Waynesville cottage rental - RIVER VIEW AND SOUNDS FROM FRONT DECK
RIVER VIEW AND SOUNDS FROM FRONT DECK
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Waynesville Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

The “Apple Orchard Riverfront Cottage”

Just a quick block off the Interstate and not too far from Asheville you soon find yourself traveling quietly through an apple orchard on a quaint narrow mountain road which suddenly explodes into a riverfront vista complete with rushing rapids right in the front yard of a truly lovely cottage surrounded by plant pots filled with vegetation and glorious blossoming flowers, weather permitting. You're smiling and haven't even parked the car yet. Off to the right you see the challenge of a bright new shuffleboard court beckoning some good old family competition later, and think what a nice way to bring everyone together. To enhance the experience you find an enormous exterior deck right off the living room that affords a more leisurely opportunity to sit and reflect on this lovely river view while the sounds of rushing waters subtlety background your relaxed conversation with loved ones. As you eventually return inside to a bright, large gathering room filled with endless hardwood floors and luscious warm room colors you enjoy the warmth of a flickering fire in a room filled with family and friends. You’re now in the “Apple Orchard Riverfront Cottage”.

Our little cottage was built in the 1850s and we completely remodeled to make it comfortable and cozy. All systems are brand new. Inside you soon discover three large bedrooms with amazingly comfortable beds and two beautiful spotless bathrooms, all filled with hardwood floors and plenty of windows. Throughout the cottage wonderful eclectic furnishings hand selected by caring, keen eyes continue to intrigue and peak both your interest and curiosity. Your exploration soon finds a wonderfully bright and cheerful, newly-remodeled kitchen well equipped and filled with just about any type of gadgetry required to prepare the tastiest hors d’oeuvres or a gourmet meal for eight. Nothing has been left to wishful thinking. A beautiful kitchen island topped in mountain hardwood beckons you to sit, sip coffee or open a bottle of wine to quietly linger and savior this moment. No kids for a moment, just the two of you.

And as you sit and sip, be it coffee or wine, to ponder the day’s potential; you realize how many wonderful opportunities await you here in the Great Smoky Mountains. You may decide to take a long leisurely walk right here at home along almost a mile of river frontage and ending in the apple orchards or bee hive stands where you might buy apples, peaches and honey. Perhaps you decide a quick drive into Asheville for a leisurely day of exploring the Biltmore or The Grove Park Inn, or all the neat restaurants and shops. For those more inclined to physical activity you might find yourself planning on rafting the rapids or tubing right in front of your cottage or zip lining the tree canopies near Asheville, or all the above. In fall, you may want to hike the mountain trails to view the vivid fall colors, knowing it’s a must see. And later in the year you may plan on the challenge of skiing the slopes of Cataloochee, just minutes away.

Regardless of your choice of so many varied things to do and see, one thing is truly certain: you ultimately will enjoy coming home again and again to the warmth and caring found nestled in your lovely home away from home, the “Apple Orchard Riverfront Cottage”.

Keywords: cottage, river front, water front, near Waynesville, near Asheville, large deck, fireplace, Close to Interstate

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 412042 in Waynesville, North Carolina

Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
Brandon Twp.
5

Home was very nice, clean, well maintained!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Stayed eight nights and nearly cried as well pulled away! The home was super inviting, good cable TV, nice kitchen, remote (but still close to Taco Bell, thank God!). Took our babies, two Siberian Huskies, hiking every day, though it was also nice to lounge around the house too. Asheville, Waynesville and Black Mountains were nice areas (Asheille was a bit too trendy for our tastes however). Last day of our visit we went to Full Moon Worlfdog Sanctuary in Black Mountain, where we were able to partake in a ritual with native americans to pray for the animals and their wellbeing. That was the most interesting event that we attended, very unique experience, and we feel blessed to be able to help. We would absolutely come back to this home and recommend to others. We bought grass fed beef from a farmer in Asheville and in Black Mountain. Talking with him was very enlightening. This was one of our favorite vacations! (and we vacation alot!)
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
Durham, NC
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a wonderful family vacation! This is a beautiful house and property, with great views all around and plenty of space to roam and explore. The river view provided the perfect setting for morning coffee and evening wine, and the easy direct river access provided opportunities for swimming and tubing adventures. The house is wonderfully appointed, the beds all very comfortable, the location ideal with proximity to Asheville and Waynesville, the combination of activity and relaxation...our biggest decision daily - where to sit for which view to enjoy? Thad and Marilyn were great hosts, very helpful and responsive. We look forward to a return visit very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
5

Sweet spot on the river!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a great time tubing the river from the property! Tubes provided. The house is beautiful and seems remote but is super close to everything. We went to mt mitchell , tons of waterfalls, Asheville, great smoky mtn national park.it was great for my parents who are over 75 and didn't have any stairs! The sound of the river ,easy walk to the river and everything provided, even gas for the grill, the beds are great and the house is clean and easy and very nice. We love the no fees!!! and the owners are easy to work with , even last minute.We miss it! And will come back as soon as we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
The Berkshires, Massachusetts
5

A peaceful, relaxing home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved our stay here. The house is at the end of a dead-end road, facing the river. It's quiet and private, yet everything you might need is a few minutes away. Sitting out on the front deck in the morning having coffee and watching the river is a wonderful way to start the day. The house is immaculate, comfortably furnished, beds are extremely comfortable, and there's lots of space. I'd recommend this home to anyone looking for a great getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a great review...!!! We very much appreciate our guests letting usknow how they feel about their stay with us. We try hard to be good hosts...Thank-you...!!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
5

You need more time than you think....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Thad and Marilyn,
Thanks so much for introducing the Apple Orchard Cottage to me. You were right about its unique location and river frontage. Very nice and refreshing. The home and furnishings are great, really nice kitchen, great space and fabulous vista of the river but I really like the location. The nicest grocery store I could imagine is just down the street and the Interstate is right there but totally out of sight and view. Best of all, thanks for the Blue Ridge Parkway day trip you call “Two Easy Hikes and Brunch”. Everybody who comes should take an extra day and do the “Easy Hikes”. The first to the Devil’s Courthouse at milepost 422.4 which was a short but strenuous trail climbing a half mile to its peak where panoramic views can be seen. The second to Skinny Dip Falls across the Parkway from the parking area at milepost 417. Skinny Dip Falls is a waterfall and refreshing swimming hole and soaking spot. Nice on a hot summer day with clear, cold water. Both are ½ mile hikes and very gentle. Later Brunch at the Pisgah Inn [milepost 408] capped off the perfect day. Tell everyone to ask for “Bo” who was the perfect waiter with wit and good conversation. Great wine, food, company. Well worth the extra day and experience. We’ll be back. Roger
Helpful votes: 9/12
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
-
5

Wedding Weekend Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband's niece was to be married on Saturday and I wanted a place that would allow all of my family to stay together for the weekend! We were most impressed with the accommodations this vacation rental provided! At the end of a dead end road beside a river, this home provided a home away from home for all of us. It was just what we needed to relax after rehearsal and a long wedding day. Some of us went to the river to fish, some just rested and my 4 year old granddaughter was all about picking the wildflowers during the day and chasing the fireflies at night. It was fabulous and we didn't want to leave! We loved how it seemed so secluded, yet was within minutes of grocery stores and restaurants. The WIFI and flat screen TV was so nice to have as well as the island in the kitchen that provided an excellent location for family to gather around. Everything was clean and well maintained and I was recommending the home to relatives before the weekend was even over. I personally enjoyed sitting on the porch listening to the sounds of the river every chance I got. I highly recommend this vacation rental as the perfect place to stay in the Canton/Waynesville area.
Owner's Response: We love it when our guests enjoy our home...!!! Thanks for your kind words...
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
Brownsburg, IN
5

The perfect place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Where to begin! We could not believe all of the extra items in the house that made it seem "just like home" upon our arrival. It's even better than the pictures! We were able to open the windows to hear the river each morning. Just sitting at the picnic table on the back porch you will see lots of birds and a beautiful sunset that goes down over the trees. This house is at a dead end road but close to a nice grocery store, gas stations, interstate and local restaurants (all within 3-5 minutes). The Owners have provided everything you would need from laundry soap to a fully stocked kitchen! We hope to return sometime with our new little one (I was 7 months pregnant during this stay). We enjoyed our time at the house as well as on the Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, Waynesville and Cherokee.
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
Concord, NC
5

A wonderful long weekend away from it all in a beautiful, serene country setting.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were thoroughly impressed with your delightful home. The pictures really do not convey the gracious country living afforded in this comfortable, well- appointed sanctuary. Listening to the river on the outdoor patio while enjoying our morning coffee or evening beverage was especially relaxing. We walked down to the river daily, and even caught a few fish. The morning light in the kitchen is so refreshing, the appliances are modern and the wood floors throughout the house are beautiful. The pantry was well stocked with essentials, and the outside grill was a welcome option since the weather was nice for cooking out. The beds were absolutely fabulous with exquisite bedding, and the most comfy pillows. The overall feel for the house is so peaceful and the décor is quaint and charming. The location is perfectly sandwiched between several eclectic mountain towns, with cool shopping and lots of great restaurants. A nearby grocery store was so convenient, and we even had a Starbucks close. The house is just minutes off I-40 and we were just a quick 15-20 minutes drive from Waynesville, Maggie Valley or Asheville. We even enjoyed a “Street Party” on Saturday night with three live bands in Waynesville. We were very happy we chose to stay in this lovely little farmhouse on the river and hope to visit again soon. Thanks for sharing your mountain home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
5

Fantastic..I am now haunted by waters...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Dear Thad,
Wow! We’re impressed. Just as you said we would be. We arrived for our long weekend knowing little about your lovely cottage. I guess 15 minutes or so away from Asheville, we turned off I-40 and immediately discovered a supermarket amid a collection of restaurants and fast foods. Very convenient and less than a minute from I-40.. From there we turned right, drove over a hill and the rest of the world suddenly disappeared. We were quietly and pleasantly alone driving up to the house. And as you said, a river was running in the front yard – “A River Runs Through It”. Great Adirondack seating right off the river bank. We quickly unpacked and looked around inside. The pictures don’t do justice. The furnishings were amazing and so comfy. And I loved the kitchen, especially in the mornings. The bathrooms were spotless, just perfect. Plenty of room for everybody. And thanks so much for the bottle of wine. We sat out on the deck just looking, sipping and listening to the river, mesmerized. The location is perfect, and you can get to Maggie, Waynesville or Asheville so quickly. My husband loved the fly fishing and I struggled to get him back to the house. Wine helped. Can’t wait to return again. As Norman McLean said, “I am haunted by waters”. We love your home and can’t wait to return.
Heather
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Five Star Riverfront 3BR Cottage Near Asheville & Waynesville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412042vb
Waynesville Maggie Valley/Waynesville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

1st Guest's Comments

1st Guest's Comments
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Hi Thad,
We just wanted to let you know we had a great first night in the house. We even caught 4 fish! I love the kitchen! We are driving along the parkway today (started in Cherokee and will probably stop at Asheville). We are going to water
the grass when we get back tonight. We love the deck and also the view from the picnic table. Everything is perfect!!
Kristi
Helpful votes: 8/9