Issaquah house rental - Secluded and quiet house on the river
Secluded and quiet house on the river
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Issaquah House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 1 bath w/ shower, sleeps 6 (+ 2 in charming loft)

Just east of Seattle, Wilkomish sits on 3 acres of towering evergreens amidst the verdant natural beauty of the Northwest. Straddling a river that cascades over granite rock, the property offers complete privacy for a relaxing, fun getaway with family or friends--or solitude for individual respite or creative time. The charming house has a spacious master suite with spectacular river views. Two other bedrooms sleep 4. A well-appointed kitchen is new. The dining room seats up to 10. Log walls line the living/gathering room (in the original part of the house).

Outdoor features include a large deck, hot tub, gas grill, gazebo, footbridge [crossing the river to a playhouse], fire pit, small ponds, and a level lawn area spacious enough for outdoor games. Our river house, while secluded and peaceful, is just 20 to 30 minutes from activities and events in downtown Seattle and a 25-minute drive from the Seattle/Tacoma airport.

We cannot accommodate weddings.

The House:

- Original log cabin room for comfortable gathering includes HDTV (sorry, no cable), DVD player, iPod/CD player, and internet access. Ladder leads to charming loft above living room for kids (or adventurous adults) to play or sleep in

- Views of river and bridge from dining room; table can seat up to 10 people with extensions

- Spacious master bedroom suite with queen bed; gorgeous river views

- Master bathroom with two sinks, large shower, laundry facilities [in closet]

- Flower bedroom with full bed

- Bird bedroom with single bed & pop-up trundle (makes queen bed or 2 singles when pulled out)

- Full bath with tub/shower

- Newly renovated kitchen with plenty of space for cooking and gathering. Viking cook top, microwave oven, convection oven, dishwasher, large refrigerator, wine cooler, coffee maker, toaster. Granite island with bar stools. Table settings, dishes, utensils, pots and pans, and basic cooking supplies (spices, sugar, oil, etc.) provided

- Study/writing room with large windows and a great view of river

The Property: Wilkomish sits on 3 acres of private, verdant Northwest forest. Pass the large frog pond on your left, and park your car at the bunkhouse, then walk along a short path past a tiny pond to the main entrance of the cottage.

The back yard features a large deck with chairs and tables for eight. Relax in the jacuzzi and gaze up at the fir trees and sky. Perhaps our blue heron will visit. Walk toward the gazebo to see the expanse (250 feet) of riverfront. Cross the footbridge to visit our little playhouse at the edge of Tiger Mountain State Forest. Complete privacy, with no neighbors in view in any direction.

At night you might want to light some logs in fire pit or play games on the expanse of lawn bordered by the river and our third pond.

Due to our allergies, we respectfully ask that you leave your pets at home. Smoking is not allowed.

The Area:

Wilkomish sits on a stone-lined, clear water river at the end of a county road. It is secluded and quiet, but only 3.4 miles from I-90. Seattle is a pleasant half-hour drive away. In half an hour, you can be listening to the Seattle Symphony, touring the unique [Frank Gehry-designed] Rock and Roll Museum or Seattle Art Museum, or visiting Pike Place Market. Within 45 minutes by car, you can be on a ferry to one of the picturesque islands in Puget Sound, or skiing at a Cascade mountain wonderland. Seattle offers all of that and much more; there is something for every interest in this beautiful area! Gorgeous scenery, alpine hiking, mountain biking, water sports are all within reach during your stay.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 906907 in Issaquah, Washington

Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Like staying in a beautiful Hobbit Hole!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were delighted with our stay from the very first moment. The home is beautiful, inviting and cozy. Huge windows throughout add a breath taking view from every room. Incredibly stocked with everything you would need for an extended stay. The decor is eclectic and you feel as if you are staying in a friends home. The children LOVED the large loft packed full of toys and sleeping bags as well as the many books for them to read. They enjoyed the river rope bridge even more. There is room to roam outside complete with a fire pit and hot tub. The view of the river from the back of the house is exceptional.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it very highly!
Owner's Response: Ralph and Tomi,
This is a lovely description of your stay. We're glad it worked out so well for you and your family. Feel free to come again sometime!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Wonderful Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a wonderful time staying in your river house. The spaces are such that those who needed a little down time could find a quiet space and big enough that we didn't feel crowded even watching a movie together. One night, we had two old friends come over from for dinner (which we all prepared together in that kitchen with the great counter space.)

When we arrived, I spent time wandering and looking, and feeling as if we knew you. It was a surprise to find we own many of the same books and movies, and family games, too. Your celebration of family is evident throughout the house.

Susie and David, the house was perfect, personal and comfortable. Binks, our youngest son, used to dream about living in a log house. We liked your playful use of color, your collections, the watercolors, the unobstructed views.

I hope that you have frequent opportunities to be in your own house. Thank you again for allowing us to stay.

Warm regards,

Christine
Owner's Response: We're so happy to know you enjoyed the holidays there as much as we did the year before. It's always a pleasure to have several generations together to celebrate, and our house is a cozy place to do that. Thanks for your kind words.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Your home was a respite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thanks, Susie & David! Boys loved the time there, and the house almost as much as their Digipen course! They had the time of their lives building fires in the fire pit and roasting marshmallows and eating s’mores. (Philip’s friend Victor had never built a fire nor had s’mores before in his life!) Victor more adventurous than Philip so the woods and ponds were intriguing. We got to do some great hikes and enjoy the beautiful weather there! (100 in Denver again today.) Your home was a respite!

My husband Chris is a chef, so he loved the kitchen! The boys didn't use the loft—anyway, the trundle worked well. Lovely collection of fun things around the house, and my mom loved the flowers outside. Great books!

Would love to return again to listen to the water and quiet. Wanted to write in guest book but time got away. Thank you again for a lovely time, accommodating the boys’ presentations, and our not having to base in a hotel/dorm city setting! We had a delightful time and such fond memories of a lovely time there. Thanks for sharing your magical home.

Debi & Chris
Denver, Colorado
Owner's Response: Sounds like everything went well. So glad you had a wonderful time!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Dream House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a great time at the river house! The weather was gorgeous (70s and 80s) and not a cloud in the sky!
We really didn't have any problems (it’s always a scavenger hunt finding things in a new surroundings). I hope we returned everything properly to the correct places. My sons (28 and 20) really loved the big rocks in the river...they are like frogs...my youngest was doing Parkour stunts all over them . . . and we all took at least one walk across the rope bridge - so fun!
Thanks for sharing the dream house with us ;)
Gayle, Mark (my bro), Ben (oldest son) and Sara (his wife), Naomi (my daughter), Justin (her husband) and Daniel (my baby, 20 years old)
Owner's Response: We're happy that you could stay at our house while you attended your niece's wedding nearby. Glad that all went well. We like picturing your sons jumping around on the rocks in the river. Thanks for taking good care of the place.
--Susie and David
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Your home is magical!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved every minute of our stay at Wilkomish, from the moment we drove down the long driveway, saw the frog pond with flowers in bloom on its banks and walked under the rose arbor to the front door. We love the Three Bears chairs in the entry, with gorgeous hydrangea blooming outside the window. Your kitchen is fantastic and beautifully equipped. We enjoyed a delicious Tuscan bread salad and loved sitting in the colorful chairs in the dining room, overlooking the river as it slipped over mossy rocks and under the rope bridge. We love how you've decorated your home with comfort and a bit of whimsy. We enjoyed conversing with family and friends in the rustic log cabin living room. Everywhere you look there is a painting or delightful object that catches the eye and invites a closer look. The bears in the loft kept a good eye on us and we think they enjoyed watching the travel slides we viewed with family. The entertainment center works beautifully. We appreciate the nice collection of DVDs you have available.
The bedrooms are delightful with colorful and comfortable beds and linens. Each room has its own personality. The Master bedroom with its view of the river and the Tiger Mountain forest across the bridge is a wonderful place to relax. We love the bright bathroom and roomy shower. The laundry facilities are convenient, too.
We enjoyed reading some of your books in the nook, also enjoying the views out to the river and hot tub. There's a book for everyone - with such a broad selection on hand. You'd think a librarian carefully put together what's available.
The comfy chairs in the room overlooking the river were inviting. The desk there was a great place to write a few journal entries. We liked how the forest pictures tied to the spectacular trees across the rivers. Are they Doug Firs and Giant Cedars? We think a few Alders and Western Hemlocks are in the mix.
We loved the flowers in the Garden Room and the birds and art in the Bird Room. What a fun view - inside and out. The window views drew us out to explore the two large lawns with shrubs in bloom around them. Those blackberry bushes will have ripe berries in August! We lit a fire in the pit to roast marshmallows. That giant tree nearby is spectacular. And then we found another pond! We lit some candles and sent them floating across the pond while we observed in silence the candle lights and stars twinkling over our heads. Magic. Pure magic.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your generous and detailed praise! You are always welcome at our river house, and we hope you will come again.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The property was delightful. Our weather was sunny and warm! Quite unusual for the area, but we enjoyed every minute! All in all, I had the sense that whoever decorated, designed the living space, remodeled the home, had a gift for making guests feel welcome and at home. Congratulations on a wonderful home.

We had our children and their families visit us and it was a perfect space for us to enjoy each other. Because of toddlers and babies, I had to do some baby proofing, moving decorative items up and away, but that's to be expected anywhere. The children especially enjoyed the loft play area.

I can't say enough about how great our stay was. We were able to enjoy our family to the fullest in this home. I hope to be able to book again next year. It was in a perfect location for our family.
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know how things worked out. We're glad all went well.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Your house is beautiful and we would DEFINITELY choose this one to visit again if we were here in Washington. We LOVED it. Awesome!!!! Thank you so much for allowing us to come. We were in heaven.

Thank you SOOOO very much.

Truly,
E and J Dreese
California
Owner's Response: You're more than welcome. We know you were wanting a peaceful getaway from your rat race in southern California--so glad you had a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Wilkomish: sylvan river house; quiet and secluded, yet close to Seattle
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906907
+1 7084823518
Issaquah Puget Sound
5

A beautiful place of retreat - WE LOVED it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Well, what can I say? Your place was an absolute delight!!! As you know we were traveling with 4 generations and to accommodate the needs and wants with an 84 yr age gap between the youngest and oldest isn't easy, but your place did the job! The young ones LOVED the bridge and river as well as playing in the loft. My parents enjoyed the gardens and the ability to be near nature yet near conveniences. My mom spent a lot of her time admiring the bits and pieces of decoration around the place ooohhing and awwing over the little bird houses and the like.

My husband and I were relieved to find that there was enough space for everyone and the surroundings were soooo gorgeous. He was particularly impressed with the nice combination of rustic and modern/comfortable renovations . . . log cabin feel with nice comfy washrooms =) The welcome from the roses was lovely and the ability to see so many stars at night was magical. We all drooooooled over the kitchen and I enjoyed cooking and preparing meals immensely. The appliances were amazing - we used the fridge, the stove top and the griddle thingo was PERFECT for making the pancake breakfast! The coffee maker, microwave were great.

Meeting your sister was lovely and she told us a bit of your story which helped me see why the place has such a homey feel - vs a rental feel. There's such a warm feeling about the place that I couldn't quite explain since we've stayed at various rental accommodations before and never has one had the same feel. All in all....couldn't have had a better time - you have made a BEAUTIFUL place of retreat.

So in conclusion - WE LOVED it! By God's grace, we'd love to come down again one day!
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting your review. We're so happy that our home was a perfect getaway for you. We hope you'll be able to use it again sometime in the future.

Warm regards to all your family,
Susie and David
Helpful votes: 10/10