Pagosa Springs house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Pagosa Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

What is your idea of a dream vacation home? If it's a cozy, private cabin situated in pretty Pagosa Springs with access to San Juan National Forest, and where you can watch sunsets over Martinez Canyon from your back covered deck, then we have the place for you. Just 30 minutes from Wolf Creek Ski Area, our canyon home is the perfect retreat for peace and quiet, beautiful views and hiking, cross country skiing and snowshoeing.

Our cabin is a custom built year old home with full gourmet kitchen. The quality of construction and level of detail sold us on this home and we believe makes our home unique from other available rentals. Radiant floor heating ensures your tootsies will always be warm, plus the charming wood burning stove adds ambiance and additional warmth. Old barnwood wainscoting encompasses the great room and dining area. Alder wood and black walnut cabinetry, heavy wooden doors and tongue and groove alder wood ceilings give our home its cozy cabin appeal. Brown leather and unique cabin-style furniture beg you to sit down with a book or a board game and relax away an evening in front of the fire. Don't forget the projection screen television/movie system that allows you to view your favorite TV shows, sporting events and movies on the big screen. Of course, music is available too through the excellent sound system with IPOD docking station, cd player and radio capability.

If you love to cook, our kitchen won't disappoint. The state of the art oven also doubles as a convection oven. All our appliances, utensils and dinnerware are shiny and new awaiting yummy dishes to be created and enjoyed. The Weber Gas Grill also provides the ability for casual cookouts on the deck and picnics under the Ponderosa pines, or dine in the dining room and gaze out at views of the canyon while you eat. And since the cabin is situated on nearly a half acre, the wooded backyard provides ample opportunity for children to play or wildlife viewing as Martinez Canyon is a migration path for elk, deer, and other types of wildlife.

After a long day of hiking or skiing, relaxing is easy in your comfortable beds with high quality bedding in all bedrooms. The master bedroom boasts a king sized bed, a Jacuzzi tub and separate walk-in shower with three shower heads for ultimate relaxation. Need to check-in at work or access the internet, use the desk in the master suite and the free WI-FI access. The queen bedroom suite contains furniture beautifully crafted from pine including a queen-sized bed, with handmade nightstands, a six drawer dresser and pinewood bench. Our twin bedroom offers two cedar log beds with nightstand and easily converts into a king-size bedroom offering flexibility in sleeping arrangements.

Other activities are close by too. If fishing is your thing, then Borns Lake Reservoir is a short 10 minute walk from our home. Other nearby lakes and rivers include the San Juan River, Piedra River, Lake Capote, and the Navajo Reservoir among many others. World class golf is available at Pagosa Springs Golf Club. The 27 hole golf course is located a 10 minute drive from the cabin. In addition, we are located 5 minutes from the local supermarket, restaurants, and a yummy brewpub. Downtown Pagosa is a short 10 minute drive and offers opportunities to sample more dining, luxuriate in the hot springs, shop or take in a movie.

So, if our cozy cabin sounds like a good fit for you, please contact us and let us tell you more about it. For more pictures, please check out our website listed below.

Keywords: Cabin, Cozy, Custom, National Forest, Private, Special

More Details
Hide Details

Mike and I are residents of Austin, Texas when we aren't vacationing in Pagosa. We are proud owners of 3 Labrador Retrievers and and 3 horses. Mike works in the high tech industry and I volunteer for the Heart of Texas Lab Rescue group in Austin. We enjoy good food, music, wine, books, and travel. Our love of hiking, biking and most any outdoor activity drew us to Pagosa. We have not been disappointed and see ourselves and our dogs enjoying PS for many years to come.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

During the summer of 2009, Mike and I began seriously looking at purchasing a vacation home in Pagosa. After staring at homes for sale on-line for several months, we finally arrived in Pagosa in October and drove through many neighborhoods searching for the perfect place. We found our home by accident during a street drive by. Once we saw the cabin's quality construction, attention to detail and unique artistry, we were sold. Add to that the fact that we sit on Martinez Canyon surrounded by Ponderosa pines, enjoy a private backyard with amazing canyon and Weminuche mountain peak views and can step from the backyard straight into the San Juan National Forest....we were sold. Add to that, Borns Lake is a short 10 minute walk from our home, and Pagosa Brewing Company, Eddie's Uptown Grille, Chavolos Mexican Restaurant and City Market are all within a 10 minute drive.

For me, the most unique aspect of our home, aside from the artistry inside, is the covered back porch, large private backyard, and ability to hike right into the San Juan National Forest from the trailhead located just yards from the back door.

17 Reviews of Property 278132 in Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Spring Tx
5

Mountain Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is our 2nd visit to this gorgeous cabin. Just like before we enjoyed it very much. We were there from 3/30 to 4/6 and had a wonderful time. Cabin borders national forest with a trail easy to find at back of property. We walked morning and night and it was beautiful. House is decorated so well and makes you feel right at home. Both times we stayed it was extremely clean and well taken care of. Huge projection tv and sound system made watching a movie fun. Very nice place to stay at. Will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
5

First Class All the Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Excellent place to stay. Here are the Pros'
1) Clean, modern and up to date
2) Great location in the woods
3) Spacious
4) Excellent project TV and sound system

Con
1) Need blinds on windows in living room to prevent light from washing out projector TV image
2) Need TV's in all rooms. We knew this going in.
Owner's Response: Hi Mr Shamsy,

Thanks for your wonderful review....We do have blinds in the living room and dining room west facing windows. No east facing windows so no need for additional blinds. The blinds are pull down and hard to see as they blend in perfectly with the wood trim around the windows so as not to obstruct the view in the back. Thanks again for your kind words!!
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Georgetown, TX USA
5

Awesome Christmas Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I took my wife, son, daughter and her husband for Christmas in Pagosa and we came across this house. Let me say this is a great house for many reasons. Close to town, but you feel like you are out in the country because of the awesome back yard. I enjoy landscape, wildlife and night photography and I was able to get to many locations quickly from this house.

The house is very well laid out and we had more than enough room. We had some snow and it just made this location that much better. The kitchen was well furnished and the beds were comfortable. Master bath was huge and very nice.

I have been to Pagosa Springs several times and I would stay here again in a hearbeat.

The top five things about the house:

1) Location to town and outdoor activities
2) Lots of space
3) Bathrooms
4) Backyard
5) Directions on how to do everything were well written out by home owners.

Only a couple of items we found that were not five star:

For those not use to an in-floor water warming system, it is EASY to overheat. My wife is cold-natured and sneakily upped the thermostat. It eventually gets very warm and hard to cool off. The thermostats were a little challenging even with instructions.

The HUGE projection screen TV is great except during the day when it can be hard to see and sometimes changing inputs it wouldn't recognize the change.

Overall, we had a phenomenal Christmas trip and this house was perfect for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very thoughtful review!! Just a couple of follow up comments on your thoughts. We do have blinds installed that can be pulled down for the west facing windows to help make tv viewing a bit easier during the day. We just hesitate to disrupt the aesthetics of the house by hanging a giant screen tv somewhere.

And I agree, the floor heating system is a little different . However, we find that the wood burning stove is extremely efficient and can heat the house quickly in very little time should you become chilled. We have plenty of wood available for your use just outside the backdoor.

Again, thank you for such a nice review. It is so helpful when guests write reviews for the homeowners as well as other potential guests! And thank you so much for the photo you took of our home at night. It is simply breathtaking. We hope to have you stay again!!
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Colleyville, TX
5

Everything and more! Would not change a thing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this property for 9-days/8-nights during early/mid March 2013.

The listing of this property was very accurate, except better than I expected. While the pictures are accurate, the nice attention to details are evident only once you are there. For example, there are candles spread around the house, ample closet space (walk-in at MBR), private desk area off the MBR, custom showers in MBA with double heads, blankets and DVDs for movie night, towels for the hot springs, supplies provided such as fresh soaps, etc.

The decor is a nice combination of classy and rustic. We entertained visiting families for dinner/drinks several nights, and there was room enough (including plates/glasses/utensils) for all.

The radiant heat flooring was appreciated by all, as not a cold draft felt once!

This house is very well maintained and was very clean. My wife and son both have allergies, especially to dust/dogs, and there was nary a sneeze or sniffle.

I dealt with Marcy in booking several months in advance; she was very pleasant and thoughtful, and the transaction was quick and easy. Directions to the property were clear and gaining secure entry was painless.

I would definitely recommend this property to any of my friends or relatives. Friends traveling with us rented another house nearby (not as nice as this one IMO), and I was slightly envious of their outdoor hot tub until I discovered the really comfortable whirlpool bathtub in the MBR - perfect relaxation under candlelight after skiing all day, and I didn't have to freeze outside when getting out!

We skiied every day at Wolf Creek, maybe a 40-45 minute drive. The day we drove in, there was 10 inches of fresh powder with no new snow all week; every day thereafter was sunny progressively warming. Grooming of runs is sparse. The high altitude affected us all in some way, some worse than others (breathlessness to headaches/nausea). All the kids attended ski school for 3 days and advanced quickly, all eventually skiing black slopes by the last day. Rates are very reasonable, and staff generally pleasant.

Almost every night, we cooked in at this property and did not want for anything.

One night we tried to go to Pagaso Brewery, but the wait was 90 minutes - we went across the street and dined at Shanghai Chinese Restaurant, walked right in and seated immed; dinner was good but not great.

The location is much better than anything near downtown, as the air near the springs have a sulphorous stench.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Spring Tx
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Beautiful home in Pagosa Springs! Perfect location-close but not too close to town. Decorated beautifully, but very warm and comfortable setting. Extremely clean... There is a hiking trail out the back of house, and we also enjoyed the wildlife walking through in the morning and evening. Big book of information was very helpful as we're various signs..We cooked on the big nice grill in evening and then watched a movie from the DVD library after..big tv was also a treat..felt like we were at the movies! We would highly recommend this house to anyone-great for adults and kids. We will definetly be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Colorado Springs
5

Great home in a clean, quiet and upscale neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If you need a clean, quiet and comfortable place to hang out while in Pagosa Springs, look no further. 177 Dutton had all the comforts we needed: a well-stocked, beautiful kitchen, a comfortable living area, well-appointed bedrooms and bathrooms, and a wonderful back porch with convenient trail access. It's located close enough to town where driving to the store or restaurants was very convenient, but far enough away that you can't hear traffic or other noise. Our group was in town to run a 50-mile trail race and the house served as the perfect base camp for both preparation and recovery. I should also mention that Marcy (the owner) was a pleasure to work with....responsive and cordial. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
5

This is a special place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I read the review written 5/12/12 and could not agree more. The house is very beautiful and in a unique setting. Steps beyond the back yard lie a wide trail and mountain views.
My husband enjoyed watching his favorite baseball and football teams on the 60 in. plus projection TV after enjoying the many activities available in Pagosa Springs. Durango is an easy drive 1 hr. to the west, if interested.
The owners facilitated an easy transaction for the rental fee, and responded immediately to any questions or concerns.
The experience of staying at the home was luxury plus!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Anza, CA
5

delviejo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This home was everything it was advertised to be and then some. The pictures don't do it justice. My sister and I met there with our husbands and spent 4 days in this home. It was VERY comfortable and inviting and yet had ALL the amenities to make you feel at home and relaxed. The view out the back was BEAUTIFUL, the neighborhood is quiet and the wildlife is very entertaining. We had a wonderful, relaxing and comfortable stay in this home.
The owners were very accomodating and quick to respond to any questions or concerns.
The location is easy to find and fairly close to most activities.
I would absolutely recommend this VRBO to anyone visiting Pagosa Springs, CO and we will return if we are able to get back to Pagosa Springs ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Austin, TX
5

Beautiful House, Beautiful Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This is a beautiful house. My wife and I stayed here with another couple and had a great time. The house is spacious and well built, and it was great having a garage in which to load/unload our car without getting snowed on in the process. We enjoyed the wood-burning stove, which not only looked nice but also provided some real warmth, and we cooked some very satisfying meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The radiant in-floor heating was a real treat too.

The owners of this house are great - they've hung laminated instruction sheets in various places (like next to the fireplace) that helped us figure out what we needed and get settled in quickly, and while on the phone with me gave me some tips on what to do in Pagosa and where to rent my gear. The view from the back is gorgeous, and we enjoyed snowshoeing directly into the San Juan National Forest directly from the back porch. The neighborhood is very quiet with lots of room between houses, making this a nice spot to relax after a long day of skiing.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy the mountains from a stylish and comfortable base camp.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Custom Home - Mountain View, Backyard Natl Forest Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278132vbi
(512) 658-7355 (Texas, USA)
Pagosa Springs Southwestern Colorado
Anna TX
5

Most perfect home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This home was absolutely perfect for my family of 4. The house was clean and well kept and the views were AMAZING! There is a hiking trail behind the house that takes you into the canyon behind it. Make you allow time for a morning hike! The neighborhood was quiet. You can enjoy the view and wildlife when sitting on the back porch (the air smells like pine!) or open the blinds to enjoy from the indoors. Downtown Pagosa is only mins away. The owners have a binder full of menus and places of interests that you can check out. Be sure to visit the hot springs! The owners were quick to answer any e-mails that I may have sent. Pagosa Springs is a beautiful town, with lots to do there and surrounding areas without spending loads of money. There are no TVs in the bedrooms, but honestly, we were so tired at the end of the day, it didn't matter. The kids did enjoy the HUGE projector TV in the living area, though. The master bath has a jetted tub and an awesome 3 headed shower! We had access to the grill and took advantage to that as well. There is the City Market grocery store just a short drive down the road as well as restaurants. We can't wait to visit again!!! I guarantee you will be satisfied with this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1