Pittsburg cottage rental - Lakeside Cottage sits on a 4 acre spring fed pond on our 250 acre ranch.
Lakeside Cottage sits on a 4 acre spring fed pond on our 250 acre ranch.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Pittsburg Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Fully furnished cottage overlooks a beautiful spring fed four acre pond. Lakeside Cottage is brand new and has wood floors, farmhouse sink, silestone counters, central heat/air and a beautiful gas log stove for ambiance. Perfect for a family retreat or a romantic getaway. Located on our 250 acre working ranch, Pine Grove Cottage is tucked away on its own corner of the property. A sun room can double as a third bedroom as the daybed there can convert to two twin beds. An open family room/kitchen is perfect for family gatherings. Guests are free to roam the ranch property which includes several small lakes (four to seven acres in size) and large expanses of wooded acreage where wildlife and birds abound. Fishing on the lakes is available. Lakes are stocked with bass, catfish and brim. Spring Lake has Hybrid Bass and nearby Oak Grove Lake has Florida Bass along with catfish and bream.

Keywords: cottage

Jim and Paula Archer own and operate Lone Star Cattle Company, a working 250 acre ranch in Northeast Texas. Jim is a recently retired Professor of Chemistry and Paula is a recently retired software sales leader for a major corporation. They moved to the ranch over 10 years ago. Jim remains active as a District Governor for Rotary International. He is also Chair of the local ambulance board. Paula raises Shorthorn show calves and breeding stock. She is on the Board of Directors for the Texas Shorthorn Association. Both enjoy sharing the relaxation and enjoyment of the ranch through the vacation rental program.

Paula & Jim Archer purchased this cottage in 1998

We love the beauty of the area and the wonderful community of small town friends and neighbors. We moved to East Texas more than 20 years ago. After living in 'town' (Pittsburg TX) for 10 years we bought the ranch and fixed up Pine Grove Cottage for our weekend getaway. We loved staying there so much we sold our home in the city and moved to Pine Grove Cottage while we began plans for a new home on another corner of the property. During this time we needed more room for family and friends so we added Spring House on still another corner of the ranch. In 2005 our home was completed and we moved out of Pine Grove Cottage. We decided to offer both Pine Grove and Spring House on VRBO at that time so others could share in the beauty and fun of the ranch. We were so pleased with the wonderful guests that visited, we have added a third VRBO guest apartment and a Bed & Breakfast to allow larger groups to stay. We often host extended families looking for a retreat, wedding parties and multiple families who want to come together to visit. Now we can accommodate all. Our return rate is very high so many of our guests have come to view the ranch as their own special place in the country...without all the hard work!

We love the peace and quiet, the wildlife and the wonderful neighbors and sense of community in rural East Texas.

12 Reviews of Property 375467 in Pittsburg, Texas

Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
Scottville, Michigan
5

Great for a long term stay !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Each year we travel to the Lone Star Cattle Company to stay at the Lakeside
Cottage for the winter.We look forward to the comfort of the cottage and the great hospitality of Jim and Paula for five years now. If you might be considering leaving the cold north country for the warm and sunny ranch life you need to look no further. The cottages are clean, pleasant and have all one needs for easy living. The opportunities for adventure are almost endless from walking the many trails on the ranch to fishing for hungry fish, to shopping and antiquing in the many local friendly small towns. There are a variety of eateries that will please the simple to the most sophisicated tastes. There are activities for bird watchers, nature lovers or for those who simply wish to enjoy the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of the ranch. We must say without hesitation that the greatest treasures of the ranch are the owners Paula and Jim who will do whatever it takes to make your stay relaxing, rewarding and certainly memorable.
So if you are thinking of getting away from it all and are thinking of a longer term stay you should give Lone Star Cattle Company your serious consideration.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Outstanding place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is a beautiful ranch! Although I didnt have the luck with the fish, the home was beautiful and had everything you could need. We didnt get to meet the owners because they were out of town, but they did call and check on us and were very courteous throughout the process. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. The winery that Jim and Paula suggested was also great, amazing food!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Another GREAT stay at Lakeside!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family had another wonderful visit to Lakeside Cottage. The weather and the setting were perfect. Boating on the lake and just old fashioned "exploring" were highlights of the day. And of course, the coziness of the cottage itself made our "homebodies" happy! We had everything we needed to have a perfect stay!
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Perfectly kept lakeside cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great getaway! Quite and relaxing! The cottage is so nice and quaint. There are several lakes to fish in, great for kids or adults. Jim and Paula are so sweet and are there for anything you need and you can even get a tour of the ranch area. We will return for another stay in the future!
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Trip to Lakeside Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Spent a couple of days relaxing. Enjoyed the fishing and accomodations. Out in the country away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The house was very clean and fully stocked with everything you need to live in the country. The owners were very accomodating and prompt with information. We definitely would like to return and would recommend it to anyone looking for a get a way.
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
Georgia
5

Best Kept Secret

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a great place. Deep in the country, nice and quiet. Beautiful and comfortable this time of year. The house was perfect for our needs -- simple and well appointed. Fishing was a bit slow, but still caught 3 decent size bass. We took the grandchildren to feed the chickens and walked all over the property to see the cows and goats. Up close and personal. Lovely time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Relaxation at it's finest...

Relaxation at it's finest...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The house is absolutely welcoming and comfortable. The minute you walk in the door you feel right at home. Its beautifully built and decorated and the views are priceless. We caught tons of fish, including several large bass. The best thing I caught there was my guy tho, since he proposed to me on the back patio our first night there! We left extremely relaxed and we will definitely be back! This was our 2nd trip to stay on this property and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway or fun in the sun with your family.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
Austin, TX
5

Perfect Getaway Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
What a wonderful weekend we had at the Lakeside Cottage. Paula and Jim were absolutely great! We felt right at home. Jim gave us a tour of the ranch and we loved the farm fresh eggs in the morning!

The surroundings are peaceful and quiet. This place is perfect for a weekend getaway and has plenty to do either at the cottage or in the surrounding area. We are hoping to be back soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
Scottville, Michigan
5

What a great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Each year we spend the month of February on the ranch. This year we had the opportunity to stay at the brand new Lakeside Cottage. The cottage greatly exceeded our expectations with it's spacious living room and kitchen, most comfortable beds and all the facilities of home. It is set in a quiet country setting just steps away from the lake full of hungry fish. Being outdoor people, we enjoying walking the scenic trails around the ranch. While touring the trails one can see flocks of bluebirds and cardinals, blue and white herons, deer, otter and beaver. Also on the working ranch are the registered cattle, buffalo, miniture horses and a variety of other animals to observe and pet.

For a change of pace we often go to surrounding small towns for fine casual dining, inexpensive shopping and antiqueing as well as meeting some warm and welcoming folks.

We have found that the real gems of the ranch are the owners Paula and Jim. They do every thing possible to make ones stay comfortable and enjoyable. You might arrive as strangers but will surely leave as friends. We would not even consider staying any where else when Lake Side Cottage has all these features.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lakeside Cottage - Brand New!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375467vb
+ (903)725-6178 (Texas, USA)
Pittsburg East Texas
5

Great Ranch Adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a great time at the cottage. The cottage is well stocked with cooking supplies and utensils. The bedding was soft and comfy and the towels were fluffy and good quality. The washer and dryer were awesome and I especially liked the rapid wash and dry cycles. I took home clean clothes which made a big difference for me. The cottage was well stocked with great movies and had board games. We had three seniors with us and my aunt enjoyed the collection of cook books. She even found a recipe for New Years brunch that she prepared on our return home that turned out quite tasty. The ranch environment was a learning adventure. The cows were fun to watch and we got to see a new born calf. Our son caught his first fish and it was so relaxing just sitting on the dock and hearing the sounds of nature. Jim was so nice and even took us on a personal tour of the ranch! He also took time to answer our many questions about the ranch. We definerly look forward to a return trip! Paula and Jim thanks so much for your thoughtfulness and hospitality.
Helpful votes: 3/4