St-Denis-d'Orques farmhouse rental - Main house - from pool
Main house - from pool
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

St-Denis-d'Orques Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
A Beautiful 19th Century Stone Farmhouse With Big Pool In The French Countryside

Les Vesluères is a French country farmhouse in 3 acres of of grounds in rural north-western France. A beautiful stone-built property with huge oak beams, it is comfortably furnished and very homely.

Seclusion is guaranteed - it is the only property at the end of a long drive. It can accommodate 9 people in comfort, has a large outdoor pool, a garden and plenty of outdoor space. Apart from that, and all the attractions nearby, there is a TV and satellite dish, a hi-fi system, broadband internet connection and many games.

The pool is 11.5 metres long, by 5.5 metres wide with 'Roman steps' at one end. It is 1.2 metres deep apart from a deeper point (at the opposite end from the steps) that is 1.8m. It is covered with a retractable 'abri' which also heats the water. You can swim under cover or in the open air. There is a large surrounding terrace with sun-loungers.

On Ground Floor: Entrance lobby with store and downstairs WC; Utility Room; Lounge/dining room; Kitchen; Bedroom 4.

On First Floor: Master Bedroom; Bedrooms 2 & 3; Bathroom; Upstairs WC; Extensive Landing/Office with storage & additional bed.

Detailed description:

Ground Floor

Lounge / dining room: A large room with a wood-burner as its focal point; Three sofas, dining table with 2 benches & a further 6 wooden folding chairs; HD TV with a Sky box (non-HD,'free-to-air' channels only), local digital TV (TNT) via the aerial; selection of DVDs; hi-fi with CD player & auxiliary connection for iPods/MP3 players; bookcase with large selection of books; games cupboard with range of games.

Kitchen: Fitted kitchen overlooking pool area; equipment includes fridge-freezer,fan oven with grill, gas hob ,ample pots, pans, utensils, crockery, glasses & cutlery for at least 10 people - please note there is no dishwasher, microwave or toaster.

Bedroom 4: 2 single beds (bunk bed); wardrobe

Utility room: Contains oil-fired boiler & oil tank for CH; automatic washing machine & tumble dryer; some outdoor games equipment; small shower cubicle.

First Floor

Master Bedroom: Large room with king-size double bed, bedside tables, large chest of drawers, wardrobe with hanging and shelf space. Views over the duck-pond and east to the village of Saint-Denis-d'Orques.

Bedroom 2: Medium-sized room with single bed, full-size pull-out guest bed, chest of drawers and wardrobe with hanging and shelf space.

Bedroom 3: Large bedroom with two single beds, chest of drawers, large alcove with hanging and shelf space. The large window provides views west over the fields to the side of the house.

Landing: Containing a single bed and extensive storage cupboards for linen, pillows, towels etc.

Upstairs Toilet

Bathroom: Bath with safety mixer tap, two basins and shelf space.

Outdoors

In all, Les Vesluères covers just over an hectare (about 3 acres, including the duck-pond). Around Les Vesluères can be found a wealth of wildlife including deer, the odd wild boar, frogs, lizards, a variety of butterflies, toads, coypu, hawks, kites, owls, woodpeckers, jays, swifts, swallows and martins and even the occasional hoopoe.

The property is surrounded on all sides by farmland. The farms specialise in beef and free range poultry, and grow crops mainly as feed for their own animals. Normally Les Vesluères is surrounded by crops (not farm animals) such as maize, sunflowers, wheat or barley. The only visitors, and rare ones at that, are the postman and occasional trades.

For more information please see www.lesveslueres.com

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 861979 in St-Denis-d'Orques, France

Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
5

Family Holiday - 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have just spent our summer holiday this year with friends staying at Les veslueres. The farmhouse accommodated our two families (8 people) with ease. It is extremely well equipped with clear instructions as where everything is plus lots of other useful information and recommendations for places to visit and eat out.

As the weather was so good we all made great use of the fantastic pool and ate outside each evening.
A visit to St. Suzanne is a must, a beautiful medieval village not too far away. Also the Old Town of Le Mans is stunning with its breath taking cathedral.
The local shop keepers were more than helpful and do stock most of your essentials, though beware they do close between 11am and 3pm.
We ate out at the local restaurant in St Denis, it is a little on the expensive side but well worth it, and its a great opportunity to practice your french as the owners do not speak any english.

There is an abundance of local wildlife, water hens and coypu on the pond, frogs, foxes, bats, owls and buzzards were just some of what we saw during our stay

We have had a fantastic holiday in a beautiful part of France in a wonderfully restored farmhouse, everything we could have hoped for and more.

Booking was so easy and the owners most helpful and informative. The directions on how to find Les Veslueres were very clear and accurate.

If you are considering a holiday here do not hesitate.
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to post :)
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
5

SSSHhhhhh - don't tell anyone!

SSSHhhhhh - don't tell anyone!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our second visit to Les Ves. The weather was perfect to lounge around the pool and for the kids to splash/jump about all day and well into the night. The pool cover has made a massive difference and the property is still as beautiful and secluded as ever. A great retreat in the middle of rural France - perfectly safe for kids and adults alike! Definitely recommended but don't tell the world, we'll never get a space next year!!!!
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
5

Relaxing Fun Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our summer break this year was with my wife’s family, so we had 5 adults and 3 children. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect place to stay. Comfortable, clean, and enough room for all of us. It is the first time for a number of years where I have totally relaxed on holiday. A lovely rural French farmhouse. We ate outside most of the time, as we had fantastic weather. One of the favourites for everybody was the swimming pool, which is a good size. It also has an excellent cover, should you need it.

The quiet lanes allow nice walks and a chance for the children to explore without to worry of traffic.

Upon arrival the house was very clean and good instructions explaining where everything was. Lots of helpful information was provided about things to do in the area and places to eat. Booking was very straightfoward, and all correspondance with the owners was excellent. Good instructions on how to get to property were very helpful. It all helps in making the process of choosing and booking a holiday so much easier.

Good supermarkets nearby provide all the items you could need. For days out try the “Velorail” at St. Loup du Gast, good fun and the children loved it. Visit St. Suzanne, a lovely medieval village with a castle. We spent a lot of the time in and around the house exploring with the children, enjoying the weather, relaxing, and eating.

We will go again, and the children have also said they want to go back, which must be a good thing! I would, and have, recommend this holiday to others.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Paul M. Good to hear about the Velorail - we'll add it to our list of things to do.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
5

Family Holiday - July 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Absolutely Fantastic!!!! I can thoroughly recommend both the accommodation and the location.
We were a group of 2 couples with 2 children aged 2 and 3. It was a "first" for both families staying in a farmhouse abroad and it far exceeded our expectations and we are definately planning our next trip to Les Veslueres.
The peace and tranquillity were sublime. A lovely well appointed farmhouse property with all the mod cons in wonderful rural surrounds catered for all our needs, with the added bonus of a swimming pool.
The culture, the close proximity of the exquisite villages, the pretty views and the beautiful countryside and of course the local cuisine were all a revelation. There were many places to visit in close proximity to suit our different tastes from chateaux, local villages, lakes and countryside. Further afield the wealth of historic towns, chateaux, vineyards, farmers markets and just beautiful places to stop and relax is vast all of which were detailed including directions and suggestions in the guest book.
We loved shopping locally for the local produce to cook in a well appointed kitchen and also using the owners Restaurant recommendations we had some sumptuous meals. The local patisserie and Super U definitely benefited from our visit!
You will need a french dictionary/mobile app and "classroom french" to assist you but this only added to the whole experience, the local people appreciated our efforts to converse and i even managed to get a ride on the local farmers tractor with my son!!
10 out of 10 and thoroughly recommended!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
Lytham St Annes, Lancashire
5

Great family holiday location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We travelled by car from the UK with a young family, not really knowing what to expect. The details provided by the vendor before travel proved to be excellent and accurate which really helped us pack the right things, and be able to get around with confidence. Having WiFi in the house was an added bonus for checking out attractions online.

We used the house as a base for our week long stay, spending a couple of days lounging round the pool and garden, and the others on local trips to the many picturesque villages. We had even planned a day trip to EuroDisney - it's a bit of trip up to Paris, but it worked out great.

The local village has shops to cater for the every day needs, and supermarkets are easily accessible. The morning trip to collect fresh bread is well worth it.

The pool is a great size and provided a fantastic distraction for 2 young kids who had never spent that much time out in the countryside.

If you want a break away from the hassle of town, then Les Ves is a ideal place to stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Country Farmhouse With Pool - Ideal For Family Holidays
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p861979
+44 (0)1903 812779
St-Denis-d'Orques Sarthe
4

Weekend de Mai entre amis

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Bonjour,

Nous avons passé 5 jours avec un groupe d'amis dans cette magnifique maison. Au total nous étions 7 personnes et la maison avec ces 4 chambres permet d'avoir un espace d'intimité pour chacun.
La piscine est grande et propre.
Nous avons réalisé des barbecues au feu de bois dans la grange.

Nous espérons avoir l'occasion d'y retourner car la maison est agréable et la campagne est reposante.

Cordialement,
Christophe.
Owner's Response: Merci Christophe, c'était notre plaisir!