Kealakekua Bay house rental - Hale o Lei From The Front
Hale o Lei From The Front
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kealakekua Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

WE AIM TO PLEASE YOU by providing the best equipped, outstanding vacation spot on the Kona coast!! Our charming, private four bedroom, two and a half bath beach house is across the street from Kealakekua Bay, in quaint, historic, alternately bustling and serene Napo'opo'o Village. Our home is perfect for enjoying the uniqueness of this area and the Big Island. Hale o Lei has both inside and open-air living and dining areas, private master bedroom suite, outside hot tub, a large sunning deck, and two lanais facing the ocean and one facing the mountains. It is fully screened, to allow you to feel the trade winds. We have completely outfitted Hale o Lei so that you will feel like you are coming home to paradise every day!

It is about 100 feet from the kayak launching pier, a short walk to Manini or Keei Beach, a one mile kayak ride to the Captain Cook Monument, a short drive to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau (the Place of Refuge), and right at some of the best snorkeling and spinner dolphin watching in Hawaii. Recently, Kealakekua Bay has been reopened to kayaks. We live on the Big Island, and are eager to help in any way to make this your best vacation experience ever!

For a full Big Island experience, combine your visit with Hale Ehu Kai, our accessible oceanfront house on the other side of the Island!

Keywords: Beach House

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha! We relocated to Hawaii about 14 years ago, after retiring from lives as cattle ranchers, teacher, consultant, and human resources manager. We had visited all of the Hawaiian Islands and other tropical areas around the world, and chose the Big Island as our home. In this phase of our lives, we love to share our adopted home with others and have established two spectacular vacation rentals on both sides of the Big Island to allow this.

Hart Phillips purchased this house in 2004

Kealakekua Bay has probably the best snorkeling in all of Hawaii! The dolphins and other sea life share this unique place with us and our guests.

You have the enviable choices of just staying in the area and enjoying one of the most beautiful, relaxing places in the world, OR using Hale o Lei as a comfortable base to explore one of the most dynamic islands in the world.

33 Reviews of Property 88439 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 33 reviews
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Langley, BC Canada
4

Enjoyed our stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Stayed here March 21-25 with 3 adults and 3 teens (first night with another 2 adults who had to fly home early). We very much enjoyed our stay at Hale O Lei. The rental process was very easy, and Hart was quick to answer every question we had. The house was clean, comfortable and outfitted with everything possible we could think of needing. Everything was just as pictured. One thing I would like to point out, the "private" master suite is very private, as it is accessed only from the outside. There is no access from the bottom floor to the upper floor unless you go out the front door and up a set of stairs. This might be an issue with someone with younger children; however, with ours being teenagers, the privacy was nice. We falsely assumed with being on the water, it wouldn't be as hot but it was quite humid in the bay. The screened windows and ceiling fans really helped with keeping it cooler to sleep at night (and there was air conditioning in the King-1/2 bath room). Another thing to point out is there is no glass windows, only screens. At first that made us a little nervous regarding security and noise, but it wasn't an issue at all. (If you are a light sleeper, be aware you are not able to block out the noise that naturally occurs in the community.) The geckos around the home were a joy to watch and kept the bugs at bay. Some activities we did while staying here were kayaking trip to Captain Cook Monument with Adventures in Paradise (snorkeling was SPECTACULAR, but go for the early morning trip as the bay filled up with other tours once we were leaving), Pu'uhonau o Honaunau (Place of Refuge) and snorkeling at Two Step, visiting South Point and Green Sand Beach (if you aren't up for the 2 1/4 mile hike to the beach, locals will 4x4 you in for a fee - worth it!), Hapuna Beach and Mauna Kea Beach (at the hotel with only 40 parking spots, so get there before 8am if you want a spot which means you leave the house before 7am), shopping for chocolate covered everything at Donkey Balls factory, and ate some good meals at Annie's Island Fresh Burgers and Paparoni's Pizza take out. Mahalo to Hart and Marlene for opening their home for us to enjoy, and we will be recommending it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Sounds like this group did many of the activities we recommend. There are a whole lot more for groups with other interests.
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
5

45th anniversary trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We went here for 10 days to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and were happy with the choice. We were close to the ocean and enjoyed the sounds of the surf lulling us to sleep. It was a very relaxing stay and we would stay here again. From here we drove just about everywhere on the island and saw most of the tourist spots, and other places as well. We loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your 45th! Glad you enjoyed our home at the Bay. We look forward to having you back, soon. Mahalo nui loa!
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
5

amazing for the money

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Hello All, I visit the island regularly and I have to say this is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. We loved it. A great place for a girls week or a family getaway. I will be back soon. Checking schedule now. Don't miss this wonderful house and great location.
blessings to all
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: She has already asked to return.....the mark of success in providing the perfect place for enjoying the Big Island! We try to make everyone's experience the best it can possibly be. Kealakekua Bay is amazing, making our job relatively easy by supporting our guests in whatever they want to do.....or not do! Aloha and Mahalo nui loa!
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hale O Lei is a wonderful location and has all the features for a great vacation with easy access to historical sights, great snorkeling, kayaking with playful dolphins, and beautiful sunsets. Manini Beach is a few minute walk from the house and has wonderful snorkeling. The beach entrance is a bit chilly from a natural spring but it easy to get into it you are traveling with first time snorkelers. The beach was never crowded due to limited parking and the locals are very friendly. There is a very friendly donkey that enjoys snacking on the grass near the beach.

The house easily sleeps 10 adults and has enough room for everyone to find a spot to read a book or take a nap. My husband and I live in a very quiet neighborhood so we found the roosters, birds, early morning leaf blower, and traffic noise a bit annoying and had to sleep with earplugs. However, the other couples had no trouble with the sleeping.

Hale O Lei had everything that we needed for a wonderful holiday including most common kitchen appliances, washer and dryer, toys to play in the ocean. If we ever have another large gathering we would definitely stay at Hale O Lei.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
CA
5

Fantastic experience all around

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at Hale O Lei with two other couples for 5 nights and had an amazing time. This wonderful island house is just across the street from beautiful Kealakekua bay. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the kitchen was well equipped. The house even had beach gear and snorkel equipment. You can walk a few minutes down the road to Manini beach park for snorkeling and relaxing. A short 10 minute drive gets you to Place of Refuge where you can learn about native Hawaiian culture, and snorkel at the nearby "two step" which rivals the snorkeling at Captain Cook monument. The house is in a quite neighborhood - at night you will fall asleep to just the sound of the ocean. Since the house is away from town, make sure to stock up on groceries so you can relax and not make the 15 minute drive in to town too often. There is a great lunch place, "Kalama's", about a 5 minute drive up the road which has what I'm pretty sure is some of the best shave ice in Hawaii, make sure to try the laulau or mahimahi burgers, you'll be in for a treat. It's also worth visiting the coffee and macadamia nut cooperative next door to Kalama's.

Kealakekua bay itself contains some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii. The best of the best is located a mile across the bay near the captain cook monument, currently accessible by kayak, with the kayak launch across the street and one house over. But note that a (free) permit is required from Hawaii State Parks to land a kayak near the monument. If you decide to rent kayaks, I highly recommend doing so through one of the legitimate local businesses (we rented from Aloha Kayaks) as opposed to the folks (illegally) renting at the launch itself. You will get much better equipment and professional advice and guidance about how to safely enjoy your day and protect the beautiful environment you are there to experience. Unfortunately we learned that kayaks may soon be completely banned from the bay because people aren't following the rules.

Hart and Marlene were great, and everything went smoothly with the rental. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quite and relaxing island experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love to help make guest's have the best vacation ever! We love it even more when they come back a 2nd or 3rd or.....time to try to explore/enjoy even more!! Hart and Marlene
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Lake Isabella, CA
5

Very soothing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Hale o Lei was an excellent place to call home during our first visit to the Big Island. Kaleakekua Bay and Manini Beach are mere steps away. The fresh air and hushed sounds of the bay lull you to sleep at night and are great to wake up to along with the birds in the morning. Other points of interest are easy to get to and going to the grocery store up the street is a convenient alternative to driving to Kailua (though that is not far either). If you are looking for a peaceful, soothing place to be Hale O Lei is it!

Hart and Marlene were very helpful and provided info that was very useful about the area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The experience you are seeking is what we want you to have! Kimo mentioned the store up the street. It is called Choice Mart and it carries the many, unusual, locally grown produce that you can't get elsewhere.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
NYC
5

Memorable family vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Where to start - we had such a wonderful time at Hale o Lei. We were 3 generations at this Kealakekua Bay house. There were10 big people and 4 little people and although that is a lot for the house it worked quite well with the extra futons dropped off by Hart and Marlene. Everything we needed was there except for groceries. The kitchen was very well equipped - even a rice cooker and electric wok. There were beach towels, fins, snorkels and masks, water shoes, noodles, boogie boards and sand toys. Also, a couple of children’s games and books. Not to mention a coconut tree, banana tree and some very industrious spiders in the yard, which was an ideal place to settle after some ocean and beach time. Our hosts left so many papayas from their tree at home we couldn’t finish them and then dropped off some pink grapefruit a day or two later. Kayaks can be put in 30 steps from the house and a beach and play lawn is down the road. Snorkeling at Captain Cook’s Memorial is across the bay by kayak and worked very well for the 3, 4 and 5 year olds. With 4 small children we happily spent most of our time right in the area. Just one day trip to Volcano National Park.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: These guests were a delight to meet! While 14 people is more than we normally allow, we felt that we would do everything we could to facilitate a family get-together. This family made it work and we hope to invite them back, soon. Mahalo!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Noblesville, IN USA
5

snorkeling paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Stayed at Hale O Lei 3 weeks ago, the pictures don't do it justice. The ocean is right there, across the street. Turn left out the gate walk 75 yards take the walk to Mahini beach, the snorkeling is some of the best in Hawaii. You're 100 ft from the kayak launch, well worthwhile to rent one. The house is very spacious, clean and well kept, I'll never stay in a hotel in Hawaii again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This guest has already contacted us for a return visit later this year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
5

Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Without a doubt this was the best way for our family to all get together to honor my son's work in getting his engineering degree! There was 10 of us and we were still able to feed everyone at this great house when we wanted too. Everything we needed was there from bedding and towels, dishes and cookware, to snorkling equipment! Hart and Marlene were allways available for info and ideas. They do so much to make this feel like your house. Everything was in good working order and that upstairs bedroom is awesome!! We highly recommend this location as well for being central to almost everything you want to see. People that come to stay must realize that this is not a luxury resort, it is your home away from home!! We will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We try to create a home that people love to return to, and it seems to work as we have delightful people return time after time. Mahalo nui loa!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88439vb
(808) 965-9899 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Farmington, NM
5

Hale o Lei is wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Concerning angelcoach's review: I found the local (maybe illegal) kayak rental folks to be friendly and helpful. They charged $40 for a day, were right next door, and supplied snorkel gear as well. The legal places involve a drive up to the highway, loading the kayaks on your car, driving back down, back up at the end of the day, and are more expensive. Concerning screens and no glass windows: people go to Hawaii to enjoy the ocean breeze at night.
I never saw the first mosquito. And this place is so out of the way there is no traffic at all at night. I can't believe anybody would have trouble sleeping there other than a time zone change. I slept great, especially after enjoying the nice jaquzzi.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This reviewer is participating in the Ironman again this year and read the one negative review we received in all of our years of vacation renting with amazement....she felt she needed to give her perspective on Hale o Lei.
Helpful votes: 2/2