Homer house rental - Waterman Creek Guest House on a Sunny Day
Waterman Creek Guest House on a Sunny Day
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Homer House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A beautiful custom 2000 square-foot, two-bath chalet-style home located five miles east of Homer. This vacation rental sits along scenic bench land considered by many as one of the nicest spots in the Homer area. The location is superb with views of Kachemak Bay, glacier-laced mountains and, just minutes away, the world-famous Homer Spit.

At only a few hundred feet above sea level, this three and-one-half acre, extensively-landscaped, south-facing location catches all the warmth and long glorious sun our endless summer days have to offer. Relax on the wrap-around deck soaking up the spectacular views and splendid surroundings.

While enjoying your stay at Waterman Creek Guest House and the greater Homer area, you will often spot different wildlife species, including moose, eagles, sandhill cranes, hawks, pheasants, an occasional black bear or coyote and far too many marine creatures to list.

The open-gathering, friendly design is perfect for friends and family. With its cedar interior, vaulted angled ceilings, rock fireplace and floor-to-ceiling view windows you will feel like you are in your own private lodge. The big custom kitchen has all the amenities including microwave, dishwasher and large breakfast bar. A dining area and living room, appointed with comfortable leather furniture, make this just the ticket for an active or relaxing vacation.

Upstairs in the spacious master suite loft, you will find more great views, a private bath, beautiful queen sleigh bedroom set and two additional single beds. On the main level are the two other bedrooms with two single beds which can be joined to make a king bed.

While visiting us in Homer you will find plenty to do. We are the Halibut Fishing Capital of the World with huge flat fish caught on a regular basis. Marine activities abound: fishing, clamming, whale watching, birding, kayaking, marine tours, museums, art galleries, great restaurants, hiking, horseback riding, fly-in bear and scenic flight tours--and those are just some of the possibilities.

Our vacation rental will satisfy all your vacation requirements for a memorable trip when visiting us on the Kenai Peninsula. We are a kid-friendly guest house. Please, no pets or indoor smoking. If we can be of service, give Patrick or Dawn a call or email us.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Patrick and I have lived in the beautiful town of Homer for 25 years. We came up to work in our 20's and never left! Neither of us had ever lived by the ocean growing up but once we saw the beauty of Kachemak Bay, the glaciers and mountains; we were here to stay! The small town community with it's abundance of wildlife, green space and friendly people has been the perfect place to raise our children and start our own businesses. We are an outdoors family--our free time is spent fishing and camping in the summer and skating and skiing in the winter. This area truly has everything that we enjoy. We hope our guests can experience Homer and have the vacation of their dreams!

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

When this beautiful home came up for sale, we immediately put in an offer (in front of the other 5 people rushing to their real estate agents) within a couple of days of going on the market. The views from East End Road are some of the best in Homer with the convenience of being close to town and within a mile of Kachemak Drive; a short cut to the Homer Spit without having to travel through town. Homer is known as the "Fishing Capital of the World" and many charter operations and wildlife tours are available on the Homer Spit. Two of the finest restaurant in Homer are located within minutes of our house, both offering fine seafood and full bars. The house is situated on 4 landscaped acres, ensuring a feeling of space and tranquility.

We love the huge lawn and beautiful flowers that surround the house. With a large lawn, in a rural setting, local bird and wildlife such as Sandhill cranes and moose are easily visible. The large deck is perfect for socializing and enjoying the fabulous views. Inside, the open floor plan on the main floor gives you a good feeling of space and is plenty of room for a large group. The huge picture windows brings the view inside and personally, I love the large window in front of the sink in the kitchen!

26 Reviews of Property 86285 in Homer, Alaska

A Custom Luxury View Home
average rating of 4.95 based on 26 reviews
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Grenoble, France
5

Pleasant house with a magnificent view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Located around five miles past the center of Homer, this house is a wonderful place to spend a few days while visiting the Seward Peninsula.
The house by itself is great, perfectly clean and equipped with everything you’d need for your stay. As soon as you get in, you’ll discover with big open space. Here are: the living room with a big new flat screen TV (even though the picture quality is subpar), the dining room, the kitchen. Upstairs is another bedroom (with a very comfortable bed) and a bathroom.
What makes this house really great – apart from the great features inside – is the amazing view on the Kachemak Bay. You can enjoy it from inside or from the outside deck. You’ll never get tired of this. I would definitely recommend this house.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Escondido
5

Beautiful House and View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
what a beautiful house with the elevated loft master bedroom and floor to ceiling view of the Katchemak Bay and three glaciers beyond! Absolutely stunning! The kitchen is well equiped and very accomodating. The living area promotes easy relaxation with an infinite number of lighting possibities. We were so stunned by the comfort and view we only turned on the TV to take advantage of the Dish TV music stations. An absolutely must stay if you travel to Homer. I might also add that Homer has the best restaurants we encountered in our 16 day stay in Alaska- Trust the Yelp ratings and you will be very happy!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Montana
5

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I agree with the reviews below. This rental had everything we needed except an ice cream scoop (bit there were plenty of large spoons!). My husband and I have been camping and when his mother joined us for this part of our Alaskan trip, we decided to take a break. This house was wonderful and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Highly recommend it as the place to stay in Homer
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the positive review. Heading off to the house today to clean and bringing an ice cream scoop with me!
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
CT
5

Heavenly views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed everything at this lovely home. It is beautiful and comfortable. The location is near enough to eat lunch at the house and return to boating shopping or sea side walks in Homer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Pittsburgh
5

A Great Home with a Great View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
After many hours of looking for a place to stay in Homer, we found this beautiful home on VRBO.
We have used this site for years, and this was the best place we have ever stayed. Everything was just right. We has four adults in our group and there was more than enough room for all of us. The beds were very comfy, and the water pressure was normal. The deck and view were awesome. We even saw moose in the yard on several occasions. We also did a lot of fishing during our trip, and there is a "mud room" in the back that we used for our boots / rain gear, etc. We even used the grill on the deck twice during our stay to cook our catch of the day. If you don't stay here you made a mistake. We highly recommend it! Thank you Dawn & Pat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Pittsburgh
5

"Alaskan Dream"

"Alaskan Dream"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is bye far, the best rental home I have ever rented. We had 4 people in our party.
The mud room was perfect for 2 fisherman . The living area was great. The kitchen was equipped with everything one could ask. The coffee maker is on its last leg. I almost bought a new one. That's the only thing I thought was bad. We used the grill, no problem. The front deck was awesome . We had many a evening out on the deck. The beds were firm and comfortable . The water pressure in the shower was normal . Everything was perfect or our stay. I can only say. If you don't stay here ,you missed the boat.
My family loved seeing the moose in the yard. We would like to thank the owners or a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the input on the coffee pot--went right out and bought a new one!
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
5

Great views, private and quiet place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just spend 3 days in Homer and loved our stay. The view over Homer spit is great. The house is very spacious and clean. I would recommend for the owners to have couple of DVD and maybe some board games available for those long summer days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Reno, Nevada
5

Marti

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We want to thank you Dawn for making our stay in your unit such an enjoyable one. We made such wonderful memories with our daughter and her family. The closed in deck out front was perfect for the kids to play on. We had so much fun watching the moose coming into the yard almost every day. We wish the weather had been a bit less rainy, but we did have a couple of days of sunshine to enjoy the awesome scenery from the front of the house. After our not so enjoyable stay in a VRBO unit in Anchorage, it made everything in your unit seem so much more perfect for our family's needs. THANK YOU AGAIN!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
St. Louis
5

Beyond Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This vacation property is the bomb. It was very beautiful inside and out. Homer is a great little fishing town with so much to offer. We look forward to hopefully rebook earlier next year. This home is a excellent home to rent for couples or families. You will not be sorry to pick this home. Thank You Dawn and Pat for letting us stay there. I wish I could of stayed even longer...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Custom Luxury View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p86285vb
Toll-Free (888) 435-6843
Homer Alaska
Cornelius, NC
5

Awesome Luxury View Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our stay here was wonderful. The home was absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views. The description, location and pictures were right on the mark. The home had every amenity that you could ask for. We inquired as to whether the property had a hairdryer and they did, which helped with my packing. The property was very clean and well-maintained. There were 5 of us and there was plenty of room for everyone. While in Homer we took a float-plane tour of Mt. Iliamna - it was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone that stays in Homer. My wife and I would definitely recommend this property to our friends and family that was considering staying in Homer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1