Sea Ranch house rental - Casa Pacis, viewed from hillside behind
Casa Pacis, viewed from hillside behind
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 3)

The Sea Ranch is a world-renowned primary and secondary home community along a 10-mile stretch of California's most breathtaking, beautiful coastline. The Sea Ranch is particularly famous for its strict architectural standards, following the motto 'building light on the land.' (Houses intentionally have unobtrusive sidings and modest appearance in order to optimally blend into the environment). Casa Pacis shares three lot lines with commons areas and the 4th with an undeveloped lot, which provides for exceptional privacy. The Sea Ranch territory includes tens of miles of private roads, many hiking trails, three recreation centers that are open to renters (free or charge), and a challenging 18-hole golf course. Features such as no street lighting, fences not to mark lot lines but only to shield cars from outside view, no overhead power lines, no sidewalks, and no roof-top antennas clearly differentiate Sea Ranch from normal 'suburbia.'

Located directly above the Sea Ranch's most beautiful sand dunes, at a cul-de-sac near 'Walk-on-Beach,' this cozy home has picturesque ocean views from every room. Our 'House of Peace' has large wrap-around decks and lots of privacy.

The 'Casa Pacis' home has approximately 1150 square feet of rented living area, including a view loft. It features ceramic tile floors and wall-to-wall carpets, as well as vaulted ceilings in all rooms. Large windows, comfortable furniture, a cozy conventional open fireplace, and decor will contribute to making your stay pleasant and memorable. The kitchen is well equipped with modern appliances. Enjoy the extra-large deck area with built-in hot tub (with ocean view), and the overall uniquely private yet close-to-ocean setting.

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

* This home is available year round, subject to prior reservations.

* Cleaning service and linens are provided.

* Refundable damage/security deposit is required for each rental.

* Rental occupancy limit is three adults.

* No Pets, no Smoking, no Children (exceptions possible).

* You will find more information and pictures in our specific website (see link below).

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Ever since we discovered The Sea Ranch in 1970, it remained our favorite vacation destination. The natural beauty is, every time anew, amazing. The climate at Sea Ranch is markedly warmer and sunnier than elsewhere on the Central California coast (from Monterey to Bodega Bay).

Klaus Heinemann purchased this house in 1982

We discovered Sea Ranch shortly after we had immigrated to this country, and immediately fell in love with it, probably because it reminded us in natural beauty of the Amalfi Coast in Italy and in climate of the German North Sea islands. We purchased our lot and built Casa Pacis in 1983 and enjoyed every minute of our numerous stays in this gorgeous environment ever since. It is remarkable that, even though many years passed since we first visited Sea Ranch, the unique character of this incredible place has been preserved. Including a serious renovation effort in 2010/2011, much of the interior and exterior is like new.

--- Close to ocean and ocean waves sounds;

--- unobstructed ocean views from everywhere inside;

--- lots of privacy, peaceful location

--- next buildings far away (undeveloped lots in front and back)

--- 200 feet from to desirable bluff trail

9 Reviews of Property 902644 in Sea Ranch, California

Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Carlos, CA/USA
5

Restful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great week's stay at Casa Pacis with our two young children. The house is exactly as described on this site and the photos provide a very accurate picture of what you'll encounter in this cozy home. This was our first trip to Sea Ranch and we found this home to be ideally situated. It has an unobstructed view of the ocean and easy access to miles of hiking trails. Our twin girls loved having the freedom to run along the trails and were thrilled to see deer, jack rabbits and tons of birds around every corner.

Klaus, the owner, was very helpful. The logistics of renting the place were flawless. He obviously has a lot of experience answering every question you could possibly think of and some you probably couldn't. Between the information that he sent us before we arrived and the resources available in the house, we felt really well prepared to enjoy or time at Casa Pacis. We can't wait to return to Sea Ranch!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Sacramento, California
5

Another Delightful Visit to the House of Peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We've stayed several times here at Casa Pacis, and continue to enjoy the warm comfort of the house and the completely responsive stewardship of the owners to maintain the house in a very clean and comfortable condition. Klaus is extremely professional in making the rental arrangements and providing comprehensive rental information about both the house and the surrounding area.

The house itself is classic Sea Ranch, with some great features. First is its location: It sits alone with no near neighbors near the end of a cul-de-sac, so there is no traffic (not that there is much traffic anywhere in sea Ranch) but the location gives it great privacy. Second:It is very close to Walk-On Beach and the Bluff Trail, some of the best views and beaches in Sea Ranch. Finally: The house is very well equipped and stocked with things that make it both charming and convenient, from the gas BBQ (no need to bring briquets, etc) to grill your dinner, to the tandem bike, to the well-equipped kitchen, to -- well, you get the idea.

The house offers great views from the deck, bedrooms and living room, and the loft has a charming swing that is great for watching the sun set on clear days. We also saw a number of whales migrating north this year, while sitting on the deck.

The hot tub is a favorite spot to relax after a hike.

In short, we've always enjoyed Casa Pacis, and plan to return many more times.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Chico
5

Truly Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was our first time at Casa Pacis and it was everything advertised. The house is clean, well maintained and the owner is extremely responsive and prompt with every step of the transaction and communication. I have stayed many many times at The Sea Ranch and this house is ideally located. Very close to the bluff trails and a beach but far enough back that one doesn't feel they have to content with passers by if you want quiet and privacy. I enjoyed reading the FAQs and at first thought it cute and quaint but clearly they (the owners) have been asked and had to deal with just about everything so they make sure to try and cover it. Their attention to making sure you enjoy your stay is commendable and I would stay here again and they were a pleasure doing business with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Casa Pacis: Nice place and responsive owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Casa Pacis is a nice (in the traditional and interesting Sea Ranch style), peaceful (away from other houses and distractions), and well-equipped (nicely provided kitchen, electronics, WIFI, etc.) house. The property is well maintained. Unfortunately, when my wife and I were at the house, we had a couple of problems – a window blind broke and we had objectionable heater noise in the master bedroom. The owner was responsive to correcting the problems, and I doubt other guests will be affected by them. The check-out housekeeping requirements were also a bit confusing and a burden for us, but the owner was open to receiving feedback. Within days, a clear and very fair new policy was implemented. It is reassuring that in addition to providing a nice place for guests, the owner is interested in their satisfaction and is responsive if problems arise.

A note on activities: The house is a good place to relax and get away from it all – it even has a small library of books. Outdoor possibilities are fantastic: Numerous walking/hiking trails that offer a variety of land and ocean settings. We saw whales, seals, pelicans, and deer on our walks. There is good street cycling because roads in the Sea Ranch complex are lightly traveled (guests can use a couple of bikes at the house, but we brought our own). We discovered hidden beaches and groves of woods here and there.

Tips: Bring slippers as the owner asks that outdoor shoes not be worn in the house. We liked this because the floors and carpets were very clean. Also be prepared to dress in layers: The weather changes almost daily (fog on some days and full sun on others – typical of the northern California coast). Know what California’s seemingly most common native shrub-vine, poison oak (Toxicodendron diversilobum), looks like and avoid it. There is none on the property, but it crops up near trails. The Surf Supermarket in nearby Gualala on Hwy 1 doesn’t look like much from the road, but we liked it a lot better than the Gualala Supermarket across the street. Check out the nice selection of local artisan breads at Surf.
Owner's Response: We are grateful to conscientious reviewers such as Mr. H.. They keep us in touch with what our renters like to find when they open the door to the vacation home, where to stay for the next days they have paid hard-earned money for. It has been, and will continue to be, our high priority to honor their trust in us by offering the best value we can.
On the very day when the reviewer departed, even before we were able to address the issues raised by him, new renters arrived, who just now responded to my security deposit refund, "Thank you! We felt it was the best vacation we’ve ever been on. It truly is a house of peace. We’ll be back! - C...y." During the last twenty+ years of making Casa Pacis available as a vacation rental home, we have enjoyed a great number of similar e-mails and guest book entries.
With appreciation to our renters and reviewers,
K&G H
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
South Bay, California
5

Relaxing, Mellow, and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
A remote beautiful location. The drive up from SFO was pretty wild (lots of twists and turns and fog), but worth the trip. I thought the central coast of CA was beautiful, this area is rugged and...well...wild. Every night we sat out on the back deck at dusk and listen to the ocean and watch the deer wander around in the meadow...and the stars. Amazing. The property itself is well kept up, tidy, with all the amenities you need. We hung out at the house and also explored the area. Took a trip over the mountain to Philo, explored Gualala, and took a morning to check out the light house at Point Arena. When we were there it was pretty foggy, except for our last day. Nonetheless, it was a relaxing trip for my wife and I and our two toddlers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, while Sea Ranch is in season year-round, it can happen during the summer months that we have some fog -- but this is much less frequent than for most of the Central California coast, due to the "banana-belt" location of Sea Ranch. But it's beautiful up here rain, fog, or shine! The other side of the curves is that the nearest traffic light is some 50 miles away ...
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Los Angeles
5

This place is amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This is a totally wonderful place -- a cluster of well-spaced, modern houses on a bluff with spectacular overlooking a pristine beach. They blend perfectly into the environment, so you have a feeling of great privacy; in July, there were wildflowers everywhere, seals sunning themselves on the rocks, and 2 baby deer in the backyard (no joke!) The house has every possible amenity and is totally comfortable. The environment is gorgeous.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Heart of Northern California
5

Serenely Private and Romantic Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Serene Casa Pacis sits by itself near the end of a cul-de-sac above Walk On Beach. The only sounds you might hear are the ocean and the warbling of the birds. This was our second visit to Casa, and reinforced our experience of last year that this is truly the "House of Peace". The Casa is a superb romantic getaway. After a day of hiking on the bluff or among the towering redwoods, we would soak in the very private hot tub, enjoy the sunset from the swing in the loft, and a glass of champagne by a toasty fire in the wood-burning fireplace. (The owner provides lots of wood -- a nice touch.) The Casa is well furnished, equipped and maintained so that we had no surprises during our visit. The owner is very knowledgeable and easy to contact, so details of our rental were easy to arrange. Our security deposit was returned promptly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Heart of Northern California
5

Fabulous Location, Views and Privacy in a Very Comfortable and Romantic Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
Casa Pacis is a romantic and peaceful place, with its wood-burning fireplace, private hot tub, and great view loft. We greatly enjoyed celebrating our Silver Wedding anniversary there and plan to return.

Fabulous location with great ocean and meadow views, and excellent privacy. Quiet, secluded location very close to Sea Ranch bluff trail and famous Walk-On Beach. Comfortably furnished, well equipped and maintained. Wonderful places to sit and enjoy the view, read, or just be in the moment.

Easy rental arrangements: fast, friendly responses from owners; fair pricing; simple process for both deposit and final payment; super-fast deposit return. It is a pleasure to do business with such knowledgeable owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Casa Pacis (House of Peace) - Superb Oceanviews in desirable Sea Ranch location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p902644
+1 408 731-0794
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We only recently became aware of this wonderful "guest book" feature provided by VRBO/HomeAwayConnect.
Please also see our numerous guest book entries on our own, dedicated web site ("acviews") with regard to this property.
We hope to welcome you soon as new renters, or among the many guests who choose to come back to this charming chalet again and again.
Helpful votes: 0/1