North Palmetto Point house rental - Our Roadside Sign Greets You at Ocean Palm
Our Roadside Sign Greets You at Ocean Palm
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

North Palmetto Point House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Ocean Palm, aptly named, is a spacious home on the ocean side of the Banks Road in North Palmetto Point, Central Eleuthera. It is the ONLY house on a long stretch of Pink Sand Beach. Your closest neighbor is about 300 feet away. The turquoise sea is your backyard. Enjoy soothing and sometimes exhilarating sea-views from every room of this comfortable, well appointed Oceanfront home. From the patio, situated on a gentle rise, a short stroll brings you to your dune top overlook, then down 14 steps to your fine pink sand beach. The absence of silica, in the Bahamian sand, makes it cool underfoot. Find shells and collectible sea glass treasures. The myriad of live reefs just a few flipper beats from shore beckon you to experience the magical undersea life. Snorkeling is very popular here.

Ocean Palm: Relax in the comfortable living room/entertainment center, complete with our collection of DVDs, vintage tapes, books, games and a 42 inch TV with satellite receiver. A huge picture window provides an ever-changing view of Atlantic and the southeastern sky. Spy the occasional behemoth cruise ship sailing by and count your lucky stars.

The cook is part of the party in the open plan kitchen and dining room. If you like to cook, you’ll find this kitchen a delight and if you don’t, there are always the microwave and menus.

After a full day, three attractive bedrooms welcome you for a peaceful nights sleep, often soothed by the sound of the sea.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 901379 in North Palmetto Point, Bahamas

Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Newfoundland
4

AMAZING VACATION RENTAL!!!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The property and home were fantastic. Eleuthera is an amazing island with so many beautiful beaches to explore and having Ocean Palm as a home base was fabulous. We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. From the bread, eggs, milk, rum and water that was there upon arrival there was also a fully stocked kitchen with all the utensils and cook ware that anyone would need. They also had lots of beach stuff including chairs and snorkels and masks and there was great snorkeling right off the beach. The beach was lovely and we only saw one or two other people everyday so there was allot of privacy. The "Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera" book was there for us to use and was essential for all the exploring we did. We had the most amazing vacation and loved every moment. We will be back next year.
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Lovely house on a great beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved it!
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Our Return to Ocean Palm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I stayed at this exact spot in paradise for our honeymoon, back in 2001. We were hesitant to return because we thought perhaps we saw things through "rose colored glasses" back then and would be disappointed. Well, that was not the case! Eleuthera is as beautiful/peaceful as ever and Ocean Palm is still a magnificant property to spend your days relaxing to the sounds of the surf. I can't say enough about the stunning views of the Atlantic and the seclusion of the beach. The landscaping done on the property by Kevin the gardener is excellent--keeping the growth back to where it's enjoyable to see, but not obtrusive. The house is well stocked for all of your cooking needs, and the owners provide a wealth of information in the form of guides, recommendations, and even the "Guide to elusive beaches of Eleuthera" book. The cell phone provided by George & Ann was also a nice touch, great to keep with you when driving anywhere on the island. The provision of "starter" food/supplies was also much appreciated (eggs, milk, bread, butter). We got great take out from the local establishments: Sweet Dreams and Lanny's. Both were very good and economical as well. We enjoyed dinner at the Beach House on the night they had a band -- the food and the band were both excellent, but it was a bit different than we were used to in Eleuthera: there were like 20 other people there! We were used to going out for dinner on the island and encountering 1-2 other couples while dining. All in all, a great experience at the Beach House (best grouper fingers we ever had). Not to be missed: Muriel's Bakery right in North Palmetto Point. Call Mrs. Cooper and order a coconut tart (or pineapple, or half and half)! Besides the fact that this is the most incredible dessert you can imagine, Mrs. Cooper is a wonderful woman, still vibrant and talkative as ever at age 82 -- she will show you pictures of her family and tell countless stories. Thanks to George & Ann for sharing their wonderful Eleuthera home and allowing us to relive our honeymoon. We hope to be able to return!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

KD

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful time at Ocean Palm. The owners were extremely helpful. I would recommend this place to others and would return myself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Edmonds WA
5

Beach Lovers Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
George and Ann have a little bit of paradise in this lovely spacious beachfront house. It has 2 large bedrooms one small w/ a large bathtub and skylight in the guest room. The kitchen has all the amenities (except a teapot!) for preparing a full course dinner. The grocery options are limited, so if I were to come again I would consider bringing my own frozen meat. We were there during the holidays and they are dependent on boats shipments, which were reduced during that time. The best grocery is in Rock Sound 45 minutes away. Island Farm has fabulous produce when open and is close by, also we found a farmer selling roadside veggies just beyond the airport.
We explored many of the recommended beaches, but found our favorite to be in the area close to home! Our own beach, Club Med and Double Bay were where we spend most of our time, and had the exceptional experience of having dolphins join us for some snorkeling @ Double Bay! No see ums where bad for several days, preventing us from being outside long, so bring spray, ointment or treatment of choice for prevention and treatment. Beach House and Tippy's were expensive but who can beat a beachside evening of fabulous drinks and food! A car is a must and don't expect luxury, and prices are high- options limited.
I would highly recommend this house for a family gathering, as it was so comfortable and spacious!
Having napkins, baggies, milk, bread, eggs,coffee, spices etc. and a bottle of rum available upon arrival was a very nice touch that the owners provide. Thank you George and Ann, for being such gracious hosts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Morris, Illinois
5

Wonderful stay at Ocean Palm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a wonderful stay we had. The house was absolutely perfect. Totally private, immaculately clean, and very well stocked with anything you could possibly need. Pauline made sure that we arrived safely and quickly helped us resolve an issue with the air conditioning. (Thanks Ann for your quick response and guidance). Kervin was wonderful and quickly helped us with a water issue.

It was wonderful to come "home" after a day of searching for the "elusive beaches" and be able to relax in complete peace and quiet. Coffee on the deck each day was a true delight. We made good use of the grill and cooked a great sirloin (imported from Illinois) and lobster tails fresh off the dock in Tarpum Bay.

Everyone we met was very welcoming. A few things we enjoyed: dinner at the Rainbow Inn listening to Dr. Seabreeze, da fish fry (and the rum bubbas), shelling at various beaches (brought home some awesome things), dinner at the Sunset Inn. Our favorite by far was hopping in the SUV (highly recommended for going to some of the beaches) with our trusty guide, "The Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera" and finding those beaches, which we usually had all to ourselves. The guide is invaluable. Many of the beaches would not be found without it.

We were not impressed with Harbor Island. Too many people (and it was not season yet) and golf carts. The pink sand beach was beautiful, but too crowded for our group of four's liking. The highlight of the visit was lunch at Ma Rubys. Try the cheeseburger and have Ma tell you the story behind it.

Thank you George, Ann, Pauline and Kervin for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely return.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Wisconsin, USA
5

After the Storm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at Ocean Palm in November 2012, shortly after Hurricane Sandy had passed by. The house survived well, and our hosts, George and Anne, had worked hard to fix the few things that had gotten damaged. When we arrived the house was in perfect shape. It's a lovely house, right on the Atlantic, with a wonderful long sand beach just down the hill from the house. We spent time walking on the beach and did some snorkeling. But our favorite activity was sitting on the back patio with a good book and a glass of wine. Because the house sits up from the beach, the ocean breezes were wonderful, and we could leave the door to our bedroom open at night and fall asleep to the sound of the waves.

The house is nicely laid out with a large master bedroom on the ground floor and two more bedrooms on the second floor. The living room is well appointed with a flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, and satelliteTV. Wireless internet is also provided. The kitchen is set up for the chef in the family with a nice range, microwave, toaster oven, a dishwasher, and a large choice of cookware. Everything worked well and we cooked several wonderful meals there with fresh food we had gotten at the nearby Island Farm (Queens Highway, just south of Palmetto Point).

We especially liked the location of Ocean Palm. It is located on a quiet stretch of Banks Road, allowing you to feel that you have the beach pretty much to yourself. But it is also close to Palmetto Point and Governors Harbor making shopping and exploring easy. We ate at several nearby restaurants, and especially enjoyed Tippy's (wonderful seafood), the Beach House (great tapas), and Mate and Jenny's (fun local food, pizza, and beer). You will need a rental car to stay here, as the house is too remote for walking, and taxi service on the island is limited.

Pauline and Kervin were readily available to help if we had any questions or problems, making our stay easy and enjoyable. But mostly we just relaxed and enjoyed our wonderful vacation at Ocean Palm.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our stay at Ocean Palm was wonderful. Pauline waited for our arrival, even though we got in when it was already quite late, and she had kindly stocked the fridge with breakfast items - thank you ! The house is beautiful, well equipped, very private, and the view and beach are simply breathtaking. Our two children loved being able to just run down to the beach and play, and we had a wonderful time on the island. We loved having lunch at Pauline's restaurant at Unique Village, really enjoyed the Natural Park near Tippy's , walking along endless gorgeous beaches, and were deeply touched by the hospitality and kindness of everyone we met.

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Quebec, Canada
5

Wonderful home on a beautiful island.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I am hesitating to write this review for fear everyone will find our "secret" place. But I cannot help but share this wonderful experience. George and Ann have a wonderful piece of paradise and we were more than pleased with their beautiful home. The kitchen was any gourmet cook's dream. Looking out on the ocean I had everything I needed at my fingertips to prepare meals. The island is quiet and we spent the entire two weeks exploring. And every afternoon we would stop at various fishing piers and wait for the fisherman to come in to get our lobster, grouper, snapper or stone crab. And every morning we took our freshly ground coffee out on the deck and enjoyed the sunrise and the beautiful ocean view. The island people are wonderful and friendly and we met the most interesting people. The "bread man" was one of our highlights. A gentle man who provided the bread for the royal family when they would visit the island. With four children we had concerns over the "social life" on the island. But to our delight they were more than entertained with snorkeling and swimming, visiting remote areas to discover and, of course, attending the famous friday night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour. We would highly recommend Ocean Palm to any family or couples. And we cannot thank George and Ann enough for making our Eleuthera experience one in which we will hopefully continue to enjoy next year! Susan Lajoie
Owner's Response: Dear Susan,

Thanks for your thoughtful words and the great pictures you sent us. It is so encouraging that your delightful family enjoyed our home and the island

George and Ann
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Palm - On 600 ft beach - Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p901379
+1 7272397431
North Palmetto Point Eleuthera
Quebec, Canada
5

Wonderful home on a beautiful island.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I am hesitating to write this review for fear everyone will find our "secret" place. But I cannot help but share this wonderful experience. George and Ann have a wonderful piece of paradise and we were more than pleased with their beautiful home. The kitchen was any gourmet cook's dream. Looking out on the ocean I had everything I needed at my fingertips to prepare meals. The island is quiet and we spent the entire two weeks exploring. And every afternoon we would stop at various fishing piers and wait for the fisherman to come in to get our lobster, grouper, snapper or stone crab. And every morning we took our freshly ground coffee out on the deck and enjoyed the sunrise and the beautiful ocean view. The island people are wonderful and friendly and we met the most interesting people. The "bread man" was one of our highlights. A gentle man who provided the bread for the royal family when they would visit the island. With four children we had concerns over the "social life" on the island. But to our delight they were more than entertained with snorkeling and swimming, visiting remote areas to discover and, of course, attending the famous friday night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour. We would highly recommend Ocean Palm to any family or couples. And we cannot thank George and Ann enough for making our Eleuthera experience one in which we will hopefully continue to enjoy next year! Susan Lajoie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway