Ambergris Caye house rental - View of the Tree House from our beach
View of the Tree House from our beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Ambergris Caye House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

This unique octagonal house sits atop a pedestal at tree top level right at the water’s edge on a quiet stretch of white sand beach 4 miles north of San Pedro; far from the tourist scene, but a short walk along the beach to wonderful restaurants, beach bars and a great little grocery store. The water shuttle will pick you up from a dock near the house and take you into town for shopping or a night out. This is the ultimate location for diving or snorkeling, or just relaxing on the veranda looking out at the crystal clear turquoise water.

Get up early and drink your coffee on the veranda as you watch the sunrise over the reef, and perhaps see an egret stand in the water watching for fish, or a spotted eagle ray swim lazily by. Then take a short water shuttle ride to a morning yoga class at the Ak’bol Yoga Retreat where classes are held on a platform built out over the ocean. Or take our two person kayak out to explore the reef in front of the house

The Tree House is the ideal spot for a romantic getaway, or for two couples or a small family. You’ll be living in a house, not a hotel or condo, with all the comfort and privacy of home. The house is newly renovated. The fully equipped modern kitchen will inspire you to prepare fresh caught fish and tropical fruit as you enjoy the ocean view. Both bedrooms have queen size beds. The living room is a comfortable place to relax and look out at the ocean. It has a couch which folds out to a queen size bed. There is a 26 inch flat screen TV and DVD player, an iPod dock with speakers, and a land line. There is high speed Internet. There is weekly maid service (or more frequently upon request).

This unique eco-friendly house perched atop a 20 foot concrete pedestal was designed to withstand hurricanes and cause minimal impact on environmentally sensitive locations. Built of farm grown replenish able lumber, the octagonal design and floor to ceiling windows catch the ocean breezes so that our ceiling fans and air-conditioning are seldom needed. The wide veranda affords a spectacular view of the Great Barrier Reef. The vaulted ceilings and exposed beams create a sense of space. We are committed to providing a green environment. Our water supply comes from rain water stored in a cistern on the property. Vegetable waste is composted to fertilize the garden. Linens and towels are laundered in biodegradable soap and line dried.

GETTING THERE:

Direct flights to Belize City International Airport leave from Miami, Dallas and Atlanta. From there you can take a 15 minute flight to San Pedro airstrip on Mayan Air or Tropic Air. Or you can take a 30 minute taxi ride to the water taxi terminal and take the water shuttle to San Pedro, an hour and a half ride. A representative from Caye Management will meet you at San Pedro airstrip or the dock and take you up to the Tree House in his boat. The on-site caretaker, Rubio, will meet you at our dock and assist you with your luggage.

Keywords: Beach house

More Details
Hide Details

I live in Brookline, Massachusetts. I am a psychotherapist and teach at Boston University. I am a scuba diver. On my first trip to Ambergris Caye, I fell hopelessly in love with this part of the island. I came back two months later and bought this house. For me, this place is magical. I wish I could stay here year round, but since I can't, I am happy to share it with you and hope you love it as much as I do.

Caye Management purchased this house in 2010

Living at the Tree House is a completely different experience from staying at a resort or condo. You meet locals and ex-pats at the neighborhood store and restaurants, or just walking along the beach. So you can really get a feel for island life. In addition to its natural beauty and tranquility, it's a friendly and interesting neighborhood.

15 Reviews of Property 317404 on Ambergris Caye, Belize

Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
average rating of 4.571429 based on 15 reviews
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
5

An exceptional choice for the independent traveller!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My favorite travel companions are my boyfriend and a couple friends we've been on one trip together with before. We aren't picky about privacy and are happy to share the chores of cooking and tidying, so the Red Treehouse was perfect for us. We landed in Belize City at 2:30pm and by 4:30 were on our water taxi to San Pedro, where Armando met us and took us, at our request, to an grocery store with excellent produce options (the Greenhouse) to stock up for our stay. Provisions in hand, Armando then delivered us to the Los Encantos dock (only because Geni, the neighbor, had his dock under construction) where Rubio's wheelbarrow awaited us for the luggage. The transfer was seamless. It turns out that the treehouse is located technically "in town," so close enough to bike, but far enough from town (4.5 miles) to be tranquil. I highly recommend Joe's bike rental in San Pedro, it's the best way to get around, as golf carts have to navigate an insane number of potholes. If you have any mobility issues, as one of our party did, the Coastal Express Water taxi will get you within a a minutes' walk of the property. In the mornings, the burrito/tamale guy rides by with vegetarian and meatatarian options alike, all for a very reasonable price of $5US for two. While we expected to make all our own food, the locally-made tortillas were amazing and we found ourselves looking forward to the call of "Burritos! Tamales!" somewhere between 8 and 8:30am. Be aware that the beach at the treehouse is not ideal for swimming: in fact NO beach we found on Ambergris Caye was ideal. The sea is quite shallow, the sand can suction a water shoe right off you, and the turtle grass is dense. Expect to swim off of a boat during a tour, not from the beach. The treehouse is well appointed, with Wifi and most necessary appliances, although we brought our own electric juicer because we love margaritas :) Also, know that produce is local and never imported, so if it's not in season, you're not going to be eating it--we lamented the lack of lemons and avocados but got over it. We actually brought a cooler of cheeses because I'd read it's hard to find on the island and that is true. The Mata Grande store is a short walk away and has eggs, milk, and alcohol, but not so much produce so plan accordingly. Use the compost bin, conserve water as best you can, and be prepared for power outages which happen with some frequency. A wonderful stay, and an unforgettable experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! So glad you enjoyed the Tree House. I am going down on April 30th and with the help of Geni and my neighbors at the Iguana House, I am going to build an "ocean swim area" out beyond the dock, cordoned off and clearly marked so that swimmers are protected from passing boats. So tune in next month for pictures and a description. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
5

Tropical Caribbean Respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Tree House for 5 days during the first week of February this year. We were joined for 3 of the days by another couple. All of us agreed that this accommodation is well appointed and furnished, and it's view of the beach, ocean and reef was superb. Our transfer from San Pedro by 4 mile boat ride went smoothly and was a stunning way to initially experience the coast line. Rubio, the caretaker that lives on property with his family, was very helpful during our stay, even to the point of getting us fresh coconuts for our drinks. We did purchase some fillets of freshly caught red snapper from him that were delicious. The wrap around front deck was a wonderful place to relax and just gaze at the Caribbean blue waters below us, and watch the walkers, joggers and bike riders on the beach path right in front of the house. A vendor does arrive most mornings by bike selling delicious freshly made hot tamales and breakfast burritos. We did take advantage of the sea kayak to go out to the reef about 1/2 mile off shore to do some snorkeling. The water clarity and warmth were good, there were enough interesting fish and coral formations to view to make it worth our effort. The real underwater show was at Hol Chan and the Shark/Ray alley off the south east tip of the island. Spectacular snorkeling. We did book the tour with Geni, who runs a tour boat service right from the wharf/dock in front of the Tree House. His prices were competitive and the guide/boat driver that we had was great. Although lobster season ended on February 14th, we did get the chance to eat that succulent meat on two occasions. One of them was at Aurora's grill by The Mata Grande store just a 10 minute walk to the north of The Tree House.
The only "negative" we noted had to do with Ambergris Caye beaches, and not The Tree House. We do believe that it is important that travelers planning to come to this part of Belize realize that you cannot easily swim in these spectacular Caribbean waters. The water is very shallow with the bottom covered with Turtle grass near the shore. There are signs up all over, warning waders and swimmers not to venture past the end of the docks because of potential injuries from boats, engines, and water taxis. We did, on several occasions, cool off in the water at the end of the dock by sitting in it, and there were a few colorful fish under the dock to view.
Great place----4 1/2 out of 5, only knocked down for the Island-wide beach issue.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the Tree House. Sounds as though you really got into the island spirit. I agree about the beaches. I am a swimmer and am frustated that I can't swim laps. There is good news, though. My neighbors at the Iguana House and I are going to build a swimming area out beyond the dock. It will be cordoned off and flagged so people are protected from passing boats. It will be up and running next time you visit!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
California
4

great house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
beautiful place to stay but don't expect to swim too much off the dock. The water is shallow with lots of sea grass. Swimming farther out is a bit dangerous because of water taxi's speeding by. Otherwise wonderful. Would have loved to have bikes available to use instead of the hassle of having to find and rent them, but having a kayak to use was a great start. Gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for these reasons.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house. Sorry there was so much sea grass at the end of the dock. At certain times of year it comes in, other times the area is clear enough to swim. But the best snorkeling and swimming is certainly off the kayak tied to a buoy. Thank you for the feedback about bicycles. I will look into it. I am always looking for ways to make the Tree House the perfect vacation destination.
Best
Lorna
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Knoxville, TN
5

Great Trip, Great House, Amazing People

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My son, daughter and I just got back from Belize/The Tree House. We had a great time – diving, snorkeling, biking, and enjoying the local people and cuisine. It was the 1st time we have gotten together on a trip like this in quite a while and it could not have been better – we will definitely visit again!

The “Tree House” is a spectacular place and right on the beach - beds were very comfortable, den & kitchen areas very well equipped. However, the views from the deck are so spectacular that we spent almost all our free time there. The proximity to the beach made morning breakfasts from the “Burrito Guy” very easy and convenient. We even met Joe the woodworker and his dog passing by on his bicycle. This saved me the trouble of going to town to find gifts for my wife. Joe carves amazing things using all local woods – I think we alone helped him meet his week’s sales target! Aurora’s had amazing food and Beverly at Mata Grande was extremely helpful with our shopping and making sure we had “minutes” on the phone.

The natural features of Belize – the reef system, birds & animals – speak for themselves. What truly impressed me was how nice and helpful the Belizeans are. This was the case for the Bicycle guy who delivered and picked up the bikes, the dive crews for our dive trips, the folks at the restaurants we visited & even Armando the water taxi guy. The locals could not have been more helpful.

I save the greatest praise for last. Rubio the care taker is a jewel. He, his wife, and son Louis are among the nicest people I’ve had the pleasure to meet. Rubio was quick to answer any questions we had about local customs, cuisine, activities, etc. He frequently gave us advice on issues from food, dive locations, kayaking to near-by reefs, security issues and we were always pleased with his recommendations. And then there are the coconuts. On our 1st day, we asked about determining ripeness, cracking the shell, eating, cooking, and coconut drinks. He immediately pulled out a ladder, climbed the tree and got a variety of coconuts. We got a crash course and ate and drank coconut all week! You are very lucky to have him and I’m sure you know this. He also thinks a great deal of you and his opinion convinces me that we were extremely lucky finding you and your “Tree House.”

Thank you for a terrific week & and we hope to return very soon to the Tree House!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Bahama, NC, USA
4

A Month at the Tree House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
recently returned from a vacation at the Tree House. It was great except the overall condition of the road into town. Went out snorkeling with Geni to Tranquility Bay and Mexico Rock. He made us a delicious lunch and the snorkeling was exxcellent.
The house had modest amenities but had all the necessities. We were treated excellently by Rubio, the caretaker,who was extremely helpful for everything we needed. Thank you Rubio!
All in all, we would recommend this vacation home.
DF and BF...Dec. 30, 2012
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Hi Diane
Glad you enjoyed the Tree House. Yes, the road (if you could call it that) is terrible at the end of the rainy season, which is why I recommend using the Coastal Express boat shuttle to get into town rather than a golf cart for the over 40 crowd. I am happy to hear Rubio was helpful. I think he's great!
Hope to see you again at the Tree House.
Lorna
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
5

An amazing get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Before traveling, I always read the reviews, but I never write them. I wanted to do my part and write a review about our recent trip to The Treehouse. First of all, this is a different kind of trip, this is not a resort, and the Treehouse is not in the middle of all the “action.” Know that going in.

Our trip was just my wife and I. You could go with another couple, but it could be a little tight. Caye Management was great. They had everything set up for our arrival and our arrival to Ambergris Caye was very smooth. The only issue we had was there was no one to greet us at the Treehouse. We got dropped off at the dock and kind of felt like we were dropped in the middle of nowhere. We got our bearings quick and had no problems. Also know that Ambergris Caye is not really for “beaching,” it is much more for relaxing, snorkeling and diving.

The Treehouse was very clean and well maintained. It had great AC for sleeping at night, wifi, cable and all the other comforts. There was a 2 person kayak which we used to paddle to the reef for snorkeling. This was awesome! We also met Genie the neighbor who took us on a snorkel trip, also awesome. He is a bit more expensive than the outfits in town, but was much more convenient. You get picked up right at your dock. We also loved the “burrito guy” who comes by every morning at 9 with amazing food, and Esvin the jewelry guy who came by with very cool stuff.

There were some restaurants close by which we walked to for dinner (bring a flashlight), and great places in town as well. In town, Lilly’s on the water was one of our favorites. We ate at the Matte Grande grocery a couple times. They have a BBQ outside daily and have a small but complete stock of stuff. This is very close to the Treehouse. We also loved the Ak’Bol yoga retreat! We did 9am yoga a couple times and then enjoyed their amazing food. They have the best coconut French toast ever!

We also rented a golf cart for the week. This is a bit of an expense, but we thought it was worth it for the flexibility. The road to town (San Pedro) was extremely bumpy and took about 25 min one way. Calling it a road is a stretch. You would only want to make the trip once a day.

All said this was an AMAZING vacation, we loved the Treehouse and Ambergris Caye, the people were incredibly friendly, everyone spoke English, we could use American money, and we always felt safe. It was truly unforgettable!
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed the Tree House and our island. Sounds like you did a great job of exploring the neighborhood. So sorry you had the experience of just being dropped off on our dock. Turns out our regular guy Armando had a schedule conflict and the the guy who was filling in didn't know the drill. He does now, and the next guest will be properly escorted to the front door and shown around.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hosting you again at the Tree House.
Lorna
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thank you

  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Dear Lorna,
Just a brief message to thank you for our stay at your house in Belize. We had an amazing time and we look forward to our next stay in San Pedro. We will definitely return and make the Little Tree House our accommodation of choice.
Again, thank you very much for everything.
Best regards.
V.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Austin, TX USA
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The Tree House was perfect for me and my new husband; we were on our honeymoon :) It is so much more secluded compared to a resort and was just what we were looking for. The house has everything you might need as far as kitchen utensils, linens, games, movies, extra snorkle gear, etc... Someone came to wash our dirty clothes and linens every other day; and someone would do lawn work, water our plants, and rake our beach on alternating days as well.

When all the windows are open, there is a wonderful breeze throughout the house. My favorite part of the house was the view from the master bedroom. If you love sunrises, but don't like getting out of bed to see them, this is the place for you! You have an amazing view right from your bed and it is such an amazing way to wake up.

There is such a beautiful part of the coral reef right in front of the house. We took the kayak out several times to snorkle and saw turtles, sting rays, a nurse shark, tons of fish and coral, and lobsters. The very first morning, while having coffee on the dock, we saw 2 dolphins playing right in front of us! There were there for like 30 minutes about 30 feet away :)

We set up all of our diving trips and jungle trip through Genie with Coral Divers. He lives 2 houses over and got everything set up perfectly and easily.

We will definitely be back to the tree house!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Brooklyn, New York
4

Adventure!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My friends and I were looking for something a bit off the beaten track, yet not too difficult to handle. Something ecotouristy without the jungle trekking. The Treehouse on Ambergris Cay was just the ticket. It's harder to get to than the Bahamas, but not too, and after years of being afraid of small planes, my ride from Belize City to San Pedro on Tropic Air was wonderful. The Treehouse management company arranged pick-up and we and our luggage speed-boated right to the private dock. Armando brought our luggage up, handed over keys and we were good to go. We loved the house, windows and porch all around with views to die for. The quiet and the ocean breezes made sleeping a joy. And the golf cart, snorkeling, diving (one friend, not me!), yoya, two gorgeous pools in walking distance -- the beach was a little shallow for swimming --, and wonderful food made every day an adventure. San Pedro can be kinda hot and exhausting, but there are great bargains to be had. Loved the multicultural mix of characters and authentic Caribbean food.
.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Charming and Colorful Ocean-Front House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317404vb
617-734-5042 Massachusetts
Ambergris Caye Belize
Denver
5

Away from it all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The 'Treehouse' is a great time. It's 4 or 5 miles from San Pedro, which means it's very quiet and peaceful. There is a little grocery store a short walk away (the only store within walking distance) which has most of what you'll find in San Pedro (which isn't much). The house itself is comfortable, but not super plush. Which is to say that everything that you want is there, but it's not over done. There are two things to really consider when thinking about this place. First, getting to and from San Pedro can be a bit of a production. Your options are essentially to ride a bike (very hot and not recommended), rent a golf cart (could be cool, but kind of expensive), or take the water taxi (easy enough if you know the schedule and have a phone to call them). The phone in the house is pay as you go and you can buy some time at the nearby grocery store, and I would definitely recommend getting phone service if you plan to stay here so you can call the water taxi, caye management if you need to, etc. The second thing to consider is that the guy everyone else talks about in the reviews (Genie) is a tremendous resource. He is very nice and can get anything done for you without any hassle. He is not pushy at all and is really a pleasure to be around. It was the start of slow season when we were there, so my girlfriend had him to ourselves for the week. Awesome!
The last thing to consider is who you would be renting from. We had an experience which I think tells pretty much the whole story. The house uses a cistern for fresh water and it ran out while we were there, and we didn't have phone service to call caye management, but we did have an iphone and the in house wifi, so we sent emails to caye management and the owner. Both called the house within an hour of pressing send! The issue took most of the day to solve (the pump ran dry for a while and burnt some of the pipe connections which needed replacement, the water needed filling which comes on a boat from San Pedro, etc.), but I don't think you could ask for anything more in the way help from the owner and management company, they were all over it.
All things considered, if you want to have a quiet time with very little hassle and everything you need right there, this is a great choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8