North Captiva Island house rental - Butterfly Breeze
Butterfly Breeze
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

North Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Relax and enjoy this unique island from our 2007, custom designed, professionally decorated, luxury home, just a few minutes walk from the beach. You will enjoy 360 degree views from the 3 large decks and screened in porch, as well as the open and airy living area on the top floor of the house.

Top of the line furnishings, tile floors, tumbled stone showers and a master bath jacuzzi are just some of the amenities at Butterfly Breeze. A large gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, breakfast bar and a cozy window seat will please the gourmet cook.

Three large bedrooms, three full baths and a den with a very comfortable pull out queen sofa, 2 kings, 2 twins and queen pull out sleeps 6 to 8 people comfortably. Tile floors, tumbled stone showers, and tasteful 'Pottery Barn' style decorations adorn this light and airy home.

Included in your Butterfly Breeze rental is the use of two- 4 seat, golf carts, 2 cruiser bicycles, Concept II rowing machine, electric golf cart, high speed, wireless internet service and unlimited use of the North Captiva Island Club. The Club includes 2 swimming pools, Olympic size heated and cooled and lap size heated, a jacuzzi, fitness room, 2 Har-Tru tennis courts, basketball hoop, sand volleyball court, children's playground and free use of kayaks. The club also has paddle boards, fishing gear and beach umbrella and beach bike rentals.

On the island there are four restaurants, Mango's Island Grill, The Boathouse and Barnacle Phil's and Over the Waterfront.

The rental comes complete with all linens and towels, bath and beach, paper towels, toilet paper, soaps; dish, laundry and bath. We will rent only to family groups, couples and responsible adults over the age of 25. No smoking and no pets.

North Captiva is part of the Charlotte Harbor chain, north of Sanibel and Captiva, approximately four miles long and 1/2 mile wide. White sand beaches, shelling and world-class fishing are just some of the treasures this island has to offer. Nature abounds here with regular sitings of dolphins and manatees from the beaches. The 700 acre State Land Preserve provides a sanctuary for many migratory and nesting birds.

From Fort Myers Airport a private shuttle service is available to bring you grocery shipping and deliver you to the ferry. The ferry is approximately 25 minutes. Upon arrival you will be greeted, introduced to the island and taken to our home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Bob and I live in Vermont. North Captiva provides a great reprieve from our long winters. We owned and operated two adventure travel companies and now have an organic seed garlic farm in Vermont (Green Mountain Garlic).

Cindy Maynard purchased this house in 2006

We both fell in love with North Captiva the moment we stepped on the island. The quiet natural state of the island is unique and refreshing. The beaches are lovely and the wildlife is fascinating. Bob loves to fish and the fishing here is world class.

We have tried to create a clean, open and airy feel though out the house. We have beautiful views in every direction. This a great house for a family vacation. Very well equipped with all the comforts of home. Plenty of space for everyone to spread out and have fun. Enjoy the 2 cruiser bikes to explore the island and the Concept II rowing machine to get some exercise out on the deck!

13 Reviews of Property 89767 in North Captiva Island, Florida

360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
United States
5

Island get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great family vacation, house was perfect! Fully stocked kitchen, open floor plan, nice size rooms. Island was a lot of fun to explore...we went fishing, walked the beaches, and kayaked all over looking for manatee's. The club house was great for the kids- 2 pools and a pool bar for the adults:) This was our first time on this island and we will be back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tennessee
5

Lovely home on secluded island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our group of seven (three adults and four teens) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Butterfly Breeze. The home is open, airy and beautifully decorated. Like most homes on North Captiva, Butterfly Breeze has a reverse floor plan so make sure everyone can climb stairs. The home is in a great location on the island and enjoys NCIC privileges (pool, kayaks, etc.) The house includes two golf carts which was a definite plus for us. The owner, Cindy, was very helpful in answering our questions. We hope to plan a return visit to North Captiva and lovely Butterfly Breeze soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Myrtle Beach,SC
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family enjoyed our stay at North Captiva and Butterfly Breeze. The house went beyond my expectations. The listing for the house was and photos were accurate.The house was very well kept, and clean. The owners were great! If I had any questions Cindy would either talk to me on the phone or if I emailed her she was right back answering my questions that same day. I would recommend this house for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful home. We will without a doubt stay at Butterfly Breeze again! My children are ages 17,20 and 23 and before we left our wonderful vacation to come home they were already asking when we could come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Daphne, alabama
5

Fantastic property on a beautiful island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of four visited North Captiva Island over the fourth of July week and found Butterfly Breeze to be an absolute delight. The layout of the home was perfect with three bedrooms and two baths on the second floor and the living, study (with pull out couch) and kitchen areas all on the third floor making quiet spaces for nappers or early risers. From the rooftop balcony, we found ourselves perfectly situated to enjoy the views as we sipped coffee as the sun rose over the bay and wine as the sun set over the gulf. The kitchen was nicely appointed with pots, pans, spices and all the necessary equipment to cook our meals.

Great property and an amazing vacation experience for our family. We look forward to returning for future family vacations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Petoskey, MI
5

Butterfly Breeze Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Very nice home - clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Description was entirely accurate and owner was very helpful in answering questions and facilitating our stay. Hope to return!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Wisconsin
5

Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Once again our family enjoyed the holiday week on North Captiva. It is a truly relaxing, rejuvenating place where you feel completely away from the bustle of normal living. The whole atmosphere of the island allows our family to reconnect and spend quality time together. We have travelled to many places but we keep coming back to North Captiva - even our grandchildren request this spot for repeated visits. Butterfly Breeze is a lovely home that is beautifully decorated, very well equipped and clean. The owners care about their property.
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ocala, FL
5

A Wonderful, Relaxing Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our first time on North Captiva and we will be back. We had such a relaxing time, and this home was everything we were looking for. It was spacious and comfortable, with wonderful window and deck views. The kitchen was easy to navigate, with all the supplies we needed to cook or bake. The pictures posted give you an idea of the home and its amenities, but our expectations were exceeded when we arrived, and our family of five really enjoyed our stay. It was such a treat to just hop in the golf cart and drive the short way down to the water, and being located near the preserve was ideal. Several mornings we got up early and walked through the preserve down to a more remote beach, and were treated to views of some incredible wildlife. Throughout the week we saw dolphins, a mama manatee and her baby, frigate birds, osprey, tortoises, sea turtle nests, woodpeckers, ghost crabs and more. The shelling also was amazing...lightning whelks, juvenile fighting conchs, augers, olives, scallops, cockles, the list goes on and on. When we tired of the sun and surf we could retreat to the house and play some of the board games, do a puzzle or watch a little TV (with DirectTV, we had our choice of channels). We used the grill a couple times, and the kids loved the S'mores we made. The house was clean, and the property manager kindly restocked our paper towels halfway through the visit. The owners were very responsive and provided helpful information prior to and during our stay. We also had access to the North Captiva Island Club, and enjoyed use of the tennis court and pool. We would love to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Fairhope, AL
5

Relaxing vacation for all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our family's first visit to North Captiva and we all agree that we want to come back! The house was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. It was nice to have basic utensils, knives, and spices in the kitchen since we did lots of cooking while we were there. The owners were very flexible and helpful with details before we arrived. My only suggestion would be to bring plenty of bug spray....one can was not enough and it was $15 on the island. I think the mosquitoes were worse since there was still water standing on parts of the island following TS Debbie. It was a wonderful vacation for the whole family!!! Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Colorado
5

Great Property Great Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I would recommend Butterfly Breeze to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the main land. North Captiva offers a unique vacation experience unlike most others you've probably taken. If you're willing to go through a day of hassle buying groceries and taking a ferry over to the island with your luggage then this is the place for you. Once on the island you'll find things to do for almost any type of activity.

The owner's provide all the information necessary for the island and respond to questions in a timely manner. I will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
360* Views, Walk to the Beach -- Butterfly Breeze
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p89767vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Baltimore, MD
5

A unique and unforgettable experience for those who love serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our stay at this property was my family's first visit to North Captiva. It was an experience unlike any other beach vacation we've had. I recommend this property to anyone who loves to be secluded yet pampered at the same time, away from traffic, crowds, and congestion, yet still surrounded by comfort and amenities. The house itself was open, airy, immaculately clean, and well-tended. The furnishings were tasteful, upscale, and harmoniously in keeping with the house and its environs. Attention to detail was superb, from the lovely handtowels in the master bath to the excellent cookware in the kitchen. Everything was in good working order, with the exception of the microwave. Since visitors have to bring their food and supplies with them, I was particularly grateful to the owners for providing detailed guidance on the logistics of getting to the island. Overall, the owners were incredibly helpful and responsive, as was the on-site property manager. It was also lovely to have a kitchen that was well-stocked with some basic supplies like seasonings, oil, vinegar, sugar, etc. This house is an ideal place to stay on North Captiva. It was within view of the ocean (from the upper decks), and a quick walk to extraordinary secluded beaches as well as to the North Captiva Island Club, with its pools and bar. I can't stress enough how peaceful, calm, restful, and rejuvenating this place was.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway