Nothing done to fix problems
We had 11 people in our party, so the house was great for our group. It was large with plenty of room and was in the location that we wanted. It was clean and stocked with LOTS of towels, but not a single wash cloth for washing up. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots and pans (but very little paper products) and there was enough linens for all the beds. The owners DO NOT provide a grill on property, so you have to rent one. When we called to rent one for the week, the place was all sold out. The pool and spa were very neglected. You could see the filters were not working and the pool and spa NEVER got even WARM. The management company was USELESS. They sent someone out who knew NOTHING about pools and she told us that the owner KNEW that the pool was not working, but the owner did not give them the OK to fix it. The pool and spa, according to their website, is heated by solar and by gas, that is NOT TRUE. The gas tank has had a leak and will not hold gas and the solar panels were not working either. The owners were impossible to get a hold of because they live in England. When the woman did finally get back with one of us from our party she did NOTHING. She said, "too bad you are not enjoying yourselves." We never heard from her again, and we still have not received our deposit back. We live in a cold climate so we go to Florida for spring break, we were looking so forward to swimming and sitting in the hot tub each night. We have rented VRBO homes for 6 years now and this was the worst experience so far. We will not be back. By the way, if you don't like spiders, stay in the upper level. We killed several large spiders in the lower level during the week. The cost for this house is very reasonable, but I guess you get what you pay for.
Owner's Response: Wash cloths are un-hygenic and therefore not supplied
Paper products are the renters responsibility as they are disposable items.
We do not provide a barbecue grill on the property due to the cost of wear and tear and cleaning which ultimately would have to be passed on to the guest. We are happy to arrange barbecues for guests. We received no such request from yourselves.
The pool and spa are NOT neglected. They are professionally serviced weekly with the correct chemical balance and correct functioning being checked on each visit. The solar panels are working but they are susceptible to the current weather conditions which are not always the best in the month of April.
We advertise on VRBO, which you state you used, and Homeaway. These websites only state that the pool is heated by solar, no mention is made of gas. We are currently evaluating options to re-introduce an other form of pool heating.
We are at a loss as to how you could not contact us . There are contact numbers for us here in the UK and as this contact number is in our home we do not understand why you couldn’t get hold of us. Our records show only one email from you and no telephone calls? We have also discussed your comments with the management company who state that the only issue discussed with them was the lack of gas heating for the pool. Your claim that Liz here said “too bad you are not enjoying yourselves” is untrue. In fact Liz has never spoken to you. Her one email reply to the one email you sent stated “I am sorry that you are having such a miserable time in our home”. The subtle difference in your email indicates sarcasm which is just not factual. Liz immediately contacted the management company and ensured that they addressed any issues.
Deposits are refunded approximately two weeks after guests vacate the property. We have to wait for a report from the managing agents regarding any possible damage. Your deposit will be refunded once you have let us know your bank details or an address to forward a cheque.
We have never had issues regarding spiders reported.The house is treated against potential insect ingress bi-monthly. The next treatment being due early May. An inspection following your stay did not indicate an issue.
Helpful votes: 2/3
Did you find this review helpful?