Connemara house rental - Quay House - Exquisite Location
Quay House - Exquisite Location
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Connemara House Rental Photos and Description
Luxury Cottage, Located on the Quay with 'The Best View in Ireland'

Roundstone Rentals (www.roundstonerentals.ie) is proud to bring to you an exclusive self-catering property on the village quay in one of Ireland's most sought after holiday locations.

The Quay House has oil fired central heating, wireless broadband, satellite TV, free parking outside the door, hotel standard beds, linen and goose down duvets

The view from the living room and bedrooms, described as one of the best views in Ireland, is ever changing throughout the seasons. The cottage is located on the pier in the heart of the fishing village of Roundstone in the Connemara region, an area famous worldwide for its picturesque views, award-winning restaurants, fishing, walking and breathtaking beaches. O'Dowds Bar & Restaurant and Vaughan's Roundstone House Hotel, only metres from the house, serve award winning seafood throughout the season.

For those with kayaks or even their own boat, the cottage provide a fantastic base for your holiday where you can step outside your front door and into your boat, moored in the shelter of Roundstone Harbour.

Golden sand and crystal clear water can be found at Gurteen Beach and Dogs Bay, only 2 km away. These beaches are a mecca for swimming and beach combing during the summer months. Climb Errisbeg mountain behind the village and return for O'Dowd's famous seafood chowder, or locally picked mussels prior to a short stroll down the harbour to the luxury of the Quay House

Roundstone Rentals is a small family operated business. We own and manage the Quay properties and make every effort to ensure that our guests have a memorable holiday. We live nearby and are available to meet you on arrival to ensure that you get settled in.

Details for Quay House 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 2 Bathrooms

The Quay House, overlooking Roundstone Bay and the Atlantic Ocean, located off the main street, yet in the heart of the village, is quite simply your quintessential dream Irish holiday home. The cottage boasts 3 large bedrooms (2 doubles and a twin) all fitted with goose down duvets and top quality linen. The 2 doubles have uninterrupted views over the bay toward the 12 Bens Mountain Range. Rebuilt in 2006, the house has oil fired central heating throughout, traditional wooden windows, a fully fitted kitchen with modern appliances including a washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, an open turf fireplace, ipod docking stations in bedrooms, wireless broadband and satellite television with DVD and surround sound. Fishing rods are provided where you can catch your dinner from the pier in front of the house. Alternatively you can buy lobsters, crabs and a multitude of fish from the fishermen as they dock in front of the house.
More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 870158 in Connemara, Ireland

Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
Where do you live?
5

I wish I could return every year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Well, for selfish reasons, I did not really want to write a review, as I want to be able to rent Simon's place whenever I like because I loved it so much. As most reviewers have also mentioned, the view from the bedrooms as well as the living area is breathtaking. We stayed for an entire week and all three of us were sad to leave. Roundstone is so quaint and beautiful, and the best part about the town is the locals. It's a vey low key environment, but we were there on the "off season", and low key was exactly what we were looking for. Everyone was so kind and friendly. Don't miss out on O'Dowd's fresh seafood! Thanks for sharing your place, and I'm sorry I ran off with your Ireland Friendly Planet book! We hope to return very soon.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My parents and I have been to Ireland four times and this is one of my favorite places. It is litteraly just off the harbour and the view from the front room and all the bedrooms is brilliant. You wake up every morning to the sea and a beautiful town. It's steps from restraunts, and a few little stores that sell everything you'd ever need.
We were there in November and one day some my dad was out and said "hi" to some fishermen taking the crab traps in, he came home with a bag of fresh crab claws as big as his hands.
The two front bedrooms have the best view and the bathroom on the second floor was huge. I love the way the house is designed as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

Location & Elegance

Location & Elegance
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I, accompanied by our two young children stayed here for 3 nights in early February. Despite being literally the only tourists in Roundstone we loved the entire experience! First and foremost, Simon's property was the highlight for us and by far our favorite self-catering property during our 2.5 week Ireland trip. The simple elegance of the decor, awesome kitchen, and amenities were all 5 star. This was the first property we have stayed with the kind of view that this property had. Completely unique, and a true taste of an authentic Irish fishing village.

The highlight for us was the continually changing scenery from the huge living room window, along with the fishing boats rising up and down with the tides. The open fireplace and ability to walk 30 seconds up the hill to replenish peat or firewood from one of the local stores was very cool. Although we planned to eat out, we ended up being inspired by the kitchen and view from it so made the easy drive up to the Supervalu in Clifden, which has everything you need. We did get take out from O'Dowd's on the last night and was impressed with the food.

Couple of recommendations - Connemara Smoke House (15 min drive from Roundstone) has amazing fresh or smoked fish at a great price. Lowry's in Clifden has a music session every Tuesday night. The secondary "interior" route to/from Clifden is spectacular and perfectly safe. Don't be put off by the primitive look of the road!

A great classy and clean property, a spectacular location, and definitely a place we will revisit in summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!! Everything about Quay House is wonderful - the location is heavenly. What a view to wake up to each morning - just stunning. The house itself is very clean, modern, and so comfortable. What fun to just walk a few yards and right into a great pub! We met so many nice folks in the village - locals and tourists alike. Quay House was a great base for our day trips - Kylemore Abbey was a great favorite!!!! It was fun to try the different ways of getting to Clifden. We wanted to slow down time a bit, as our week flew by much too quickly. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Simon, as he and his family were away on holiday, but he left us in good hands. The housekeeper was just a phone call away, if we had needed assistance. It was a wonderful holiday and I highly recommend Quay House!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

A thoroughly delightful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My sister and I stayed at the Fishing Cottage for a week in early April 2013. This was our first visit to Ireland, and we chose Connemara as our destination after seeing the Fishing Cottage listed online. On arriving there, we were delighted with our choice. The cottage was comfortable, clean, and well equipped, with many thoughtful, homey touches. The view was spectacular, even from indoors. At that time of year, there wasn't much activity in the harbor, and the nights were completely silent. It was cold in early April, so we kept the heat going all the time. Our utility bill was about $100, which we considered well worth it. The stairs to the 2nd and 3rd floors were fairly steep, but we didn't find this to be a problem. The half bath on the 3rd floor was particularly convenient. The owner, Simon Ashe, was extremely friendly and helpful, especially when I developed a back problem that required a trip to a doctor. We could not have wished for a nicer landlord.

Just a few yards away from the Fishing Cottage is O'Dowd's Pub, which has a friendly waitstaff, nice ambience, and even vegetarian options. Roundstone is convenient to Shannon Airport, Galway City, The Burren, the Aran Islands, and many other points of interest. The town has a small grocery store, a charming gift shop/bodhran shop (Roundstone Music and Crafts), and a handful of other restaurants and businesses. Only a short drive away is Clifden, Connemara's largest town, which offers a wide variety of stores, restaurants, and cultural events.

We loved everything about the Fishing Cottage, Roundstone, and Ireland in general, and we now look back on our stay there with the fondest of memories.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

We loved our stay and the house was perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Having a master suite that was tucked away from the rest of the busy family was perfection. Don't let me forget the skylight in the Master Bathroom that opened up for fresh air. Each morning we awoke to the sweet sounds of nature; the morning birds and the water lapping against the dock. It was very tempting to cancel our next week elsewhere but Simon could not accommodate us. Having a FULL size refrigerator, washer & dryer plus a dishwasher just added to the overall convenience. The entire Roundstone area is filled with activities and we returned home each day to an amazing sunset and a view of the mountains. The convenience of getting up when ever we chose and eating a simple breakfast or packing our lunch for a picnic at Kylemore Abbey, eating dinner at the little pub (with an award winning mewnu) just steps away................ my list could go on. The house was immaculate and the key waiting for us. Simon checked in with us and made certain we not only had everything we required but offered local information & suggestions. We enjoyed the traditional music at the community center & the local pub. Sunday morning at the tennis courts was a farmers market & craft sale. We met a local wine distributor and an ice cream maker. Down the street is the location of one of Ireland's famous Bodrhan maker. We stayed busy every moment! This is a not to be missed location and you will love the accommodations!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

Great location, with fantastic views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house was extremely clean and very well presented. We both found the house very comfortable with everything we needed. Loved watching the fishing boats come and go. . Simon is extremely helpful and nothing too much trouble. We will definitely return some time in the near future. Thanks Simon for the bucket of whelks, went down a treat. I would recommend Vaughan's bar/hotel for great bar food. Also Keoghs bar just up the road towards Clifton town, also great bar food. We have stayed/lived in many places in Ireland and this is the most outstanding one.

Andie & Mary, Berkshire, UK.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
4

Fantastic stay, breathtaking views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at Fisherman's cottage for one fantastic week. I can't imagine that many cottages in Ireland offer such a an incredible view-The quay and the twelve bens can be seen from the living room and bedrooms. A truly amazing place to wake up. The cottage is very clean and comfortable with a lovely open fire. We would walk the beaches in the afternoon and enjoy a pint in the local pub afterwards. O' Dowd's pub is a one minutes walk from the cottage and serves great seafood and Guinness. Such a treat not to have to worry about driving or taxis. All in all, the perfect break. Look forward to our next trip.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

Lovely house in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed here for two weeks with our children and the dog and had a wonderful holiday despite the weather! The house was really lovely and the location, right on the quay, was fantastic. We fished from the quay on several ocassions and managed to catch quite a few mackeral. The locals are very friendly and the beaches stunning. We spent a sunny day snorkelling in Dogs bay and saw lots of fish and coral.
O'dowds is a fantastic pub just across the road, with friendly service and lovely food.
Simon and Anne were extremely helpful and friendly and we would certainly recommend the house to anyone wanting to visit connemara.

Karen and Darren, Bristol
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Exclusive Waterside Self Catering Property in Roundstone (free WiFi)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p870158
+353 879962424
Connemara County Galway
5

Picture Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I have talked about visiting the west coast of Ireland for ages, and finally we managed it. When looking for somewhere to rent my criteria were: (a) overlooking water, (b) an open fire, (c) satellite TV and (d) near a pub. Quay House as the name suggests couldn't really be closer to the water without you getting your feet wet when leaving the house, the view from the lounge is quite simply stunning. The quay is literally a few metres away and the fishing boats moored outside are framed by Connemara's magnificent 12 Bens mountains in the distance. The open peat fire was not essential as the double glazing and excellent central heating heated the house very quickly but nevertheless we had a fire most evenings for the ambiance if nothing else. The flat screen TV received all the UK free to air channels as well as quite a few Sky TV channels such as Discovery and Sky 1 and there was a DVD player. The house is immaculate, with high quality fixtures and fittings, very comfortable beds and a lovely homely feel. The local pubs are literally 2 minutes walk away, we visited them all but spent most time in O'Dowds where they do a great pint of Guinness and serve a good bar menu. We had expected really bad weather at this time of year but we had amazing luck with 5 out of 7 days of sun and blue skies during which we walked and explored the stunning coastline and nearby landscape including the 17th century Ballynahinch Castle grounds. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable week, so a big thank-you to Simon and Anne for renting their amazing house to us, we hope to return again.
Helpful votes: 2/2