Grand Haven cottage rental - 2013 Facing West
2013 Facing West
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Grand Haven Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

3 bedroom lake house/cottage in beautiful Grand Haven one mile south of lighthouse and Grand Haven State Park!

Private association with over 1200 feet of private association beach on Lake Michigan with tennis court and small playground area. 78 steps up from parking lot to a quiet serene hideaway with seasonal views of Lake Michigan. Short walk to beach thru association roads.

Sleeps 6 comfortably with two queen beds and two twin beds. Bring your own blow-up beds for an additional two people or sleep on oversize Field & Stream cots provided. Fully furnished with sheets and towels.

Suitable for adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, or families with children who can walk stairs - unless you like carrying children.

Shore Acres Association is a group of 22 homes nestled in the sand dunes with an abundance of trees and wildlife. Together we share aprox 1400 feet of Lake Michigan beach. There are 6 cottages beach front. Our home is on top of a sand dune behind one of the lake front cottages. When the foliage is in full bloom you can still catch glimpses of the lake depending on where you are on the deck that surrounds the entire cottage.

Late fall, winter and early spring are the best times to rent if you want to see the lake. During the summer when the foilage is in full bloom it feels like you are in the middle of an ancient forest. It is quiet and peaceful and very private. Today June 18 - I met a young deer at the top of the stairs who didn't run but stood and stared at me. I think it may be the one my neighbor watched as the mother gave birth as he was walking down the road.

Bring your bathing suit, books, camera and enjoy.

Keywords: Lake House, Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Same owner last 45 years, rebuilt in 1989. Yes, everything had to be carried up the 78 stairs. I also remember carrying sleeping children up those stairs after nights sitting around a bonfire at the beach. The ability to walk up stairs without assistance is suggested. Those stairs though have served as my daily workout and kept me healthy.

Nick Riera purchased this cottage in 1969

Small and very private association of 22 property owners. Beautiful shared Lake Michigan beach.

Private, quiet wooded getaway but close to town and shopping. Homes nestled in the sand dunes with an abundance of trees and wildlife. Enjoy quiet walks and sunsets along the shores of Lake Michigan.

17 Reviews of Property 317719 in Grand Haven, Michigan

Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Shore acres

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful stay at shore Acres! It offered more than we expected!! Everything was clean and very up to date!! We also loved being able to bring our dog Morgan with us, and he loved it as well!! Although there are a lot of stairs, once you were up in the trees it was very peaceful and beautiful. Nature all around. The first morning I saw two deer out the back patio and later that morning watched a hummingbird flutter around. My sisters and I always talked about renting a place near Grand Haven and for being the first time for us we now want to make it a tradition. My niece and nephews did not want to leave the "tree house". Thank you for a wonderful vacation!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

Great Location, Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great vacation at this property! It was well-taken care of and equipped with many of things we needed throughout the week. We could definitely bring less with us next time given how much was already at the house. In addition, the property was clean. The stairs were tiring, but we looked at it as part of our exercise each day and had no problems. The beach is gorgeous and easily accessible. Downtown is a short 2.5 mile bike ride, providing access to restaurants, shopping and a Farmer's Market. The property owners left a lot of information about sightseeing and activities in the area, which made it easier to learn what we might want to adventure out and do. The owners were easy to work with and responded in a timely manner to questions. We would highly recommend this property as a place to stay!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Naperville
5

Grand Haven Tree House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house was immaculate. Clean, beautiful and full of light. Swiss Family Robinson!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Plymouth, MI
5

Perfect House in a Perfect Location...Save me a week for next year.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
WOW!
Fantastic Beach House...Pristine Condition...very well decorated...even better than the photos. Great for a family of 4 or 6. Stairs up from the parking spots are a challenge but they'll give you your days exercise. House is located on the top of the Sand Dune/Bluff with view of Lake Michigan through the Many shade trees. Beautiful deck set-up perfect for morning Coffee, Dining al fresco, or lounging with a cold drink. Cool Fire pit for making smores. Can't say enough about the place...and Kris was great...The few houses that are closer to the semi-private beach may have a better view but won't be as private or as cool (shady cool I mean as opposed to baking in the Grand Haven sun)...We'll be back. Thanks Kris.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Loveland, Ohio
5

A Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We absolutely loved this lake house! It is just as beautiful as described, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable with everything needed for the lake and a home away from home. A perfect weather week-couldn't have ordered better weather. We enjoyed sitting on the front deck; was like living in a tree house yet bright and cheerful indoors with the many windows and sky lights. Lots of wildlife to watch. Grand Haven is 10 minutes away by car with many shops, boardwalk along the river, charter boats, eating establishments and much more in the area. Quiet and relaxing house to stay for any length of time. Will return if my bum knee holds out and I can do the 78 stairs in the future. Would recommend this home to anyone!! Lovely!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Tremont, IL
5

Beautiful place, beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Fall is a great time to experience this place... surrounded by the color of the trees, active squirrels and birds, and even a visit from three deer! Walk to the beach was a very exhilarating experience and a great workout climbing the steps. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
North Haledon, NJ
5

Three perfect weeks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I rented this cottage for three weeks. The home is just as lovely as the pictures show. We've rented many homes before and found this to be the best equipped of them all. The large deck around the entire home and lovely, well maintained outdoor living spaces (complete with beautiful potted plants) were much appreciated. Many personal/comfortable touches throughout. Two of our daughters and their families live in the area and came often to share the beautiful home and pristine beach with us. The stairs were a challenge at times, I have to admit, but other than that, our stay was perfect. Thank you for sharing your tree top cottage with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Illinoiis
5

Grand Haven Tree House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wonderful place to relax. Extremely clean and beautifully decorated. I would recommend this home away from home to my best friends and family. We will return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Columbus, OH
5

Haven't been there yet

Haven't been there yet
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I haven't been to the actual property yet, but feel sure my stay will be pleasant. My experience with the owner has been overwhelmingly positive. Unlike some of the other owners who feel it is a pain to rent their property to you, the owners of this property have excellent customer service and are willing to work with prospective clients to make sure their needs are met. If you want a positive buying experience look no farther than this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Acres - Over 1200 Feet Private Shared Association Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317719vbi
+1 (248) 709-5166 (Michigan, USA)
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Spring Lake, MI
5

Best of the Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Check out the pic of stairs up to this hidden gem. I call it the "Stairway To Heaven." Pics of this place cannot describe to warmth that soaks in after you settle in for a bonfire and grill out with friends and family. The deck is expansive. Super dog friendly area. Once on the beach let your dog roam a bit while taking it all in. This is NOT your usual cabin. It is "posh" but not stuffy in any way. COZY! Sleep with your windows open and listen to the waves from the lake lap up on the shore while you take in the moon light shining in from the skylights. This is the kind of place you will want to return year after year. It is a genuine home away from home. The owners are extremely attentive but not intrusive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway