Jay Peak house rental - The Jay House
The Jay House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Jay Peak House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 12

All this April.... rent 2 nights and get the 3rd night FREE!!!! Secluded in the woods near the north end of Jay, sits this brand new, clean and efficient, fully furnished rental home. With 5 bedrooms and 3 full baths, this house will easily sleep 12 people comfortably.

There is a grand entryway with vaulted ceilings finished with tile floors and mahogany woodworking. Then there's the modern kitchen, custom built from solid cherry and featuring hickory flooring with cherry inlays which continue into the dinning room.

All 5 bedrooms (3 queens, 4 twins) come with clean sheets.

All of the bathrooms feature tile floors and tile tub enclosures and with radiant floor heating throughout the house so you will always have warm toes when you get out of the shower.

The house has a DSL internet connection, DirectTV and a game room with a foosball table. There is a huge deck out back with a covered picnic table and a propane grill

Please follow us on FaceBook at The Jay House for up to date pictures, deals and specials!

Location, location, location...: Jay Peak is conveniently located 6 miles south of Canada as well as 45 minutes from 'Interstate 91 exit 26' and 1 hour from 'Interstate 89 exit 19'. It is also about an hour to The Stowe Mountain Resort and The Smugglers Notch Resort. There are a variety of lakes, rivers and hiking trails nearby and great mountain biking everywhere. Please feel free to email me with specific questions regarding activities and attractions.

The Jay House on FaceBook: You can check us out on FaceBook for seasonal deals and last minute specials at The Jay House.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 903151 in Jay Peak, Vermont

Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Ooh La La! Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I can't say enough great things about this place. First, the house is beautifully built: amazing details, gorgeous woodwork, spectacular brick foyer. The kitchen is great for communal cooking. Not to mention the space! With 5 bedrooms and three bathrooms it makes for very comfortable digs. The natural surroundings were superb. Breathtaking really. One of the couples in our party snow-shoed the Jay Peak trail and their pictures were gorgeous! The rest of us wimped out and spent the day at the indoor waterpark at Jay Peak. Great fun had by all. Make sure to stop at the country store in Jay before heading out--you won't regret it. They have everything from snow boots to corndogs. Overall, great house, great town. We'll definitely be back!
Owner's Response: I'm glad you guys enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the great review. Mike
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Great house and close to the mountain!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Everything about the Jay house was great! There was 11 of us staying in the house and it never once felt like we were stepping on each others toes. Plenty of space to relax, watch tv or have some serious games of fussball in the basement. The temperatures outside were below 0 our whole trip but it was nice to come home to a warm and toasty house thanks to the radiant heating throughout. Just be warned if you turn the heat down at night in the basement the basement bedrooms get VERY cold, silly mistake on our part and once we knew what we did we did not do it again!
We had a 6 year old and a 3 year old on the trip and they had lots of fun. The highlight for them was the perfect sledding hill behind the house!
The house was perfect for us and I would not hesitate recommending it to friends!
Owner's Response: I'm really glad you guys enjoyed the house and your vacation. Thanks again for your business and the great review! Mike
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

I can't say enough great things!

I can't say enough great things!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We originally contacted Mike about a different house but it was just recently reserved . He gave us an amazing deal deal on the jay house! It was almost too much house for the two of us....:) The mountain had alot of snow but we still spent most of our time at the house. Beautiful house, tons of room, grate location. Vermont is "The Best." Thank You.... Jay Peak, Jay House and Mike!!! Beth and Jill
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you both enjoyed yourselves and the house. Thanks for your business and the good review. Mike
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
Boston
5

Jay Peak was GREAT and the house was too!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I strongly recommend vacationing at Jay Peak and staying at the Jay House. Early December rates for the house were very fair and the mountain had lots of snow and many open trails. The house was really beautiful and the kitchen was completely stocked with lots of pots, pans, ect. The manager was super helpful in planning our trip and quick to answer questions and recommend places to eat. The Jay Village Inn was about a mile from the house and their huge breakfast was awesome. We will definitely be back next year.
Owner's Response: I am really glad you guys enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your business and for the great review. Hope to see you again, Mike
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
1

Very, very disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house is adequate at proximity to Jay Peak. The wooden surrounding is great. After mother nature treated us with freezing rain we had no more electricity. In this house no electricity means no water, no heat and no obviously no electrical appliances. After two days of no heat, no running water, no toilet etc we had to leave. We receive no services from the owner or agent. We were left on our own to go to restaurants for food and basic toilet needs. At no point did the owner bring us heat or drinking water. We were force to leave the house after three days into our seven days stays because of the lack of heat, water and basic commodities. The owner and agent refused to make any monetary adjustments and never tried to supply us with temporary heat and water. I would never recommend this location.
Owner's Response: Potential Renters, Please take the time to read all the great reviews I have and not just this one. Thanks, Mike
As I said in the email I sent you, I am very sorry that your vacation was less than ideal and that the house was without power and heat for a short time. The ice storm was a serious disaster for a lot of people and power crews from 3 different states came to northern Vermont to help restore power. This was the worst ice storm/lengthy power outage in well over a decade and many people suffered far worse and for much longer than you. 22,000 households were without power.
The homeowners and I have very valid reasons for not refunding your money. The storm was a natural disaster and HomeAway offered to sell you vacation insurance. It's actually pretty cheap and would have covered any loss you suffered because of an event like this. You did not purchase the insurance. If you didn't have the chance to insure your vacation I believe we would have a different opinion about a refund.
There are several incorrect items in your review...
1st... "no power or heat for 2 days" the power went out late, late Saturday night and you left Monday morning. Calling it 2 days is a stretch.
2nd "I didn't bring you water or temporary heat..." I could not have gotten to the house any faster than I did and when I got there you had already left. The power came back on at the house Monday afternoon. You were a mile from a store that sells food and water.
3rd "Had to spend money eating at the resort..." the kitchen stove is propane and other than having to light it with a match works fine with no electricity. There is also a propane gas grill on the porch.
In short, because you had the opportunity to insure your vacation and because you left before you even gave the power company a realistic chance to turn the power back on, the homeowners and I do not feel obligated to refund your money. As for me not doing anything to help you, I was also in the ice storm and got to the house as fast as possible.
If you read other reviews left by renters you will see that I constantly work very hard to make sure renters have a great stay and solve any problems as fast as possible.
Again, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Amazing stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house is absolutely beautiful! It's very spacious and holds a lot of people in it. This house is out in the woods and is a very private. My friends and I had a great time and great stay here! It's only 10-15 minutes away from the hill (Jay Peak Resort) which now not only has skiing 9-4 but also has an indoor water park! Not only is the house great, but the owner is very nice too!! If you're looking for a nice winter vacation house for a good group of people, a good time, and not too expensive, this is the perfect place to stay in!! The Jay House comes with a lot of memories and a lot of good times! Thanks for a great stay Mike and I hope to be returning next winter! :)
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed yourself. Thanks again and have a great new year. Mike
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Thanksgiving 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented the Jay House for a week at Thanksgiving. We all had comfy beds, plenty of room and places to play for the 6 grandkids. Jay Peak and the waterpark were 10 minutes away. The kitchen and entry way are just spectacular. The is no bathroom in the lowest level but the 3 bathrooms were most sufficient. Thanks for the great family time, very special to all of us. Liz Robitaille and family
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves and your holiday. Thanks again, Mike
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Summer in the Jay House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was one of our favorite vacations. Our large family of 3 adult siblings/spouses, dad, and 5 grandchildren stayed here for a week. We usually go to the Outer Banks but wanted a shorter drive this year. We were afraid of boredom setting in, but we had tons of things to do, many of them free! The house itself was spacious and beautiful, with a sturdy yet elegant feel. The rooms were large, and the kitchen was huge and well-stocked with necessary utensils/pots/dishes/etc. This kitchen was even better than the fancy Outer Banks kitchens we were used to. Make sure you bring what you need for other supplies; big stores are far away. Surprisingly, that made the stay even more pleasant. About 5 minutes down the road is an awesome swimming hole with a waterfall and rope swing. About 15 minutes away is a ski resort with an indoor waterpark. One day we rode up the mountain in the gondola and a few of us hiked back on the Long Trail. There is a restaurant/bar with delicious food and an outdoor pool. The bartender there was really nice, particularly when she found out we were staying at the Jay House. Another day we drove to Stowe and hiked and had a picnic with llamas. We went geocaching in a beautiful area that took us to covered bridges and more waterfalls, and we had a fire outside in the yard that was already completely set up for a fire. Our 13 year old, to our surprise, LOVED Vermont. She is not a nature lover at all, but she had so much fun doing family activities that she said she wants to move there! The only drawback was that we were very, very hot the first two days. The temperatures that particular week were abnormally high, so I don't think that would be a problem again, although I would suggest bringing a couple of fans if you go in the summer. We quickly learned to take a dip in the swimming hole to cool off by the second day. I would also suggest bringing an extra folding table if you have 10 or more people going. The table there is large, and there are seats at the counters, but having a plastic craft table and extra space for dinner worked out well and there's PLENTY of room to set it up. We had a fridge problem and some trouble with bees, but both Mike and the owners were quick to respond and make things right for us. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this house the next time we go to Vermont. The only problem you'll probably have is trying to stay up past 9 p.m. after a long day of natural fun.
Owner's Response: I'm really glad you all had such a great time. Thanks for the great review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
Guilford, CT
5

Great for groups or family reunions

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were a group of 8 (sometimes up to 10) and were very comfortably accommodated in the large bedrooms of this five-bedroom, three-bathroom house. The large kitchen, open to the LR and DR, works beautifully with many cooks and bottle-washers. The back deck was a perfect sunny spot for breakfasts and a perfect shady spot for dinners outdoors, while the bugs were seemingly occupied elsewhere. The ping pong table downstairs was an added bonus. The nearby Long Trail and Jay Peak resort made for great day trips. The manager, Mike of Rocklake, was very easy to work with and responsive to requests. Two thumbs up for this rental.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your business and for the great review. We'd love to have you guys back any time. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Thanks again, Mike
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, ski, board, snowmobile, hike, bike, golf, enjoy, awsome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903151
+1 802 326-3171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
Guilford, CT
5

Wonderfully comfortable large house on secluded property, great for groups or family reunions

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were a group of 8 (sometimes up to 10) and were very comfortably accommodated in the large bedrooms of this five-bedroom, three-bathroom house. The large kitchen, open to the LR and DR, works beautifully with many cooks and bottle-washers. The back deck made the perfect sunny spot for breakfasts and a perfect shady spot for dinner outdoors, while the bugs were seemingly occupied elsewhere. The ping pong table downstairs was an added bonus. The nearby Long Trail and Jay Peak resort made for great day trips. The manager, Mike of Rocklake, was very easy to work with and responsive to requests. Two thumbs up for this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children