Truckee house rental - New Covered Front Entry Porch and Heated Steps for snow melting!
New Covered Front Entry Porch and Heated Steps for snow melting!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Truckee House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedroom, 3 Bath, River & Mountain Views (Sleeps 8-12)

The Truckee River House - RIVERFRONT (about five miles from downtown Truckee)

***NEW LOWER LEVEL AVAILABLE NOW***

NOTE: Rates provided in the quote are for the whole house which is a 4 bedroom, 3 bath, 2600 square feet, and sleeps up to 12 people on beds. If you have a smaller group please inquire about renting the upstairs only, it is 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 8 maximum, and is approximately 1600square feet. Fees for renting the upstairs only are at the bottom of this section. If you would like a quote which includes all the fees please inquire. Please note, priority will be given to inquiries for the whole house.

DESCRIPTION:

Cozy river front home with amazing sweeping views of the Truckee River and mountains. A hidden gem in a secluded and quiet neighborhood. This house has recently been remodeled with modern mountain style finishes and furnishings, and is fully equipped with everything you should need to relax and enjoy the mountains. We are located on the best stretch of the river for fishing and the river can now be fished year round. Fly fishing, Skiing, Kayaking, Swimming, Biking, Hiking, and more, all right outside our door.

UPSTAIRS BEDROOMS: sleeps 8 people. 3 Bedrooms: one king and two queens, plus bunk beds. 2 Bathrooms: whirlpool bath and shower in master bedroom, shower in guest bathroom. This level is perfect for 3 couples, a romantic spacious getaway for two, ideal for families with kids, and group retreats.

UPSTAIRS KITCHEN: Full gourmet kitchen with granite counter tops, all new stainless steel appliances including: gas 5 burner stove top with griddle, dishwasher, side by side refrigerator, oven, and microwave. Lots of pots and pans, cooking utensils, and small appliances such as toaster, coffee maker, coffee grinder, mixer, blender, slow cooker, and more...

UPSTAIRS LIVING ROOM: 40” flat screen TV, deluxe cable package with DVR, Stereo CD player, leather sofa and recliner plus a sectional sofa for lounging in front of the fire (2 day beds). AMAZING VIEWS of the Truckee River and mountains.

UPSTAIRS DINING AREA: connected and open to the living room and kitchen, large rustic table with benches seats eight comfortably, views of the Truckee River and mountains.

UPSTAIRS DEN: original rock fireplace from the 1890's with a daybed, rocking chair, and work desk with chair.

UPSTAIRS DECK: a large wood deck added in 2005, with amazing views of the river and mountains. There is a dining table with umbrella with seating for 6, plus 4 lounge chairs. The deck is gated - good for keeping small children and dogs contained. Because the house is built into the hillside, the back deck is on the 2nd story with stairs down to the back yard.

FRONT ENTRY: Remodel completed in March 2013, heated concrete steps from the driveway to the front door so you don't have to shovel snow. Covered metal grate bridge, and covered patio with seating and firewood storage. Moss covered granite boulders and native plants are spread through the natural landscape. Chunky wood post and beam construction with concrete and metal work update this attractive new addition.

DOWNSTAIRS LEVEL - RENOVATION COMPLETED MARCH 2013. New amenities downstairs include 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom, with beds for 4 people (2 on a king bed in the bedroom, and 2 on twin XL day beds in the living room). The bathroom is all new with a 2 person shower and heated concrete floor. There is a big open living room with views of the river and mountains, a new fireplace, bar / kitchenette with seating for 4, a sectional sofa in front of a rock fireplace with a 46” flat screen TV, deluxe cable package and DVR. A very nice new full size pool table completes this large open living room. All new furnishings throughout!!!

OTHER AMENITIES: New forced air heat, and endless hot water supply (tankless) so everyone can have a hot shower or soak in the whirlpool bath after a day of skiing. Washer and dryer, local phone service, and high-speed wireless internet.

ADDITIONAL INFO: Nearby amenities in Truckee 10 minutes away. Ski areas Northstar 15 minutes away, Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows 20 minutes away. Nevada State line is 10 minutes, downtown Reno is 20 minutes, Reno Airport 25 minutes.

***NO SMOKING***

RATES FOR THE UPSTAIRS ONLY:

Regular rate: 275/nt weekday, 300/nt weekend, 1750/wk

Spring & Fall Special rate: 225/nt weekday, 275/nt weekend, 1600/wk

Holiday Rate (excl. Xmas & New Year): 325/nt, 2000/wk

Xmas & New Year: 375/nt, 2600/wk

Keywords: Truckee, Truckee River, Tahoe, Lake Tahoe, house, cabin, retreat, river, river front, water, water front, lake, mountain house, modern, rustic, ski cabin, ski house, ski rental, ski lease, fishing cabin, fishing house, fishing lodge, flyfishing, fly fishing, fishing, fish, skiing, ski, snowboard, hunting, biking, bike, hiking, hike, rock climbing, climb, kayaking, kayak, canoe, paddle, whitewater, rafting, serene, peaceful, quiet, getaway, views

More Details
Hide Details

We are avid skiers, hikers, bikers, paddlers, and fly fishers. We love escaping from the city to our home in the mountains to enjoy some peace and quiet and the great outdoors. We invite you to stay at our place and we will try and provide you with everything you need to have a great vacation!

Riaz Finnemore purchased this house in 2002

We spotted this hidden gem of a house while fly fishing the Truckee river. It's in a great location with easy access from the bay area or the Reno airport. The neighborhood is small, secluded and quiet, and right outside the door we enjoy nature and all of our favorite activities - no car required!

Aside from the obvious benefit of having the Truckee River right in our back yard, there is a really nice fire road just 100 yards from our front door which you can walk, run, bike, and sometimes even cross country ski! It goes along the river for a few miles and provides access to different spots on the river as well as some great views! We also have Boca Reservoir just a couple miles up the road which has boating, fishing, swimming, camping, biking, etc. If you are into biking, there are lots of good roads and mountain bike trails right outside the door. Paddlers tend to put in near our house because a couple miles down stream are the best rapids on the Truckee. Fishing is also best on our section of the river as we benefit from additional water from Boca Reservoir and other feeder rivers. If you want to be the first one or last one on the river, nothing beats staying on the river! If you enjoy skiing then you will enjoy missing all the traffic going to the Lake as we have the reverse commute, and we are also closer to I80 when you want to head home! If you enjoy quiet and nature then this is the place, there is plenty of wildlife just outside the door.

22 Reviews of Property 87618 in Truckee, California

Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
average rating of 4.857143 based on 22 reviews
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Beautiful and modern cabin with an amazing view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house is as beautiful as it appears in pictures, and the view from the living room is even better. Everything about our stay was impeccable.

The downstairs area was great for us all to lounge around, drink, and play pool. Like a private bar. The upstairs was great for cooking, relaxing by the fireplace, and getting a solid night's rest.

The owner was a pleasure to work with.

We would certainly stay here again next time we're in Tahoe.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! The downstairs bar / pool room / living room has the same great views of the river and mountains as the upstairs, and is set up with multiple areas to lounge, relax, play games, watch movies on a big screen tv, or listen to music. A wireless music system will be installed soon (both upstairs & downstairs) so that you can play your own tunes from your wireless device. I will also be adding an MP3 alarm clock in each bedroom so you can charge your device and wake up to your own music. Keep checking back for more improvements big and small!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Amazing Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This property was just how it was decribed, and more! The downstairs was amazing to have at night when the children when to bed and the parents were still up. Very pet friendly, the views and and the river access were perfect! I would recomend this place to everybody. We are keeping ths place in mind for other trips to come!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Cupertino, California
5

beautiful warm, comfortable, spacious home in the mountains, with gentle sound of Truckee River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The owner of this home made our entrance in this beautiful home very comfortable. Heated steps led us thru this artistically designed entrance into the front door where the warmth of the preheated home greeted us. We walked thru the hallway to dining and living area and were greeted by the gentle flowing Truckee River and Mountains covered with snow. Occasional trains winding along the river and disappearing into the mountains. Amazing views comfortable home, bedrooms, kitchen, living room -- far exceeded the photos on the website and our expectations. We were thrilled. All family members and children were able to involve themselves in nearby activities such as fly fishing, walking along the river, shopping in downtown Truckee, exploring various hiking trails, eating at places around Lake Tahoe, or just enjoying the gentle sounds of the river, barbecuing in the evening moonlight, and lounging on the deck or roasting marshmallows downstairs near the gazebo fireplace This was a perfect week-end away for the whole family. Neighborhood was very peaceful and friendly. Owner is very gracious, met with all our requirements and was very helpful in answering all our questions. We plan to return often to this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Fantastic Cabin on Most Beautiful Spot on the River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
If you love rivers, love solitude and love to fish then this is the cabin. The canyon, downstream from the cabin is my favorite spot in all of Tahoe. I always catch fish. I always see some great wildlife and I always forget about work when I'm there.

Can't recommend it enough if you really want to get away.

During the summer my kids spent days intertubing the section in front of the house again and again.

My wife drank some nice wine and read a book.

I did all that and fished too.

Do it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review and for highlighting the fishing and river. I'm an avid fly fisherman and the canyon section is one of my favorite stretches as well. It's more rugged than other parts of the river and really beautiful. There are approximately 10 miles of river downstream from my house to state line which see much less pressure than the water upstream. The fish are big, strong, and wild. I've been at the house the past two weekends and fall is a really great time to fish, the weather is great, and the changing colors are beautiful. I caught some nice fish right in front the house, both nymphing and on bwo dries during the late afternoon. I should also mention that the lower section of the Truckee River by my house can be fished year-round. Feel free to contact me for info or just to share stories, and thanks again!
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
California
5

STAYED THE WEEKEND IN A LOVELY RUSTIC TRUCKEE HOME W/ MANY AMENITIES & AMAZING VIEW!

STAYED THE WEEKEND IN A LOVELY RUSTIC TRUCKEE HOME W/ MANY AMENITIES & AMAZING VIEW!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Myself and three other friends shared the upstairs level of this amazing Truckee home for a weekend. There was plenty of room for all of us, as we each had our own bedroom/bathroom. Everything was updated, clean and convenient. The kitchen was great, I felt like I was home but better! From my bedroom I could hear the river running, it was very calming and peaceful! My friend even brought her little dog which made the trip even better for her. I was very impressed by all the accommodations that was provided to us. Everything very clean and worked great. My favorite part of the entire trip was the spectacular view from the deck. Breath taking! I plan on staying there again and again. I would highly recommend this charming home to anyone who appreciates wide open spaces and a excellent place to stay!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Jose
5

Great Golf and Fishing Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had 4 people in our group and this property is perfect for a Truckee/Reno Golf trip. We also fished the Truckee river and had a great time doing that. The house is well furnished and very comfortable. The location is beautiful and the owner handled everything in a very professional manner. We would definitely book this house again for any Truckee/Reno trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Richard, I really appreciate your review. I'd like to add that the house is centrally located on the best fishing water of the Truckee River, and it's also very close to several nice golf courses. I hope you'll be back!

thanks,
Riaz
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Beautiful House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house is beautiful and big! It sits right on the Truckee River providing entertainment for all ages. The view is breathtaking and the deck, fire pit, and backyard enable guests to continually enjoy it. I always want a comfortable bed when I'm on vacation and each room of this house (I had to play musical beds with kids at night) has an extremely comfortable bed. It is the perfect spot for a week vacation or weekend get-a-way. The newly renovated downstairs section of the house is stunning- the design (modern meets rustic) is clean, sexy and very comfortable - you won't be disappointed. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks!! I'm so glad you like the house, and I really appreciate your nice comments, I hope you'll be back soon!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
4

Great House - Beautiful View (Summer Trip)

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is beautiful, and seems to have had quite a bit of recent renovation. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment, like you could probably pull off a Thanksgiving dinner with the amount of supplies. However we couldn't find a corkscrew for wine. One thing that I don’t think comes across in the description of house is that allows for privacy among your party. If you enter through the front door and go left, you get 2 guest bedrooms with their own den, fireplace, bathroom, and deck. If you go right, you get the main living room, fireplace, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, and entrance to the main deck (which is attached to the guest deck). There is also a stairway that goes to the downstairs space (if you rent it) just off of the guest den.

The view from the deck is incredible, and largely understated in the photos. When we were home, we spent 90% of the time on the deck. The river runs along the back of the property about 100 yards from the backyard, but was not accessible by foot. There is a pretty dense belt of trees and brush between the property and the water, and we saw deer crossing through there every day. But there is a nice little beach at the end of a gravel trail on the other side of the river, and it was truthfully about a 5 minute walk to get there.

Pros:
Incredibly quiet neighborhood, on the river, huge deck, amazing view, Weber charcoal BBQs (2), play stuff in garage (kid bikes, raft, tubes, chairs, ice chests), well-equipped kitchen, separate quarters for guests, 5 minutes from great fishing spots, 10 minutes from Truckee. Owner is completely available and responsive if you need anything.

Cons:
No direct access to river, no fishing equipment, takes a while to cool down at night because many of the windows do not open.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, your nice words, and suggestions. I am constantly striving to improve my home, property, amenities, and provide the best experience for my guests. This summer has been unusually hot in Truckee, at normal temperatures heat is not an issue at my house. As part of my recent remodel I installed a new roof with a ridge vent with a high quality insulation and ventilation system. I am planning a few other improvements to help cool the house including replacing fixed windows with operable windows and fans in all the rooms. The newly remodeled lower level is partially under ground, so when it's hot the lower level stays nice and cool and it's a comfortable place to be. There are portable fans currently available as well. Access to the river is through a swath of willow which is native and grows profusely along the river. I trim it every year to provide a path but it grows back in a few months. I am currently working with a landscaper to implement a more permanent solution. I will also be landscaping the yard in the next few months. The fishing is great right in front of my house, in the past I provided equipment but it was difficult to maintain so I no longer provide it. I do however have bikes, rafts, tubes, chairs, coolers, umbrellas, kid gear, and lots of other equipment available, and I plan to keep adding more toys for my guests to use. So look for lots of good things to come, and I hope you'll come back again. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

More than enough to keep any family entertained...

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at your Truckee River House was great. Very different from our usual family vacation (we usually go to a lake). There is more than enough
to keep any family entertained. The pool table was a big success and the large area to play family games was also great. Lots of walks, watching
deer and other little creatures. We also did the river rafting and a tour of the Tahoe area. The house was more than accommodating for 12 people and we enjoyed the patio and outside area. Would be a great place in the winter also. Thanks again for the use for your home.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Truckee River House with Amazing Views - Riverfront - near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87618vb
415.517.0325
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Jose, CA
5

Truckee River House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is the second year in a row that we stayed at the Truckee River House. We have been trying to find a place that we could stay at year after year and we found it. The ammeties are great, the location is great, and the property is really better that described. Centrally located to Tahoe, Truckee, Reno and Boomtown,with the Truckee River in the backyard, and several lakes nearby, you really couldn't ask for more. It was pleasure to be able to stay here and we hope it is still available for years to come.
I am already looking forward to next summer to get the family together to rent both levels of the house. We have treasured memories of our time there and hope to have more year after year. Special thanks to Riaz, the owner, for making the property available. It was a pleasure to meet him on this last trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8