Constantia house rental - seating on main deck
seating on main deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Constantia House Rental Photos and Description
Peaceful location, in beautiful private home close to vineyards.

Mbali Lodge is a luxurious private family home set in the serenity and breathtaking beauty of Table Mountain’s nature reserve, yet it is just minutes from the Cape’s famous beaches, vineyards, restaurants and exclusive shopping. There is plenty to suit all tastes here. Set in a 50 acre private estate with 24 hour security, Mbali (meaning ‘flower’ in Zulu) has scenic mountain trails to explore on the doorstep and the country’s oldest vineyards just down the road, as well as Hout Bay’s long sandy beaches. Meanwhile the buzz of Camps Bay, the V&A Waterfront and central Cape Town are all within easy reach. Excellent cafés and restaurants abound nearby in case you do not feel tempted by Mbali Lodge’s fully equipped modern kitchen or its smart built-in braai (barbecue) by the private lap pool. Three beautiful bedrooms (each with its own bathroom), and stunning open plan living and dining give on to a wide wooden deck - the perfect spot for enjoying a glass of the Cape's best.

Inside: Bedroom 1: has a king size bed and access to main deck. Its en suite bathroom has a free standing bath, glass roofed shower room with a view to the sky, WC and basin.

Bedroom 2: comes with double size bed on a mezzanine floor with its own deck, own bath, WC and basin.

Bedroom 3: is on a lower level, has a queen size bed with access to a deck and garden, its own shower, WC and basin.

On the main floor, there is a spacious open plan living room with elegant stand-alone fire place, large comfortable sofas and arm chairs, television . The dining area has a table to seat 8. There are extensive views and sliding doors to access the main deck. The fully equipped modern kitchen comes with cooker, electric hob, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, full dinner service for 8, glassware, utensils, cooking pots and water filter, and is directly off the dining area. Downstairs, there is internal access to the garage (with remote opener) and washing machine and tumble dryer.

There is a small charge for an internet service.

Please note families with small children, that there are stairs, a large deck and an open pool.

Outside: Mbali Lodge has its own landscaped garden and is part of a 50 acre private estate with nature trails literally on the doorstep. There is outdoor furniture on the deck, a built in braai (barbecue) by the 12m solar heated lap pool. There is plenty of outdoor lighting perfect for alfresco dining on warm evenings. The house, while very peaceful, is not isolated and has neighbours who are also part of the Silvermist Estate.

Additional Services: Towels and linen are included. The property is cleaned on a weekly basis and all linen changed. Additional house keeping service is available on request. Gardener and pool maintenance are also included.

The estate is an exclusive gated property with 24 hour security. Mbali Lodge also has its own user-friendly alarm system.

More Details
Hide Details

Having spent my childhood in Africa, i left as a young woman to travel the world and never went back. However, when the opportunity to build a house at the back of Table Mountain came along, it seems that the time was right to return. Mbali lodge is for me, each time i go there, my own 'out of africa' experience. Its very much my dream and have tried to make it into a comfortable, welcoming and fun place to share with my family and hopefully yours as well.

Lorna King purchased this house in 2010

Mbali lodge is set high up on the back of Table mountain, the view is stunning. It feels as though we are miles from anywhere, when in fact we are within a short drive from the city, 20 mins to central cape town, 10 to beaches and 3 minutes to the oldest vineyards in the cape.

We can walk from our back door up the mountain, or drive a few minutes to the beach. We are also on the Constantia Wine Route, only minuets from our door. If you are really feeling lazy, the pool is a great place to relax around.

9 Reviews of Property 862755 in Constantia, South Africa

Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
average rating of 4.75 based on 9 reviews
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
London
5

Comfort with style and amazing view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Mbali Lodge couldn't be in a better location if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in the midst of beautiful enchanting mountain scenery, good restaurants within easy reach in and around the vineyards of Constantia Valley and in a gated nature reserve. It is very comfortable and well-equipped, stylish and very well-maintained. I would readily recommend it to friends and family without doubt.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review, its nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying at the house. The vineyards and restaurants close to us are not only very beautiful, but also serve delicious food. As Mbali Lodge is our private family home, i have tried to make is as stylish and well equipped as i expect our guests would have in their own homes. My hope is that our guests will go home relaxed and happy. Lorna.
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
4

Mbali Lodge

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Mbali Lodge is a beautiful house set in the hills between Constantia & Hout Bay and thus ideally located to explore both Cape Town as well as the total Cape area. With it secure gated & supervised entrance you feel very safe. The house provides all the comforts that you need and especially liked the swimming pool which has a nice size. The managing company was very responsive to any problem and made us feel very welcome. All in all a very good house at a good location which was very well cleaned and maintained.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay in Mbali.

Lorna King
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
5

Mbali - WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I don't normally write reviews, but Mbali lodge is such a breathtaking, beautiful place I can't recommend it highly enough. SItuated in picturesque Constanzia Nek, the views look onto table Mountain in all its dramatic glory. Some of the finest vineyards South Africa have to offer are conveniently close, as are the beaches and amazing restaurants. The lap pool was perfect for a morning swim, or nice to have a dip whilst enjoying our braii (also known as the BBQ). The interior design is impeccable. From the hand-painted fabrics on the lounges and curtains, to the tastefully-selected African art- the general attention to detail really is astounding. Books and games are also provided (we did have a 5 hour game of South African Monopoly, that was epic!). The outside shower of the master bathroom is possibly my most favourite shower that I've ever used. Open, yet protected - it offers a chance to enjoy the location yet with the utmost privacy. Definitely a place I'd like to go back and stay. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.
Owner's Response: Thank you, I really appreciate you taking the time to write the review, it is always very helpful
to hear any comments from our guests, as this is one way of understanding what we can do to make changes or improvements.
Mbali Lodge is very much our private family holiday home, i would like our visitors to feel that while staying in the house, they too
feel that it is home from home. We have tried to add a little of that african magic and i certainly had a lot of fun with the decorating..
Please do come again.
Lorna
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
5

Mbali Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house is a perfect base for a stay in Cape Town. We enjoyed the tranquility of the setting - beautiful views and peaceful but also very close to all the local attractions. The layout of the house was perfect for our family of 5. It is beautifully decorated, with comfy sofas and beds. We would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to Cape Town. We all wish we were still there!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the house. We would love you to return some time, we try to make Mbali Lodge a peaceful and happy home for our guests in this magical setting.

Lorna King
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

beautiful house and views.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a wonderful stay in your beautiful house, with lots of wildlife for company.
Love the views and area and hope to return soon.
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

morning swim

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a beautiful house in a stunning location. Thank you so much. This has been a perfect finale to a very special time with our little ozzie family. I particularly enjoyed my pre-brekkie swim in your much used pool.
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Tranquil retreat

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us, we enjoyed the ambiance, tranquility and beauty, basking in this wonderful setting your house is in.
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Family of 4.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Time has flown by so quickly - seems like ages ago since we've been to Mbali Lodge. Our stay was 5 star, and i would recommend Mbali lodge to our friends.
This is certainly not a criticism, but it would be helpful to have a long mirror in the master bedroom to be able to blow dry hair, there is one behind the door in the master bathroom.
business
Exclusive Table Mountain retreat with private pool and stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p862755
+44 0779695529
Constantia Southern Suburbs Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Guests From Brussels

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Mbali Lodge is a magnificent place to spend holidays and we enjoyed the comfort the safety and the service we received. Quinton is a perfect manager.
As i promise you, i send some photographs. Many thanks for all, your contribution to the success of our holiday was essential.
We certainly look forward to re try your hospitality if our daughter and her husband decide to stay in South Africa.