Sintra house rental - View from the bedroom
View from the bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Sintra House Rental Photos and Description
Charming 2-4p duplex, with lovely views, at the heart of historical center

Recent renovation (November 2011) of a mid 1800’s house, this lovely duplex features decorative paintings on the walls and offers all the amenities you will need during your stay in Sintra.

The first floor has an open space with a double chaise longue, a double day bed, window seat and a well equipped open-plan kitchen. Also in this floor you can find a bathroom with double sinks and a spacious shower as well as a closed veranda overlooking Sintra’s “Palácio da Vila”, where you can enjoy a drink while watching the sunset after a long day discovering Sintra.

In the attic, you will find a cosy bedroom with twin beds and two large windows overlooking the village plaza and surrounding countryside. This house accommodates up to 4 persons (the living area contains a day bed that can easily provide 2 additional sleeping accommodations) and is specially indicated for couples and small families. A cot may be added, on request, at no extra charge.

Sintra: Few places in the world can envoke a sense of magic and mystery as does Sintra. From magical forests to romantic palaces Sintra never fails to seduce. Described by Lord Byron as “Glorious Eden,” Sintra’s charms have long been celebrated. Once the summer residence of the kings of Portugal and of the Moorish lords of Lisbon before them, today Sintra is a romantic getaway for people from all around the world. The UNESCO Committee decided to inscribe Sintra as a World Heritage Site at the category of Cultural Landscape, because: 'the site is of outstanding universal value as it represents a pioneering approach to Romantic landscaping which had an outstanding influence on developments elsewhere in Europe.' This magical place is dominated by steep mountains and lush forests which create a microclimate, always several degrees cooler than Lisbon. Hosting beautiful palaces with neo-gothic towers, a visit to Sintra is a must

Other ways to discover in Sintra: In addition to the usual activities, we also suggest: Take a trolley ride from Sintra to Praia das Maçãs; Visit a wine cellar, 'Adega Regional de Colares'; Take afternoon tea at Lawrence's Hotel (the most ancient hotel in Iberia peninsula); Drink water in the fountain, 'Fonte da Sabuga' (whoever drinks this water will surely return to Sintra); Learn how to take care of a Bonsai in 'Bonsai Centro Sintra'; Specially for the children, visit 'Museu da Ciência Viva' and 'Quintinha Pedagógica' in Monserrate Park. You will find, at the house, more information on various itineraries to visit Sintra on foot, or other suggestions using alternative transportations such as, segway, bike, horse or jeep/buggy.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 865102 in Sintra, Portugal

Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

Cosy and comfortable in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed in this apartment for a month, and for part of that time we shared it with our daughter and our grandson. It is well equipped, spotless and very peaceful. The quiet is surprising considering that it is very close to the main tourist hub, where there are many great little shops and eateries. During the day we could often hear someone playing guitar softly at a nearby restaurant and with windows in three directions the light and the views were lovely. At night it's very peaceful and upstairs there are room-darkening blinds on the gorgeous skylight windows, optional of course on a moonlit night!

Our hosts, Mario and Silvia were very helpful and always responded quickly to our needs. We had excellent cleaning service weekly, and the apartment and the neighbourhood felt safe and secure.

Sintra was a good choice for us. We didn't want to spend our time driving (we get enough of that here in Canada) and we were able to spend much of every day outside, either in town exploring the interesting and diverse neighbourhoods or on the mountain paths leading up to the Moorish Castle ruins or to Pena Palace. There are loads of stairs, and it was good to get some exercise to help balance out the wonderful food and wine available locally in restaurants and also in the markets. We found it easy also to hop on a train to go to Lisbon, or one of the buses to various locations. There's even an old fashioned tram which takes you out to the seaside town of Praia de Macas, or Apple Beach.

We loved it here. We are already planning our next escape to Portugal!
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
Anahola, Kauai, Hawaii
5

Absolutely loved this apartment and Sintra!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My friend and I absolutely loved this charming, comfortable and well equipped apartment. We stayed here for 4 nights. Sintra is magical with it's exquisite palaces and their lovely, diverse gardens. The apartment is in a terrific location with fabulous views out of every window. The apartment is only steps away from great restaurants and shopping, yet it is very quiet and private. The bus stop for sightseeing is just steps away and the train station is within walking distance too. You definitely do not need a car. It has a lot of added charm with the hand-painted walls, comfortable living room and the lovely alcove area with a tea set, yummy cookies and a picturesque view. The bedroom is upstairs and there is a comfortable sleeping area in the living room as well. The apartment is clean and well maintained and all the furniture is comfortable...beds included. The bathroom is very nice with double sinks and a great shower. And there are cozy bathrobes too.
Silvia & Mario were very accommodating and a pleasure to rent from. I do hope to return there. I highly recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Sintra and have already recommended the apartment to a friend of mine who will be staying there in July. This apartment truly is a "gem".
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
Anahola, Kauai, Hawaii
5

Absolutely loved this charming apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My friend and I absolutely loved this charming, comfortable and well equipped apartment. We stayed here for 4 nights. Sintra is magical with it's exquisite palaces and their lovely, diverse gardens. The apartment is in a terrific location with fabulous views out of every window. The apartment is only steps away from great restaurants and shopping, yet it is very quiet and private. The bus stop for sightseeing is just steps away and the train station is within walking distance too. You definitely do not need a car. It has a lot of added charm with the hand-painted walls, comfortable living room and the lovely alcove area with a tea set, yummy cookies and a picturesque view. The bedroom is upstairs and there is a comfortable sleeping area in the living room as well. The apartment is clean and well maintained and all the furniture is comfortable...beds included. The bathroom is very nice with double sinks and a great shower. And there are cozy bathrobes too.
Silvia & Mario were very accommodating and a pleasure to rent from. I do hope to return there. I highly recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Sintra and have already recommended the apartment to a friend of mine who will be staying there in July. This apartment truly is a "gem".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

Elegant Apartment in Sintra

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a lovely apartment - located in Sintra's pedestrianized old town - with a fantastic view of the National Palace out the windows in small sitting room - great place to sit with coffee in the morning and wine in the evening -
Tastefully furnished and decorated - no expense spared -
The owners, Sylvia and Mario, were charming people and quick to respond to any needs -
We would stay here again and highly recommend it!
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
4

Perfect little home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a cute apartment! Very cosy, perfect location, really lovely base in beautiful Sintra. We had a wonderful three nights here and would highly recommend (unless you're tall, in which case you may bump your head on the attic ceiling!)

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the place was well equipped - warm beds, wifi, maps, books and even tea and biscuits waiting for our arrival!

Thank you for a lovely stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
Crozet, Virginia USA
5

Fun in Sintra

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This was our first vacation using Homeaway.com. The owner, Silvia, is absolutely a delight to work with. Payment was so easy using Pay Pal and she is a wealth of knowledge about the area and things to see and do. The apartment is very stylish and has everything you could need for a comfortable and quiet visit to Sintra. Everything has been recently renovated and there has been great attention to detail. It's steps away from restaurants and shopping. There are gorgeous views from every window. I hope to return!!
We stayed 3 nights in Lisbon and took the train to Sintra and stayed for 4 nights. Sintra is like stepping into a fairy tale. Be sure to visit the castle and palaces and hike some of the numerous trails. The gardens are beautiful. While we were there we hired a taxi to take us on a drive to Cascais and up the coast to Azenhas Do Mar. Stunning scenery!
You will love this apartment!
Thanks Silvia!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

The BEST apartment in Sintra!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This is by far the best place I have stayed in in Sintra. It was the PERFECT holiday place to stay. It has the CHARM of Sintra with all the modern conveniences inside to make your stay ever so comfortable and enjoyable. The location is SUPERB close to all the quaint Portuguese cafes, shops, restaurants and the world famous Piriquita just steps away from your front door. The owners were very friendly and strive to make your stay very comfortable. The views this apartment are AMAZING! You are in the heart of the Sintra Villa, minutes away from the old castles and palaces. The place was immaculate and well maintained. I recommend this place 100%. If you want the total Sintra Portugal experience this place is a must!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

Perfect Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The apartment was great! Everything convenient for cooking, cleaning, and comfort! The property is extremely well maintained, clean and decorated for a cozy atmosphere. The owner's were extremely attentive, interested in your comfort, and a complete pleasure to work with! I would recommend this property without hesitation to anyone wanting to really experience Sintra! Magnificant views from every window and designed for a perfect experience.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

Encanto y confort en el centro de Sintra.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Alojamiento perfecto para conocer Sintra. El apartamento es realmente comon aparece en las fotos y la situación es perfecta. Ideal para familias. Nosotros hemos estado con nuestras 2 hijas y hemos disfrutado mucho.
A Silvia la propietaria no hemos tenido el gusto de conocerla, pero Mario su marido es encantador y estamos muy agradecidos por su trato.
Un saludo para ellos.
business
Romantic and cozy, features handpainted walls and sky views from the bedroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p865102
+351 916169114
Sintra Sintra area
5

Parfait pour un séjour romantique à Sintra !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nous avons passé 6 nuits dans ce très joli appartement et nous avons adoré ! Il est idéalement situé sur une charmante placette du vieux Sintra, très au calme, à deux pas du Palais National. Sa décoration est très réussie, exactement comme sur les photos, avec un grand soin pour les détails et la vue de chacune des fenêtres est splendide. Tout y est flambant neuf et impeccable. Nos hôtes Silvia et Mario ont été adorables, ils nous ont fourni un lit pour notre bébé et un ordinateur portable avec une connexion Wi Fi, réservé un taxi pour l'aéroport (aller et retour) et accompagné en voiture le premier jour à l'hypermarché pour nous permettre de faire nos courses pour notre séjour. Seul petit bémol : les combles un peu basses dans la chambre et le lit twin et non double (chacun ses goûts ...)