Berkeley house rental - The house is on a quiet tree lined street only 6 blocks from downtown Berkeley
The house is on a quiet tree lined street only 6 blocks from downtown Berkeley
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Berkeley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Short-term Fully Furnished 2BR/1BA Rental Home - Central Berkeley

2BR/1BA Renovated Luxury Home

Perfect as a Short-Term Rental - Everything Included: No need to pay for anything else

More Info with Pictures on web site (see link below) or type Berkeley McGee House into any search engine.

QUICK SUMMARY:

** Fully remodeled and furnished 2 bedroom / 1 bath house

** fully stocked kitchen (with dishwasher)

** 40' Sony Google HD TV (with Netflix unlimited streaming subscription included - plus a DVD/CD player on a surround sound stereo system)

** broadband internet (wifi)

** organic cotton linens

** phone (free long distance and voice mail)

** washer and dryer

** quiet tree lined street

** private fenced-in backyard

** hard wood floors

** lots of southern light

** 7 blocks to UC Berkeley campus and 6 blocks to downtown Berkeley (very easy walk)

** tons of restaurant, movie, theatre, and entertainment options

QUIET CENTRAL BERKELEY NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSE (part of side-by-side duplex):

- 7 blocks from UC Berkeley and Downtown Berkeley (near MLK and Bancroft). Very easy walk.

- Perfect for short-term rental (see below in pricing for details) - No need to setup and pay utilities or to buy furnishings: everything is included.

- Fully remodeled house - quiet tree lined street - private fenced-in backyard (other duplex unit has it’s own separate backyard).

- 2 bedrooms (2BR) – one full bathroom (tiled floor) with tub and shower (1BA).

- Hard wood floors - fireplace - no apartment above unit - only one common wall - lots of southern light - furnace for heat (separate WisperWarm heating in bathroom).

- All utilities at no extra cost: internet (as above), Netflix on TV, phone service (unlimited calls to US and Canada numbers - incoming calls - voice mail), and of course all basic utilities as well: electricity, natural gas/heat, water, and trash service.

- Bedding and linens included: all sheets and towels are 100% organic cotton

- Fully furnished: Washer/Dryer (W/D), all kitchen equipment (pots and pans, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, dishwasher), sofa, tables, chairs, beds, TV, etc..

- Perfect for visiting Cal faculty (10 minute walk to campus), or as a corporate apartment rental, or as a vacation rental. Great alternative to a hotel. Accommodates up to 5 persons.

GREAT CONVENIENT BERKELEY LOCATION:

- 7 blocks from University of California at Berkeley (Cal) campus (10 minute walk - about 1/2 mile).

- 6 blocks from Downtown Berkeley BART station and all downtown amenities (restaurants, shops, cinemas, banks, library, buses).

- 25 minute ride on the BART to Downtown San Francisco.

- 4 blocks from large grocery store.

- Close to everything, but a very quiet residential neighborhood.

- Very easy access to highway I-80.

- 10 minute drive to downtown Oakland or Emeryville.

- One block to Berkeley’s Bike network.

AVAILABLE: Year Round (See availability calendar on web site listed below) (see below for minimum booking fee)

LOCATION: McGee Ave at Bancroft Way; Berkeley, CA 94703 (see location/directions on web page listed below)

CONTACT: To get details on the unit, contact Mark Foy: Mark's e-mail: [see the below link]

More info about the condo with pictures: see specific web site: which is vitalita dot com slash rental

Directions: From I-80 and the University Ave exit, go east on University for about 1.5 miles. Turn right at McGee Ave (about 3 blocks after Sacramento). Go two and a half blocks (between Allston Way and Bancroft Way).

Keywords: House, Condo, Townhome, Duplex, Bungalow, Flat

More Details
Hide Details

Mark lives about 15 blocks from the McGee House, and provides management to all guests of the house. He also works in the information technology arena, as well as in culinary services. You can see his main web site at vitalita dot com

Mark has lived in Berkeley since 2000.

Mark has stayed at multiple 'short-term furnished' vacation-style housing at many places in the USA, as well as in Europe. That has been great for learning what is important to travelers/visitors.

Mark Foy purchased this house in 2005

Mark purchased this house in 2005 to provide comfortable housing for people visiting Berkeley (including visitors to UC Berkeley). Visitors at that time had very few options for furnished short-term housing; there were plenty of housing options which were unfurnished, and required a 9 month lease (where the leaser had to setup their own utilities, etc.), but other than expensive hotels (which generally do not have kitchens, etc.), there were very few other options.

I love the McGee House for it's comfortable furnishings, quite neighborhood, yet still close to many of Berkeley's best offerings, as well as the private/fully landscaped back yard which is wonderful for enjoying our sunny California days.

24 Reviews of Property 88950 in Berkeley, California

Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
Boulder, CO, USA
5

I wish I could just move in!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
After four days at the McGee house, I wish I could just move in! The house is cosy but spacious, the hardwood floors are lovely, all the equiment works very well, the neighborhood is pleasant and I felt very safe. I enjoyed the sound system, having a washer and dryer and the carefully equipped kitchen. Mark the owner does a superb job of keeping in touch, he is easy to work with and his instruction booklet is more than complete. The added perk of useful provisions in the kitchen made it easy to walk in and start living here without even having to go the the grocery store first.
Owner's Response: I really do enjoy this neighborhood as well: close to everything, but not so close as to be busy/noisy.
And I do try to stock the house with some basic provisions (especially some breakfast items, as well as laundry liquid, etc.) so that guests will not need to run out to the store immediately upon arrival.
And from staying in other vacation rentals, I know how handy it is to have a "house guidebook" that one can reference when needed: giving not only info about the some the equipment in the house, but also some suggested destinations in the neighborhood (restaurants, coffee shops, theatres, etc.). - Mark, Owner
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
berkeley ca
5

Great house with unbeatable location in central Berkeley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I stayed in this rental with for a full year. Perfect location: close to downtown and all amenities, but very quiet block. Owner is attentive, highly responsive & scrupulous. Quick walk to BART & buses. Just a few blocks away from the Saturday Farmers' Market (best in the area). Walking distance to supermarket, drugstore and a host of excellent restaurants, coffeeshops. Close the university but far enough away that you don't feel you're living in student-ville. To me, it meant a great deal that the owner was so attuned to my needs. On the rare occasions that I had a question or a concern, I heard back from him immediately with a solution. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

Worked out like home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent three weeks at Mc Gee House in August 2012 to drop our son at Berkeley University. While we had booked to stay at hotels we changed our bookings to McGee house which was fortunately available during the exact dates we required. McGee house turned out to be better than what we anticipated through pictures on the website. It is located in a peaceful neighborhood and yet it was a short walk from convenience shopping, public transport and most importantly for us from the University. The house is well maintained, clean and well equipped to run day to day life. All in all it worked out like home away from home and we would take the option to stay there during our subsequent visits compared any five star hotel.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay - and your kind comments. So glad the house looked even better in person than the on-line photos. The house is always undergoing improvements, and sometimes I don't get all the latest photos put up as fast as I would like.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
Kingwood, Texas
5

We chose wisely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We spent a great week at this cozy vacation property. It is far enough from the busy main streets to be quiet and relaxing, but close enough not to be isolated. The house itself is exactly as advertised, clean and well-equipped with almost all the items we would have at home. Mark has provided a printed FAQ for everything - parking, instruction manuals, garbage/recycling, so I never needed to call him for any questions. Beds are comfy, more than enough pillows to suit us. The bathroom is a tight squeeze, but I guess that is typical of Berkeley; anyway, it was clean and we liked the shower. Kitchen was extremely well-equipped, and Mark was thoughtful enough to even leave basic groceries. On the infotainment front, Google TV with a Netflix/Amazon subscription was a godsend on the couple of rainy evenings during our stay. WiFi with DSL internet speed was accessible from anywhere in the house.
In short, we are glad we chose this rental instead of a hotel. Our daughter is a freshman at UC Berkeley, so I foresee us staying here at least a few more times.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

Parents visit from Paris, France

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I was looking for the perfect place for my parents who were visiting from Paris, France when i found the house on McGee.
I (neither my parents) were disappointed. the house on Mcgee is THE place you want to have for relatives you care about that are visiting the region.
Thank you Mark!

Michael Mrejen
Owner's Response: I do try to make the McGee House as comfortable and welcoming as possible. And I am glad that the extra effort put into providing extra amenities pays off with happy clients. FYI, detailed house features can be found on the Berkeley McGee House web site at: vitalita.com/rental
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

Wonderful stay at the McGee House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had a great stay this week at the McGee House! The house is comfortable and quaint, and had everything we needed for our stay! The kitchen was well stocked, the beds were comfortable and we loved having the washer/dryer for our use (especially with two young kids). The house is very centrally located, close to restaurants, UC Berkeley, etc. We even walked to Trader Joes! I would not hesitate to recommend the McGee House to anyone looking for a pleasant alternative to a hotel when visiting Berkeley.
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the visit! And we are lucky to now have a Trader Joes just ~4 blocks away, making it another convenient location to pickup groceries or grab some take out foods.
Would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the McGee house for any future visits to Berkeley.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
Spring Hill, FL
5

Christmas at McGee House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Absolutely top-notch rental. Very clean with nice furnishings, bed linens, 2 bedrooms with doors and super clean and modern bath with great shower head. Owner left instruction manual for everything in house including appliances (wish all owners did this) which makes settling in easier. Great walkable location for cafes, markets and safe at night. Small but immaculate backyard with patio and BBQ, perfect for warm weather. My husband and I felt at home and safe.
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house. We work hard to make it a comfortable and inviting space, and hope to welcome you back to the house for any followup visits to Berkeley.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
5

McGee House was just right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Next time I'm in the Berkeley area I hope the McGee House will again be available. The house is clean and bright, convenient, on a quiet street, and just lovely. Mark, the owner, made sure we had everything we needed. My very favorite spot was the rocking chair on the front porch, where I read and watched the world early each morning, but there is also a cozy deck and garden area in back. The kitchen is well-stocked. Restaurants are just a few blocks away, and the walking is easy. McGee House is perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Lora,
Very happy to welcome you to Berkeley, and so glad you enjoyed the house. I was very selective when choosing the house and location for my vacation rental, so very happy to hear that guests enjoy the location and amenities.
Regards.
Mark
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
North Carolina
5

A great place to stay in Berkeley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I spent more than 2 weeks at the McGee house over the Christmas holidays and found it an excellent and comfortable place to stay while in the Bay Area. The location is convenient and quiet; it's easy walking distance to the BART station yet in a pleasant residential neighborhood. The house is very well kept and has everything you need for a short stay. The owner is responsive and helpful. I'll definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Central Berkeley Modern House-Walk to UC (Cal) & Dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88950vb
+1 5102053840
Berkeley The Bay Area
switzerland
5

Charming House in a Charming Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent wonderful four months in the McGee House and it was the perfect place for us. Our two little kids could safely roam around in the garden. The tree-lined street is very quiet and we meet great people and other kids. BART is a 10 minutes walk and Berkeley is the perfect bicycle city. And don't miss Saturday's Farmers market close by.

Mark was swift in answering the few requests. The house is in good shape and we had just enough space for the four of us, even accommodating some guests was still possible.

We will keep the McGee House and the McGee Avenue in very good memories and definitely would recommend it also for longer stays over any boring corporate furnished soulless apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you at the McGee house, and very glad you enjoyed the visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3