My family and I have stayed at many places in Florida and even booked through VRBO many times but never had an experience like we did with this condo. We stayed for Spring break 2013 with our three children. When we arrived at the condo the floors were dirty and the sheets had black hairs on them like they either were not cleaned well or were dirty. Not to mention the pull out bed had pee stains on the mattress cover! When we called the owners the only thing they offered was for us to go to Target and buy new sheets and they would reimburse us! After traveling for 12 hours going to Target to spend $200 on sheets is the last thing we wanted to do so luckily we were able to have our kids sleep at a friends condo which was upsetting since the next morning was Easter. The cleaning lady did come the next day but never replaced the mattress cover so we never even got to use to pull out mattress. The condo in general was not worth the money. The water heater only gave enough water for one person to take a shower at a time. You had to wait 20 mins between showers. The toilet ran all the time so it made it hard to sleep. We also had to buy our own pan to make food because the ones available were all scratched up and old. The shower curtain was missing hooks and barely hanging. The drywall was exposed in the bathroom and looked awful. There was a missing light cover in the living room that was dangerous for young kids. I even took pictures because I was so upset at the shape of the condo especially seeing the other family's condos that were staying there. I even tried to contact the owners after we left to explain why we were going to leave a bad review but they never returned our call. It is very upsetting because like most people we save to take a family vacation and we feel that we wasted our money. We loved Silver Dunes though and would stay there again but would recommend renting from them specifically. They were very nice and tried to help in our situation which was very nice.
Owner's Response: In response to your extremely negative review, we are extremely sorry for any inconvenience we have caused your family. I have been renting this condo for many years and have never had any complaints. But, when you called Easter weekend , I sent over the housekeeper on Easter Sunday to clean the items you had mentioned were sub par (the sheets and the floor). I appreciate you calling these things to our attention.
We have replaced the mattress pad, bought new pots and pans, replaced the light cover and shower hooks. We had the water heater turned up and the toilet fixed.
As a condo owner we take pride in offering you the best we have. Sometimes it is difficult to know all the small problems when you are not staying in the unit. Again thank you for bringing them to our attention.
As to returning your call once you had stayed the week, we were out of the country until now.
Again I am sorry your stay was so awful, because Silver Dunes is a wonderful place to stay.
Don and Debby
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?