Ocho Rios villa rental - A guest's winning shot from a fishing boat. Thanks RC!
A guest's winning shot from a fishing boat. Thanks RC!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps11
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Ocho Rios Villa Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 8 + 3 on 2 floors

OCHO RIOS AREA VACATION VILLA Our North Coast location offers a unique vacation experience that puts you in your own beach rental overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea with as much or as little pampering as you like. With two seaside patios, 4 bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, and 3 dining areas inside and out, you have plenty of space on two floors even before you head out to the hammock on the seaside terrace or down the steps to our 300 ft. sandy beach. John's the caretaker/security man, and together with the optional services of Paulette - cook, housekeeper & babysitter extraordinaire - Leona's therapeutic massage, and drivers George, Lebert or Deano, you have the choice of all the pampering you may want. It's the attention of our people that makes us unique - our people, and our location on the sea. Start the day with Blue Mountain Coffee, fresh-squeezed OJ and a swim in the warm, clear waters of the Caribbean. Snorkelers will be amazed at the colorful corals and fish on the 2nd largest reef system in the world after a 15-minute swim from the beach. Rinse off in the al fresco shower then treat yourself to a therapeutic massage within the sound of the (real) waves on the upper seaside patio; relax in the hammock with a Red Stripe and plan your dinner from Paulette's list of Jamaican specialties. Alternatively, take advantage of the opportunity to save money by booking the place as 'room only' and take care of your own cooking and housekeeping, with Paulette just a phone call away in case you change your mind, Amenities include internet, Wi-Fi, two hammocks, charcoal bbq, DVD's, books, board games, a locked/gated driveway, and sea views that can't be beat. It's like coming home, only better!

Our nearest big city, Ocho Rios, is 14 miles west of the villa, and offers everything a tourist town should. Tropical gardens, restaurants, craft markets, duty free shopping, cinemas, swim with dolphins, Mystic Mountain's zip lines and Jamaican Bobsled run, and the stunning and climbable Dunn's River Falls -still the #1 reason why visitors 'make it Jamaica'. Also in the area is an 18-hole golf course, downhill mountain biking, horseback riding on the beach, Prospect Plantation with its historical jitney tours, Rio Nuevo's coastal gun emplacements, Fern Gully, catch-and-eat fish farming, public Reggae and James Bond beaches, and White River inner-tubing (my personal fav). The farmer's markets in Ocho Rios and Oracabessa are worth a visit whether shopping for the evening's meal or just taking interesting photos.

Sharing the Caribbean Riviera shoreline with Beaches Ocho Rios, guests at Doctors Villa can participate in the resort's offerings at an additional cost if chlorine is needed.

Jamaica: So much to see and do in this, one of the largest and arguably most beautiful of the Caribbean Islands. The tropical year-round climate is softened with sea breezes, early morning showers, and happy smiling Jamaican faces. Make Doctors Villa your north coast home base but drive around and check out other parts of the island as well. Negril on the West coast has the renowned sunsets of Rick's Cafe; the lush tranquility of Port Antonio on the East coast is often overlooked by tourists but a favorite for Jamaicans in the know; and the exciting and beautiful newer areas around Black River and Treasure Beach on the South coast are not as easy to access but worth every pothole. There's something for everyone which keeps so many foreign yardies - Jamaicans living abroad - and others returning to this island paradise year after year.

More Details
Hide Details

One of 'Doctor's' 9 children, we left Jamaica when I was 3 mos. old and emigrated to Canada. Some of us make it a mission to get back there every chance we get, and I've decided to move back when my kids are grown. The air, the sea, the beautiful spirit of the place and its people has called to me more than any of the other 25 countries I've lived in or visited. This is one foreign yardie who's working to get back to di yard. Someday.

Mia Forbes purchased this villa in 1984

Dad bought this house on the sea for Mom who rarely stays up in her top floor Family Suite bedroom as she has a sister in Kingston and a brother in Ocho Rios, but still loves it when it's full of her family the way it was intended. The view is awesome and the addition of the top floor makes it possible to have many of her 9 children and 16 grandchildren there at once.

The view of the sea is simply awesome, from every bedroom and especially from the open seaside patios. Those two areas are what made this place a must-have, and together with the beach are where we spend all our time when visiting - guests, too. Having Paulette and John there to take care of us is the topping on a wonderfully easy vacation.

28 Reviews of Property 904239 in Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
average rating of 4.76 based on 28 reviews
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
5

Wonderful waterfront ultra private villa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The property is very lovely with cool tile floors and balconies that look out over the ocean. We particularly enjoyed the second floor balcony and spent a lot of time up there in the afternoons and evenings, when we weren't down by the water. On one of the afternoons it showered and we had a rainbow over us while we were in the water which was pretty cool!

Mia is fantastic and replies to emails very quickly. Everything she told us was right on. The advice about the exchange of money was very helpful. You have to visit Dunn's River Falls, it was great. Pictures of the property are very accurate. Our daughter took some great ones that we plan to upload to Mia's shutterfly account when our daughter returns from college.

I have to say, going to sleep with the sound of the ocean is absolutely the best. You can hear a bit of music from the nearby Beaches resort, but it really doesn't pose a problem. There is a fair amount of boating traffic from the resort, which can be an issue if you want to swim out to the reef. I think a few life jackets on hand would be nice for those of us who are concerned about getting a cramp or something when swimming out to the reef. We wanted to go out there, but didn't want to chance it without any floatation devices. My husband and daughters snorkeled along the shoreline and got some great pictures of fish, an eel, and coral. We got pictures of a small stingray from the second floor balcony too (our daughter has a great zoom lens).

Having Paulette and John to assist with our stay was great. Paulette cooked a nice stew for us and did some light shopping to start us off and that was very nice. Both of them are two of the nicest people you could meet. John took great care of the grounds, including the beach on a daily basis. He kept watch while we were swimming and kept strangers off the beach. There is a small vendor stand on the beach, but they didn't bother us at all. They were very nice.

Because we didn't know Jamaica at all, we didn't rent a vehicle, and in retrospect probably would next time. Hiring someone to drive you places can get expensive so guests will need to plan for that. Overall, this was a wonderful vacation. Very relaxing, quiet and peaceful. The views were spectacular and the beach is clean and sandy. The little sand crabs are so entertaining to watch. They don't bother you at all, but look so interesting in photos. We highly recommend Mia Forbes and this villa property!
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
5

LOVED EVERY MINUTE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Amazing vacation spot! Looks just like the pictures! My husband and I stayed in the family suite on the top. So much better than the all-inclusive resorts. Very spacious and comfortable. Paulette (the cook and housekeeper) was a huge help and even took us to the local market for the first time to show us the ropes (highly recommended). We swam out to the reef almost every morning and spent an hour or two each time out there. We ate great food (cooked by Paulette and from local roadside spots). We felt very safe and were happy with every aspect of our vacation. Can't wait to go back again! SIDE NOTE: There are 2 lovely guard dogs on the premises. They are small and sweet and very effective, but for someone who isn't a fan of dogs take note. We LOVED Georgie and Ringo and fed them everyday. Would have taken Georgie home if given the chance!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
4

see Jamaica simply

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our family, including 2 older teens, loved staying at Doctor's Villa for a week. Some things we appreciated about this property are:

1) Mia! She is the best! She went so beyond what should be expected to help us plan our time. Because of her suggestions and expertise, our trip went smoothly, and we were able to make the most of our time in Jamaica. From her suggestion to get a "pattie" right outside the airport, to her high recommendation to go tubing on the White River through Chukka tours, to her advice on grocery shopping, to her forthrightness about the property's simplicity, we were able to relax and enjoy our vacation.

2) Its location on the private beach. Hearing the waves night and day and snorkeling out to the reef right off the beach~nice!

3) Experiencing Jamaica! Because we were not at an all inclusive, we got to experience the fun of buying our fruits and vegetables and fish from the locals along the road. We got to go on our outings when it suited us. In fact, when we went tubing, we had the entire river to ourselves with our guide! Also, we didn't mind spending money on all of the outings because our lodging was so reasonable.

4) Authentic Jamaican! Due to availability, we had to stay somewhere else for one night before we headed home. We stayed at an all inclusive near Montego Bay. After our one day there, we all agreed that Doctor's Villa was way better. At the villa, we didn't have to stand in lines, eat non-authentic Jamaican food, wear a plastic bracelet, share a teeny beach with a hundred people. At Dr's Villa, we got to enjoy authentic food at local restaurants. We were all together enjoying just us~~~swimming together, candlelight dinners beachside, playing Monopoly in our living room, having a campfire built by John on our beach.

5) The "amenities" of Paulette and John. Having Paulette stock the refrigerator for us to get us started and cook us the delicious Curry Chicken ready on our arrival was a relief and a treat. John's Jerk Chicken was authentic and delicious enjoyed with the breadfruit he advised on how to buy and roasted by him. We all 4 thoroughly enjoyed our massages with the ocean waves relaxing lull. (Mia's recommendation again:)

It was not fancy, but it worked well for us. It was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the privacy. A close-by resort did not bother us, but they do play music. A private party's calypso band on their dock was a nice freebie. We saw resort guests often eyeing us enviously.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
4

Dr.Viila

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I stayed at the house for 2 week and enjoyed it a lot. It was my home away from home. I felt safe and the staff were there for everything needed. It was clean and the view was awesome. I loved that its gated.The dog is way to sweet and they have toys for the kids as well. I have stayed at a 5 star resort and loved it but this gave me a real feel of Jamaica. The house was clean and staff were friendly and felt safe will be there again in the future.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
5

Fun in the sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful, spacious, clean property right on the beach. Pictures don't even tell half the story. Outstanding value for what it offers. Perfect if you just want to dip in the sea and lounge around or check out the various attractions. There is much to do and see within a short 15 to 30 minute ride from your beach hideaway. You can dine and shop in downtown Ocho Rios 15 minutes away or climb Dunns River Falls, swim with dolphins or cliff dive about 25 minutes away. At home, Paulette and John are two of the most wonderful people you will ever encounter. They are always willing and ready to assist with whatever you need. Paulette's beef stew is the best. With the help of John, we gave the grill a good workout. John's jerk chicken is out of this world. I think we need to have a cook-off between John and Paulette. Mia(the owner) is very helpful and a great communicator. She provides all the info needed to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. She pre-negotiated transportation rates with one of the trusted drivers she uses. For a first time visitor to Jamaica, the assistance provided by Mia is priceless. Thanks to Mia for the free travel advisor service she provided for me and my family. Don't know what we would have done without Mia's help. To appreciate the beautiful country and the wonderful people, I suggest you get out and explore a bit. There was so much to do and not enough time. Thanks Mia for sharing your piece of paradise with me and my family. Looking forward to going back again.
Owner's Response: Paulette is giggling as I read her the review...saying she can only do her best. But she'll take on John in a cookoff any day, only for you, Edwin, and your great family.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
Upstate New York
5

Wonderful place to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful time during our week here and would gladly return again. We made arrangements to rent out the entire lower unit (4 bedrooms) for the four of us and it worked out wonderfully. The reef was great -- we had some less confident snorkelers, so we brought inflatable snorkeling vests and they provided additional assurance for the swim out and back. When it's windy the swim is good exercise, but definitely worth it -- we saw some amazing fish.

The sandy beach is a real treat and just a few steps down from the house -- you couldn't ask for anything more convenient. And we found the craft sellers next door to be very respectful -- they offered their products, we politely declined, and the rest of the week was just friendly waves back and forth.

The weather all week was extremely consistent: highs around 88F, lows around 75F, and wind picking up to about 20 mph in the afternoon. At first we were worried that it would be too windy to snorkel, but it wasn't ever a problem since the wind didn't create big waves at all. And no air conditioners needed -- the breeze keeps the house cool and pleasant.

John and Paulette were great people to get to know and we came to appreciate their personalities and gifts. After tasting John's jerk chicken, we all agreed that he should open a jerk restaurant since it was far tastier than what we had at the best-known local jerk place (Scottie's? Scotchie's?) And what a great show he puts on when he's smashing that chicken into pieces for you!

We only ate out once because the rest of the time we hired Paulette to cook meals for us -- what a great decision! Far more convenient than going out, and a bit more work hours for her. And delicious! Nothing fancy, but very tasty.

The house itself is cheery and well-kept, with big rooms and great views from each room. We loved the open porch on the upper level, and would have been glad for an extra lounger there since it was the most popular place for all four of us. One small suggestion -- maybe provide one of the beds with a somewhat softer mattress.

We rented a car and drove from Montego Bay. It's an adventure for North American drivers but manageable if you have good nerves. Finally, owner Mia was great: great communication, very clear information, completely straightforward and reliable. She, Paulette and John made it a great and memorable vacation. We wholeheartedly recommend it.
Owner's Response: Paulette still speaks of your kindness in the many rides you gave her home, and John will be thrilled to see his jerk chicken reviewed in print! Great guests like you and your family are gold. We'll get that softer mattress for you if you return. Promise!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
4

Doctor's Villa

Doctor's Villa
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful guesthouse, upper level was spacious and has a great view of the beach with quick access down the side steps. Approx. 15-20 mins drive to downtown Ocho Rio. Appliances for cooking was available however, I would prefer an electric stove and new pots/pans. The suite was clean and Paulette and John were available whenever you needed them and always pleasant. I would suggest renting a vehicle as I did do not see much taxis driving along the main road. A driver is available however, i'm unsure what the rates would be to go back and forth into town. The carport is able to hold 4 cars at least but it would be annoying if you have continue to ask other guest to move their vehicle in order to get out and trust that each person will lock the gate properly behind them. Luckily, we had the place to ourselves for 9 days so that was not an issue at that time.
The Beaches Resort is right in front of the guesthouse, noise was not an issue after 10 pm. However, the crickets would be if you are not use to them.
We had no water at one point for a couple hours, the shower would run cold water first for a little while then straight to hot water, luke warm or cold was not an option afterwards.
I felt that my belongings were secured on the upper level as long as you locked the gate. We had no internet the entire time although they were trying to get it fixed before the end of our stay. We had some rainy days so watching movies on a new TV would have been nice. Overall, if you like the old school vibe and don't mind some of the kinks mentioned above then it's a great place to stay. It reminds me of my family's home on the west coast of the island; I would stay there again and maybe with a group of friends next time too.
Owner's Response: Girl, sounds like you were lonely in our Family Suite, and I know what it's like to be alone there in that huge space above the sea when the sun goes down. That's usually when I take a Red Stripe up to the roof, enjoy the music from next door, the sound of the waves, and the beautiful breezes. Hopefully you'll come back someday and have others around to distract you from the crickets and the lack of cable!
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

I dream of the day we can all return.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hi Mia,
Boy have I missed you and your beautiful home. I wanted to give you a heads up that one of my friends is going to contact you about renting your house in the summer. I told her I think it is a magical place! I have some great news to share with you.
My oldest daughter and her husband have been trying to have a baby for 2 years!! When all of the kids left your house I went through and was taking pictures of everything. When I got to her room I saw they had the playpen set up in there. I had so many emotions seeing this in their room and not my other daughters who do have children. I was talking to Paulette and started to cry (yes, I cried on vacation – totally not acceptable);) and we talked and she shared some things with me. I asked Paulette to pray for them and – WOW – she must have some great contacts with God!! One month later my daughter finds out she is pregnant!! Not with one baby but with twins!! God has blessed them doubly! My heart is about to burst!!!

I believe we had such a relaxed and happy time at Doctors Villa and it helped so many dreams come true! I dream of the day we can all return. Thank you again and I pray this has been a great year for your family as well.

Love,
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Mia we loved Doctors Villa!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Didn’t want to leave, I’m trying to come back for Christmas!!! We miss Paulette and John already. John took great care of us he was the butler, security guard and handyman. Lol even the dogs were great ... I will not stay any place else when I come to Jamaica!!!!

I want to thank you Mia, Paulette and John this is the best vacation I ever had!!!



Sincerely
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beach Rental with Gorgeous Views near Ocho Rios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p904239
+1 8182078451
Ocho Rios Jamaica North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Putting a price on happiness

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We are having the time of our lives at the Villa! Every moment is filled with wonder, excitement, and relaxation. We are wondering though, how much is it appropriate to tip John and Paulette?
Helpful votes: 0/1