Capitol Hill townhome rental - 1890 Victorian House at Eastern Market on Capitol Hill - First Level Suite
1890 Victorian House at Eastern Market on Capitol Hill - First Level Suite
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Capitol Hill Townhome Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom suite with sleeper sofa in living room, private bath/laundry/sleeps 4

Unique traveler's experience, only 100 steps from Eastern Market Metro subway station. Eastern Market Suites is a newly renovated 1890s Victorian home featuring one bedroom guest suites with private living rooms, modern amenities & original architecture, located in the heart of Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, EZ Subway access to the National Mall, all major Museums & other attractions in the city. Around the corner from the new 'Barrack's Row', a very popular destination point for residents, Congress & visitors alike who enjoy shopping, restaurants featuring a variety of cuisines, and is pedestrian friendly. Or take a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the U.S. Capitol plaza & the U.S. Supreme Court.

If this suite is reserved, see our other suites on HomeAway #914101 & #931151. Your visit to Washington, DC, whether for business or pleasure, will only be wonderfully enhanced by the charming, warm and welcoming environment of Eastern Market Suite versus some nondescript hotel downtown

History of Eastern Market Suites:: Kirk Beatley is a fifth generation Washingtonian whose family has lived on Capitol Hill since the late 1800s, and where he continues to live today with his wife and two children. In 1905, Kirk's Great-Grandmother, Margaret, became only the second owner of this 1890 Victorian home, purchasing it so as to entice her newly married daughter, Nell, to raise her own family in the neighborhood. Nell, a typical 'stay at home' mother of the ages, and her husband, John, a fireman with the Washington, D.C. Fire Department, raised their 12 children in this home, witnessing the strife of World War I, the excitment of the Roaring 1920s, the depression of the 1930s, the heartbreak of WW II and the unrest of the rebellous 1960s.

In 2008 Kirk and his wife purchased the home from elderly relatives who had owned or lived in the house since 1905, and then spent more than two years meticulously restoring and renovating the home, blending all that could be salvaged of the original 'Old-world - Victorian' charm, grace and architecture with 'New world' appliances and technology.

Today, Kirk's family, a sixth generation of Washingtonians, are honored to offer you the opportunity of experiencing residential living in their newly updated family's house, in the heart of our Nation's Capitol, at the Historic Eastern Market on Capitol Hill!

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 907170 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
4

Great location, really nice place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We couldn't have found a nicer or more convenient place for our brief (4 night) stay; loved the fact that the Metro is only 100 steps away, and that there are so many excellent places to eat with 2 or 3 blocks! We especially enjoyed Le Pain Quotidien, great pastries and quiches, very friendly staff. We had the 1st (Main) Floor flat, and it was very nice... lovely furnishings, very comfortable bed, everything needed in the nice kitchen (I want that Viking stove!!!). We're looking forward to a return visit soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Gainesville, FL
5

Absolutely gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Kirk, we cannot begin to tell you how lovely your family home is! It is clear that all of the work done to your 1890 family home was lovingly restored with top of the line appliances, bedding and all of the comforts to ensure a comfortable stay. My Mom and I were on a vacation to see the DC sights and the location could not have been more perfect to the Metro (really only 100 steps!), fantastic dining and the Eastern Market. We stayed in the top flat and had a lovely lanai to wind down and have a glass of wine after sight-seeing the Memorials, the National Gallery of Art, Arlington and the Eastern Market. It is all right there and within walking distance. I even went to the library which is just across the street!
I so appreciated meeting you and learning about your family history of this property and the challenges you have had to keep it in the family and restore it. I also appreciate the personal service you gave us to arrange pick up of the night-time oxygen that my Mom needed.
Talked to my Mom tonight, a week after our visit, and we were waxing poetic about our wonderful time and your lovely home. Thank you for sharing with us!
Drue and Sherry (FL and NC)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Great location, interior, and ownership

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My friends and I very much enjoyed our recent stay here. The location is very convenient to the Metro as well as a multitude of dining options. One could even walk to the Capitol area without much ambition. The apartment was in very nice condition, and we especially liked the back porch. Kirk was extremely kind and accommodating throughout our stay. Should I return to D.C. someday, I will definitely seek to stay here again.
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Cassis 13260 france
4

GOOD TIME

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
GOOD TIME
The apartment is nice and well equipped, well located near the subway and downtown and we had a pleasant stay with terrace and garden to relax between the visits to museums and monuments
Only small flaw: the noise of the tenants's footsteps of the apartment above
The owner came to see us the first evening to welcome us and see if everything go well!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Winterville, NC, USA
5

could not have been better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My children (10 and 4) and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Baltimore and then New York City. I (mom) was travelling alone with the two little ones, so safety and convenience were very important factors. We experienced both (and more). We stayed on the main level. The owner, Kirk, was an excellent host and was a joy to meet in person. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, safe, and comfortable. He offered a very fair price for what we got, and he made it clear that he was available to take care of any concerns that we may have (none!). The apartment was clean and very well appointed. We had everything we needed. We were able to park right in front of the home. Within a short walk from the apartment, we found the metro (so easy to get around DC), a row of restaurants/shops, and a park with a great playground for the kids. We especially enjoyed having a small back yard with a patio set for eating. I like to cook my own meals, so a hotel would not have been nearly as convenient or comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who wants a clean and fabulous place to stay while visiting DC, and I hope to be able to return soon myself. It just doesn't get any better than this. Thanks Kirk for sharing your property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and agree with all of the other excellent reviews. This made a good homebase for our DC vacation. Centrally located and near a Metro station. Plenty of places to eat within a short walking distance, in particular, Cafe 8 had awesome pizza, Ted's Bulletin was really good. Everything in the place is top notch. CVS, organic market, and liquor store are all close by.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Absolutely lovely place to stay in DC!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I can't say enough great things about Eastern Market Suites. My boyfriend and I stayed in the suite on the top floor for 11 weeks while working in DC for the summer and we had a great experience. First of all, the location is convenient to almost anything you could want. Within a block or two there is a metro stop, CVS, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Blockbuster, Fedex, an organic market, and about 20 various restaurants. Also very close is the Eastern Market which is hopping with food stands, crafts, fresh fruit and veggies every Saturday and Sunday. We went almost every weekend to stroll around and support the local community. The Capitol building is just a short 15 minute walk and there is a Harris Teeter within a 10 minute walk.

As far as the suite we stayed in, it was very comfortable and we felt very much at home while staying there. The appliances were brand new and worked very well. We cooked most evenings and did laundry quite often and never had a problem with any of the appliances. Kirk was very eager to provide us with any cooking utencils or kitchen items that we may have needed. There are 2 small dishwashers instead of one big one, which we found very useful as being only 2 people it was nice to be able to run a small load of dishes each night. When we arrived, the suite was also fully stocked with all of the necessities, such as laundry detergent, dish soap, cleaning supplies, toilet paper, paper towels, and anything we could have needed. There is also free WI-FI, cable TV, and an Ipod dock. The decorations were very nice and the furniture was quite comfortable. Our favorite part of the place, was the deck. We spent many evenings eating dinner or having a glass of wine out there while enjoying watching the birds and squirrels and taking in some fresh air. There is a ceiling fan on the deck as well, which made the hot summer nights very pleasant.

We have worked in DC for the past four summers and have rented different places each summer, this is by far our most favorite place that we have stayed. Kirk and Lisa have done a great job restoring the place and giving it a very inviting atmosphere. I would highly recommend Eastern Market Suites to anyone who is visiting DC. It is a wonderful place to stay and beats staying at a hotel any day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Fabulous Apartment in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We just returned from a wonderful trip to USA. We spent 5 days at the Eastern Market Suites in DC. We are a family of 5 and the apartment accommodated us comfortably. The renovation to this building is outstanding. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, light-filled. The furniture is all comfortable. The apartment has a fully-fitted kitchen, which allowed us to make a lazy breakfast, eat on the patio, before setting off for a day's sight-seeing. There is an excellent washer/ drier and a well fitted bathroom. The free Wifi was very well used by the whole family! The location is outstanding. Just steps from the train station, the DC Circulator bus, bicycle rental, a lovely organic food market, cafes and restaurants. But also close enough to walk to all the major sites, if you prefer the walk. Lisa and Kirk are outstanding hosts, who couldn't do enough for us, including replacing the broken toaster immediately, providing tourist advice and just making us feel welcome. We went on to travel for another 2 weeks through Philadelphia, NYC and Delaware. Whilst we had a wonderful time in all places, the accommodation at Easter Market Suites remains unmatched!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Capitol Hill Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 0023
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I attended an event in DC and had the opportunity to stay at the Eastern Market Suites. This townhouse is a gem in itself; the owners have taken great care in their design. It's stylish, yet quite comfortable. The location is ideal for anyone who has business to conduct in DC, being that the property is just across the street from the subway stop. The area has a number of trendy restaurants within walking distance. The kitchen is very modern, with state-of-the-art appliances. There is no doubt that the Eastern Market Suites will be a standing destination whenever I go to DC.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill; 100 steps to Eastern Market Metro!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p907170
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Absolutely Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
There was a loss in the family and some of us had to travel back home to DC from several parts of the United States. We moved away long ago and do not have a family residence here anymore. A family member who travels frequently found the "Home Away" site and this lovely townhome suite on Capital Hill. It was perfect! The amenities were above and beyond expectations. The kitchen is excellent for those who like to cook! We wanted to take food to a few family gatherings and were able to cook and bake while here. There is a Harris Teeter market several blocks down Pennsylvania Avenue where we could buy groceries and maximize our "home away" from home experience. The furniture and decor in the suite were so professionally done. I had to work while here and had the place and space to do it. The metro is a block away along with other stores and sites, such as the Eastern Market.

We met the owner and he was more than pleasant! Whenever we travel back home to DC, this will be the first place sought for lodging. We truly enjoyed the location, amenities, and price for the accommodations. Oh, the Back Porch and yard was an unexpected bonus!

Thanks, Kirk for your hospitality!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1