Calheta villa rental - Beautiful two bedroomed villa with 150 meters squared
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with 150 meters squared
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Calheta Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa with Large Terrace, Balconies and BBQ, Full Internet, WI-FI and Cable TV

This beautiful modern well appointed villa is surrounded by fantastic panoramic views of the Atlantic ocean. Spectacular mountain views including the famous plateau complete the majestic scenery. The location is ideal for walkers, nature lovers and those that crave a little peace and quiet among a rural setting.

Breathtaking ocean views from the bedroom balconies add ''a top of the world feeling''. Two large bedrooms: one twin, one double each with a large private bathroom and patio doors open onto a large balcony with beautiful views to the sea and a well maintained lawn and garden below.

Downstairs a fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons offers patio doors opening onto a spacious terrace complete with stone BBQ. The large living area opens onto the same terrace through airy patio doors. A down stairs WC and a small laundry complete the lower floor. At the end of the garden is a beautiful spot. A tiled viewing area under the canopy of an avocado tree offers more sea views; delightful for breakfast.

Villa Murphy is surrounded by the wonderful natural nature that Madeira has to offer. The west of the Isle is the sunniest spot and boasts numerous swimming locations. The famous lava rock pools of Porto Moniz are only a 25 min drive away.

The surrounding local restaurants offer a wonderful selection of typical Madeiran fare. A large fully stocked supermarket in Calheta only a 5 minute drive away has everything you need while the small local shop has a good selection too, with fresh bread delivered daily.

The local people are very friendly and you will realize the difference from rural Madeira compared to the city, although only a 25 min drive away.

Villa Murphy offers you a relaxing comfortable getaway with the luxury of lots of space and surrounding Madeiran nature. While seeming miles from the hustle and bustle of the city you are only minutes from everything you will need. The perfect place to holiday.

A small on site bar/restaurant/supermarket offers friendly facilities, typical local dishes and packed lunches for walkers. Lidio the owner speaks english and is very helpful.

We can facilitate any late arrivals with a shopping basket to get you settled, including breakfast items for the following morning.

The area is a haven for writers, painters and keen photographers surrounded by rural nature; the real Madeira.

Families will enjoy the space and comfort the villa has to offer and indeed the pretty garden. Being closely located to walks, the beach and other fun attractions is a great benefit.

Couples will enjoy the peace and quiet; beautiful views; good restaurants and romantic walks.

Explores and walkers will be delighted with this wonderful location.

Villa Murphy has it all: lots of open space and terraces complete with a pretty garden. A tranquil, beautiful location only minutes from all modern amenities and tourist attractions. The choice is yours: do has much or as little as you want. The perfect choice for your perfect holiday. A great location.

More Details
Hide Details

We are living in Madeira for ten years. We have always worked with holiday rentals and tourism and we enjoy it very much. We live in the next village so are on hand should you need any help in finding your feet. We love madeira and know all the very best places to explore. The Island has much too offer.

Ciaran & Sarah purchased this villa in 2006

We built Villa Murphy in 2006; we designed the build ourselves having found lots of other villas for sale quite small and dark. We wanted to offer our quests open space and lots of light. We also wanted nice big balconies from the bedrooms and panoramic views of the ocean. The villa is a beautiful large building with lots of space throughout the property and never fails to impress our guests: hence our reviews.

The village location too is very typical of rural Madeira and is a great base to explore the surrounding nature. The people are very friendly and local bread, vegetable and fish vans still deliver in old Maderian style to your door.

The villa is a large, spacious, bright and airy property with wonderful ocean views. The balconies, bbq terrace and bottom garden patio provide even more space. You can enjoy breakfast on the top balcony; bbq your dinner on the bottom terrace and retire to the garden patio for an evening drink. Perfect. This property easily accommodates up to 6 people, but is ideal for couples who like their own bedroom and bathroom with plenty of space.

The location is ideal to get out and about and explore: all the best sites are only a short drive away starting with the marina and beach being a 5 minute drive to the famous rock pools of Porto Moniz only a 25 minute drive away.

This side of the Island is renowned for warmer weather and beautiful levada walks.

The villa is the perfect holiday accommodation; very well appointed and in a great location to explore.

17 Reviews of Property 85424 in Calheta, Portugal

Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
average rating of 4.75 based on 17 reviews
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

A truly lovely villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Villa Murphy is exactly as described - maybe even better. It's spotlessly clean, well maintained and really very comfortable.

We particularly enjoyed the balconies, which catch the sun in the evenings. We had some good dinners out there. The views are awesome - stretches of blue sea, apparently endless.

The kitchen is well equipped. The lounge is comfortable and spacious. Upstairs, with both bedrooms having their own bathroom, we all felt we had privacy. Even I found the bed comfortable and I have a dodgy back.

The shop across the road is handy and the owner is pleasant and friendly. We found a local hotel nearby "Quinta Alegre" with a swimming pool. They were quite happy to let us use the pool if we consumed something, which we did, frequently. They did vegetarian food too.

The owners, Sarah and Ciaran, were genuinely concerned that we had a good holiday and were available every time we had a query - which wasn't often. The villa is easy to live in and I envy anyone who is booked in and looking forward to staying there! They won't be disappointed.

We loved it.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

A fantastic family villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have just spent a fantastic week at Villa Murphy with our two young children. I don't often write reviews but Sarah and Ciaran really deserve all the credit they can get for this lovely home.
The villa is in a quiet village, with a beautiful garden and views across the ocean. We arrived late at night and Sarah was very helpful at guiding us in (we took a wrong turn) and it was such a joy to open the door and walk into this lovely villa after a long journey. We knew from the start it would be the perfect holiday.
It had everything we needed and we felt very at home here, having some lovey nights on the patio, cooking on the bbq, eating, drinking, and just relaxing in absolute peace and quiet on most nights.
The little shop across the road has the basics and the owner is very helpful.
We were 5 mins drive from Calheta beach which is great for the kids with crystal clear, calm water and sandy beach, not too big or crowded and safe enough to let them run off and splash in the water. We also visited the caves at Sao Vincente (quite interesting) and then carried onto Porto Moniz, before driving up and over the top for some stunning views of misty valleys and beautiful flowers. The water park just past Funchal airport is good for a day out with the kids, top score for our 9 year old, but the beach was the main attraction for our youngest. For me it was just the peace and quiet and a glass of wine on the patio, looking out at the calm ocean in the distance.

I would recommend this villa without any hesitation and hope that we can return again for another wonderful holiday.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
Durham
5

Back to a little corner of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I returned in June (2013) to this beautiful villa. We last stayed there in April 2010 (see review Bo and David). We were determined to return as we fell in love with the villa and the area. We were delighted to find a new large bed in one of the bedrooms. Not that we are 'large people' but it is a bonus when the nights are so warm to have that extra space. There is really very little to say as we found everything as enchanting as 2 years ago. Still spotless, a lot of nice 'little decorative touches' added here and there and the young owners as charming and helpful as ever.The garden is looking fantastic as the weather in June was not as scorchingly sunny as usual (cloudier but warm) which seemed to suit the plants and shrubs.
We were delighted to find the content of the library had greatly increased as we both love to read and taking books really does add onto luggage weight. As well as the internet it was good to find we were able to Skype the family back in the UK (nice to know the kids -44!! and 39!! care).
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one week as the weeks either side were booked but the owners had an apartment at Madalena do Mar, only a short drive away. So, with full confidence of our experience with the villa and the owners, we had a week there in a lovely little village. We had a wonderful time there also.
This sunny area of Madeira is such a change from the busy area of Funchal (which we still love also) and we love the peace and quiet.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

A Welcoming Home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It felt as if Sarah and Ciaran were welcoming us into their own home. The house is well-designed, spacious and bright. We particularly appreciated the separate corridors leading to the bedrooms and bathrooms - it gave us some welcome privacy from the children!

The broad terraces on the ground and first floors were a perfect place to watch the sun go down over the sea. We were even able to barbecue on February evenings thanks to the covered barbecue and outdoor kitchen area.
The location of the house down a few steps meant we could enjoy the proximity of the shop and café across the road without hearing or seeing any traffic.
We would definitely recommend this house to a family with children or two couples who are looking for a home from home.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

One of the best holiday we've ever had.

One of the best holiday we've ever had.
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was one of the best holiday we've ever had. The Villa was immaculate, all the rooms were very sizeable with two very large bedrooms both ensuite, the kitchen had loads of attractive solid wood cupboards, with everything you need (4 ring hob, oven, microwave, toaster, lots of glasses, cutlery etc, etc). Everything was built and decorated to an attractive and high standard. There is a large balcony (on the ground floor and on the upper floor) on which the sun shone from about 9:30 a.m. to about 6:00 p.m. even in the winter; the sea was easily visible right in front of us. The garden was packed with lovely colourful flowers and even had a small banana tree with a cluster of bananas dangling from it! The owners, Sarah and Ciaran, are extremely nice people. For us the location was perfect; villa with a southern location and southerly aspect, it was in a quiet town and the surrounding houses were quite well spaced out and were very pleasant, colourful and natural. Being on the south coast the weather was much better than in the north; we didn't have a day's rain the whole fortnight with just loads of sun. The other thing about the location is access to the levadas; I think we were in the best place for levada walks which we love, giving beautiful views, many of spectacular gorges; quite a lot of flowers and butterflies were out even in the winter. The roads are very windy but no problem and driving around was scenic - and so little traffic! No Funchal for us! Oh, and we went on a great whale and dolphin watch from the Calheta Marina (see www.madeirawhalewatching.com). The Madeiran people were very friendly and nice to us, they deserve support from the tourist industry.
Vic & Gill
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

Lovely Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I visit Madeira regularly and love to explore different locations everytime I come. This time I came with my parents, they had never been before. I had seen this lovely villa on a previous holiday and decided to book it for my next trip. I spent 5 days in the villa with my parents and I really loved it. The bedrooms are really big and the private unsuite was perfect. We all loved the space and the cleanilness is of a very high standard. The views really are panoramic and the garden and the villa are even better than the photos. The locals are very friendly and Lido the owner of the small snack bar is lovley. He regularly made lunches for us to enjoy in the villa. Presently I am staying on the other side of the Island, my parents loved the villa so they decided to have their last two nights there. Sarah and Ciaran are very kind hosts. We will be back.
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

Very nice house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Casa Murphy is a very nice, well maintained and comfortable house. For two it is even a big house. Wonderful location, very quite. Ciaran and Susan are very friendly and helpful hosts. The different terasses of the house we have experienced as absolutely great! The discription of the house and the photo's are accurate. We recommend this house for a vacation on Madeira.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

Holiday in Madeira

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Having recently holidayed in Madeira with my family I can only say I am already looking forward to going back.
Villa Murphy was perfect; large, bright, comfortable rooms and beautiful views. The library came in very handy as I love to read.
I enjoyed the peaceful setting yet liked being so close to local restaurants, the marina and most handy a local supermarket owned by Lidio; he's great and speaks English.
We hired mountain bikes from Ciaran and Sarah; I haven't laughed so much since I was a girl.
Madeira is a beautiful Island and Villa Murphy is the perfect spot to explore from. I felt very at home and really enjoyed the whole ambience of the house, garden and the tranquil location. Ciaran and Sarah are a lovely couple and make you feel very relaxed.
I will be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

Excellent experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The house and the location were perfect. The house is about 30 minutes outside of Funchal, and is in a very quiet area surrounded by houses and home garden plots. Many of the lovely towns (Jardim do Mar, Maddalena Do Mar) are very close, and access to the mountain levadas is close as well, by way of Prazeres.

The property manager was very quick to respond, professional, and helpful.

The house itself is spectacular. A second floor wrap around patio is accessible through both bedrooms. I'd stay here again.

This may not be the place for you if access to services is important. There's no phone, no internet and no substantial grocery stores. All of the above are probably a 15 minute drive. There is a small grocery store and cafe with a friendly owner very close by. But this remoteness is why we loved it so much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Villa with Panoramic Sea and Mountain Views, Full Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p85424
+351 291972004
Calheta Madeira
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife and I stayed at Casa Murphy 07/10/11 to 17/10/11 for our 25th wedding anniversary.
We were collected at the Airport by Ciaran and Sarah who immediately made a favourable impression with their openness and friendliness. We were transported to the Villa and given a guided tour and explanation of the facilities at the Villa which right from the outset, impressed with its quality of fit and finish.
Ciaran and Sarah then left us to settle in after ensuring that we had their contact number to use should they be able to assist in any further way.
We had an absolutely delightful stay there and enjoyed a very relaxed holiday during which we made good use of the barbecue and patio areas.
The best compliment I can pay to the standard of the Villa is that it felt as though we had been allowed to borrow some ones home as opposed to renting a holiday Villa.
Apart from the relaxation we also travelled around the island on a hired motorcycle ( a tired BMW 650 GS hired from Terras de Aventura in Funchal) Transport is absolutely essential when staying at the Villa as the gradient of the roads surrounding is extremely steep unless you are extremely fit . There is a local shop near to the Villa run by LLidio who was fantastic with us and spoke excellent English when our very limited Portuguese ran dry. If you give him some notice LLidio will also cook a meal for you in his restaurant which we found most enjoyable.
I would highly recommend the Villa as a base for venturing out into the countryside and also as base for a relaxing break.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1