first stayed at Shaun’s when my daughter was six months old and then went back again over her first birthday. Traveling with a baby is a little extra work and a lot more baggage but has been well worth it for us. Staying at Shaun’s guest house provided a relaxing family retreat. I would like to continue this trend of going every six months or more frequently! The setting is quiet and private and is the perfect place to get away from the daily grind. Having a full kitchen allowed us the flexibility to dine in or pack a lunch for our outings. The grocery store approx. 20 minute’s drive away provided any necessities that we didn’t bring with us. The furniture is child-friendly and there is even a rocking/glider chair for soothing baby to sleep. My favorite part of the house is the bathtub/shower with a view. It is the ultimate spa shower experience with three different shower heads and an oversized bath for soaking. I also appreciated having a washing machine on the premises. On days when we didn’t want to spend much time in the car, Honomolino Bay was a short trip away and a great place to go for some beach play and calm waters. This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to spend time both seeing the island and relaxing in quiet solitude.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Chiba / JAPAN
5

For travelars, being tired of normal tourist and want to experience rural side of the Big island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This is a great place to stay when you need a relax and quiet moment getting away from busy city life. Also good for one who wants to experience a rural life in the big island, providing different experience which you can not have from staying in Kailua Kona or in beach resort.
This guest house is located at private property away from high way so that mostly sounds you hear are birds or sound of breeze, no sounds of traffic. I enjoyed waking up every morning with sounds of birds singing.
The house has a nice wide lanai which has a incredible panoramic view of ocean and lava. Specially sun set from lanai is fantastic!!
Also it has a very unique bath tub which has a wide opening to lanai without any glass! So it is very nice to sit in the tub with warm water and feel fresh breeze at same time enjoying scenery. There are no houses or people in your sight from the tub, only you see are sky, lava, trees and ocean. Totally private.
There are no restaurant near by, but the kitchen has got every equipments you need for cooking and eating, even rice cooker, too!!
My recomendation to go around this house is Hookena beach, which is 25min away up to north by car. Not many tourist, most likey local beach. Usually surf there is calm and good to place to snorkel with clean water with good visibility and many tropical fishes. The beach is located by standing vertical dynamic cliff and the location is awsome!
Also, just staying in the house and relax is recomended too ! Great place to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Olympia, WA
4

Quiet Sanctuary

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
A fabulous place to stay if you want to get away from it all! Shaun's place is a retreat from the busy outside world. We stayed for a week in August and returned home well rested and relaxed.
The house is clean, compact, comfortable and has a kind of modern style and grace. The bathroom is incredible with the biggest tub I have ever seen. My wife says it is "the spa shower experience". Great 180 degree view off the deck. The road down to the house can be bone-jarring, but it managed to put our baby to sleep each time we drove over it.

Honomolino is a fabulous nearby beach that could be the model for what a tropical beach should have- warm sand, gentle breezes through palm trees and bathtub warm waters loaded with tropical fish.

The windy cliffs at SouthPoint are worth a visit. The Green sand beaches and Volcanos Natnl park are an easy drive away.

There are no great restaurants or nightlife nearby, but that is to be expected on the rural Kona Coast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private, Quite and Luxurious
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p909243
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Kailua Kona HI
4

quite and private. great place to reconnect with your spouse.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
HI Shaun,

Thank you for telling the truth about your hideaway. It is so quiet and private. The view off the deck is vast and there are no other houses in any direction. I have included a picture of the sunset just because it was so special. We appreciated that everything was new and top of the line. I liked the quality of the amenities and the special lighting you have is thought provoking for improvements at my house.

I felt really secure driving past all your neighbors and then being up off the ground, we felt safe enough that we were able to leave the doors and windows open all night. We would like to come back again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4