Hastings villa rental - Beachgate....
Beachgate....
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Hastings Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom and 3 bedroom apartments.

Beachgate is a beautifully appointed, tastefully furnished property in Hastings just to the West of the popular South Coast Boardwalk. It consists of a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom upper unit and a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom lower unit.

Directly in front of Beachgate you can swim and snorkel in the lagoon or surf the barrier reef just beyond.

Walk east on the new boardwalk to the popular Accra beach or stroll west along the picturesque beach to the Hilton. Relax on the seaside patio and marvel at the colorful sunsets.

If the sand and the sea is not really your thing, relax and sip a drink by the pool which is shared by both units

Both units have spacious, open-plan living/dining area leading onto a large covered patios. .

A laundry room with washer and dryer and bathroom is shared by both units.

Hastings Historic Area: Hastings is part of the Historic Garrison Area of Barbados. It is the location of the Old Colonial Officers Quarters and Army Hospital, (now Pavilion Court) It is also the beach entrance to the new Boardwalk. The Savannah consists of the Main Guard, a beautiful Victorian building complete with a large collection of Old Cannons, the Barbados Turf Club (Horse Racing), the Museum, and a vast open area of sports grounds for Rugby, Football, Cricket and Basketball all surrounded by walking and running tracks.

The South Coast Boardwalk: The fantastic new boardwalk runs from Rockley Beach for approximately 1 kilometre towards Bridgetown. The boardwalk starts just below Accra Beach Hotel, running parallel to Hastings Main Road, stopping just short of Beachgate.

Not only does the boardwalk run side by side to the beautiful turquoise sea and white sand, but it has also been complimented with strategically planned view points and landscaped gardens, to let you enjoy the views of the South Coast and the incredible sunsets.

The multi million dollar project has brought new life to the area, linking hotels and apartments, local restaurants and bars. The boardwalk opened in December 2008 and is being used by tourists and locals, either walking to the beach or local businesses, or simply utilizing the new facility to exercise, meet up with friends and enjoy the views.

Details for Upper Beachgate 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 3 Bathrooms

Upper Beachgate has three bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. All three bedrooms have air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans. The living room and the master bedroom lead out into a large covered patio looking right out onto the sea. The unit is fully equipped with linens, towels as well as Cable television, WiFi ... everything you need to make you feel at home. A laundry room with washer and dryer and bathroom is shared Lower Beachgate.
More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 884020 in Hastings, Barbados

Upper Beachgate
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Wilmington, NC, USA
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Six of us(3 couples) visited Upper Beachgate in June of this year and loved it. Tina and Philip are excellent, very attentive caretakers. The house is kept very clean and functional and the porch has a beautiful view.
The water directly in front of the house is a little rocky, but there is a sandy lagoon in front of Swanage(next door).
The porch has a big gas grill, so hop on the #11(the house is right on the route), head down to the Oistins Fish Market, and buy right off the boat Mahi Mahi for $3 US per pound. Marinate in a little Delish Bajan seasoning, and wash the whole thing down with a Banks. We also ate at the stalls at Oistins many times during our stay(our favorite is Uncle George's). Every stall has pretty good fish and 3 for $10($5 US) Banks beer.
Also be sure to visit Coconut Court(a few doors down to the right) for happy hour. The drinks are cheap and Antonio is the best bartender on the island.
There is a surf shop across the street that not only rents boards, but will also give you a ride over to a good break.
There is a supermarket down the street(short van ride, but they have a courtesy shuttle that will bring you back) and also an iMart convenience store within walking distance that has a surprisingly good amount of food items.
As stated before, the house is right on the #11 route(small white van with a purple-ish stripe down the side). Taxi's are very expensive on the island, so if you're not super high maintenance, jump on the #11. It goes back and forth along the South coast to and from Bridgetown, and is only $2 BDS to ride. Get cozy with some locals and enjoy the ride.
We look forward to visiting again. Tina and Philip, thank you for everything!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Glen Ridge, New Jersey, USA
5

Surf/Swim/Stay Paradise For All Generations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I keep dreaming about our stay in Barbados -- the gorgeous views from the veranda, the perfect swimming beach ocean alcove out front, the amazing sunset views, the pristine pool, and the best pina colada ever down the boardwalk. Add to that the fish fry, boardwalk restaurants (TAPAS), catamaran cruise, etc. My 70+ year old parents were in heaven, my 40+ surfer husband walked to a great break twice a day, my 11-13 kids went from pool to beach all day and I could relax and enjoy it all. Loved the food and proximity to everything. Loved the wonderfully appointed house and our very friendly and attentive hosts, Tina and Philip. Thank you!!! Can't wait to come back. - Wendy and Martin
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
5

Dream Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of four had more than enough space. The interior is bright and cheerful. We were worried about being so close to the street, but with the windows closed and the A/C on at night the only sound was the local church bell chiming at the top of the hour. The pool and grounds are well-kept. To get onto the property from the street or beach, a code is used to unlock the door, so it feels safer. Location is fabulous to get to the best beaches. The ocean and the Gap Boardwalk are steps away. We saw turtles in the water. The waves are such that snorkeling is a bit rough. Better at higher tides. We took several walks down to Rockley Beach to play in the waves and eat at the Tiki Bar. Renting a car we were able to see much more of the island (and get to the bigger grocery store). In the evening, we could drive over to St. Lawrence Gap for all of the restaurants and not worry about walking home in the dark. We also drove up to the Wildlife Refuge and St. Nicholas Abbey (loved both!). Stoutes Car Rental delivered the car to the house and was flexible when we asked for extra days. Tina and Philip were attentive knowledgeable hosts. We love this property and love Barbados!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Gilbert, Arizona
5

Upper beach gate July 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at upper beach gate for a week amd were truly impressed. The house looks exactly like the pictures. There were 6 of us and we truly felt like we had our own space. The beach just outside your door was absolutely beautiful. We walked the board walk many times to Accra beach and had drinks at the side shore bar. We also had the pleasure of watching a turtle trying to nest directly on the beach in front of the house. One week was truly not enough time to do everything we wanted to and we were so sad to have to leave. If we return for another visit we will be sure to stay here. Thanks Tina for answering my many emails and giving me advice on where to eat and giving me the names of who to go to on the many activities we did. They were all great!
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Gilbert, Arizona
5

Upper beach gate July 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at upper beach gate for a week amd were truly impressed. The house looks exactly like the pictures. There were 6 of us and we truly felt like we had our own space. The beach just outside your door was absolutely beautiful. We walked the board walk many times to Accra beach and had drinks at the side shore bar. We also had the pleasure of watching a turtle trying to nest directly on the beach in front of the house. One week was truly not enough time to do everything we wanted to and we were so sad to have to leave. If we return for another visit we will be sure to stay here. Thanks Tina for answering my many emails and giving me advice on where to eat and giving me the names of who to go to on the many activities we did. They were all great!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Gilbert, Arizona
5

Upper beach gate July 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at upper beach gate for a week amd were truly impressed. The house looks exactly like the pictures. There were 6 of us and we truly felt like we had our own space. The beach just outside your door was absolutely beautiful. We walked the board walk many times to Accra beach and had drinks at the side shore bar. We also had the pleasure of watching a turtle trying to nest directly on the beach in front of the house. One week was truly not enough time to do everything we wanted to and we were so sad to have to leave. If we return for another visit we will be sure to stay here. Thanks Tina for answering my many emails and giving me advice on where to eat and giving me the names of who to go to on the many activities we did. They were all great!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upper Beachgate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p884020
+1246 231 6970
Hastings Christ Church
Northwest Territoiries Canada
5

Upper Beachgate- Dec/Jan 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
In our 5 trips to Barbados, staying in rental houses or resorts, Beachgate has become our favorite spot. The pictures on the site are accurate - it really is as beautiful as it looks on the internet! The rooms are spacious and we had plently of room for 4 adults and 2 children.The beach, literally a step outside your back gate, is uncrowded and great for a refreshing swim or snorkelling and is good for all ages as there are shallow areas as well as a deeper "swimming hole". If your looking for more waves or want to sit on a beach chair under an umbrella and sip rum punch, Rockley Accura Beach is only a scenic 10 to 15 minute walk down the boardwalk that follows the coast line. Also along the Boardwalk are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance.
I give it a 10 out of 10 and would definately stay there again!
Helpful votes: 2/2