Crescent City house rental - Battery Point Lighthouse photo taken from the observation room
Battery Point Lighthouse photo taken from the observation room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Crescent City House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (sleeps 4-6)

Experience the sights and sounds of California’s North Coast from the comfort of our vacation home. Breathtaking views of the rugged coastline and Battery Point Lighthouse will inspire you. Enjoy birdwatching and observe Gray Whales spouting during their winter migration. Delight in the sounds of barking sea lions, crashing waves, soothing surf and fog horn. Experience this and more from our upstairs observation room and bedroom.

Spaciously designed and comfortably furnished, our two story vacation home features an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings, a large combination kitchen/living area, two bedrooms, each with a queen bed, two bathrooms, and an observation room. A freestanding gas fireplace in the living room adds to the warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Conveniently located one-half block from easy beach access, a spiral stairway takes you to a picturesque beach to explore tide pools and beachcomb. Historic Battery Point Lighthouse, a few blocks away (from the beach or the street), is accessible during low tide and has tours available, giving you a rare glimpse into the daily operation and history of an active lighthouse.

The Lighthouse View Vacation Home is an ideal home base to explore California's North Coast, Redwood National and State Parks, the Smith River National Recreation Area, and other scenic wonders in this beautiful area. Or, just sit back, relax, and enjoy the view.

Keywords: Vacation Rental, Beach House, Vacation Home, Ocean View, Redwoods

More Details
Hide Details

Beth and Clarke are the owner's of the Lighthouse View Vacation Home. We have lived in this amazing area for more than 35 years, are avid hikers and have a passion for the natural world. Please let us know if we can make suggestions about hikes that you may enjoy or places to visit. Clarke has hiked many of the back country trails and is a wealth of information, both about the trails and the history of the area.

Beth Moore purchased this house in 2000

We both fell in love with the beauty of Del Norte County... the redwoods, the ocean, the Smith River, and the mountains - what more could we ask for.

Great views of: Battery Point Lighthouse, the coastline to Patrick's Point, the ocean from the upstairs bedroom (even from the bed) and the observation room. Easy beach access one half block down the street. Convenient location to grocery shopping, restaurants, movie theater, city swimming pool. Close proximity to Redwood National and State Parks.

94 Reviews of Property 45744 in Crescent City, California

Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
average rating of 4.9268293 based on 94 reviews
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
5

MaryJo Warren from Redding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved our stay in Crescent city. This rental had awesome beds was clean and comfortable. The shampoo and body wash are clean products. This place had everything from the seasonings to ketchup. You can't help want to leave something in the cabinet for the next person. The owners were as sweet as anyone could be. We will be coming back no more hotels for us! We brought my parents from upper michigan and I have to say they were in the sitting viewing room the whole time. Well until our 6 yr old wanted to play games at the table. We never knew Apple's to Apple's was so much fun. It's a wonderful place to go relax You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
4

Comfortable beach home well stocked with amenities

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We live in Southern Oregon and came to the coast with visiting family. Our family of 4 adults and 3 children enjoyed a 4 night stay in this vacation home. We found the home very clean and well maintained, the photos represented the home accurately. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and utensils to make food preparation easy. The location of Crescent City was well suited to exploring the Redwoods to the south and Oregon beaches to the north. The children enjoyed hours exploring the nearby beach, it was great to have the beach access at the end of the block. The nearby lighthouse was accessible at low tide. We would definitely rent this home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Clean and beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our short stay at the Lighthouse view vacation home. It was very clean. We loved that the house was right on the beach.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We went to Crescent City for three things: to run along the coastline and enjoy the view; to walk through the redwood forests; and to meet our kids for a Thanksgiving feast. This place worked perfectly for all three purposes. It is close to the beach, so running with a view was a block away. It is near a number of fabulous redwood hikes. And its kitchen layout, cooking facilities, and dining area were perfect for a Thanksgiving get-together. I recommend it for anyone who wants a nice place to stay on the redwood coast, just so long as your visit does not conflict with ours.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
5

What a Find!!! Whale Watching, Light House View, Close to Everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house was perfect for our weekend in Crescent City. There was more than enough room for our family of four. The mattresses were high quality, so everyone slept very well....especially with the sound of crashing waves nearby. I appreciated the well equipped kitchen and having a barbeque to grill steaks and garlic break our first night. The brochures on local attractions came in handy for planning our activities each day. Watching whales, birds, and boats from the observation room was the icing on the cake!

Beth was pleasant and prompt in her communication, which helped get the house reserved on short notice. I really liked being given the option to clean the house ourselves. This allowed us more room in our budget for a nicer home, as opposed to those charging a mandatory cleaning fee on VRBO. Thanks again Beth, your vacation home is AMAZING!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
Ashland, OR
5

Excellent cottage by the ocean and the Redwoods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Me and my family loved staying at this adorable cottage house by the ocean and the Redwoods! It was fully furnished and all commodities were provided! The owners were very nice and pleasant to work with! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore this beautiful area and wants to stay comfortable and cozy in a sweet little house. It was perfect to every little detail!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
Sahuarita, AZ
5

Awesome, majestic redwoods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I spent a terrific week at the Lighthouse View vacation home. The view of the lighthouse and the closeness and easy access to the beach were as indicated. The vacation home is cozy and neat as a pin with everything one could desire for an enjoyable stay; even a washer/dryer with a good steam iron. The gas stove (which looks like a woodburning stove) provided a great place for that first cup of coffee on a chilly, foggy morning. Later in the morning or later in the day the view from the upstairs viewing room was outstanding for the lighthouse and the coastal scenes beyond. Redwoods can be seen by taking several routes - all within a short drive of the house. We went to at least 3 different locations and were overwhelmed by the majesty of these giants. Don't miss the lighthouse tour only available at low tide with cost unbelievably low. Best tour of this type we've ever had. We had the opportunity to meet Beth who, along with her husband Clarke, owns the vacation home. We were very impressed with her and her approach to providing great value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
Boston, MA
5

Great place for kids and adults alike!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had such a lovely stay at the Lighthouse View Vacation Home. The place is very well-stocked with everything you'll need for your stay, more so than comparable places I've stayed. Whatever we were looking for, we opened a cupboard or a drawer and there it was. We had three children under 4 in our group and there were plenty of amenities for kids as well, including a portable crib, child size utensils and dishes, and toys and games. Even outlet covers! The washer/dryer was very handy too and the location can't be beat. Steps to the beach in a quiet neighborhood and less than a mile to the grocery store. If we ever return to the area, we would certainly rent again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
4

Clean and charming

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Good location near the coast. Everything was clean, well kept and in good working order. The city itself doesn't have a ton of things to offer, so if you're looking for entertainment beyond the national parks and coastal vistas you may want to consider an alternate location. Beth was particularly accommodating and kind. No regrets in our choice to stay a few days and have a cozy home to come back to after a long day of hiking.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Lighthouse View Vacation Home- Outstanding Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p45744vb
(707) 954-0028 (California, USA)
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Delightful Vacation Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband & I chose Northern California as the first family vacation spot with our 19 month old son. In searching for places to stay we came across this little jem. This vacation home is immaculate! Not only is it fully equipped to meet all your needs but the view and the location are both FANTASTIC. The description is accurate and Beth was tremendously helpful each time I contacted her... and prompt as well. Plus, we had the option to clean the place ourselves and forgo a cleaning fee. An amazing option for my thrifty husband & I. :o) I would most definitely recommend the home to my own family & friends. There is a huge play area with slides, swings, bridges, tires, etc just 1/2 mile or so from the house. Along the beach and park near there is a disc golf course which my husband enjoyed. The community swimming pool, Ocean World and Hwy 101 are all super close as well. Plus the Redwoods are right there. I would encourage you to seriously consider staying at this lovely home. It made our stay a true vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2