Apache Junction house rental - This is one of five porches/verandas attached to the home.
This is one of five porches/verandas attached to the home.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Apache Junction House Rental Photos and Description
Country House / Chateau, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)

Where the West is still Wild! The A Diamond Ranch is a working cattle ranch nestled on 22,000 acres of saguaro-studded mountains. The main ranch house can be your home for the best vacation ever. The 1930's ranch house has been completely restored and improved upon. You will feel like you have stepped back in time and out of the rush of everyday life.

The A Diamond is one of the few working ranches in Arizona with a year-round river running through it. The Gila River is accessible from all of the ranch buildings and is a wonderful source of recreation including kayaking and tubing. Bring your own horses and ride the wide open spaces or catch the spectacular and historical Arizona Trail that intersects through the ranch. Four-wheeling with jeeps and ATV's are another alternative to exploring the beautiful mountains. Artists and writers will be inspired by the ranch's beauty. Bird watchers will delight at all of the birds calling the Gila River home.

The home has over 3200 sq ft of living space plus our swimming pool and 5 private porches and verandas, your hangout and relaxation space for this fantastic Arizona ranch vacation.

Just inside our hundred-year-old front doors is the first of several living areas. Sit by the rock fireplace and enjoy a long getting-reacquainted visit with family or friends or lose yourself in one of the many books in our library. The little den off the kitchen is another gathering place you will enjoy as everyone joins in the preparation of meals in the cozy kitchen with its antique furnishings and modern appliances. Even doing dishes is fun in the old farmhouse sink. Mealtime is a treasure around the harvest table in the dining room with its wall-to-wall windows overlooking the pool area and the majestic saguaros and purple mountains beyond. The game room boasts a large flat screen TV, game tables and comfy seating.

You will love our 4 magnificent bedrooms.

The Cattle Baron's room lets you sleep like royalty in its huge antique king-sized bed. Sit by the fire in the cozy beehive fireplace and wake up to the glorious sound of the river running below. The master bathroom is a full bath. Look for the A Diamond brand in the shower.

Libby's Room, named after the owner's wonderful mother-in-law, has a lovely king-sized bed and beautiful aqua and brown decor. Next to it is the A Diamond Bunk Room. Antique bunk-size beds and red, black and blue linens and cowboy pillows make this the choice for kids.

The main bathroom across from Libby's Room and the Bunk Room is right beside the full laundry room facility.

Linda's Room is a quiet little blue and white retreat with a queen bed off the kitchen side of the house with its own bathroom, and is a favorite of everybody's. High quality linens and towels are provided for all rooms.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Helen Vinson and my husband Gregg and I own the A Diamond Ranch. It is a working cattle ranch with a carrying capacity of about 300 head of cattle. We are conservation ranchers and sell our all natural beef at the local farmer's markets.

Helen Vinson purchased this house in 2004

This was not purchased as a vacation rental, but rather to keep a historic ranch from being split up. The main home had been sold off separately from the ranching operation and when the opportunity came available to put it back with the ranch we jumped on it. Our home is about an hour from the ranch, but every time I go out to the ranch it is like a mini-vacation and we decided we wanted to share this special place with others.

24 Reviews of Property 905080 in Apache Junction, Arizona

Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
5

Fabulous ranch with gorgeous surrounding property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had the best vacation of our lives. We brought our Family of four and a couple of friends. The ranch house is welcoming and has everything one could want on a vacation - plenty of space, bedrooms, bathrooms, pool, sauna, grill, indoor/outdoor fire options... There are many options for hiking and recreation. The ranch dogs are very friendly. The owners were very accommodating and friendly.
It was a phenomenal get-away and we went off the grid and came back perfectly relaxed. Would do it again and recommend it to anyone.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Oakville, Washington
5

Our second visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is our second visit to the Ranch, and it was just as enjoyable as the first!! We shared it with family and friends again, and our son came down this year,his first visit, and he fell in Love with the Ranch. The owner has made some changes, a cabana near the pool, done in barn wood with a rock BBQ, and it just adds to the wild west feeling of the Ranch. Thank you again Helen for the beautiful baskets of fruit, wine, and the berry pie, and sharing your awesome Ranch with us!!! We did mesquite BBQ chicken in the new cabana, and it was delicious =)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Canada
5

The Best VRBO Property I Have Ever Stayed At

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family spent a week at this absolutely wonderful home. The owners' pride in their work exuded throughout the home and property. The scenery, serenity, and amenities at the A Diamond Ranch were perfect. It is just the right place for anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Back to nature in a 5 star home gave us the best of all worlds. The children never once said they were bored. Every day was a new adventure. We especially loved the animals.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
North Dakota
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
If you are looking for a great place to get away from it all to enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by beautiful scenery, this is the place. At the same time it is only an hours drive back to the Phoenix area on good roads.
The ranch home is very quaint, cozy and nicely decorated. Our hosts were very helpful and upon our arrival we were welcomed with some snacks on the kitchen table. One of the owners lives on the ranch and was very helpful if we needed anything. We enjoyed walking the hiking trails, exploring the creek just out back of the home and the old railroad.
It would be a great place to do some 4 wheeling, as there are many trails in the surrounding area. We are from rural North Dakota and we really enjoyed our stay.
It is a good value for your money too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your comments. We love our ranch and love sharing it with people who appreciate it. Helen
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Tucson
5

Tranqulity and Stunning Scenery

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Even though our stay was only 2 days, it was enough to get a taste of the authentic western lifestyle one only reads about these days. The ranch house was magnificent and we all felt a sense of calm and serenity after just a short while. The dogs loved swimming in the Gila River right behind the hosue, and in the morning we hiked to the old railroad tressle. A monsoon rolled in while we sat on the back veranda drinking wine in the late afternoon. Just terrific all around! Like no place I've stayed before. Thanks for a wonderful experience and for your very gracious hospitality. I am an artist and plan to do several paintings from the ranch in the near future. Stay tuned...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Ottawa, Ontario
5

Remote Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Watching the full moon rise over the mountains and the remoteness of the location topped the list of my favorite things. My 5 year old grandson and two year old granddaughter would have the dogs and cats and swimming pool at the top of their list. My son would have the mesquite cooker and the fire pot at the top of his; my daughter-in-law would have the well equipped kitchen and the shady porches at the top of hers;
and, my husband would have the comfortable bed and beautiful river at the top of his.
What more can I say?!
Our only disappointment is that we didn't actually see any cattle. It was a wonderful, comfortable 4 days and we hope to go again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Oakville, Washington
5

cloudrunner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our stay at the A Diamond Ranch was everything and more then we expected. The house is beautifully done in tasteful decor, the detail to ever need , down to the spices in the kitchen. We've made many visits to Arizona , and have seen many of the beautiful attractions. Once we arrived at the Ranch we had no desire to leave, everything was there. Beautiful landscape, the peaceful sounds of the river , trails to explore by our ATVs and by foot. I was able to take tons of pictures with the desert being in bloom, and the character of the ranch. We had family and friends over, and they too fell in love with the Ranch. Thank you for sharing this one of a kind oasis in the desert, we all left with memories and good times that we will cherish forever. I've recommended this rental to everyone, we definitely want to come back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Bergen County, NJ
5

Secluded Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This property was everything advertised. It was secluded and peaceful. Along way from everything. The facilities were first rate. The hot tub needed a little work.(no bubbles) If you are looking for a perfect getaway this is it. We are golfers and had to travel over an hour to get to most courses. But to be fair, the owner warned us ahead of time.
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
SE Michigan
5

Michigan winter escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our expectations prior to arrival were very high and they were exceeded during our two-week stay. The interior was beautifully appointed but we were outside most of the time. The long dining table was a wonderful place to entertain friends; we easily seated 12 for a dinner prepared in the great kitchen and on the unique outside grill (using the provided mesquite wood). We drank coffee and read on all of the porches and enjoyed refreshments by the pool.

We selected the ranch for the location in the mountains and access to hiking. We day-hiked on the Arizona Trail both North and South from the one-lane bridge near the ranch (on Kelvin-Florence Hwy). Also hiked in the canyons at the end of Battle Axe Rd, just 3 miles N on 177. Half of our hikes began right from the ranch.

The views in every direction were spectacular. Evening campfires and late-night stargazing were frosting on the cake. The dogs -- especially Flint -- were a real joy; two of the cats were as friendly as the ones we left at home.

The owners' greeting was very gracious even when we arrived inconveniently early because we ignored the last of our three time-zone changes. Gary was most helpful in advising about the area trails and other ranch features.

If you're looking for traffic and shopping malls, you won't find them here. We shopped at the IGA in nearby Kearney and found all we needed. We didn't dine out except for one trip to the Oracle Inn where we had visited a year earlier.

We revisited Aravaipa Canyon (our favorite AZ hike and just 25 minutes away) and hiked in and back out from the West end. This is an easy hike requiring water footwear (some prefer Crocks). You need to reserve your hike in advance through the BLM -- google "Aravaipa Canyon."

We're two couples in our mid - late 60's and this is our dream vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Working Cattle Ranch in Sonoran Desert Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905080
+1 520 400-0242
Apache Junction Arizona
Ripon, California
5

One of a Kind Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Beautiful ranch home in the middle of beautiful dessert! Home had everything you could hope for and the ranch had space to walk for miles and miles. Saw a huge bull, horses, a fox, and lots of birds! Owners were a pleasure to work with!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1