Lake Sundown house rental - Great room wide open with 180 degrees view of water
Great room wide open with 180 degrees view of water
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps20
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Sundown House Rental Photos and Description
4br3ba 4000SF sleep 16to30 max lakefront has 230' shoreline & new private beach

WELCOME TO OUR PARADISE: 450 Acres Private Lake and your own Private Beach Area by dock to complete your getaway. Home offers western exposure for the perfect sunset over lake.

Private dock w bench Beach w/ 4 chairs

• 2 balconies, 1 deck and walkout patio w fire pit

• Double-burner gas grill with built-in gas line

• 3 TVs: one 50' flat screen w DTV receiver for each, one 42' w DTV receiver, 28' TV w/ receiver and DVD Player

• SS appliances

Central Air Upgraded Everything Throughout Including Granite Everywhere

5 QUEEN BEDS:

Master BR upstairs has a Queen Bed

BR2 QUEEN

BR#3 has a Queen and twin bunk bed

BR Downstairs has 2 queens

sunroom has full futon

Walkout great room has full leather euro bed, couch and mattress Blowup available

Full Kitchen Including Pots and Pans Coffee Maker & Keurig coffee maker, slow cooker and blender

Towels and Linens Are Available and Need To Be Washed and Folded At End of Your Stay.

Take Your Garbage with you or leave them in plastic container outside with $15 Tip and Cleaning team Can Take It For You.

Outdoors has benches on decks and patio has chairs and log seating by fire-pit. Bring your own firewood or purchase it locally...

FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and computer

DIRECTV w premium movies and currently also have Espn Gameplan 2013

RESERVATION: There is also a $100 booking fee via Paypal or Credit Card via phone

I end up using that 100$ money toward cleaning when you leave. IF for some reason, a renter decides to cancel, the 100$ end up helping toward the rent's loss due to cancellation and the headache involved holding date for you.

SO BASICALLY THE $100 deposit to hold your week will go toward cleaning if you stay and if you decide to cancel, you will forfeit the deposit. Please note: The $100 is not deducted from the $1695 week rental amount.

$500 refundable security deposit DUE before or at same time as rental OR credit card info on hold

You can initial authorized credit card info, $1 will be charge to test credit card.

TWO NONE DEMAND Payment Plan Up to 50% of rental is due 2 weeks from booking and balance due 2 weeks prior to arrival. YOu are responsible for initiating the payments. Failure to pay when due will release the date back to available. Text me if you need Paypal request or call you to take credit card.

Cancellation: 120 days advance notice for full refund. 30-119 cancel will receive credit vouchers TO exchange date, less than 30 days nonrefundable period.

Pontoon rental include tube, gas, kayak and canoe for free, 2 day min last two days of stay

2 days: $325+50$gas+tax=401$?

3 days: $425+50$gas+tax=508$?

4 days: $515+60$gas+tax=615$

5 days: $605+60$gas+tax=722$

6 days: $685+65$gas+tax=802$

7 days: $730+65$gas+tax=850$

Rate are payable in advance.

ONLY OWNERS BOATS ARE ALLOWED IN SUNDOWN LAKE.

You can bring your own boats but can only use it at Lake Rathbun under 15 min west of us, but not lake Sundown as it is a private lake NO OUTSIDE BOATS are allowed no exception. Fishing is with permission and from dock or on our property line.

There is a $15 per night/per person fee for more than 8 guests regardless of age or 50$/1 week only rate per person over 8...Some discounts allowed for weekly stay and depending on # of people in party.

All pets allow for a fee and permission.

Small pets are under 20 pounds and cost is $10/day

Pets between 21-40 pounds $15/day or same as extra guests

large pets 20$-30$/day depending on sz

Departing:

Remove all your food items that you brought from fridges

You will need to strip and wash and dry your beddings and towels...

Laundry option is not available in summer when next party checking in is 3 hrs apart back to back

If it is available then charge is $50 due to time take to dry for cleaning team

Keurig coffee brewer available

15 MINUTES to HONEY CREEK RESORT AT RATHBUN LAKE

GOLFING AND indoor water park ARE AVAILABLE AT HONEY CREEK RESORT

Between the two, Honey Creek Resort and Lake SUNDOWN, offering something for everybody: private BEACH,golfing, boating, Kayaking and canoeing, swimming, hunting, snowmobiling, cooking or just relaxing... Come and see what southern Iowa's best kept secret has to offer!

Payment can be via PAYPAL, Check, CREDIT CARD

Some EXACT COMMENTS Fr Guests taken from HOUSE DIARY/Journal:

Feb 10th – 12th 2012

To best describe our experience….

“This is The Life We Ordered”

My husband and I have been researching various options around the Midwest to take our extended family for a vacation and this place offers the entire package!

We are so glad we took the opportunity to visit and check this place out for a weekend. We feel as though we stumbled upon one of Iowa’s Best Kept Secrets in Vacation Spots.

The Log Home is Amazing – The views are Amazing – the feeling one gets to think about returning for future visits is amazing.

Kevin and Deb Kacena, Vinton Iowa

John B from June 25-July 3 2011

This home is a lovely place to spend time. The view is fantastic and the home welcoming. Our family, minus one son and plus one future daughter-in-law, spent a week laughing, eating, swimming and laughing. The pontoon was a great addition and there was lots of space in the house to spread out or congregate together. Thanks for letting us rent your beautiful home for our annual vacation!

John Keri B

Matt, Anna , Danielle and Sara

Milan IL

More comments on VRBO [#367643]

SAMPLE REVIEWS: 'This place will take your breath away, one of the nicest places I have ever been. Lots of room on a rainy day for the kids to play inside if needed. Has everything you need for a week on a great lake, even the teenagers have a blast since they can still connect with friends via internet. If you have not booked a week here yet I would jump on it. I would give it 10 out of 10. Hope to go back very soon. '

Jun 28, 2011 - Todd Heck

Sept 23rd to 25th 2011

THANK YOU. THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

This is a GORGEOUS house and the view is amazing! It was a much-needed weekend for relaxing. It was so peaceful and such a fun time with great friends! Las night the fire-pit was a great with childfree conversation. Thank you for a beautiful place to disconnect from life for a while.

Mark & Heather M, Johnston, IA

I've come away with so many great memories this week. The fishing, swimming and walks were great. What a beautiful home with a $1,000,0000 view. Thanks for letting us stay.

Yours,

More Details
Hide Details

2013 is our 3rd summer renting see our reviews

Owner Trinh Nguyen purchased this house in 2007

Full Log home on shoreline with 180 degrees view of 450 acres lake. Near Rathbun lake and 12 min from one of Iowa's best golfing at Honey Creek Resort

28 Reviews of Property 903739 in Lake Sundown, Iowa

RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
average rating of 4.714286 based on 28 reviews
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
5

Church Youth Activity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Everything leading up the the visit was handled well. The owner was easy to contact, directions and all details were thorough as to our stay. The house was very nice. Our students had a great time watching movies, eating, and 'hanging out.' Students can be sometimes hard to impress. This house, location, and property did the "impressing." Our students said this would be worth doing again. Many thanks for a quiet, refreshing and beautiful stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you pastor Terry for taking your time to review....we are looking forward to your returning to visit the log home...
Trinh
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
5

Christmas in April...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
For the second year in a row our entire family visited this lovely home and spent nearly 4 days simply enjoying being together. Renting this home is our Christmas present to our adult children and their families but this year we were concerned that the lousy weather may make for some long days. We had 11 kids and nearly that many adults stuck inside but we discovered the weather didn't effect us a bit! There was more than enough room to spread out and the views are so pretty that we spent many hours just watching the lake. In the evening we had a dance party (kids!) and had an absolute blast! I would encourage anyone wanting a laid-back vacation to consider renting this gem of a home. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so touch by your review thanks so much! We are so grateful for the opportunity to have renters like you appreciate our beloved log home..
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
4

Wonderful place to vacation with your family!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The home and property are beautiful. Very roomy and comfortable. Beautiful view of the lake. My family will come again in the summer when we can enjoy the lake and dock area and th
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
5

A beautiful warm, cozy stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The home took our breath away. We all loved it. So much room and comfy accommodations. Can not imagine how beautiful a stay would be in the summer time. Our owner was sooooo helpful.
Owner's Response: We really appreciate renters such as yourself and looking forward to chance to serve you in summertime...it is quite a different scenery than winter...thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
5

The whole experience was amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
It was nicely taken care of, clean and all the things you need for staying for extended period of time. Plenty of room for kids and adults. Air hockey was a nice outlet for 3 grandchildren. Rooms were all very nice! Have already booked for stay in January of 2015.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for returning!!! We appreciate your patronage very much.
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
5

Beautiful property! Gorgeous house! Great view!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful time with friends and family!! One of the best, most relaxing getaways we have had! The house was super comfortable, spacious, and was nicely stocked with all of what we needed!! We will definitely contact to rent again and would recommend!! Thanks again!! Loved making new memories here! The Jones's
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
4

This is an amazing log home.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
If you want to get away from it all, you've found your place. The pictures of this property are exactly as it is. We had an early Christmas, with our out of state children and had a blast. We loved the warm fireplace,and the beautiful lake view. The kitchen is in the middle of everything, which we enjoyed.
Try driving around the beautiful country side and the the great steak house in Blakesburg.
Thanks for the great memories. Jane & Steve
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
Midwest
4

Peaceful Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had plenty of space for all my family members to get together, but also offered a great location to have quality time together. The lake itself was beautiful and peaceful. There wasn't too much boat activity, so you felt very secluded. The sunsets were amazing and there were plenty of porches (4) to enjoy the outdoors on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
Lake Fork, Il.
3

Lake House

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
House and view were nice. Very disappointed in the shoreline. Lot of weeds. Had to cut down some in order to make it more inviting to get to dock.Private beach was nothing like it showed in picture.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The shoreline picture is labeled Fall beach view w clam and in the fall this is the view when water is low. Sorry to hear about the weeds and we will definitely get new lawn control service.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
RATHBUN area Log Home Spectacular Lake Views 50' SAND Private Beach $250/nt fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903739
+1 5157786680
Lake Sundown Iowa
Naperville, Illinois
5

Beautiful house on lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The accomodations are first rate (the photos are representative of what you get). Tons of room, nice decor and furnishings. It is a bit off the beaten path - which can be good or bad (you have to drive a bit to get anywhere and be prepared for dusty gravel roads), but if you plan ahead and are planning to spend most of your time at the lake - you've got everything you need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1