Los Angeles house rental - Picture yourself relaxing by the fireplace with the 60' Sony television.
Picture yourself relaxing by the fireplace with the 60' Sony television.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Los Angeles House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, loft, sleeps 8

Tucked away on a quiet street, on one of Hollywood's most cherished enclaves sits this gorgeous Swiss chalet style home.  This street of impressive, celebrity-owned, architecturally skilled houses are much sought after. STUNNING VIEWS from the house and deck take in such notable landmarks in the valley below as Universal Studios & Theme Park, NBC Studios, Griffith Park, City Walk, etc. The Mulholland Retreat is a comfortable alternative to a high priced hotel.

On entering the home, you will find a beautiful dining room that seats eight comfortably.  The kitchen is fully stocked with all the appliances and amenities needed for gourmet dining.  Enjoy the ambience in the family room with cathedral ceilings, huge gas fireplace, 60' Sony flat screen television and right outside a lanai where hummingbirds entertain and breath-taking sunrises greet each morning.

A journey of stairs reveal the many beautiful rooms offered. Massive windows allow light to penetrate every corner of the lower living room with its large gas fireplace and cozy furnishings, baby grand piano and fine art pieces from around the world.

On the second lower level the master bedroom with a queen-size bed and European duvet, has all the comforts of a Honeymoon Suite with its own private bathroom with oversized tub and separate shower.  Two spacious bedrooms occupy the third lower level; one with a queen-sized bed; the other containing two extra-long twin beds.  These two bedrooms share a second bathroom. 

On the outside deck you can sit in comfort around a fire-pit roasting marshmallows or cooking steaks on the outdoor barbecue grill before relaxing in the always heated spa for a night cap.

Location:  The Mulholland Retreat is perfectly situated for fun, entertainment and sight seeing, shopping and night life!!   The house is close to Universal Studios Theme Park, movie and television studios, the Hollywood Bowl, The Walk of Fame, LA’s Sunset Strip and Beverly Hill's Rodeo Drive and is less than 10 miles to downtown L.A. and the Santa Monica beach beyond.  A car should be considered a necessity while staying at The Mulholland Retreat. The property has ample off street parking for at least four cars.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband Alan and myself have raised 3 daughters in Texas and Southern California. We all love traveling to Hawaii, Europe and Africa and Ireland. Our grown daughters live in the UK and Paris and Berlin. For fun and work we especially love Africa and plan on living there someday soon.

Vicky Meenan purchased this house in 2001

Of all of our homes that we have lived in, this is by far, our favorite. The magnificent mountain and city views make this home stand far above the rest. This house oozes with coziness aund touches of whimsy.

The 2 huge gas fireplaces are the crowning glory along with 16 foot ceilings and comfort all around.

We love to share our home. It gives us great joy to be able to do it. We have many happy memories here and know you will make your own too.

24 Reviews of Property 904400 in Los Angeles, California

Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
average rating of 4.882353 based on 24 reviews
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Very Happy with our Family Vacation at Mulholland Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We found this house so easy and comfortable to live in that we didn't want to leave! Not to mention the excellent location, within quick and easy driving distance to West Hollywood and Studio City…and within walking distance (1 mile) to Runyon Canyon, where we did some great hiking. The view was so beautiful, and the house was spotlessly clean, and the owner answered all emails promptly. We would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Amazing place, worth for family vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is an amazing place with nice night view. I really like the structure and decoration of the house. It has two big living rooms, and good for family gatherings.
Owner's Response: Dear Jing,
Thank you for you review.

My housekeeper spent 12 hours cleaning up after you and your family. The kitchen pans and stove top were grossly mistreated. There was spilled oil in our freshly cleaned pots and pans drawer.
There were extra sheets used than for the 6 people we priced you for. I would NEVER refer you for another vacation rental property. You were my housekeepers worse nightmare.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
Birmingham, AL
5

Fabulous Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mulholland Retreat. The home exceeded our expectations in every way. The views were spectacular. The rooms were comfortable w/ every touch of home from a relaxing gas log fireplace(s) to the hot tub and fire pit on the deck.

Each bedroom had very comfortable beds and ample room. The living areas were plenty and the kitchen was very well equipped.

The location was terrific for our stay in LA - a quiet lovely neighborhood with beautiful views all around, but easy to get to areas of interest.

The owner and property managers were often in touch and very attentive. I have already recommended this treasure of a home to our friends and family. We will definitely stay here again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Perfect location. Stunning view. Beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I stayed for three nights with my mother, aunt, and daughter and this home was more than enough to accommodate all of us. The views of the valley were gorgeous and the house had all of the amenities one could ask for. In addition to the views, what attracted me from the listing was how "homey" the house appeared and I was not disappointed once we arrived. It truly felt like a home as opposed to some sterile rental property which I think only added to the experience. The location of the house, just off of iconic Mulholland Drive, is only ten minutes away from Grauman's Chinese Theater and the Walk of Fame on Hollywood Boulevard and around twenty minutes from Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills so if you are there to see the sights this is a perfect location. Besides all of that the rental rate is very reasonable and in fact on the lower end of similar sorts of properties in that area. I would definitely try and stay at this house the next time I am in LA and would have no reservations recommending it to friends or family.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

One of our vacation highlights!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Mulholland Retreat was truly one of the highlights of our family vacation, and that says a lot up against the Hollywood Bowl, Ziplining in Wrightwood, Warner Brothers VIP tour, the Getty, beaches, fantastic restaurants, celebrity spotting and shopping (endless shopping to my liking, but my teenage daughters and mother in law loved it! )
We enjoyed returning "home" to the Hollywood Hills after busy days. Vicky's home is comfortable, spacious and very well equipped. All the appliances and the BBQ are in good shape and work well. The kitchen has lots of dishes, cutlery and gadgets making preparing meals easy. We enjoyed two glorious dinners on the patio overlooking the valley below, followed by the hot tub. The beds are comfortable. And a last detail that really matters when renting a vacation home is that the home is spotless and very well maintained.
Vicky was a pleasure to work with. She was very responsive from the first inquiry email and genuinely helpful, even gave us parking tips for the Bowl.
We would definitely book again and recommend this home to friends.
Susan, Toronto, Canada
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Superb views over the valley and a great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a fantastic address,on a quiet street just off Mulholland drive, with great views from the back of the house over the valley and Universal studios. It's also pretty easy to get to most places with local shops and restaurants. The house is large and comfortable, with everything you need to live comfortably. The photos on the site do not do justice e.g. The kitchen is much bigger than the photos appear. Furnishing are to a high standard and this is clearly someone's well loved home, not just a rental Business. Vicky, the owner, is great, and the local agent she employs really goes the extra mile to make sure everything is working as it should do. We also appreciated being able to pay in Sterling into a UK account, and to the integrity of the owner in all of our dealings, including the incredibly prompt return of the security deposits almost before our plane had touched down back in the UK.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind review.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Mulholland Retreat has indeed spectacular views over the North Valley. You can hear and almost see the outside shows of Universal Theme Park. We are a family with 2 adult children and we had all our own bedroom. I like to cook so we prepared our own dinners in the large kitchen. We enjoyed the hummingbirds that were circling the feeders on the balcony.

We visited the Hollywood Sign, Walk of Fame, The Universal Studios, Griffith Park, all in close proximity. A drive to Venice beach and Santa Monica took about 40 min. We very much enjoyed our stay at Mulholland Retreat property.
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing The Mulholland Retreat as your " home" away from "home" in Los Angeles.
Also, thank you for your gracious review.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
5

Perfect home for family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home is warm and inviting as seen in the pictures. Perfect accommodations for a family and close to everything. Once you get a hang of the area and Mulholland Drive, the drive up the hill seems like nothing :-) The owner was available via phone with any questions.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
4

An amazing retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Overall the property is exactly as described and the property owner was extremely helpful with every single request made.

I will certainly be back! Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mulholland Retreat with Spectacular City Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904400
+1 866-715-8894
Los Angeles Los Angeles County
Sao Paulo, Brazil
5

just perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Me and my wife went to the Mullholand Retreat for a romantic getaway and it couldn't be more perfect. The house is as amazing as you see in the pictures. Everything is new and imaculated - it is possible to notice that Vicky puts a lot of effort keeping the house in every detail. The jacuzzi with the fire pit over the table, the two rooms with the fireplace, the gigantic master room and the amazing carpet (more comfortable than my bed) are just a few items that made our getaway incredible. The communication with Vicky and her support were flawless. Everything very clear, quick and she was available 24/7 - every single contat she was kind and always looking to make us feel comfortable and enjoy our stay. She prepared the house (I asked for it) with cozy lights, a wine, roses and chocolates to make a surprise. Everyhitng went just perfect. I highly reccomend Vicky and the Mulholland Retreat.
Helpful votes: 2/3