Salignac Eyvignes cottage rental - Maison Haute
Maison Haute
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Salignac Eyvignes Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Holiday accommodation in self catering cottage villa pool near Sarlat Dordogne.

Dating back to the 17th century and full of original features with exposed beams throughout, honey coloured stonework and polished oak floors, the cottage at Maison Haute offers, away from it all, peace and tranquility. Sleeping two to six people in airy and spacious accommodation the cottage has a large pool (10m x 5m) and five acres of gardens and woodland to explore. We are perfectly situated in the golden triangle of Montignac, Sarlat and Les Eyzies with easy access to all of the most beautiful sites in Dordogne.

The entrance to the cottage is through a beautiful stone arched door way into a spacious open plan kitchen / dining area with garden views, a tiled floor and exposed ceiling beams. It is equipped with dish washer, fridge freezer, microwave, oven and hob and all the cutlery and crockery you may need. There is also a laundry room with washing machine iron and ironing board.

Please click on MORE DETAILS for further internal descriptions.

Ground floor: The lounge area with tiled floors and exposed ceiling beams has comfortable sofas and chairs with TV and video. The channels available on the TV are BBC prime and BBC world news and numerous French channels. From the lounge area double French doors open onto a secluded walled terrace area with barbecue and patio furniture.

First floor: The shower room has a toilet, shower and sink. The reading room, with lovely views across the garden, is an ideal place for rest and relaxation with a selection of English and French books. It has polished wooden floors, exposed stonework, ceiling beams and a double folding sofa bed which may be converted to an open plan bedroom.

Second floor: On the second floor is a large double bedroom with beautiful ceiling beams, a pretty little dormer window overlooking the gardens, double bed, wardrobe, dressing table and vanity unit with wash basin. This room can easily accommodate a family should you wish to have your children in the same room.

Retired and unintrusive owners live on site.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 88802 in Salignac Eyvignes, France

Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
average rating of 4.818182 based on 13 reviews
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

A magical week in the Dordogne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A lovely gite - extremely comfortable, clean, well equipped and within easy reach of lots of beautiful and interesting places in the Dordogne. The location offers relaxing peace and quiet in a tranquil setting with lots to do including the pool, table tennis and lots of lovely lawned garden. Colin and Sheila are brilliant and we felt extremely welcome - thank you for a great evening at the night market in Salignac! We were sad to leave at the end of the week and the kids spent most of the journey back to the UK asking when we could go back. A wonderful holiday - our first time in the Dordogne...certainly not our last. If you are thinking about it, our advice would be to book Maison Haute - you won't be disappointed!
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

Quiet, characterful gite in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this restored cottage. The cottage is comfortable and clean with sky TV and a good video library. Outside there is a barbecue and seating on a private patio area. The pool is large, and we also had use of bikes, a trampoline and plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas etc.
The owners live on site and are very hospitable but not at all intrusive. We were grateful for gifts of wine and soft drinks on arrival, a drinks reception and some veg and fruit from the garden.
We enjoyed canoeing, horse riding and the beautiful medieval towns in the area. Travel was straightforward though in holiday season parking in the towns can be a challenge.
This was a great base for a relaxing holiday which enabled us to enjoy a variety of activities in a beautiful location. Will definitely go back there.
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

What a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a wonderful time we have had in this little paradise. Colin and Sheila, thank you for your warm hospitality and kind little presents. The kids especially loved the pool and the huge lawn. We think back on this holiday with a big smile on our faces. Wish you well!
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We arrived at the gite to a very warm welcome from Colin and Sheila after a very long drive. Our first impressions were really good; the gite was spotless and very nice, the was also a wide range of activities at the gite including the pool and table tennis table. Colin and Sheila( the gite owners) were very hospitable, advising us on nice places to visit and also inviting us into their home for drinks on the evening. Both the holiday and the gite were fantastic absolutely no faults at all, would definitely stay there again.
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our spring holiday

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We came to Dordogne not expecting great weather in April but we had a fantastic week.
Although it has to be said that some of the more typical tourist attractions for the children were not yet open.However the countryside and the walks are amazing and we had a wonderful time exploring.
The house is comfy and clean with everything we needed and the owners helpful.
Thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

Fantastic Holiday at Maison Haute

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very highly recommended holiday destination - Colin and Sheila are very welcoming and go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and special and to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and restful as possible.
The gite is well maintained and very well equipped and comfortable and is attached to the owner's farmhouse property which is a traditional Perigourdin building. The property is situated mid-way between Montignac and Sarlat for supermarket shopping and local sites. Salignac is only five kilometres away where you can get everyday goods.
The owners helped with booking meals both at the local auberge (fantastic) and further afield - they also gave much needed and helpful advice on places to visit all of which added to the pleasure of the holiday.
Would recommend this to all age groups - you have the peace of a tranquil country location yet are within easy travelling distance of other points of interest.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
After a hectic time at home we were glad to arrive at Maison Haute. It was just what we wanted, just peace and tranquility with no disturbances apart from the birdsong. The house was well presented and nice and clean with everything we needed. Our neighbours, who are the owners, were friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful tips. The area is outstandingly beautiful and Sarlat is a town that is a must see and if you are as taken with it as we were then probably several times, make sure you go on market day. We aim to come back to recharge our batteries again sometime soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

September sunshine

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at Maison Haute in September and experienced glorious weather. The house was lovely and clean and well equipped and the owners ( who live next door ) were very friendly and helped in pointing us in the right direction for touristic sites and restaurants. The house is situated in a remote hamlet but only five kilometers from the lovely town of Salignac which we visited everyday for our bread and provisions. Salignac also has a choice of great eateries. Overall a very relaxing holiday and our thanks to Colin and Sheila for their help during our stay. ( especially when our car broke down )
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
5

Warm welcome at Maison Haute

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A well-maintained clean and comfortable gite attached to the owners farmhouse property. Peaceful, rural location between the valleys of the Dordogne and the Vezere. Helpful, friendly on-site owners who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was as pleasant and restful as possible. The traditional Perigourdin building is cool inside when the weather is hot and the pool is available to cool off in when the temperatures start to climb.
Halfway between Montignac(Lascaux) and Sarlat for supermarket shopping and local attractive sites.
Recommendations and help with booking meals at the excellent local auberge and at restaurants further afield was offered and gladly accepted.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nr Sarlat, 17c holiday cottage with private pool and large gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88802
+33 0553290789
Salignac Eyvignes Perigord Noir
3

Nice stay, bad aftertaste

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house was cute and we made excellent use of the lovely – though above ground (the photos on the website misled us) – pool. We had not realized that the owners live permanently in the adjoining building so we did not have the privacy we had expected and hoped for. The inner courtyard, which was private, was nice enough but lacking any greenery at all.

Perhaps because the weather was unusually hot this year, we did not sleep the first few nights because it was unbearably hot in the house, even with one small fan provided by the owners.

The eighteen kilometers from Sarlat is accurate, but don’t think you will get there in less than 30 minutes. It’s quite a long drive from the main road.

If you plan to leave even 15 minutes later than on the contract, or don’t plan to clean windows after a week’s stay (no, we did nothing unusual with those windows), and put things (such as little items in the kitchen) back exactly where they were, this is the house for you. The owners do not put such specifics in writing, but are very picky after the fact.

Do not allow the owners to offer you anything that seems out of the kindness of their hearts; they will charge you for it later. And watch out for the pool cover. Within fifteen minutes of our first use of the pool, the cover, made of bubble wrap, came unglued at its center seam (admittedly, our kids managed to lie on part of it before we realized it and got them offt). We informed the owners right away and were told not to worry – but upon leaving, were roundly scolded for not having told them and then charged for it after the fact. We are still mystified about what they thought we were telling them when we explained what had happened. In person, they agreed with us that the cover was “defective” but then later took money out of what they owed.
Helpful votes: 6/8