Seattle house rental - Front of house.
Front of house.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Seattle House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2.5 full baths, sleeps 8

Over 4400 square feet of luxury living on two levels. The gated entry leads through a verdant garden to the entry/art gallery with cathedral ceilings and baby grand piano. Ahead of you is the large living room w/ fireplace, stereo, library, and large wrapped windows to enhance the spectacular views of Portage Bay with the Seattle Yacht Club boats, Husky Rowing Team, and the Cascade mountains beyond in the East. The formal dining room, with views of the water, seats 10; fully equipped chef's kitchen with stainless steel appliances and casual seating area. The one car garage and side entrance open to the mud-room. On the other end of the main floor is the master bedroom suite with views of the water, with queen sized bed, flat screen tv; ample closet space; marble bathroom with double sinks and walk in shower with adjustable shower, soaking tub and separate W.C.

Garden Level of House: The garden level boasts a large family room that opens to the garden and its views of the mountains, with 2 sofas and 2 club chairs to enjoy the surround sound, flat screen t.v., board and video games/dvd stereo and A/V closet. There's a wide selection of books and music as well as an xbox 360. Down the hall there are three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The first bedroom has a spectacular view of the water, open to the garden for separate entrance, a queen bed, desk and 2 large closets. A contemporary bathroom is at the end of the hall, between the remaining bedrooms. The first bedroom has a bunk bed, desk, electric piano, and good sized closet, and the second bedroom has views of the lake, a queen bed, desk, ample closet space and its own half bath. The Bosch front loading washer and dryer are on this level in the laundry room, as well as an excercise room equiped with a treadmill, stability ball, mat, tv, light weights and bands.

The Garden and Views: The house sits amidst beautifully maintained Italian-style gardens on an over 10,000 foot lot. The front gated entry gives privacy as does the lush foliage, and a garden table nestled in the front courtyard provides an alternative dining area. The back garden is large and multi-leveled, with gated entrances on either side to access the waterfront. The wisteria and jasmine covered arbor provides beautiful dappled light under which to dine outdoors, with stunning views of the active yet always charming Portage Bay. A large terrace with a pair of chaises and sun umbrella provide private refuge amongst the mature and flowering garden. The lower garden level features a pond, large flower beds, white stoned walkways and a hidden seating area for those seeking quiet moments.

We have a 3 person canoe you can use (at your own risk) and launch it from our waterfront dock. Enjoy swimming or other water sports in the lake. Living near the water in the city is magical!

Architect Designed Property: This is truly one of the special houses of Seattle. Originally built in 1928, it was completely renovated by Roland Terry, the iconic architect of the Northwest who also designed the famous Canlis Restaurant. More recently, the house was updated by the internationally famous modern architect, Hugh Newell Jacobsen. This location is close enough to everything you want to see and do in Seattle, but provides a stylish respite from the urban life nearby.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 906894 in Seattle, Washington

Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
Berkeley, CA
5

Amazing View, Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family enjoyed 5 fantastic nights at this beautiful property. The location could not have been more ideal for exploring Seattle. The layout of the home allowed our family to have time together but plenty of individual privacy, which is always an important consideration for our get-togethers. The owner could not have been more helpful, both in being extremely responsive to all of our pre-visit inquiries, and in accommodating our arrival and departure. From our first moment in the house we could not help noticing the impressive artistic sensibilities of the owners. Everyone appreciated the gestures of welcome and of care in making sure that all was "just right." We tried out the canoe and judge it to be quite sea-worthy. Breakfast always included fantastic croissants from a nearby French bakery. The patio provided the perfect setting to enjoy our Pike Place Market grilled salmon. Heavenly!
Owner's Response: Thank you! You were lovely guests, and we are so happy you enjoyed our house, beautiful weather, and your time in Seattle with your family. Come back soon!
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
5

Seattle vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I stayed one week with my family. We relaxed so much in the beautiful and clean house. The view from a living room is breathtaking. A bed in the master bed room was heavenly.
The area is very quiet and if you have a car, it is very convenient for going anywhere.
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
5

Lovely and comfortable place to stay...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a group of 8 and all slept comfortably. The view from the living room was fabulous as well as the patio. The weather was very cooperative and we enjoyed the bocce set and the lovely landscaping. It was a great location for a family gathering!
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
5

Perfect Seattle Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family adored this house -- so comfortable and easy, yet really special. The view, spacious hangout areas, comfortable beds, visually interesting... those are some of the features. And it was both secluded and private and easily accessible to several neighborhoods we wanted to hang out in.

The owner was really, really easy to communicate with, very responsive and looking for ways to make it all work.

We'd love to rent this house again. Couldn't have been more pleased.
Owner's Response: Thank you, we enjoyed having you as our guests, and hope you'll be back to visit again, soon!
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"PERFECT Thanksgiving Holiday!"

"PERFECT Thanksgiving Holiday!"
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Dear Pia,

I apologize for being so tardy in responding to your gracious note. And, yes, I have so many things I would like to share about our stay in your beautiful home......first, Ginger was awesome! She was warm and friendly and couldn't have been more welcoming. When we had a question about the lights on the tree in the front yard - she immediately got an answer for us. Later in the week, when I had a question about closing up the home.................she returned my call immediately; again with answers! But there truly was little that wasn't covered in your welcoming packet! It was informative without being imposing....it had just the right amount of information to make everything about our stay easy!

The house had absolutely everything we needed to make our family Thanksgiving! We had several long cooking days and the kitchen couldn't have been better equipped! One of the guests is a professional baker and she found all the necessary tools to keep us in fresh bread and cinnamon rolls all week long!

Our musical theater trio provided us hours of entertainment on the grand piano in the foyer! It was such a hit!!!! They were especially charmed to read the history of the house and it's ties to Jack Benny and his friends. They are certainly hoping that some of the "mojo" of your home follows them back to NYC!

Then their was the beautiful front room with the wall of glass! It didn't matter if it was raining or the sun was shining this amazing room was where everyone eventually gravitated to once the eating was finished and the entertainment was over. Sitting there drinking the gourmet coffee that this city is known for, looking out over the water, the houseboats, the bridge, the ships.........we truly got to experience Seattle in all it's glory from this beautiful spot!
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
5

Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Due a conference in Seattle we where looking for accommodation. Usually we pick up a Hotel. But this time we opted for a house rental.
This was absolutely the right decision!

The house has everything what we needed. On top the beautiful view to the Bay. Although we had no luck with the weather (it rained all 7 days). The pictures on this site describes the house very precisely. You see what you get. Everything else was also nicely described in a booklet. With tips about the house and surroundings.

The house is located closed to all important Highways. So as long you have your own transportation, one can quickly arrive any destination. Noteworthy is also that the traffic noise from the highways is non present.

If we need an accommodation next year in Seattle. This property will be surely our first pick!

Thanks Pia and Ginger for all the efforts!
Owner's Response: You and your co-workers were just terrific. We hope you'll visit again!

Pia
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
5

Comfortable, Elegant and Unique!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was home base for my family during my wedding celebration this summer. Pia was so kind, and very responsive to my numerous questions up to, during and after the stay. The home was beautiful, comfortable and well-maintained, not to mention its interesting history and awesome views. The location is wonderful as long as you have transportation, but there are a few places within walking distance that will meet most of your needs. I would highly recommend staying here! My family loved the place so much, it was difficult to get them out sightseeing. My family and I have rented a number of homes for reunions/vacations in the past, and this was by far the favorite. Thanks, Pia!
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Seattle view home

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
                
 

What a brilliant week!  The house was spectacular – absolutely gorgeous, and reeking of history with shades of Greta Garbo and Sammy Davis Jr. to fire the imagination. Remodels have been both tasteful and functional (the kitchen is a dream to work in,) as well as fun (it took everyone a while to locate the flush button on the space-age toilet downstairs.  Spoiler alert!  It’s at 4:00, an inch down from the rim.)

We were amazingly lucky with the weather – if you like hot weather, that is – but frankly I’d have been happy for a wet day to simply curl up with a book from the extensive library and watch the boats come and go on Portage Bay, or the houseboat owner clipping his grassy roof under the watchful eye of his golden retriever.

Pia could not have been more helpful.  Never in the slightest intrusive - indeed, I never actually set eyes on her - she nevertheless made us feel truly welcome and always responded promptly to our texts. Altogether, this was an outstanding and truly memorable week.
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
Camas, Washington
5

Amazing Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What an amazing property. It was the perfect gathering spot for pre and post wedding reception festivities. Although our weekend had two of the hottest days of the year for Seattle, there were plenty of windows to open, and fans to cool the cooks in the kitchen.
On Friday we were able to take an early a.m. walk. If you want to exercise, this neighborhood provides hills and many paths. Our walk led us through Montlake Park and over the Montlake Bridge to sneak a peek into the renovations at Husky Stadium. We also took advantage of the canoe and paddled around Portage Bay and Lake Union. Lovely and relaxing.
We had a bbq for 25 guests the night before the reception. The pictures of the terrace on the HomeAway site accurately captured the various garden rooms for guests to mingle or spread out. Being outdoors on the terrace was everything I hoped it would be - so many areas for guests to relax, visit, and make merry!
After the Saturday reception (held on the MV Skansonia-minutes away), many family members returned for some well deserved R&R. The beautiful chaise loungers were very popular!
One family member played a few tunes on the piano.
This property has fabulous art. We took a couple of great photos of our recently wedded daughter and her husband in front of the Robert Indiana LOVE silkscreen when they returned for breakfast Sunday a.m. Our oldest daughter wished she could stay a week to "dive into" the many books.
On our arrival, Pia's housekeeper Ginger was finishing up from previous guests. Ginger was friendly and outgoing. Although working, Ginger made us feel welcome from the very second she answered the doorbell. Waiting for us on the kitchen counter was a wonderful info packet providing notes re:area businesses/services. Pia also had left welcome gifts of sparkling wine, organic lemonade, and coffee.
Our oldest daughter was able to get a mani/pedi at May's and returned with caviar from Seattle Caviar Co. So much to take advantage of just minutes away!
A previous review mentioned the Canal Market - YES! So helpful for last minute things like ice, extra beverages, etc.
While I was relaxing for a bit Thursday afternoon, the gardener was finishing up his tasks and also took a few minutes to chat and stroll with me through the garden, sharing plant names and answering plant questions.
This home provided the perfect spot for entertaining, relaxation, and water views and made for an enchanting weekend!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury in-city retreat with spectacular water and mountain views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p906894
+1 206 769-7109
Seattle Washington
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were very fortunate to find this Seattle home for our sons wedding. The greatest asset to our stay was, serendipitously, the homeowner! Pia is a true gem! The money spent for our stay here was well worth it (& Pia was willing to work with us on that, as we were staying for a week+).

Our needs: A home that would fit our family: 2 parents, 3 sons, 1 girlfriend, 2 grandparents (with Pia's blessing, we even fit the soon-to-be-married son). We wanted minimal steps to get into the house with a bedroom & a full bath on the main floor, for grandparents. We also wanted to host a rehearsal dinner, so we needed a house that allowed for that (both space-wise and homeowner-wise). We enjoy having "room to breath" especially since we were "together" for 11 nights! There's plenty of room for people to hang out without infringing on each others space. Those being our main parameters...we found all that and more with this home!

On arrival we were briefly greeted by Pia. The house was clean & well stocked--paper towel, toilet paper, kitchen: spices, baggies, foil,plastic wrap, and many extras. A freshly ground bag of espresso beans, a bottle of wine, a nice note & an informative folder were left.

The rehearsal dinner, for 28, was held on the gorgeous back patio overlooking Portage Bay. I was planning this event from PA, which was logistically challenging, luckily, Pia was a tremendous help! From meeting with my son on 2 occasions, to providing floor plans, and even having the gardener clean up/prepare for the rehearsal dinner...Pia was an asset & had some marvelous suggestions (City Catering, yes!). The weather was marvelous (no need for contingency plan which was set up on the spacious main floor). We hosted hors d'oeuvres & a bar on the main floor; one of the grandparents loved to play the piano...he was thrilled & we all enjoyed his melodies. Entertainment system (& homeowners CDs) provided dinner music outside.

We held 4th of July picnic (walk to local park for whiffle ball) & we were the "gathering" spot a few other times. The canoe was fun (bring PFD) & only 1 bike was good for hills so we rented 2 more from Recycled Cycles (recommend!). 3 of our crew biked Seattle with ease (Space Needle, Queen Anne, etc). We walked to Ravish (yum!) & Eastlake Bar&Grill & May nail salon. Internet access was fine & there was plenty of storage. Didn't watch much TV, but, the adult "kids" enjoyed movies from DVD collection.

Perfect home for our needs!
Owner's Response: What lovely guests, and I'm thrilled everything worked out well. We hooe they come back every year!
Helpful votes: 1/1