Columbia Falls cabin rental - A wonderful quiet place to boat, fish, hike
A wonderful quiet place to boat, fish, hike
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Columbia Falls Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

A cozy cabin sitting beside a beautiful mountain lake is what you'll find at Serene Lakefront Cabin. Experience the wonder of nature with wildlife all around. Deer, beaver, bear, wolves and even an occasional moose make their home in this mountain paradise. Hear the call of the loons, the screech of the eagles and the stunning silence of the night. Relax around the campfire or roast some marshmallows as you watch the sunset across the lake. You can row our boat out on the lake to catch some western cutthroat trout and there is easy fishing for perch right off the private dock in front of the cabin.

Serene Lakefront cabin is conveniently located 20 minutes from Glacier Park International Airport and 10 minutes from the charming town of Columbia Falls. Only a short drive to Glacier National Park, our cabin is perfectly situated to allow you to enjoy all the recreational opportunities the area has to offer.

The cabin is located on Spoon Lake, right off the North Fork Road and only a few minutes from the western park boundary. Our location offers convenient access to all the hiking, fishing, rafting and recreational spots along the North Fork of the Flathead River. From your base at Serene Lakefront Cabin you can set out and explore. Hike the national park trails and take in the stunning beauty of Kintla and Bowman Lakes in the less traveled portion of the park. From highway 2, you can reach Apgar Village at the main west entrance to Glacier National Park. From there, drive the spectacular. Going to the Sun road to Logan pass where mountain goats roam free.

Serene Lakefront Cabin is conveniently located close to Columbia Falls. Explore and shop in the quintessential western town of Kalispell, just 20 miles away, and enjoy the charm and culture of Whitefish only 18 miles away. Flathead Lake, the largest freshwater lake west of the Mississippi, is just 35 miles to the south.

Back at Serene Lakefront Cabin the pace can slow, allowing all your cares to melt away. The peaceful waters of Spoon Lake are a perfect setting with no motorboats or jet skis to disturb the wildlife. We focus on the outdoor experience and our cozy cabin provides the opportunity to come close together as family and friends. You can cook in the easy access kitchen while you watch the activities on the lake. Barbecue on the gas grill or warm yourself and play games in front of the elegant Waterford gas stove after a fine day of hiking, shopping or exploring. Climb the stairs to the cozy bedroom complete with king bed and two twin beds, or open the futon in the living room and sleep right in front of the glowing fire. On warm days let the breeze blow through and smell the mountain air.

Enjoy a discount at Serene Lakefront Cabin by booking stay dates before June 10th or after September 15th.

These times offer a quieter and slower paced experience by avoiding the crowds of the peak season. In the spring you can catch hungry fish and watch as the wildlife emerges from the long winter. In the fall enjoy the colors of the turning tamarack trees, aspen and cottonwoods while watching the wildlife prepare for the coming winter.

If our calendar is full for the dates you are interested in, or if you have a larger group that would like two cabins, we recommend you check the availability of the adjacent cabin at VRBO listing #221527.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 905982 in Columbia Falls, Montana

A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 8 reviews
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Minnesota
5

Truly Serene!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Stayed at this cabin with my sister, brother-in-law and niece and nephew for a week. Initial reaction when we arrived is that the cabin was much smaller than expected but we quickly found that it was the perfect size since we spent most of our time outside by the water, firepit, or on the deck. Fridge is small but we made it work, supplemented with coolers. Great shower, the kitchen was perfectly stocked with dishes, pans, and bowls. The driveway was as steep as others described - would not recommend driving down the hill to unload. Great location too, only 9 miles to Columbia Falls - wend in to laundromat one day and bought an extra fan as it was in the mid-90s when we were there. Cooled off nicely at night. Highly recommend this site, was nice to unwind by the lake after a day of hiking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Ohio
3

A Beautiful Lake

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My 3 star rating is due to two things. The stairs in the cabin are actually a steep 11 step ladder attached to an opening in the floor of the second story. I believe this should have been very clearly pointed out for those of us who could climb "stairs" but find a ladder difficult. I ended up buying an air mattress and sleeping on the floor downstairs while my companion used the futon. The other reason concerns the owners request to not park by the cabin but at the top of the driveway. The driveway is very steep, as indicated in the description of the property, and we had no problem with our AWD car but my companion was not able to walk up or down the drive and I did not want to make such a long steep walk, especially when early in the morning or at night when dark. I realize that these issues are not a problem for many visitors, but they did have a negative impact on our enjoyment of the cabin.

On a more positive note, the location was perfect. The lake is beautiful. The first day we saw a bald eagle, a great blue heron and of course the loons. One of my fondest memories is sitting out on the porch early in the morning wrapped in a blanket with a cup of Montana huckleberry coffee watching the loon family and listening to the birds. It was so peaceful and beautiful. We made several trips to GNP (using the Blankenship road shortcut) including several trips across the Going-to-the-Sun Road. We visited the Two Medicine and Many Glacier areas via route 2 and even saw a mountain goat at the Goat Lick Overlook. In our hope to see a moose we took some of the less travelled roads including one to Polebridge. It was a great drive but no moose.
Owner's Response: We were happy to hear that this guest enjoyed the cabin and location. We are sorry that they had to sleep downstairs. We do show pictures of the ladder/stairs that access the upstairs bedroom on the web site and we will state that in the caption and description for future guests. We spoke with this guest on the phone prior to the rental about the driveway and explained that the last 75 feet are steep and not recommended for anything other than 4 wheel drive. Our cabin may not be appropriate for those who have difficulties walking on slopes or accessing the stair/ladder. We are glad that in spite of those difficulties they were able to enjoy the wildlife and peaceful setting all from the porch of the cabin.
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
5

The perfect Glacier get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was truly the perfect place for our annual Glacier getaway! They have thought of everything and then some!
The cabin was awesome and the setting was pristine! Our last morning there had us serenaded by loons AND a pack of wolves! The otter entertained us all week!
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful cabin with us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Colorado, United States
5

It really is Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our group of 6 was very happy with this cabin. We had perfect weather all week long. Some of us were die hard hikers and spent most days in Glacier NP, and some of us did shorter hikes and just enjoyed sitting out front with a good book and the lake as a back drop. I think we were too late for the loons, but there was a family of kingfishers that hung around and a few mergansers. The cabin is clean, well maintained, and very well equipped, but believe them when they say beware the driveway- we didn't take that quite seriously enough- thank goodness for AAA. My sister thought it a bit of a stretch to say 2 people could sleep on the convertible bed. Two small kids, maybe, but 2 adults was overly cozy.
My only mild disappointment, not related to the cabin, was that Going-to-the-Sun Road closed for a 16 mile stretch in the center two days after we arrived. Most of the best hiking, in my opinion, is on the east side, and to get there was a pretty lengthy drive around the south end of the park. We did the drive one day and hiked up to the Grinnell Glacier, which was absolutely the best hike of the week, and totally worth it, but driving 5 hrs RT is not something you'd want to do every day. I'd probably have looked for a rental on the east side of the park if I'd done my homework and known about the road closure. Or maybe not- my mom really loved the lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Vacationers love our location on the lake and we are always glad to hear that you had a great time. Glacier National Park is a big place with lots to see and do. There are great hikes on the west side too if you know where to go.

The cabin driveway is gravel and leads to the front door, but the last 75 feet down to the lake are steep. We recommend that you park your car at the top and walk that last bit, although most people do drive down. If you have a rear wheel drive car you might have a problem.

The downstairs bed is a standard double size futon. While two people can sleep in it, it is cozy. If you have 6 in your party you might want to check out Aspen Shores Cabin which is next door and almost identical except it has a queen size sleeper sofa. (HomeAway p905880 or VRBO 221527).
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
5

Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This cabin sits on a very peaceful lake and the quietness of the area made our stay here wonderful. We saw loons regularly and enjoyed watching them swim, feed and hearing them call out to one another. The cabin was well equipped with necessities and the king bed was very comfortable! We took advantage of the grill for cooking and enjoyed several campfires several times. A very nice getaway and conveniently close to Glacier National Park. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
billings, MT
5

billings, mt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful stay at your cabin. Waking up to the Loons, watching them swim for fish, and hearing their calls made the stay extra special. We were able to rest S'mores at the fire ring, eat dinner outside most evenings as well as breakfast. It was a great location for taking trips into the park and the surrounding area. We were able to do numerous hikes in Glacier while visiting much of the park. We were at Bowman lake, Two Medicine, Many Glaciers, East Glacier, and Grinnell lake. We took a wonderful trip over Going to the Sun road, spent time on Logan Pass, and were able to hike Virginia Falls. We were also close enough to take a trip to Whitefish and Big Fork. The kids enjoyed swimming in all the bodies of water that we passed and at Spoon Lake. It was a great and relaxing vacation in an ideal area. Thank You!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Perfect Location

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was the perfect location - away from everything and very peaceful but still close enough to make a quick trip into town for dinner. The cabin was very well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. Our son had a great time fishing from the rowboat and from the dock. All of us enjoyed sitting outside and watching the loons on the lake.

You all were so easy to work with in booking the cabin and arranging our stay. Everything went so smoothly - it was truly a pleasure. Thanks so much!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
A Serene Lake Front Cabin Minutes from West Glacier National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905982
+1 360 6049099
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Had the Best Time and Absoutly Loved Your Place

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had the best time and we absolutely loved your place. Waking up to the Loons calls in the morning, love it, reminded me of Minnesota growing up. Quaint, quiet and cozy, just what we needed and thank you so much. We will be telling our friends, if they want a nice quiet get away this is the place.

Thank you again it was fabulous.
Helpful votes: 5/5