Spoleto apartment rental - La Passionata/16C fire-place/views towards Assisi
La Passionata/16C fire-place/views towards Assisi
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Spoleto Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Self Catering Apts to sleep up to 7, between Spoleto + Assisi, close to Rome

Large, private, pool available to all our guests, 3 miles away, FREE OF CHARGE, at our Villa Marianna.

With internet/Wifi access, free of charge, this very pretty part of a 16C Convent was converted into 2 elegant apartments while retaining many of its original features. The private entrance, by way of its original and impressive iron gates, leads to the heart of the Convent where the library and the prayer rooms used to be – hence its 8 huge arched windows through which the nuns would contemplate the stunningly natural beauty all around.

On one side of the Convent is an olive grove. Up the lane is Bazzano’s very beautiful church. On the other side of the Convent live an Italian family. So, at any one time, you may hear roosters crowing, Italians chattering and bells ringing – a cacophony of Mediterranean sounds. At other times, silence ! Living in the Convent is not like living in a make-believe picture postcard version of Italy. What you are about to experience is real !

LA PASSIONATA: La Passionata, a large, open-plan apartment of about 150 sq.mts, is both sensuous and splendid. This spacious apartment, with its beamed and domed ceilings, has 2 double bedrooms – 1 double on the ground floor with a casement window overlooking the gardens and 1 twin in the loft space with a sloping roof and a sky-light - a fully equipped kitchen/breakfast room built into the rocks, an awesome L-shaped, open-plan dining/sitting room with its own 16C fresco as a centre-piece - the artist, Lo Spagna, also has work in the duomo in Spoleto and the Vatican, a huge 16C stone fireplace and 1 bathroom. The main “wow” factor, however, are the 6 huge arched windows on two sides of the dining/sitting room that overlook the spectacular countryside, the gardens and that evoke a feeling of intimacy with the natural beauty surrounding you.

LA ROMANTICA: Below, and to the side of La Passionata, is the other smaller apartment, La Romantica with beamed ceilings throughout. The fantasy bedroom has silky, ruched curtains and magnificent views/Sat TV/Eng speaking. Its 'wow' factors are 2 wall-sized arched windows. One in the bedroom looks onto olive groves and hills rolling towards Assisi, dotted with medieval towers, castles and monasteries and fringed by the Sibilline mountains. The other in the kitchen/diner looks onto gardens, castle ruins and hills.The pretty, snug sitting-room contains 1 single bed made up as a sofa with cushions and a couple of chairs. It faces the terrace and part of the gardens. The spacious hallway with 2 comfy chairs leads directly to private terrace. Here you can chill-out with your glass of Orvieto and contemplate the beautiful garden and the hills beyond.

THE AREA: Just 10 minutes outside of central Spoleto, Bazzano is a wholly Italian enclave and heaves with a history reflected in many of its wondrous old buildings, its awesome church and its grand palace nestling amidst the olive groves. Bazzano is famous locally for its walking territory. Albeit untouched by tourism, it's a little more sophisticated than its neighbouring villages, particularly regarding its small country roads that meander up and down the surrounding hills and join the upper part of Bazzano with its lower part. Strolling back down to the Convent with the stunning panoramic views changing at every twist and bend in the road and enjoying a glass of cold Orvieto at the end of your walk can best be described as a dream-like experience.

Apart from visiting Assisi, Perugia, Todi, Orvieto, Gubbio and Rome, not to be missed is a drive across the Sibbiline mountain range or through the Apennines to the sea-side on the Adriatic coast (about 2 hours), or to Norcia and the Gran Piano.

Details for La Passionata 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

La Passionata lives up to its name. Both sensuous and splendid! This spacious apartment, with its beamed and domed ceilings, has 1 dble on the ground floor and 1 twin bdr in a loft space with a sloping ceiling and a sky-light (beds can be joined to make a double on request), a large, fully equipped kitchen built into the rocks, a large L-shaped, open-plan dining/siting room with its own 16C freso as a centre-piece, a double sofa-bed and an impressive 16C stone fire-place.. It's 'wow' factor consists of 6 huge, arched windows that frame the dining/sitting room and look to the panoramic countryside towards Assisi, the gardens and the mountains. It also has a private terrace that seats 6. The terrace looks on to gardens, mountains and an ancient ruined castle. Bicycles are included in the rental. An easy 2-4 mile cycle ride through the olive groves takes you to a grocers in the pretty village of Eggi, a supermarket or Spoleto. In La Passionata you will feel at one with nature.
More Details
Hide Details

We were retired ! We 'fell' into our holiday rental business by accident. It started as a hobby after someone pleaded with us to rent them our house in San Mamiliano, while we were away.

We now have 2 major partners and between us, we offer about 40 very diverse villas, apartments and pool properties, both in central Spoleto and close by. Please see them all on my personal website, the address of which you will find at the bottom of the HomeAway page of this property.

However, we still do not regard ourselves as 'proper business people' because we care far more about contributing to making our guests' holidays fantastic than we do about making money. Indeed, Trip Advisor has awarded us their highest accolade, their ultimate badge of excellence, which can be used to promote any of our properties, as a result of the volume of brilliant reviews we have received from all over the world.

We hope you stay with us !

Norma Williams purchased this apartment in 2003

7 Reviews of Property 8696 in Spoleto, Italy

La Passionata
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
5

Christmas in Umbria

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Beautiful home and great location. My family stayed for Christmas and the home was perfect, wonderful fireplace and within driving distance to all Italy has to offer. We took day trips to Pisa, Florence, Rome, and Naples and always had a cozy home to come back to. Thank you for a great vacation, I will be sure to recommend you to anyone headed to Italy!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
San Francisco
5

La Romantica - It's the Best

La Romantica - It's the Best
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Lavish, generous, and romantic. For us, the genuinely friendly support of Norma and Laurie could not be beaten to make us feel comfortable and wanted. I would definitely recommend this unit to friends and family willing to be a bit out of the crowd. The accommodations could not have been more modern or functional. Communication in making the booking was rapid, thorough, and professional. We will stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
Ireland
5

Room with a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
And what a view!!!! Myself and my friend rented La Passionata in the middle of Sept and it was fantastic. The views over the valley were amazing. And the beautiful stone fireplace was so nice to sit by in the evening with a glass of wine watching mindblowing sunsets.
The bells of the church nearby made it feel like you were on a film set.
We had internet access which was brilliant for researching all the places to go and visit, but Laurie & Norma provide a really good comprehensive guide of restaurants and things to do etc.
Definitely would love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
NRW
5

Room with a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We had a very relaxing stay at La Passionata this Easter Holidays. Everything was very nice and we look forward to stay
at La Passionata once again. The view from the living room windows is amazing. Just sit and watch and relax. And if you are relaxed enough, you easily reach Spoleto or all the ohter nearby small towns. Even Assisi or Rome are not far away. La Passionata is the perfect stay for holidays in Umbria.

We showed the pictures to our freinds and relatives. Maybe they will come and see themselves.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
Australia
5

La Passionata

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We had a wonderful stay at La Passionata in April. The weather was perfect. The building is as stunning as the photos show and the dining room with the beautiful arched windows has the most spectacular view. Our children still sing the song of the church bells.
We were travelling without a car, but were able to catch the local bus to Spoleto and explore the quiet lanes and roads on the bikes. Some of our best attempts at language were with the locals while waiting for the bus, especially as we were travelling with children.
Laurie was extremely kind and helpful. There was a generous welcome pack with essentials, and useful written information from Norma on the local restaurants. We found the best gelato in Italy on a cycle trip to Spoleto (15km round trip).
The loft room with skylight was fun for the children and the garden was perfect for relaxing with a book, playing skittles or enjoying a BBQ.
We would highly recommend a stay at La Passionata.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
Australia/France
5

Heaven in Umbria !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We were thrilled with our stay at La Passionata - it was all we were expecting and more !

From the moment we were met by Laurie right through to kssing farewell to the neighbours it was fantastic. Norma and Laurie went out of their way to make our stay perfect - nothing was too much trouble. The property itself was stunning as was the area.

I would highly recommend La Passionata or in fact any of the Spoletto properties as the perfect base to stay and see Umbria. It is definately the best equipped apartment I haev rented.

Our only disappointment was runing out of time to try all the wonderful nearby restaurants!
Angela and Paul
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The reviewer's reference to "any of the Spoleto properties as the perfect base to stay" refers to a choice of our 30 villas, apartments and pool properties that Laurie, my husband, and I, own, along with our 2 partners.

We are not an agency.

Our holiday rental portfolio consists of about 9 apartments in the historic centre of Spoleto, mostly with lovely terraces and pretty hill views. When you stay in any of these apartments, you do not need a car because you are within walking distance to the train station, from where you can get to practically anywhere in Italy. In addition, we offer a further 20 villas, pool properties, country houses and an ex Convent, where our reviewer stayed, outside of central Spoleto, in the nearby mountains and villages.

Every one of our holiday rental properties was chosen specifically for their fantastic locations and the views from their terraces, balconies and windows.

So, if you want to be assured a fabulous holiday in or close to central Spoleto, the very heart of Umbria, try us first ! However, our rates are extremely competitive and, this factor alongside the fact that we attract a high percentage of returnees, means that we tend to book up quickly.

See the link to Owners Website on this site or ask me for the link. Here you will see more photos and information about all our holiday rental properties.

Saluti, Norma
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
La Passionata
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p8696
+39 0743 498 38
Spoleto Spoleto area
san francisco,ca
5

These villas are AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We have stayed in both La Passionata and La Romantica. Both are "can you believe we are lucky enough to stay here" apartments! La Passionata is the larger of the two, with a bedroom and a separate loft. The bedroom is decent-sized, and the loft, though a low ceiling, is totally quiet and like sleeping in a cocoon. Perfect for kids or another couple. The views from both apartments - OH MY GOSH - are postcard quality views of the valley with the mountains in the background.

Only caveat is that you really should have a car at either of these apartments- though close to Spoleto, you are out in the country and will want a car. We took many walks around the surrounding countryside and found it beautiful and easy to walk.

Both apartments feature satellite TV with the usual western channels (CNN, FOX, BBC etc) and there's even internet access, which is amazing and definitely the only time we've found that in Italy at a non-hotel location.

La Romantica is wonderful for a couple... and La Passionata for two couples or one couple who's into splurging. If you can afford La Passionata, rent that one, or better yet, rent both and put friends in La Romantica so you can all enjoy the spacious living areas of La Passionata.

I can recommend both properties without reservation...!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6