Lucca house rental - Al Bastini
Al Bastini
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lucca House Rental Photos and Description
Tradition's comfort: luxuriously restored Tuscan villa with air conditioning

Al Bastini is a beautiful 18 century villa-farmhouse basking on a sunny hillside, with glorious views towards Pisa & the medieval city of Lucca. Full of period character, the house was built in traditional Tuscan style from local stone & terracotta, with high chestnut-beamed ceilings & open fireplaces. It has been lovingly restored to a very high standard with a perfect blend of antiquity & modern comforts. Facilities include air-conditioning, WiFi broadband, satellite 50' plasma TV, DVD, billiard table, and table tennis. Set in 7 acres of gentle sloping terraces with old olive & fruit trees, the landscaped gardens feature flowerbeds, lawns, a heated 10 x 5m pool, & 3 outside eating areas in both sun & shade. There's a loggia, jasmine-scented terrace with stone barbecue, & a wisteria-covered pool-side pergola, all overlooking the wonderful views. There's ample quality garden chairs & sunbeds for relaxation. All the ingredients for an unforgetable holiday.

Tuscany and Umbria are crowded with places to see - the obvious ones being Florence (1 hour's drive), Siena (1.5 hours) and San Gimignano (2 hours). Also well worth a trip is to follow the Piero della Francesca trail (as in John Mortimer's book Summer Lease- John Mortimer also stayed at Al Bastini) which you can start in Arezzo (beautiful city, 1.5 hours' drive) & continue to nearby San Sepolcro and Monterchi, to see other examples of his stunning fresco work. If you have time when in that area, Assisi and Perugia are also well worth a visit. Volterra is a beautiful hilltop town well worth a visit.

Closer to home, of course, are Viareggio & Forte dei Marmi, both very attractive seaside towns. You can also visit Lerici on the coast, a picturesque place with stunning views, from which you can get a short boat trip to Portavenere & enjoy the lovely seafood restaurants. Again on the coast are Cinque Terre, five lovely coastal villages all connected by train, boat or foot & well worth a visit. For a short trip, it is worth going to elegant Montecatini (30 mins) a spa town (but don't wear shorts as you won't be allowed into the baths). You can take the railway (or a taxi!, or drive yourself) up to the old hilltop village which is very pretty. An alternative place for lunch is Montecarlo (20 min) or Vinci (home of Leonardo) which, in addition to some very good restaurants, has a fascinating museum with scaled down models of all his inventions & posters of his works.

Puccini was born in Lucca & the ancient San Giovanni basilica in Lucca holds daily recitals of his music. There's also an annual open air Puccini opera festival thoughout July & August at nearby Torre Del Lago.

For sporting activities: there are some challenging golf courses within an hour's drive, tennis clubs, riding, fishing, paragliding, mountaineering & beautiful walks are all available in the area.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 868768 in Lucca, Italy

Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Al Bastini - How I wish i was there now!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our 2nd trip to Al Bastini and we had a wonderful stay yet again. The villa is perfectly equipped for those of you with children with the pool, DVD's, table tennis etc. all meaning that our 3 kids (12, 9 and 2) were kept entertained constantly! And the cot and high chair meant that the little one ate well and slept well! There were 11 of us during our stay and the villa never once felt over crowded. We certainly recommend this villa to anyone wanting a perfect family holiday.
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Al Bastini is a beautiful old Tuscan farmhouse set in a idyllic setting
in the Tuscan hills. This lovely home provides everything you could need
for a perfect holiday.

The interior of the house is beautifully well equipped with lots of character.
The open terrace leading from the kitchen is a wonderful, relaxing area for evening meals and entertaining.

The swimming pool enjoys wonderful views over the surrounding hills and countryside and is a perfect place to sunbathe or play in with no noise or distractions.

During the summer the flowers and plants surrounding the house are a wonderful blaze of colour with lots of hidden areas to enjoy the views whilst enjoying your evening drink.

A perfect place for either a romantic getaway or for a family wishing to relax and escape the bustle of today.


Margaret Waddell
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Al Bastini

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was the perfect villa to stay with an extended family. Our group included young people and parents and the combination of swimming pool, snooker and table tennis kept us all occupied at the villa. It was in a perfect setting, surrounded by wildlife, - including wild porcupines - and though a little difficult to find on the first night of arrival, it was very convenient for visiting nearby Lucca - just ten minutes drive away, and en route to Lucca is a well placed Supermarket.

The rooms and facilities were first class, very comfortable and clean, and the full range of BBC programmes available on the television, especially in Olympic week, added to a memorable holiday. There was also free wi-fi available for those addicted to keeping in touch with the outside world.

But the best part was the sense of perfect isolation, especially in the evenings with the full Milky Way available overhead as we sat outside for evening meals.

Other bonuses included being able to use barbeque facilities, and the excellent pool, big enough for the whole family to use for play or swimming, and hammocks to sunbathe or snooze in afterwards.

We were a party of four older adults and four younger adults, and the facilities suited us all, and made for a real family holiday which we will always remember.

The owner, Les, was very helpful on the lead up to the holiday and everything was as expected We had been to the Lucca area a few times before and knew our way around the town, and this is a non-touristy Italian town which is a delight to explore.

We would certainly recommend this villa for a family holiday
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

We Hope to Return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
So often a place does not match up to the pictures.

In this case, the reality surpassed the pictures, which could not include waking to a chorus of bird song every morning and having a beautiful herb garden we were urged to use.

In addition, our host was very attentive to our questions and needs.

We hope to return.

Maureen and Paul Draper
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Captures the Charm of Tuscany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed at Al Bastini in the summer of 2010 with a group of close friends, some of whom where visiting Italy/Europe for the first time.

This villa is stunning and captures the charm of Tuscany while still offering the modern conveniences savvy travelers expect. There is a fresh herb garden adjacent to the kitchen, making for a wonderful culinary experience. One of our friends was so enamored, they are booked for this upcoming summer. We truly hope to return one day!


Michelle Fischetti
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Al-Bastini For Beauty and Tranquillity.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I have now stayed at Al-Bastini 3 times over the past 4 years, each time for 3 weeks, and we always wish we could stay longer. Al-Bastini is very comfortably furnished with spacious rooms and stunning views.

It offers a wonderful tranquil and relaxing environment with plenty of space so that some can read and bask in the sunshine, while others enjoy the swimming pool, or TV, or billiards in the games room and make whatever noise they like without disturbing others. The local area offers plenty of good restaurants and shops within a couple of miles of the villa, and the beautiful town of Lucca, less than 20 minutes’ drive away is well worth a visit; cycling the medieval wall round Lucca is a very pleasant exercise worth experiencing, which provides an actual city wide view of Lucca's lay out and architecture.

We cannot praise Al-Bastini highly enough, although perhaps we should keep it a secret to ensure we get our preferred holidays weeks!

Bob Parish
UK
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Beautiful house with gorgeous views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A common concern when renting villas is whether it will be as good as real life as it looks in the photos. In this case we needn't have worried as Al Bastini is actually better in real life.

We've stayed in a lot of places in Tuscany, but this is now our favourite.

It's a truly beautiful old villa, with a huge garden, & wonderful views. You feel like you're deep in the heart of rural Tuscany, surrounded by truly unspoilt countryside, but it's only a 15 minute or so drive to Lucca, & a few minutes down the road to the very pretty village of San Macario in Piano.

The house is extremely spacious & comfortable, with large airy rooms, there's every amenity including air conditioning, a huge flatscreen TV, a very well stocked kitchen with good quality crockery & utensils, lots of hot water for showers, plenty of towels etc

The billiards room with huge billiards table & table tennis were very useful for keeping the children quiet. The study area is also very useful if any of the party needs to work.

For me, I particularly liked the fact that there are 2 outdoor eating areas directly accessible from the kitchen - one is a covered terrace, perfect for the heat of the day, and the other a leafy outdoor barbecue area - which made catering for everyone very easy.

We also had a charming cook who made some memorable meals for us.

We ate most meals outside, although the dining room was very comfortable. Often we took our meals down to the leafy gazebo by the pool, which is set away from the house with its own gate, useful, if like us, you have small children. The pool has plenty of comfortable loungers & lovely views.

The location was ideal for us in that you can get into Lucca very quickly; Pisa, Florence are also near. It's very easy to get to the sea, Forte Dei Marmi in particular we loved - a delightful Italian seaside resort with some good restaurants. We took a ferry from Viareggio to the Cinque Terre, and visited Lerici which has fabulous views. We also visited Montecantini - a wonderful old spa town, and Barga & Castelnuovo, the ancient towns up in the mountains of the Garfagnana.

What makes Al Bastini special is that it's the owners own house, so it's full of character & personal touches. Les, the owner, could not have been more charming or more helpful & we felt very well looked after. Thank you for sharing your lovely house with us!

We will definitely be back.

Giustina Davis & family,
London
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Al Bastini

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Les,

Your home is beautiful and worked well for our family needs. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and the house was well equipped. You were very helpful with offering restaurant suggestions and use of local maps and tour books in the home was greatly appreciated. Views are wonderful and the estate is very private. We loved the landscaping and the fig trees. The Pool was warm and relaxing, and we enjoyed playing ping pong in the evenings! Our only suggestion would be to add screens to the windows and add some additional lighting to the steep driveway.

Best Regards,

The Loening Family
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Just Amazing!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed at Al Bastini in September 2011 and what an amazing time we had. The photos on the web-site really do not do it justice.

We arrived late at night, so it wasn’t until the morning when I woke up in the master bedroom, opened the shutters and saw just how amazing the surroundings were. The view is just breathtaking from every single angle, it really did take my breath away.

The house is decorated in a style of timeless elegance that is in keeping with its surroundings. The house is equipped as a home, not as a rental, everything from the bed linen, towels, crockery and kitchen equipment are of the highest quality and it felt like being at home but not at home. There was not a single thing I looked for that was not there, such care has been taken to ensure you want for nothing. The house and grounds were spotlessly cleaned to a 5 star hotel standard.

You could dine at a different location within the grounds for every single meal there are so many dining areas to choose from. We generally stayed at the house for breakfast and lunch whilst around the pool then ventured down the mountain for amazing suppers in the very local vicinity. The pool area has again everything you need, heated pool, shaded dining area where we would have lunch, very comfortable sun loungers with shade should you require it. Just a perfect location to relax and take in the rays.

I really cannot recommend this beautiful house and location enough and I thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us…

Liza
business
Stunning 18th Century villa with superb views & pool, 8 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p868768
+44 02071128650
Lucca Piana di Lucca
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Wonderful peaceful week

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Les,

Hope you are keeping well and back in your wonderful home Al Bastini. It was lovely to meet you at last and to be able to put a face to the name. I just wanted to thank you for being so very generous and allowing me to visit for the week. You have created the most wonderful home there, of which I am sure you are very aware. I had a wonderful peaceful week by the pool and taking in all of the beautiful scenery.
Helpful votes: 1/1